We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Scott Findlay Plumbing & Heating Ltd

Profile thumb 4488webb

4.9

82 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Scott Findlay began as a sole trader in 1986 and has built up the business over the past 30 years, now employing 8 full time plumbing and heating engineers in Edinburgh.

We are fully Gas Safe registered, providing all types of heating and plumbing work from full boiler and central heating installations, through to the smallest of repairs.

We are Worcester Bosch Diamond Status installers and Edinburgh's largest independent domestic installer of Worcester boilers.

Our services include:

- Central heating and boiler installation.
- All central heating and boiler repairs and upgrades.
-Smart heating controls.
- Boiler servicing.
- Power flushing & power cleansing.
- Landlord's Gas Safety services.
- Supply and fit of flue inspection hatches.
- Cast iron works.
- All general plumbing.
- Bathroom and kitchen works.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Bathroom fitters

  • More Services

    • gas safety certificates
    • flue inspection hatches

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
82 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Annual boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second annual service following installation of our combi boiler. As usual the process was very smooth from the initial contact in advance of the review right through to the prompt arrival of the engineer and the completion of the work.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/04/2020 , work completed 24/03/2020
The trader replied (on 17/04/2020)
We're so pleased you've been happy to use us again. Many thanks for the review.
Fantastic from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boiler 'died' just as home working/self-isolation was kicking off, which was wonderful timing. After seeing their reviews I decided to contact Scott Findlay for a quote and am so glad I did so. From the very first contact they were professional, friendly, and made it very clear how conscious they were of COVID-19 restrictions. So, as well as checking with me to make sure I had no symptoms, the engineer who provided the quote and installed the boiler took all the necessary precautions (wearing gloves; keeping a distance; etc.), which was very reassuring. Everything was taken care of seamlessly, from sorting out partial finance through to completing all of the registration forms with Worcester, and that allowed me to focus on working from home while the installation took place. I now have a whisper-quiet boiler keeping me cosy, and all with the minimum amount of stress. These guys are highly recommended!!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 03/04/2020 , work completed 02/04/2020
The trader replied (on 12/05/2020)
Thanks so much, we were delighted to have been able to take the stress out of the situation. Enjoy your new boiler!
Excellent, friendly and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had an excellent service from all the team at Scott Findlay, from the office staff to the engineers. Everyone is very efficient and friendly, and I have been most impressed by the quality of their service and clear communications. Our initial job for Scott Findlay was to install a new boiler and radiators, and to have an old boiler flue removed and the roof made good. While their quote might have seemed slightly more expensive than others, in reality they were able to deliver exactly what we wanted, including a Worcester boiler with 10-year guarantee and removing the old flue and fixing the roof. In addition, Scott Findlay offer a finance option, which is extremely helpful for spreading the cost of a large piece of work. From quote to completion, I can't fault the service. The engineers arrived on time, were friendly and tidy, cleaned up after themselves, and got the work done in the time specified. I have already gone on to use Scott Findlay a number of times for other services and will definitely use them again in the future. I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/03/2020 , work completed 20/11/2019
The trader replied (on 05/08/2020)
Thanks so much for the lovely review , it's fantastic to hear how pleased you've been and that we came up with exactly the solution you were hoping for!
Excellent boiler installation work - Completed on time and in budget
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently found ourselves with no central heating in a cold February and a ten-year-old boiler. Scott Findlay were prompt and helpful in assessing the repair costs for the existing boiler and then discussing the options available to either repair or install a new boiler. We opted for a new boiler as it was not cost-effective to repair the existing one. Scott Findlay are accredited Worcester/Bosch boiler installers and as this is one of the Which best UK reviewed boilers available - with a twelve-year guarantee - we decided to replace our old boiler with a new Worcester Lifestyle. Their engineers are very professional, and we very much appreciated that they took the time to explain boiler systems in ways we could understand. They checked that we had ancillary heating and water available before leaving the property. The installation was complicated by our boiler being attic based, the property being a listed, old building and the need for a gas meter upgrade and additional external gas piping, but all of the work was carried out effectively and, in the timelines, agreed. Our engineer even installed the new external gas piping while it was snowing outside. The office staff are extremely helpful, and the costs are clearly outlined in advance. We have no hesitation in highly recommending Scott Findlay as a first class, customer-friendly professional company who have carried out our plumbing and heating work to the highest standards.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 28/02/2020 , work completed 27/02/2020
The trader replied (on 05/08/2020)
Thanks again for this review. It was a pleasure working for you, always a delight to help out and glad you're now sorted with a reliable boiler!
On time, on budget and very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from initial face to face consultation on all options to final delivery. Combo boiler replaced, water tank removed, header tank disconnected, 6 rads resized and fitted, toilet replaced, WiFi thermostat fitted plus new controller fitted. Team were on time, polite, very tidy and considerate. Job was explained at every stage, we were consulted as needed. Budget was as discussed and submitted promptly. I can only recommend Scott and the team, they are without exception friendly, helpful and professional. Any very small issues were dealt with quickly and effectively.
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 27/02/2020 , work completed 24/01/2020
The trader replied (on 17/04/2020)
Thanks very much for taking the time to give us this great review. We're delighted you've been happy with the installation.
Boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class service provided. Arrived when they said they would. Work was completed with no fuss within the time estimated and property was left clean and tidy when the job was finished. More than happy to recommend Scott Findlay Plumbing.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/01/2020 , work completed 27/09/2019
The trader replied (on 17/04/2020)
Many thanks, we really do appreciate you taking time out to leave a review! And glad that we tidied up properly too!
Very professional, helpful, honest and friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have nothing but praise for the service we have just received from Scott Findlay and his team. At the initial visit to quote for the installation of a new boiler, Scott gave us the benefit of his professional and technical knowledge to answer any questions we had. He was definitely an engineer first and foremost and not a salesman; in fact, he was just the opposite to the latter, making sure that we did not have more work done than was necessary! He explained everything that he would include and why he would recommend it. His quote arrived promptly and from then on, our contact with Claire and her team in the office was perfect - every question dealt with promptly in a friendly, efficient manner - nothing was ever too much trouble. On the day of the installation, Brian, their engineer, arrived exactly on time and things just got better and better. Firstly, dust sheets everywhere to protect our carpets and furnishings then Brian explained exactly what he would be doing and he worked virtually non-stop all day. When he was finished, he checked over the whole installation and made sure that we knew how all the new equipment worked. He cleared away all the old fixtures and fittings leaving everything as it should be. Brian is probably the friendliest and most helpful guy we have ever had to do any work in the house. We would most definitely recommend Scott and his team, with no hesitation and will certainly use them for any future work. Thank you to the whole team.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 10/12/2019 , work completed 09/12/2019
New combi boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial visit by Scott, I was so impressed by his knowledge, his explanation of the work involved and the fact that he took into consideration that I am partially sighted, suggesting what could be done to help me, that I didn’t feel the need to get a quote from any other company. Although I thought that my elderly radiators would need to be replaced, I was assured this was not necessary at all. (Other companies would no doubt have happily replaced them unnecessarily, adding to the cost!) I was given a very detailed quotation, and kept informed when work would begin. Delivery of equipment was perfectly co-ordinated. The installers Brian and Cammy arrived when expected, were friendly, helpful, very efficient and worked their socks off. The work involved them not only in my kitchen, but also in a bedroom, the loft, under the floorboards, outside and in the garage. Yes, there were a couple of problems, but these were solved in a professional manner. AND they tidied up beautifully afterwards, leaving my home exactly as they had found it. All in all am very happy with the whole process and would definitely recommend this company.
Sandra Posted on 24/11/2019 , work completed 21/11/2019
Replacement Gas Bolier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time I've used Scott Findlay for a boiler replacement - initially for my own house in Feb 2018 and now for my son's new flat Sept 2019. Scott assessed what was required, quoted and then arranged for his team to complete the works. This time we had an additional requirement as we asked Scott if the existing radiators could be replaced but that when removing the old radiators could he allow us a week before fitting the new ones so we could wallpaper behind where the radiators were to be installed. Scott duly complied and the new combi boiler and radiators are installed and running well. I've no hesitation recommending Scott Findlay Plumbing and Heating Ltd.
Martin Stobbart Posted on 07/11/2019 , work completed 26/09/2019
Scott Findlay trustworthy & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Scott Findlay is certainly a trustworthy & reliable company, serving the local community – I visited their new office and received great help, very good assistance & advise with courteous service form everyone in his business, would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone requiring heating/plumbing.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 06/11/2019 , work completed 02/11/2019