We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Mark Spurway t/a MWS Property Services

Profile thumb dsc04378
4.9

27 Reviews

About

I have been in this industry for over 22 years and for the last fifteen years I have been getting a large percentage of my work through Which? Trusted Traders and previously through Which? local where Which? members reviewed me.

I not only pride myself on all the skills that are integral to my business but also to the management of each job and on customer relationships.

I undertake all aspects of bathroom and kitchen refurbishments including plumbing, plastering, tiling, and carpentry and in the last 9 years have been supplying and fitting bespoke bedroom furniture/wardrobes.

Since 2014 I have started to specialise in installing Wet Rooms and converting standard bathrooms into a Wet Room.

I regard myself as professional with an extremely high level of quality and finishing skills.

Please call me to discuss getting a free no obligation quotation.

What we do

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Wet rooms
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Electric Showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom suppliers
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen worktops
    • Granite Worktops
  • Bedroom fitters

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Builders

    • Plastering
    • Building services
  • More Services

    • wet rooms
    • tiling
    • plasterers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Second time as good as the first
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark did a complete refurbishment of our main bathroom. We previously used him to refurbish our En-suite review posted on 06/05/2020. He did another fantastic job and went over and above what was expected of him. We are absolutely delighted with the result. Mark is very professional and once again without hesitation we would recommend and use him again. Thanks once again Mark.
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 03/03/2021
Professional, Highly Skilled and A Gentleman To Deal With
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark carried a full bathroom refurbishment for us. It's hard to find someone you can trust to carry out building work however after reading Mark's excellent reviews we asked Mark to quote for the work. We weren't sure what we wanted to do in terms of layout and Mark was very patient while he listened to our 'design' ideas. Mark spent time to consider fully our requirements whilst making suggestions that made a real improvement to the finished job. We were thrilled that many of these ideas not only improved on our ideas but also saved money overall. After bitter previous experience with other tradesmen we knew that shoddy plumbing work, whilst hidden under floors and in walls could cause very expensive problems if it goes wrong in the future. We were reassured by Mark's extensive experience and the time he took to explain to us in detail the answers to any technical questions that we had: no pressure, no stress. Mark worked hard throughout the project and left our house tidy every night. The fit and finish of the bathroom is fantastic; the finished job looks incredible right down to the tiniest details. To say that we are over the moon is an understatement! Mark called a few days after the work was completed to check we were happy with everything; a really nice touch! Highly recommended
Andy Posted on 02/07/2020 , work completed 27/06/2020
Good Professional Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work involved identifying problem with an old shower valve and replacing with a new valve. The replacement included removing some marble tiles and plaster board and refitting plaster board panel and spare tiles that I supplied. The leaky stopcock was also repaired. Throughout, Mark was pleasant and helpful. The work was completed on time and at a reasonable cost. The shower work looked good and functioned very well. Certainly, Mark goes on my list of goto tradesmen.
Customer in Essex Posted on 05/06/2020 , work completed 29/05/2020
Excellent work, extremely pleased.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark completely refurbished our En-suite from floor to ceiling. He took on board our requirements and came up with some great ideas of his own. His quote was very competitive and pointed us in the right direction for the furniture, tiles etc. He is very honest and where he could obtain discounts, he passed them on. An excellent job, done by a very knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, hard working professional tradesman. “Would we use his services again” yes without hesitation. We are absolutely delighted with the result. Thank you very much Mark.
Customer in Essex Posted on 06/05/2020 , work completed 25/03/2020
Great Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark fitted a shower for us which we needed urgently as my husband was returning from hospital after a hip operation and we needed a walk in shower. along with fitting the shower Mark shopped around and bought tiles to repair the shower cubicle ..he also fitted these to a very high standard and fixed the overflow tank in the roof which was at risk of falling into our bedroom ! I can honestly say that he went above and beyond to finish the work and was a pleasure to have in the house. he also arrived when he said he would and completed his work to a very high standard. I cannot recommend his work highly enough and would most certainly use him again and I would have no hesitation in recommending him to others. I also felt that his prices were very competitive and fair for the finish of work that he offered.
Customer in Essex Posted on 08/10/2019 , work completed 09/09/2019
Amazing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark recently finished our bathroom and we couldn't be happier with the end result! He came to quote our job and was smart on arrival and very professional. We received our quote which broke down all costs clearly. Once work was started he kept to the time scales quoted and nothing was too much trouble, he even arranged a skip and filled it with the rubbish... I helped too by clearing the shed haha. Honestly could not fault him for his professionalism and quality of my bathroom, I am so pleased!
Customer in Essex Posted on 01/10/2019 , work completed 01/10/2019
Bathroom Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark carried out the work to remove my old tiles, bath, toilet and sink and replaced it with the new. The new floor and wall tiles are looking good as do the shower enclosure, toilet, vanity unit and new tower radiator. overall a very good job. The only down point was that He does not take away of the old tiles bath etc..
Customer in Essex Posted on 22/05/2019 , work completed 03/05/2019
Good work and helpful advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After looking at the Trusted traders website I asked Mark to give a quote to replace my electric shower and the shower door and tray and also to retile the enclosure. Whilst looking at the work required he suggested replacing the existing shower with a mixer shower to work from our combi boiler which has resulted in a vast improvement to the water output from the shower and made showering a much more pleasant experience.Mark carried out the work very efficiently and tidily and my wife and I are very pleased with both the quality and appearance of the finished work.I would not hesitate to use Mark in future and would recommend him as a person who does very good work at a fair price.
Customer in Essex Posted on 28/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019
Leaking shower
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Mark to come and investigate a leak in our kitchen coming from the shower above. Mark quickly identified the issue from below the shower, replaced the shower trap and waste pipe. Then the hole was repaired and ceiling replastered. Mark's work was efficient, tidy and to a high standard. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Essex Posted on 07/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
Plastering of ceiling in bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark has recently done an outstanding job for us, plastering a ceiling in our study. He is very thorough, precise, meticulous and hard working. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mark. We were so pleased with the standard of work, we are now considering engaging Mark to refurbish our kitchen/shower room.
Customer in Essex Posted on 03/03/2019 , work completed 02/02/2019
Artex ceiling skimmed smooth
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have artex ceiling’s throughout the house and wanted them to be smooth! Very impressed with the quality and efficiency of Marks work! We were kept updated as to when he would begin the work and after finishing the job, there was no mess left so wouldn’t even know someone had been working there! Would highly recommend and would/will 100% use again! Thanks
Customer in Essex Posted on 23/11/2018 , work completed 21/11/2018
Honest and Reliable Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark went out of his way to help my father as soon as possible with fitting a new toilet and sink , and also tiling the wall and floor . He also fitted new locks to an external door . Nothing is too much trouble for Mark - he extremely honest, kind and conscientious , and his work is completed to an excellent standard . I am very happy to recommend him and would definitely ask him to do work for me again
Customer in Essex Posted on 17/11/2018 , work completed 25/10/2018
Plastering stair well ceiling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Which trusted traders to select Mark for our plastering job. We had a leak in the loft space which had caused the ceiling over the stair well to fail and fall. He worked methodically and kept the mess to a minimum which was no small task because of the dust created by removing the failed ceiling boards. he also repainted the newly installed ceiling and coving he had fitted. A great job well done. David Bunn Chelmsford
Dr & Mrs D Bunn Posted on 13/08/2018 , work completed 13/08/2018
Replacing bath with a shower
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Which Trusted Traders because we wanted someone whom we could trust to carry out a good job, and we were not disappointed. His brief was to remove the existing bath and replace with a walk-in shower, and to tile the floor. We have been impressed with the finished result, and Mark was also able to suggest various ways of improving the bathroom. This included re-routing the pipes to the exterior to leave the wall uncluttered, and also replacing the interior to our toilet to improve the flushing and to do away with the outside overflow pipe. We think we made a good choice in instructing Mark and have no hesitation in recommending him.
Claydon Posted on 23/12/2017 , work completed 23/12/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm writing this review on behalf of my daughter, who needed to have a downstairs toilet room completely refurbished. The work involved stripping out the room, plumbing in new sanitary ware, carpentry, wall and floor tiling. We are very pleased that we found Mark through Which? Trusted Traders. He responded promptly to our request for a quote, and he did the job in good time. The main drainage part of the job turned out to be more tricky than originally anticipated, but Mark took it in his stride. He has plenty of experience, and his work is very good - he takes a pride in it, and is a bit of a perfectionist, paying attention to small details. He is also friendly and a nice person to have working in your house. Mark is now our go-to man for future jobs, and my daughter has got him lined up for upcoming re-plastering and decorating work.
Cotter Posted on 06/12/2017 , work completed 06/12/2017
Dirty job done well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark was unable to unblock our drain at first and was not prepared to take any money for his trouble, arguing that he hadn't fixed the problem and so shouldn't be paid. He had one last go and was fortunately successful. Overall, then, an honest and competent trader deserving his trusted status.
pfenwick Posted on 03/05/2017 , work completed 03/05/2017
Bathroom Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Mark from previous reviews.We were not wrong.Mark was very professional and dealt with all problems in a quick and efficient manner.A great personality and would not hesitate to recommend him to friends and family.In fact we have made arrangements to use Marks services and expertise again.
John_Illing Posted on 24/11/2015 , work completed 24/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We selected Mark from a number of local tradesmen to completely renovate our bathroom. Mark has a large amount of knowledge that we found useful when planning our bathroom, his price was competitive and we found him to be very reliable, working in a clean & organized way We found all his work to be of a very high professional standard from replacing the bathroom ceiling, fitting & plumbing our new bathroom suit, relocating radiator plus retiling our walls & floor. Because we were so delighted with Marks work in our bathroom we ask him to refurbish our kitchen & we are equally as please with the results. We would gladly recommend Mark.
len harley Posted on 01/07/2014 , work completed 01/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with Mark's work on our bathroom and plumbing, Mark is professional, conscientious and friendly with a multitude of skills. Had a few unforeseen issues along the way and Mark dealt with them superbly and also dealt with a couple of minor teething issues promptly and efficiently.
Wooler67 Posted on 04/05/2014 , work completed 04/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Based on previous reviews, we engaged Mark to refurbish our bathroom and make it more disabled-friendly. He took onboard our requirements, and then came up with much better ideas than we had! His quote was well within our budget, the work was completed exceptionally well, and we are well pleased with the finished result. He went out of his way to be helpful, even managing to match up our 25yr-old tiles for inside the new walk-in shower unit. Arriving promptly on time each day, he worked like a Trojan, and cleared up every evening before leaving. I heartily recommend this guy!
MRS.M.L.DE'ATH Posted on 16/02/2013 , work completed 16/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark completed a fantastic job on our upstairs bathroom installing our new shower, shower screen and tiles all to a very high standard. We are absolutely delighted with the work he completed and highly recommend his work.
PopeyDog Posted on 26/12/2012 , work completed 26/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job taking out bath and installing new shower and toilet, retiling walls and floor. Mark is friendly and works quietly and efficiently.
pussey Posted on 12/12/2011 , work completed 12/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chose Mark based on recommendations in Which Local and he definitely met expectations. I now have a lovely bathroom at a competitive price
marnaqua Posted on 13/10/2011 , work completed 13/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark completely refurbished our bathroom,replacing plaster on walls and ceiling,taking out the bath and installing a complete shower unit,sink,cabinet and toilet.Fitted 4 ceiling lights,fully retiled the walls and floor,painted as necessary.A excellent job carried out by a very good, friendly, helpful and Professional worker
haulbowline Posted on 21/07/2011 , work completed 21/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark completely refurbished our bathroom and separate toilet room including making good plaster on walls, replacing ceiling, installing new shower and replumbing existing bath/sink followed by full retiling of floor and walls in both rooms. Friendly and helpful throughout, kept to original quote and completed work quickly and efficiently. Minor hiccup on toilet alignment but this was rectified quickly. Also reviewed under plasterer heading.
glw Posted on 23/08/2010 , work completed 23/08/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark carried out restoration work to all the plasterboard ceilings in our 1958 build house replacing or retaping and skimming as appropriate. Also fitted new ceiling in utility area and carried out extensive replastering of "blown" plaster around doors and windows. All well executed in a very cheerful helpful manner. Found it easy to work with Mark in arranging timing of jobs as he was easy to contact and flexible to meet out requirements. Also did tiling and bathroom work for us reviewed elsewhere.
glw Posted on 23/08/2010 , work completed 23/08/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Mark for a range of roles (but mainly bathrooms and kitchens) at both current our current and previous properties. Considerate and tidy he has proven time and again is open to ideas and happy to share his experience in making the best use of the space and materials available as was the case with our latest bathroom project. Pricing is always well pitched too.
H&A Posted on 23/02/2010 , work completed 23/02/2010