We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Master Thatchers South Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–18:00
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb yours truly at work

5.0

30 Reviews

About

Master Thatchers South was established in 1984 and incorporated in 2004. We are one of the leading thatching companies in Sussex and the South East. We pride ourselves not only on the quality of our work but also our ability to minimise inconveniences to the customer.

We provide a reliable and trustworthy thatching service using fully trained and insured local thatchers and the best quality materials.

What we do

  • Roofers

Customer reviews

5.0
30 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team did an outstanding job from start to finish. From initial no hassle quote and consultation through to completing a full re-thatch of our house which needed major renovations. Nick worked seamlessly with our building contractors and kept in constant contact. Could not recommend Master Thatchers South highly enough. Thank you Nick!
Customer in Kent15/07/2019
Outstanding in all aspects.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every aspect of the work is outstanding. Professional, courteous, prompt, helpful, nothing too much trouble. All close to agreed estimate, time scale. So consistent. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer24/06/2019
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Done on schedule and budget. Good communication.
Susan, East Sussex01/03/2019
Exceptional Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team have just finished replacing the thatch ridge on our roof and they have done an outstanding job. The new ridge looks stunning, and they also painstakingly tidied the rest of the roof so the whole thing now looks very smart indeed and will stand us in good stead for years to come. Every member of the team worked with great skill and care - in bitterly cold conditions - and were a pleasure to have on site. They arrived promptly each day, were polite and communicative, and did a great job of tidying up at the end of each day. The work was finished on time and we were invoiced exactly as per our quote. Thank you. We are delighted and it was fascinating to be able to see such a great traditional craft first hand.
Customer in Kent28/01/2019
Beautiful Craftmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Cranfield and his team have just completed the replacement of the ridge, repairs, and dressing of the thatched roof of our house. The quality of the work cannot be faulted. It looks wonderful! He and his team always arrived promptly each day, worked unobtrusively and left the site neat and tidy. The sum quoted for the work was the sum paid. I would highly recommend Master Thatchers South Ltd. for any thatching work to be done on a thatched property.
HDoran06/11/2018
Amazing thatch job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend these guys. A massive roof/job took 3 months could not have gone better. Such lovely people to have working on your home. True craftsmen. So pleased with the job.
Caroline, East Sussex07/08/2018
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with the service and quality provided and would not hesitate to use this company in the future.
Matthew, Kent18/01/2018
Expertly done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The thatch was re-ridged after fourteen years. This was expertly done to a very high standard by a very professional team.
Geoffrey, East Sussex22/11/2017
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job. Kept to budget and left property clean and tidy. Would recommend to anyone.
Lesley, West Sussex13/11/2017
Very professional and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The group of thatches took great pride in their work. They took care and paid great attention to detail. They were jolly and ensured that their presence was not intrusive. Their work ethic was second to none, they cleared away daily. They were a pleasure to have around. The end result is astounding, our roof looks beautiful. I would recommend them to anyone and I have already.
Louise, East Sussex10/07/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional job
Peter, East Sussex06/07/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Cranfield and team did an excellent job of replacing the thatched roof. They worked with integrity & respect and left the property very clean & tidy.
Marianne, West Sussex13/03/2017
Lovely job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A quality job, tidy and efficient.
Tim, Kent07/02/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A pleasure to work with Nick and his team. Professional, clean and tidy, worked to programme and budget. Strongly recommended.
Gavin, West Sussex10/01/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very neat and tidy. Very professional and we are very pleased with our thatched roof. A great team.
Patricia, West Sussex01/10/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did an excellent job & tidied up after themselves.
Julia, West Sussex10/09/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb
Emma, East Sussex15/08/2016
An excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team provided an excellent service, they were very helpful and always polite and cheerful. They tidied up really well, and the finished job is a true work of art. We are really happy, would thoroughly recommend.
Helen, West Sussex24/05/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and Paul and the team were true craftsmen. They provided us with a beautiful roof and kept within original quote and timescale. Diligent, professional, would recommend them highly.
Nicholas, East Sussex01/03/2016
Super thatch job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Cranfield and his team re-thatched part of my roof. They did such a great job, it's beautiful. I will use them again next year to do the main roof.
Caroline, East Sussex01/02/2016
Very professional, excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From good advice at quotation stage to final clean up their approach could not be faulted. The work was re-ridging of house and garage. Carried out in sometimes difficult weather conditions but still completed on time and to a very high standard of workmanship. I will use them again without hesitation.
Colin, West Sussex14/01/2016
Exceeded our expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Exceeded our expectations in every way they worked very hard.
Mark, West Sussex29/12/2015
Complete rethatch of converted barn roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job done, to a high standard, well informed about progress, and real care to minimise inconvenience to home life.
Site User13/10/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job, efficiently carried out in good humour and on time. Working hard through all weather.
Chris, East Sussex22/09/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional.
Julia, West Sussex19/06/2015
Efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent job, carried out with efficiency and courtesy.
Nigel, East Sussex21/04/2015
True craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this trader since moving to a thatched property in 1988 and have been 100% pleased with quality, craftsmanship, promptness and courtesy on all thatching jobs done to date.
Cynthia, East Sussex26/01/2015
The Thatched Inn Hassocks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Amazing job done by the boys couldnt of asked for any more keep up the good work would defo recommend !!!!!!!!
simmo4425/11/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality & friendly service
Martin, West Sussex30/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carried out a superb job of re-thatching the roof of our cottage. Kept us informed of progress and dealt promptly with any minor hitches along the way. Polite and tidy, very approachable. Worked in a lot of rain!!!
bazzery07/05/2010