We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Mentor Lock Ltd

Profile thumb mentor lock shop

5.0

19 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:30
  • Monday 09:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:30
  • Thursday 09:00–17:30
  • Friday 09:00–17:30
  • Saturday 10:00–14:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

My name is Lee MacDonald, I have owned and run Mentor Lock for over 17 years now and I pride myself on customer satisfaction. Even during my many years on the BBC's Grange Hill where I played the part of Zammo I was working as a Locksmith and eventually took over Mentor Lock in March 2000.
Here are some of our services:
ALL locks supplied and fitted
Doors opened
FREE Estimates
Insurance Work
Most keys cut and keys cut to code
Transponder keys cut here at the shop
No call out charge, just the labour charge
Please feel free to call the shop on 020 8669 7034 if you have any questions or queries regarding lock changes or upgrading your current locks.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • UPVC lock specialists
    • Safes
    • Access control
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
  • More Services

    • key cutting
    • cark key cutting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
19 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Spot on service!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been meaning to go and get some keys cut here since moving to the area. Finally had to today, as lost my keys over the weekend. Quick, speedy service and goods - perfect. In fact Lee fixed one of the original keys and it now works perfect. Didn't even realise it was faulty until he pointed it out. Will be back for sure, the next time I lose my keys. Got a selfie to boot :-) made my day.
Customer Posted on 01/03/2021 , work completed 01/03/2021
Quick helpful and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just a simple lock replaced. Lee made the process very easy and stress free. Returning calls as promised and with a quick turnaround!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 16/02/2021 , work completed 16/02/2021
Fitted new lock to the back door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I engaged the company to supply and fit a new, more secure lock to the back door. They kept me informed about a delay in the previous job and the likely time of arrival, and still attended within the notified period. The work was carried out swiftly, tidily and efficiently with the minimum of disruption. I am very pleased with the result and would not hesitate to use them again
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/09/2019 , work completed 24/09/2019
Broken patio door handle
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a broken patio door handle which needed replacing. Lee advised me that I could replace it myself and save on the labour costs. Even though he did not stock the same handle in his shop, he went to the wholesaler and sourced it for me and advised how I could fit it. After I had fitted the handle he rang to check it was all working OK. I was very happy with the extremely high level of service provided and would highly recommend Mentor Lock Ltd.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/04/2019 , work completed 06/04/2019
Efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So pleased with the service from Mentor Lock. Lee and Andy couldn’t have been more helpful, friendly and efficient. Will be recommending to everyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
Fantastic personal service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have rarely encountered such fantastic personnel service. Nothing was too much trouble. Our lock fitting was sourced and fitted speedily and efficiently and Lee's charges are extremely reasonable. He even came after work to check the fitting then went back to the shop to cut extra keys at no cost to us. This really is going the extra mile and I wouldn't hesitate for one second in recommending Mentor.
Fiona, Surrey Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
Fabulous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed to get locks on house changed after a tenant eviction. Lee is a very genuine and decent guy - gave a ball part figure which was spot on. Just labour and the cost of the locks. No call out fee. Phoned him in the morning, job completed by the afternoon - so efficient. Very difficult to trust tradesmen these days - how wonderful to come across someone who is so genuine, approachable and honest. Would highly recommend and will use again. Thanks Lee at Mentor Locks.
Fiona Q Posted on 26/04/2018 , work completed 26/04/2018
Excellence and Expertise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two rack bolts and a new British Standard cylinder lock fitted following an attempted break-in on glass double doors. Lee and his colleague Andy were very quick and efficient to respond to my request, to assess what was needed, and to deliver a friendly and high-quality service. I am happy to highly recommend Mentor Lock Ltd.
DocWat Posted on 22/07/2017 , work completed 22/07/2017
Amazing service and fast response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mentor have been our sole supplier of locks and lock smith services for many years. Over this time they have advised, supplied, and installed over 100 locks for us, as well as installing commercial code locks and fast response lock smith services when keys have been lost, or locks have failed.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
All okay
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had five door lock replaced by this company and was happy with the job they did. All has been okay and there have been no remedial issues. I already recommend them to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/05/2017 , work completed 12/05/2017
Polite and prompt
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a safe fitted and a Yale lock replaced on my front door. They are a trustworthy company and the service is polite and prompt. I have already recommended the business to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/04/2017 , work completed 13/04/2017
Satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an emergency lock replacement after I lost the keys to my house . The business were efficient, helpful and quick to solve the matter. I have kept Lee's number and will be sure to phone him again if I ever need any locks replacing. I would happy to recommend their service to other people.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/03/2017 , work completed 15/03/2017
Punctual and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We lost the key to our garage and decided to have the old lock replaced by Mentor Lock and I thought that they were an excellent business. They turned up on time and Lee was so helpful when I spoke to him. I always recommend them to other people.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a faulty lock to be repaired. Both the person I spoke to on the phone and the person who attended were polite and friendly. I was kept informed of when the locksmith would arrive. The locksmith attended quickly and fitted a new lock swiftly. Would be happy to use this company again.
Vegan Vera Posted on 15/06/2016 , work completed 15/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My initial phone call was dealt with promptly and professionally. I needed locks changed to a house recently purchased, we discussed what was required and prices. Engineer turned up promptly, advised which locks to change, quoted a reasonable price and the job was done. I highly recommend.
geneve57 Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were very helpful when my Yale lock broke and gave good information about cost prior to the visit. They quoted a fixed price for labour and there was no callout fee.The engineer arrived promptly and was able to repair the lock, saving me the expense of a new one.
bargain_hunter Posted on 14/07/2010 , work completed 14/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend this company more highly! If I were to chose a scale of 1-10 where 10 is the best recommendation I could give, I would give them a 12! I first contacted them late one evening by email. Lee contacted me back first thing the next day by phone. I explained my issues and he understood, discussed them, gave me a price and said he could have an engineer the next day at my house. The charges were great. Really good value for money. I obviously said yes, please! The next day, Lee called me to let me know when the locksmith would be there. Seamus arrived early and fixed all the problems. In fact he went totally above and beyond to get it done. And what really made me smile was that, I'd made him a cup of coffee and he actually had washed up the cup himself!! As mentioned already, I cannot praise this company enough. USE THEM!!! :)
allie_dav Posted on 19/02/2010 , work completed 19/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My phone call was answered immediately.The serviceman was very helpful and gave me the price for replacing a lock. He contacted his van, nearby and the locksmith arrived ten minutes earlier than expected, and had all the equipment needed to complete the job quickly. He asked me to check his work before leaving, to make sure i was satisfied,
BIllFGD Posted on 31/12/2009 , work completed 31/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good value, helpful.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/07/2009 , work completed 02/07/2009