We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Morgan Thomas Construction Ltd

Profile thumb 5844366
5.0

21 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

My name is Matthew Conn and I am the director of Morgan Thomas Construction Ltd.

We are a family run company specialising in carpentry and joinery that has been successfully trading for the last 20 years. Our head office and work shop is located at Unit 14, 17 Argall Avenue, London E10 7QE

Over the years we built up a large client base which is made up of various Architectural Practices, Designers, Developers, Private Clients and Local Authorities.

Our carpenters are extremely experienced in the type of work that we offer, you will find the service that we offer is accessible and approachable.

Our workforce consists of fully qualified tradesmen trained to the highest service delivery standards. Their ability to achieve such standards on a consistent basis depends upon the provision not only of good quality tools and materials but also on their receiving accurate information.

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Cabinet makers

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repairs
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Glaziers

    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
  • Doors

    • Fire doors
    • French doors
    • Front door
    • Patio doors
    • Timber doors
  • More Services

    • storage units
    • shelving
    • wardrobes
    • alcove bookcases

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
21 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Morgan Thomas were engaged to completely refurbish a guest room which included laying a new wooden floor, constructing and fitting bespoke floor to ceiling wardrobes and cupboards, bookshelves and a sink unit. We were delighted with the quality and efficiency of the work. Matthew and the team were a pleasure to work with and considerate throughout. Everyone was polite, tidy, efficient and - most importantly - very skilled in their work. We’re delighted with the room.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/04/2021 , work completed 08/03/2021
Really good quality windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Morgan Thomas have been trusted window and door fitters for us in three properties. In our place they fitted ground and first flooor windows and did a really good job. The windows are excellent quality and perfectly painted. I feel like these will last many years as agood quality wood and rubn very smoothIy. I would definitely use Morgan Thomas again as their team were professional, kind and clean.
Paul in Greater London Posted on 07/04/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Clean and fast work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Morgan Thomas Construction painted our outside windows. The work was done speedily and the workmen were clean and tidy and they cleared up when they had finished. It was a pleasure working with this firm and we would recommend them. They stuck to the price quoted even though they had to do extra work and we found their price very fair.
Trevor in Greater London Posted on 07/04/2021 , work completed 09/11/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matthew and his team have undertaken all our carpentry work since we bought our house 12 years ago. We had to renovate it one room at a time due to budget constraints. They do most of the work offsite which is a huge bonus as we’re living in the house therefore minimal disruption to family life. They’ve always listened to what we wanted and put things right when required. They turn up when they say they will and stay until the job is done.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/02/2019 , work completed 20/02/2019
External Decorations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Morgan Thomas undertook external decoration and repair work on our four storey Victorian house, including full replacement of one sash window. We were delighted with the work - they were professional and thorough, showed really good attention to detail and were responsive to any queries. We would definitely recommend them - and will use them again!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/11/2018 , work completed 05/11/2018
Great Work and Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a new sash window to match existing floor to ceiling windows in 1st floor flat of 1820's terrace in London . The team arrived on time, did a brilliant job, were quick, professional and tidy. Fantastic outcome and great value. I recommend Morgan Thomas 110%.
SusanFD Posted on 09/11/2018 , work completed 09/11/2018
high quality and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had awkward cupboards made for my kitchen, and installing these required liaison with other traders, and quite a lot of flexibility. Although installation was a little delayed over Christmas, the company was very responsive and helpful, the installation was excellent and the final product is really lovely.
Jackie L Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Well-run construction company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had the long-needed work done on my sash windows in my Victorian property. Two of the windows are originals, therefore I was somewhat reluctant in having the work done in case I was told they were to be replaced. I met both Russell and Matthew, the founding brothers, prior to the work being done and both came across as very honest and down to earth. They recommended that two windows were replaced and the rest refurbished. Morgan Thomas was given the work because its quote was the most competitive and had a very practical approach and factored in my concerns about costs. The work started on schedule and my property/furniture was covered and protected with dust sheets. Every afternoon before the workmen left, they swept or vacuumed. The men, Mickey, Angelo and Andrew, were very professional, respectful and polite –a pleasure to have around. All jobs have their hiccups and this was no exception. In my opinion, whether I use a company again or recommend it depends partly on its ability to deal with any issues that may arise. My issues were dealt with immediately and effectively. One thing that was apparent was that all the staff, painters, carpenters and Matthew were concerned that I, the client, was happy. I was so happy with the work Morgan Thomas did on refurbishing my sash windows, that I have used them again to paint my front portico. Not only were the workmen very professional, but I found Geraldine, in the office, most helpful, practical and well organised.
Chan Posted on 04/12/2017 , work completed 04/12/2017
Sensitive Victorian refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Morgan Thomas Construction came recommended by friends in Stoke Newington and we're delighted with the work they have done on our terraced Victorian house. We wanted to restore a large patio door with decorative glasswork and replace an old skylight and kitchen window with double glazed panels. Despite our crooked walls and ceiling, Matthew, Russell and Andrew did a beautiful job. They were a pleasure to deal with: professional, friendly and punctual. We are already planning our next job!
Suzannah Biernoff Posted on 30/06/2017 , work completed 30/06/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I appointed Morgan Thomas to undertake various extensive carpentry jobs including removal of a kitchenette and turning it into a oak veneered wardrobe - they completed on time, with the minimum of fuss, and had good attention to detail in terms of dust and dirt management through the house. Their team were always on time, in uniform, well mannered and had a can-do attitude. Very highly recommended which is why we will certainly use them again!
JBSSLondon Posted on 07/02/2017 , work completed 07/02/2017
Flat renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Morgan Thomas for some renovation work to my flat and was very pleased with the results. The work involved installing two sliding pocket doors (and removing the existing hinged doors), refurbishing five sash windows and installing brush draught excluders, simplifying the banisters on the landing, laying engineered-wood flooring down in a number of rooms and on the stairs (and removing the existing carpet), replacing the skirting board and architraving throughout the flat. I found Matthew Conn, the company director, to be professional and efficient. The carpenters actually carrying out the work were thorough and hard-working. They paid close attention to detail, so that the final finish was of a high standard. In addition, they were easy to get along with and tidied up well after finishing each day.
alexhab Posted on 07/11/2015 , work completed 07/11/2015
Bespoke sash window replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was a pleasure doing business with Morgan Thomas Construction. They were highly professional in all aspects of their work. They made a replacement sash window for us, using cutters they created to match the unusual late-Georgian profile of the original glazing bars. Their specialized work was not only of the highest quality but it was also very competitively priced. The window was produced in the time specified and very efficiently fitted. I wholeheartedly recommend this firm.
Balcombe St resident Posted on 13/06/2015 , work completed 13/06/2015
High Spec
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the very outset Mathew was courteous,meticulous to detail,tidy and efficient. His level of workmanship is outstanding ,you will never be disappointed. The job will be maintained to a very high specification.
lisarobinson Posted on 25/09/2014 , work completed 25/09/2014
A trader with a lot of initiative!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In March this year, I used this company to build some shelves for me. I was impressed with their design and initiative in the space they put the shelves up in. They were very good.
LRC123 Posted on 25/06/2014 , work completed 25/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Morgan Thomas Construction started with a very reasonable estimate for the work and then cheerfully and sympathetically renegotiated the work timings around a family bereavement - without any significant delays. The work proved to be more complex that I at least expected (once Edwardian panels and sashes were revealed). Nevertheless, the firm returned, promptly, on several occasions to do additional joinery and carpentry and refit and add adaptions to the work until I was completely satisfied. At all times they were cheerful, polite, tidy and really professionally focussed. My windows face north and open land. I wanted sash windows that fitted the house features AND a substantial improvement in my insulation. I have received both. I would commission further work from this firm without hesitation.
BFlats Posted on 02/01/2014 , work completed 02/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quality and craftsmanship of the work this firm did on our Georgian terraced house was superb. We were having the cracked old lead replaced on the roof when it was discovered that the big dormer windows were in bad condition and also needed replacing. We quickly had to find someone to make and install new ones while the scaffolding was up. We found Morgan Thomas Construction from Which local -- and were very glad we did. They liaised carefully with the roofers so necessary lead work linked with the windows was carried out in the weather-limited time between the new and old ones being fitted. We then asked the firm to make and replace, or repair, some other damaged windows, and paint the exterior. The skills of the all the friendly people involved _ including joiners, carpenters, painters _ were excellent. Matthew Conn, the leading partner, professionally organised the work and we really appreciated that he came round at the end to inspect, and confirm that it had been finished to the highest of standards. Even at this level of quality, the cost was very fair and reasonable.
Probing Trevor Posted on 14/06/2013 , work completed 14/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matthew and his team were great, they made a built in cupboard for us with sliding doors which looks fantastic. They were prompt and tidy and also the painter Andrew was brilliant. We are very happy with their work and their price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend them!
ApandInnes Posted on 16/11/2012 , work completed 16/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
For fitting double-glazed wooden sashes, they are brilliant. Good quality wood, and the fitting itself done with no fuss. They've now replaced all my old sashes, and the new ones are fantastic. No draughts, less traffic noise from outside, and the house much warmer. I recommended them to my neighbours, and they're just as pleased.
Michael Coley-Smith Posted on 02/07/2012 , work completed 02/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this firm to completely refurbish a large bay window and to upgrade the windows to double glazing, with draft proofing and new security locks. The team did a great job, keeping me informed leading up to the job and the guys who came to install the windows were all professional. I'm really pleased with the job that the team did and I would certainly use them again.
phoenixxxx2001 Posted on 20/05/2012 , work completed 20/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Undertook as variety of work: new spindles, fitting wooden plinth to bottom of doorstep to fit new entrance door and bolts, rehanging doors and fitting new hinges and draught proofing strips. The work was of an exceptionally high standard and was incredibly good value for money and the workmen were very pleasant and helpful in working to meet my requirements. I cannot recommend highly enough.
SEB2 Posted on 22/02/2011 , work completed 22/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matthew Conn and his excellent team have done many jobs for us over the years, in this and our last house, including building hall coat cupboards, putting in a handbuilt kitchen (we got it made elsewhere) building hallway wardrobes, boxing in pipes with cupboard and fitted mirror and building bespoke wardrobes. They are expert in proportion and style, and can make useful suggestions to assist design. We had many items made shaker style, but they can do all types from Victorian to modern. They have a joinery shop where they make the doors and large carcasses and carpenters fit on site. They arrive on time, leave a very tidy site each night and are thoroughly reliable. Though not the cheapest, frankly around here there are a lot of cowboys woho would only leave you disappointed so we always go back to Morgan Thomas.
Charlotte.J. Posted on 04/05/2009 , work completed 04/05/2009