We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Oakwood Carpentry & Maintenance

Profile thumb oakwood

4.9

24 Reviews

About

Whatever you are looking for, I have the capabilities and expertise to undertake all domestic first and second fix carpentry work. Whether it's changing a lock or laying hard wood flooring, I can be there for you. I can even paint, stain or varnish your joinery for you after if you want me too.

With over over 30 years' experience, you're sure to be ecstatic with the finished job.

- Personal service
- Minimal disruption
- High standard work
- Clean and tidy
- Over 30 years' experience

Door replacement
Built in furniture
Internal alterations
Laminate & hard wood flooring
Spindles
Handrails
Handles & locks
Stair parts
Skirtings
Building maintenance
Kitchen cabinets

What we do

  • Carpenters

  • Doors

  • Flooring services

  • Furniture repair and restoration

  • More Services

    • hardwood flooring
    • stair case
    • loft conversion
    • maintenance

Customer reviews

4.9
24 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Quality workmanship by a caring craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mike, from Oakwood Carpentry, visited some four weeks before we wanted the work to be done. He listened carefully and then outlined what he thought would be the best course of action, he was going to generate an estimate for the work but I told him not to as all the work was below the floor. On the day we agreed he arrived punctually and commenced work. On lifting parts of the floor and examining the work to be done he again offered to generate an estimate. I again told him not to as there was so much still unknown. By the evening of the first day he had removed all the bad wood from the kitchen and generated a list of materials he would need to complete the repairs. He left the kitchen clean and tidy. All rubbish he had put into bags ready for disposal. The next day he set about installing the new wood. He replaced five joists, three damp course sections and applied resin in place of cement, a better alternative and longer lasting. The final day of the three, Mike installed plywood flooring as agreed as we intend to have a new Vinyl covering applied to the whole kitchen. Mike did an excellent job and kept us fully informed of all the work he was doing along with his reasons for doing it. I thoroughly recommend Oakwood Carpentry for any Carpentry work. His business card is one I will not loose. I have now asked him for a quote to apply the Vinyl covering.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 10/08/2020 , work completed 05/08/2020
100% Customer Satisfaction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rarely give customer reviews, but I feel the need to share my experience of Oakwood Carpentry simply because it is by far the best. I have used several carpenters over the years for various properties, and Oakwood Carpentry is the most professional, expert and customer-centric service I have ever experienced. The reliability, attention to detail, cleanliness of work and overall experience is a real pleasure. I highly recommend anyone to use Oakwood Carpentry. Great job as always.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 06/05/2019 , work completed 03/05/2019
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work required was to demolish an existing structure before replacing it with new I was impressed by the thoughtful manner in which the work was approached. Great care was taken not to damage adjacent structures. Great attention to detail. The final result - an excellent job.
Margaret, Hampshire Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent attention to detail that makes all the difference in a good job.
J, Hampshire Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Brilliant job, prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No hesitation in recommending this excellent tradesman.
Lucy, Hampshire Posted on 30/08/2018 , work completed 30/08/2018
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mike explained, and showed the work he was doing at several stages of the job. The work he did was great, and he left the room clean and tidy. Very friendly and efficient we will certainly call on him for any future Carpentry needs.
Callum Posted on 29/06/2018 , work completed 29/06/2018
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cheerful, efficient, tidy. Very satisfied with the work done.
Jean, Hampshire Posted on 10/05/2018 , work completed 10/05/2018
Satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not the biggest of jobs, but quite complex, Mike was very thoughtful to our requirements, was steady, neat and tidy. Very pleased with the result.
Robert, Hampshire Posted on 21/02/2018 , work completed 21/02/2018
Very tidy job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael was very pleasant. He did an excellent job of altering the position of a kitchen cupboard. He left everything clean & tidy.
Ray, Hampshire Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
New Kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mike did an excellent job in fitting new kitchen units and flooring work. The finish is faultless. He did further works on garage door repair and other floor work. I find him a very friendly, honest and polite gentleman. I would be very happy to hire him for any future work. Thank you Mike for the great help.
BalaGA Posted on 12/01/2018 , work completed 12/01/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Difficult job replacing my gate with a second hand one. Mike did a great job!
Simon, Hampshire Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael did work in my hall and did the most perfect & incredible job. I cannot find any fault in anything that he did on that day. I would and already have recommend him to others.
Lorraine, Hampshire Posted on 25/09/2017 , work completed 25/09/2017
Brilliant job-true professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Workmanship 1st class. Nothing was too much for him. Help & advice on what required. Keep everything clean & tidy. A true professional job by a polite friendly man.
Graham, Hampshire Posted on 25/07/2017 , work completed 25/07/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael was very neat and tidy. Liaised with us to ensure the job was as required. He was always meticulous took pride in his work. The finish job was excellent and we would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Sandy, Hampshire Posted on 19/07/2017 , work completed 19/07/2017
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A quality tradesmen all jobs given completed to my satisfaction. Most impressed he is a perfectionist. Highly recommended.
Nigel, Hampshire Posted on 05/04/2017 , work completed 05/04/2017
Highly recommended - Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had Mike do work in my house on several occasions 2.3.17, 16.3.17, 31.3.17-1.4.17. The workmanship is exceptional. Mike is a perfectionist. He is polite, conscientious, hardworking. He explains everything he does. Will also recommend what needs to be done, but does not do work which does not need doing. Communicates very well, if slightly late due to even heavy traffic will call you. Exceptional work. Very reasonable rates. Also a very personable man - Highly recommended. Exceptional workmanship, peace of mind guaranteed.
Christine, Hampshire Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael did an excellent job. Putting in a cupboard & work top. Very careful, checking details. Worked tidily and hoovered up when finished. Kept me informed of progress.
Jean, Hampshire Posted on 13/02/2017 , work completed 13/02/2017
The job is not finished until it's perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mike replaced a window and installed a door in the side wall of my garage. Despite my often commenting "It's just a garage." he carried out the work as if it was in the house. Everything had to be 'just so' even when it meant he had to continue working after dark. He is now my 'go to man' for any building or carpentry work and I am compiling a list of jobs for him.
smifee Posted on 13/10/2016 , work completed 13/10/2016
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Oakwood Carpentry did a very good job, and carried out more than required at a reasonable rate.
Christopher, Hampshire Posted on 27/07/2016 , work completed 27/07/2016
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a wooden door hung. Work was carried out with great precision and to a high standard.
G, Hampshire Posted on 07/07/2016 , work completed 07/07/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mike went out of his way to do an excellent job and ensure we were happy with it.
Mary, Hampshire Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Cant recommend him enough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Working previously as a maintenance man myself and capable of most tasks, I was only prepared to use someone that convinced me that their standard was far superior to mine. I started seeking recommendations from friends in the trade and Oakwood carpentry came up stating that the chap who owns the company had been in the Carpentry & Building trade his entire working life. I called Oakwood and was instantly assured by Mikes depth of knowledge on numerous matters that I had been given all the confidence I needed. His prices are unusually (in this day and age) always fair and his craftsmanship beyond anything I could of hoped for. I have since gone on to recommend Mike to numerous family members and friends knowing that anyone that uses his services will be delighted with his service and attention to detail. I barely write references but am so pleased with Mikes work it would be remiss of me not to in this case.
Swiftadam Posted on 14/06/2016 , work completed 14/06/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, thorough & good attention to detail. Highly recommended
Eric, Hampshire Posted on 22/01/2016 , work completed 22/01/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, reliable, good worker
Valerie, Hampshire Posted on 28/08/2015 , work completed 28/08/2015