Endorsed by Which?

Peter Higson & Co Ltd

4.9

56 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:30
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Higson’s plumbing & heating commenced trading in 1930 serving the Altrincham and surrounding areas. We are now one of the oldest companies in the area.

We are a Worcester Bosch Accredited Installation company and can offer a free twelve year manufactures guarantee.

Since October 2023 we also have an electrical division.

As we are FCA registered company we can offer 0% finance up to 2 years and 10.9% up to ten years.

Our bathrooms as absolutely stunning. All designed and drawn by Jo at her showroom -Altrincham Bathrooms at Stag Industrial Estate, Atlantic Street, Altrincham, WA14 5DW.

Most quotations are free and emailed the same or next day after surveying.

Don’t just take my word for our teams quality repairs, service and installations. Look at our Which reviews.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Peter Higson

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
A boiler job well done
Peter and his team have been very professional and efficient from the very beginning. I was left with high energetic bills and ineffective heating during the recent cold spell - despite regular Home servicing with British Gas . Peter promptly responded to my telephone enquiry, understood my needs, helped me select the right boiler and got the work started within a week - within my convenience. It was excellent to see Apprenticeship in action in this line of business. A team of friendly apprentices installed the new boiler under Peter’s guidance most efficiently and cleared up at the end. The apprentices were very knowledgeable and well trained to do the job without any problems - especially James, who was most friendly and very patient in communicating every little detail to me . I would highly recommend Peter Higson and his team for any boiler installation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/01/2024 (Reviewer did not use service)
Cloakroom installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and the team recently installed new radiators throughout the house and created a new cloakroom in a space underneath the stairs. The whole process was carried out efficiently with great communication at every stage from planning to installation and we are delighted with the result. Thanks so much to Peter and the friendly, helpful and reliable team, we would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/01/2024 , work completed 22/01/2024
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson Plumbing always does great job will always use them in the future for all our plumbing needs m.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/01/2024 , work completed 05/01/2024
Best Plumber Around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Peter over the last 12 years for big jobs such as new radiators, boilers, showers, kitchens through to minor tap repairs. He is helpful and knowledgeable about any job. Responds quickly and come out to the job quickly. Always turns up when he says he will and had always been able to resolve the problem. Work is completed quickly and cleanly and comes back for any follow up work. He even lent us a number of plug in heaters when our boiler stopped working in the middle of winter. We couldn't recommend Peter more highly, hence why he has been our go to plumber for 12 years!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/01/2024 , work completed 05/01/2024
Gas Boiler Service
Really pleased with the service. James found a problem with our gas meter. Peter kept in touch with us throughout the day while it was sorted.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/01/2024 (Reviewer did not use service)
Reliable, trustworthy and competent team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pete and his team have been faultless in completing a number of jobs including new radiators, fitting a new bathroom and removal of gas fires. The team are brilliant, highly skilled, super friendly and overall a very professional outfit. The guys were very accommodating to our moving requests for any changes and additions to the original job, they were just so great we wanted to keep them in the house to do all our other jobs! Can’t recommend Pete Higson highly enough and they did a particularly spectacular job fitting a new bathroom. Very clean, prompt and overall delightful team who we will use again in the future.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/12/2023 , work completed 24/11/2023
Taps & toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very positive and professional team , all work carried out on time and great finish to completed work
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/11/2023 , work completed 13/11/2023
Faultless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It’s a shame this firm don’t do whole property maintenance as they would get the job. Our boiler broke down on Monday and we have a new one (along with 3 new radiators we desperately needed) 3 days later. Well actually it was more like 2 days later. From the moment we called I knew we were in safe hands. Friendly, knowledgeable, polite, respectful, punctual, tidy, responsive and good quality. That old saying that a job has three parts to it but only 2 can be true at once. Quick, cheap, well done…if you want it quick and well done, it won’t be cheap. I actually think these guys have broken that model - this job was really well done, super quick and while it may not have been cheap it really didn’t feel like it was expensive. Partly, I suppose as 90% was on interest free credit. Brilliant job!!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/10/2023 , work completed 26/10/2023
Fantastic boiler service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had the boiler fitted 2 years ago expertly done ,clean and tidy work no issues at all with the installation, continued great service with annual inspection. A great guy and fantastic boiler engineer. Recommended 1st class.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/10/2023 , work completed 05/10/2023
Renovated bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were recommended Peter and Co. by our bathroom fixture supplier after we were turned down by so many other tradesmen as they were busy. And we are thankful that we did because Peter and his colleagues - Mark the tiler, James & Jack, both young plumbers and Andy, the electrician have managed to create a spanking new bathroom for us. We renovated our family bathroom as the tiles were crumbling, there were leaks externally & internally and a creaky floor. Peter gave us a reasonable quote (they are more expensive than others but we were looking for quality, so didn't compromise). They started on time and managed to finish within 4 weeks, mainly because we added several more tasks along the way including boiler servicing and loft insulation. The completed tilework, masonry repair and plumbing are excellent and we really didn't have to call them back apart from replacing a couple of parts due to manufacturer faults. Peter's team was gracious, patient with all our questions/ modifications/ requests, and ensured the work was completed with minimal disruption and no damage to the rest of the house. We would recommend them highly if you are in the area and looking to renovate a bathroom. We look forward to future projects with them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/09/2023 , work completed 05/09/2023