Endorsed by Which?

Peter Higson & Co Ltd

4.9

56 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:30
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Higson’s plumbing & heating commenced trading in 1930 serving the Altrincham and surrounding areas. We are now one of the oldest companies in the area.

We are a Worcester Bosch Accredited Installation company and can offer a free twelve year manufactures guarantee.

Since October 2023 we also have an electrical division.

As we are FCA registered company we can offer 0% finance up to 2 years and 10.9% up to ten years.

Our bathrooms as absolutely stunning. All designed and drawn by Jo at her showroom -Altrincham Bathrooms at Stag Industrial Estate, Atlantic Street, Altrincham, WA14 5DW.

Most quotations are free and emailed the same or next day after surveying.

Don’t just take my word for our teams quality repairs, service and installations. Look at our Which reviews.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Peter Higson

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
A maintained high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used the Services of Peter Higson & Co for almost 20 years & over that timeI found any work carried out by them to be of a high standard. For example the Compnay installed a New Shower Room in the mid 2,000s & (Shhhh, hope I`m not a hostage to fortune) ) so far not a single problem. The Annual Servicing of the Heating Boiler & System is carried out so far as I can see with efficiency. Thank you to Peter Higson & his Colleagues for all their support over the years.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/05/2024 , work completed 08/05/2024
Replace shower door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter agreed the schedule and budget and liaised with us throughout the job as we were having damp work done by different contractors at the same time. The work was done to budget and as discussed by Peter at the initial visit. Ben and Jack replaced the shower door and did a good job, communicating with us throughout. We're really happy with the new door. All the team were friendly, efficient, and gave me confidence in the work they were doing.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/05/2024 , work completed 26/04/2024
Replacement central heating boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I discovered a leak on the central heating boiler at my Mothers house. I contacted Peter Higson to ask for advice. Peter told me how to isolate the water to the boiler and explained to me that as the boiler was over 18 years old it would be a good idea to replace it. I agreed with this and the work started within 24 hours. On final inspection of the works I can confirm that the works were carried out to a high standard and that the engineers left my Mothers property in an immaculate condition. I cant thank them enough. I would highly recommend Peter Higson & Co Ltd to anybody seeking any kind of plumbing or heating works.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 03/05/2024 , work completed 02/05/2024
Super Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend this company. They are very professional, skilled, clean and tidy in their work. I have used them for a number of years now and impressed every time with their quality of workmanship, exceptional customer service and care. I had a leaking boiler which was replaced with a new one in two days - brilliant.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/04/2024 , work completed 16/04/2024
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and team were extremely professional, working diligently and being transparent with pricing/length of job. The company have on hand other trades that allow for a smooth job to be done. Will be using again for any large plumbing jobs!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/04/2024 , work completed 12/04/2024
A proper service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boiler was serviced by British Gas and then Corgi, but communication proved increasingly difficult. The difference with Peter Higson was that a real person answered the phone, we agreed a service date two days later, the guys turned up at the time agreed and did a very thorough and professional job. I subsequently needed advice and Peter could not have been more helpful in a fairly lengthy conversation. They will be my first port of call for all my plumbing needs in future.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/04/2024 , work completed 28/03/2024
Bathroom refurb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a plumber to undertake the removal of our existing bathroom suite and update and relocate it to another room. We were introduced to Pete by our builder who recommended him. From day 1 Pete has not disappointed, he was punctual for pre-meetings to assess the job, took his time to understand the project and promptly put together a fair quotation. Once we commissioned Pete, he recommended we visit Plumbase. Here we met the equally excellent Jo who helped design and render our dream bathroom with a fully tiled shower, half tiled walls and under floor heating. Once ready, Pete’s team led by Mark started the job. Mark is personable, hard working and also excellent at communicating, he’s a very good tiler and plumber. Alongside Mark there is James, another talented plumber and Andy a very knowledgable electrician. Pete also has a few apprentices on his books which is great to see. They all work together seamlessly to get the job done. Mark is always on hand to take your call, answer any questions and importantly look to fix any issues that have emerged during the job. The team completed the job much quicker than we were expecting and ensured the space was left clean and tidy. There were a couple things we needed changing post-completion but the team have quickly sorted these out with no problems. Overall we are highly satisfied by the work the team have undertaken and cannot recommend them highly enough. Thank you Pete!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 23/03/2024 , work completed 21/03/2024
Bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been recommended to Peter, I asked about a conversion of our bathroom. Neither of us are getting any younger or mobile and it became a necessity to replace the bath with a walk in shower. We received our quote and were happy to proceed. The team turned up on time to start the work en mass. It was a major overhaul . They promptly set about the task and over, roughly, 10 days the conversion was complete much to the delight of myself and my wife. The guys were polite and thorough in their work and attitude also flexible when they came across any problems. All for the cost of tea and biscuits. We added a few upgrades so the cost rose a little but not outwith our budget. We are more than happy to recommend this company and would use them again.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/03/2024 , work completed 21/02/2024
Replace toilet pan and cistern plus associated flooring
A tricky job which they did brilliantly. A lovely lot of people did the work - very friendly, nothing too much trouble and they left the premises very tidy. definitely use them again.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/02/2024 (Reviewer did not use service)
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As with a lot of people in this cold weather my boiler stopped working. Peter advised what to do via the telephone but because my outside pipe was frozen solid the warm water trick didn’t work …….. Peter sent his team round in under an hour which I was so grateful for as it was so cold !!! The team sorted out my boiler and re positioned the outside pipe so that it doesn’t happen again. I am so delighted with the service that i have asked them to quote for my downstairs toilet.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 30/01/2024 , work completed 30/01/2024
A boiler job well done
Peter and his team have been very professional and efficient from the very beginning. I was left with high energetic bills and ineffective heating during the recent cold spell - despite regular Home servicing with British Gas . Peter promptly responded to my telephone enquiry, understood my needs, helped me select the right boiler and got the work started within a week - within my convenience. It was excellent to see Apprenticeship in action in this line of business. A team of friendly apprentices installed the new boiler under Peter’s guidance most efficiently and cleared up at the end. The apprentices were very knowledgeable and well trained to do the job without any problems - especially James, who was most friendly and very patient in communicating every little detail to me . I would highly recommend Peter Higson and his team for any boiler installation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/01/2024 (Reviewer did not use service)
Cloakroom installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and the team recently installed new radiators throughout the house and created a new cloakroom in a space underneath the stairs. The whole process was carried out efficiently with great communication at every stage from planning to installation and we are delighted with the result. Thanks so much to Peter and the friendly, helpful and reliable team, we would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/01/2024 , work completed 22/01/2024
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson Plumbing always does great job will always use them in the future for all our plumbing needs m.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/01/2024 , work completed 05/01/2024
Best Plumber Around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Peter over the last 12 years for big jobs such as new radiators, boilers, showers, kitchens through to minor tap repairs. He is helpful and knowledgeable about any job. Responds quickly and come out to the job quickly. Always turns up when he says he will and had always been able to resolve the problem. Work is completed quickly and cleanly and comes back for any follow up work. He even lent us a number of plug in heaters when our boiler stopped working in the middle of winter. We couldn't recommend Peter more highly, hence why he has been our go to plumber for 12 years!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/01/2024 , work completed 05/01/2024
Gas Boiler Service
Really pleased with the service. James found a problem with our gas meter. Peter kept in touch with us throughout the day while it was sorted.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/01/2024 (Reviewer did not use service)
Reliable, trustworthy and competent team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pete and his team have been faultless in completing a number of jobs including new radiators, fitting a new bathroom and removal of gas fires. The team are brilliant, highly skilled, super friendly and overall a very professional outfit. The guys were very accommodating to our moving requests for any changes and additions to the original job, they were just so great we wanted to keep them in the house to do all our other jobs! Can’t recommend Pete Higson highly enough and they did a particularly spectacular job fitting a new bathroom. Very clean, prompt and overall delightful team who we will use again in the future.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/12/2023 , work completed 24/11/2023
Taps & toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very positive and professional team , all work carried out on time and great finish to completed work
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/11/2023 , work completed 13/11/2023
Faultless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It’s a shame this firm don’t do whole property maintenance as they would get the job. Our boiler broke down on Monday and we have a new one (along with 3 new radiators we desperately needed) 3 days later. Well actually it was more like 2 days later. From the moment we called I knew we were in safe hands. Friendly, knowledgeable, polite, respectful, punctual, tidy, responsive and good quality. That old saying that a job has three parts to it but only 2 can be true at once. Quick, cheap, well done…if you want it quick and well done, it won’t be cheap. I actually think these guys have broken that model - this job was really well done, super quick and while it may not have been cheap it really didn’t feel like it was expensive. Partly, I suppose as 90% was on interest free credit. Brilliant job!!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/10/2023 , work completed 26/10/2023
Fantastic boiler service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had the boiler fitted 2 years ago expertly done ,clean and tidy work no issues at all with the installation, continued great service with annual inspection. A great guy and fantastic boiler engineer. Recommended 1st class.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/10/2023 , work completed 05/10/2023
Renovated bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were recommended Peter and Co. by our bathroom fixture supplier after we were turned down by so many other tradesmen as they were busy. And we are thankful that we did because Peter and his colleagues - Mark the tiler, James & Jack, both young plumbers and Andy, the electrician have managed to create a spanking new bathroom for us. We renovated our family bathroom as the tiles were crumbling, there were leaks externally & internally and a creaky floor. Peter gave us a reasonable quote (they are more expensive than others but we were looking for quality, so didn't compromise). They started on time and managed to finish within 4 weeks, mainly because we added several more tasks along the way including boiler servicing and loft insulation. The completed tilework, masonry repair and plumbing are excellent and we really didn't have to call them back apart from replacing a couple of parts due to manufacturer faults. Peter's team was gracious, patient with all our questions/ modifications/ requests, and ensured the work was completed with minimal disruption and no damage to the rest of the house. We would recommend them highly if you are in the area and looking to renovate a bathroom. We look forward to future projects with them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/09/2023 , work completed 05/09/2023
Recommend 100%
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial contact for a quote to the finish of the installation, first class. Can’t compliment Peter AND all his staff too much. A pleasure to do business with them and have them carry out the work in my house! They all were extremely knowledgeable and polite. Can’t recommend them enough. WELL DONE PETER AND THE TEAM.
Customer in Warrington Posted on 18/09/2023 , work completed 18/09/2023
Speed service and responsive.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company came to repair a leaked shower, replaced a shower unit door and repaired a damaged ceiling due to the leak and completed the work in 2 days. Very speedy in response to queries and Peter was very helpful in his advice. Very accommodating in arranging a time to call. Everything in the work involved was explained to us. Post installation issue resolved very quickly after an email was answered during the Bank holiday weekend. Workmen were very friendly, polite and cleaned up mess at the end of each day. We highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 30/08/2023 , work completed 29/08/2023
Excellent Company - Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson Plumbing & Heating was recommended to us by Plumbase in Altrincham. We would have no hesitation in recommending Peter Higson and his team, James, Jack, Ben and Ellis who did the plastering. The whole project was very professionally organised and managed from start to finish, they did an amazing job with our downstairs cloakroom.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/08/2023 , work completed 24/08/2023
Bathroom refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pete and his team did an exceptional job of refurbishing a bathroom for me. All plumbing, tiling and electrical work was finished to the highest standard. The project was completed on time and all the team were courteous and informative. The property was left in an immaculately clean condition. I would not hesitate to recommend Peter Higson Plumbing to anyone requiring this kind of work done.
David in Cheshire East Posted on 12/08/2023 , work completed 11/08/2023
very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson & Co Ltd replaced our old bathroom suite (bath, basin & WC), including repairing wet damaged wooden flooring and rehanging a towel radiator. They completed the job as requested to a very good standard with minimal effect on existing tiling and decoration. All staff respected our wishes and were polite, competent and left no mess. Admin (quotes, invoicing & scheduling) was good.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/07/2023 , work completed 04/07/2023
Professional and high quality plumbing firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full removal of old and installation of new main bathroom suite. Quality service throughout; clean, polite and always helpful. Delivered new bathroom to spec within reasonable timeframe (even with a two week hot spell!). Peter guided throughout and managed the work effectively. Good, reliable plumbers are hard to find; Peter will be our first port of call in the future. Really pleased with the outcome. 10 out of 10.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 30/06/2023 , work completed 28/06/2023
Boiler and radiator replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and the team undertook a complete replacement of my central heating system. They were great throughout - from taking on board my requirements and submitting a quotation, undertaking the work through to explaining the controls etc. at the end. The work was first rate, undertaken to schedule and the house was left clean and tidy. The whole team have a really friendly and pleasant, but still professional, manner and I felt able to discuss and ask questions about the work throughout - a really important plus for me. Communication prior and during the work was excellent - and all my queries were dealt with politely and promptly. I was really fortunate to find such a great outfit and I hope that they will continue to look after my heating system for me. I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Jill in Warrington Posted on 18/05/2023 , work completed 18/05/2023
Gas and plumbing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I approached Peter Higson & Co Ltd by email for a quotation to remove a wall-mounted, gas-fired room heater and to install thermostatic radiator valves on the CH system. Peter responded within a couple of hours and we arranged a date for him to assess the work involved. Peter arrived with a colleague at the agreed time and submitted a written quote the same day. He and two colleagues came to do the work a week later, as agreed. They were on-time, courteous and professional throughout, completing the job in an excellent manner, leaving everything clean and tidy when they left. As well as doing the contracted work, Peter also fitted in a couple of small extra jobs and provided me with very helpful advice on other issues in the house at no extra charge. I have no hesitation in recommending the company for any gas or water plumbing work.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 08/05/2023 , work completed 04/05/2023
great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came recommended from a neighbour. Peter and his team were extremely professional, polite and carried out the work efficiently. They were also very tidy and thorough. I would be very happy to recommend them and also to use their services again should I require. Great job!
Pauline in Warrington Posted on 21/04/2023 , work completed 20/04/2023
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson & Co Ltd have completed several pieces of plumbing work for me over a number of years, from a new boiler installation, boiler and central heating servicing and several smaller pieces of work. They have always been prompt and done work within timescale and are thoroughly professional. Peter and his men are always helpful and I always feel that the job has been done properly. I would recommend them to anyone who needs plumbing and related works doing by appropriately experienced and qualified personnel. As I said I have used Peter for a number of years and will continue to do so.
Alvin in Warrington Posted on 19/04/2023 , work completed 19/04/2023
Used for years and would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Peter Higson for years, both for major work such as fitting new bathrooms and for emergency plumbing repairs. He and his team have always been reliable and professional and their work has always been excellent.
Richard and Sarah in Cheshire East Posted on 31/03/2023 , work completed 17/03/2023
First job for me and would definitely recommend and use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and his team are a great crew. They installed a new boiler for me on time and their workmanship is excellent. They went to a lot of trouble to route new pipework required as neatly and discreetly as possible which is greatly appreciated.
Don in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/03/2023 , work completed 15/03/2023
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler engineer recommended Peter to us when he retired last year and we're really glad he did. Peter fitted us in quickly and arrived promptly. He explained what needed doing and why, tidied up as he worked, and completed all the paperwork that keeps our Worcester Bosch warranties going. We asked him back for a plumbing job a few days later, and it was the same story - he even fitted us in on the same day! Peter and his apprentice James were great to deal with and we wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend them. He's now our go-to plumber as well as boiler engineer.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/01/2023 , work completed 12/01/2023
Great Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and his team took my bathroom back to the brickwork and refurbished it. Everything went really well both in terms of time taken to complete the work and budget. The team turned up when they said they would and kept me informed throughout the whole project. They accommodated changes on the way and carried out small extra jobs with a smile. Peter made suggestions which I would never have thought of to solve problems. They cleaned up after themselves and made sure to leave enough room for me to move safely around my house. I really can’t fault their workmanship and would happily recommend them to friends and family. As a bonus, I now have contacts for all the various trades, which I will be using in the future. Thank you so much Peter, James, Kevin, Adam, Andy, Mark and Mervyn for such great work.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/12/2022 , work completed 22/12/2022
Fitting new bathroom heater and taps and repairing hot water system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was agreed a few days prior to commencement. Work was done promptly and efficiently, at the time specified and to budget. The work carried out was to an extremely high standard. The tradesmen worked cleanly and were considerate and polite. We were given a complete and clear explanation of the work carried out on completion. The work was carried out to our complete satisfaction, and we would have no hesitation in recommending the company to anyone and will certainly employ them for any work in the future.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 02/12/2022 , work completed 02/12/2022
Delighted with Full Bathroom Renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter, James and all the trades they work with completed the renovation of our bathroom on budget and on time. They were a pleasure to have around, and made a potentially stressful renovation project run as smooth as possible for us. Any minor hitches were addressed quickly and without a fuss. The standard of customer care and communication is well beyond most other trades we have used previously.The transformation of our bathroom is dramatic,and we are absolutely delighted with the finish. It is now a pleasure to use and a credit to Peter and his team. We will certainly call Peter again, should we need any other plumbing or gas work.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/11/2022 , work completed 08/11/2022
Complete heating system install and ongoing services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson is a genuinely nice guy and very knowledgeable. He helped us when we moved in our current house which at the time didn't have central heating but was fitted with a very old (and not working) coal boiler and immersion take only. He helped recommend the boiler and system we needed, fitted it, connected it to the new gas mains we had installed, fitted all the pips and new radiators into the property. His extensive knowledge of current but also traditional systems was invaluable to achieve this as he needed to decommission the existing coal system and connect in the new one. The boiler and system has worked perfectly since installed five years ago and we use Peter to service it annually. If you're looking for a decent plumber, who can be relied upon then give Peter a call.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/10/2022 , work completed 14/10/2022
Excellent Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and James refurbished our bathroom and carried out a number of repairs to our plumbing system. Throughout the work they were polite and considerate and we are delighted with the standard of workmanship. Throughout the process we were kept well informed of how things were progressing and what the next step would be and they were happy to discuss any concerns we had. Both Peter and James were reliable and always arrived on time for appointments. I would definitely recommend this company. Thanks Peter!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 09/10/2022 , work completed 09/10/2022
Great service and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and James carried out a number of fixes in our house including two leaking pipes above the ceiling, a broken toilet and shower bar valve. We were happy with the work and they left the areas clean and tidy. Peter and James were very efficient, professional and friendly. I would recommend and use them again for any plumbing needs. Thanks again!
Lily in Greater Manchester Posted on 09/06/2022 , work completed 01/06/2022
The trader replied (on 09/06/2022)
Thanks for your review Lily.
Fit new central heating Radiator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Trader supplied a detailed schedule of work and provided a reasonable quotation. He attended promptly on the agreed date to carry out the work of removing an old radiator and re-siting and fitting a new central heating radiator. He was friendly, helpful and professional and carried out the work to a high standard. He tested the system to prove it worked. He left the site clean and tidy.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/06/2022 , work completed 07/06/2022
The trader replied (on 09/06/2022)
Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated.
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend this company. I have used them for a number of years now and cannot fault their service beit; boiler replacement, annual servicing, full bathroom refurbishment or even emergency call outs. Very polite and courteous with a clean well ordered system. Faultless workmanship and customer care.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/06/2022 , work completed 31/05/2022
The trader replied (on 09/06/2022)
Thank you so much for your review. It has always been a pleasure to work for you over many years.
very knowledgeable and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a great experience with Peter and his assistant, James, and have no hesitation in recommending them. They replaced our boiler and did some additional plumbing work in house, all to a very high standard. Peter was very friendly and easy to communicate with before, throughout and after the work, and is clearly an expert in his trade.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 02/06/2022 , work completed 12/05/2022
The trader replied (on 09/06/2022)
Thank you for your business and review. Good luck in your new home.
Excellent and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used this firm for many years and have always been very pleased with their work. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the work is of a consistently high standard. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/05/2022 , work completed 24/05/2022
The trader replied (on 26/05/2022)
Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated.
Bathroom and kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was a pleasure to meet Pete and James. Both were friendly, polite and informative throughout the duration of the work. This is actually the second time I have used their services. The first time was to replace a shower enclosure and tray as well as cleaning the tiles. The second time was to address an issue with the water pressure by installing a water pressure governing system under the kitchen sink. On both occasions the work was completed to a very high standard and with the minimum amount of disruption possible. My property was left clean and tidy to the extent that you couldn't tell they had ever been there. I would definitely recommend them to anyone needing plumbing services.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/05/2022 , work completed 04/05/2022
The trader replied (on 20/06/2022)
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to carry out the works for you.
Replaced back boiler, copper cylinder and tank with a Bosch combi.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Baxi boiler, copper cylinder and tank were removed, pipes sealed, fireplace bricked up and plastered. The original pump was removed from under the floor and redundant pipes sealed. An extra radiator was installed. The whole system was power flushed and refilled with corrosion inhibiter added.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/04/2022 , work completed 25/03/2022
The trader replied (on 06/04/2022)
Thank you for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed working for such a delightful couple.
Boiler and cylinder replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter was always very professional, gave excellent advice, and we now have a heating and hot water system that works well and has every chance of being reliable. He and his colleague always turned up perfectly on time, and was always cheery and practical. He was easy to contact and very clear about what he was going to do and how long it would take. The installation is neat and was carried out with minimal inconvenience and no mess. We cannot speak too highly of his work and how he goes about it.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 31/03/2022 , work completed 29/03/2022
The trader replied (on 07/04/2022)
We very much enjoyed working for you both. Particularly chatting about our shared interest in classic cars. Best wishes Peter
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson installed our Worcester Bosch boiler nine years ago. Since then he has serviced it annually and also done other work on our central heating system. All his work has been carried out to a very high standard. We find him trustworthy, reliable and always extremely pleasant and polite. Overall we recommend him unreservedly.
John in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/02/2022 , work completed 14/02/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you for your lovely review. I always look forward to meeting you and Denise as the tea, chat & biscuits are always great.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Peter for various jobs - fitting new radiators, and most recently boiler servicing. He has also done work (new boiler, radiators & pipework) for my parents on my recommendation who were also delighted with the job that was done. Whole process from quoting to invoicing and all communication is professional, quick and efficient. Appointments are kept and often have been in advance of original date as they will always endeavour to fit you in if sooner if they can. Standard of work is excellent with work clearly explained and sensible advice offered before, during and after the job is done. Everywhere is always kept neat and tidy as the work progresses and is left clean at the end. Peter is always really helpful and goes the extra mile to get jobs completed to a very high standard. Would highly recommend and will definitely be using in future for all plumbing/heating work and have already requested quote for new bathroom.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/01/2022 , work completed 24/01/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s always a pleasure to work for you and your folks. Best wishes as always Pete
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter has done a lot of plumbing in our house over the last twenty years. He has been involved in several projects here including building two new bathrooms in that time and most recently installed a new bedroom radiator. His work is of a very high standard. He is reliable and approachable with any concerns. He is prompt and completes the work within the agreed time scale. I have been able to contact him easily if necessary for any advice after a project is finished.
Claire in Greater Manchester Posted on 23/01/2022 , work completed 21/01/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thanks so much for your great review Claire & Ray. In fact, it’s almost 25 years that we have worked together. Time flies when you’re enjoying things Best wishes Peter
Fantastic plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot recommend and thank Peter and his colleague enough. A lovely gentleman and has done an incredible job for us. We were having building work done and our builders walked out on us before Christmas leaving us in a very difficult position with a desperate need of a wide array of plumbing requirements. Peter was so kind and accommodating and has done plumbing work to our kitchen, utility room, bathrooms, radiators, boiler and external drains to a very very high standard. Thanks to him we have a home to move back in to. Thank you.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 21/01/2022 , work completed 21/01/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
It was a very tricky project to undertake due to the other contractors' work standards. We were so pleased that we were able to help you and your family back into your home. It was a pleasure to help and see you all moving in so happy. Best wishes as always Peter
High quality service and work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted PH after passing by their van in Altrincham. The process of getting a quote was very smooth and Peter was very polite and understanding. Once quoted and we agreed, the work was carried out. The team was highly professional in explaining what they were going to carry out and they did it without leaving any mess. Peter would also advise on progress and ensured the work was done with superb finish. I have since used PH twice and have not been disappointed. Very trusted also and everything was put into place after they finished. Quotation process is very straight forward. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 20/01/2022 , work completed 05/01/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
We are so glad our gleaming vans get the attention that they deserve. It was a great pleasure to work at your business. We wish your ventures all the great success that they deserve and look forward to working with you again in April. Best wishes Peter
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and James recently replaced an old boiler. Peter kept me updated about the start date and his communication has been excellent throughout. The work was carried out with minimum disruption and they left no mess. They were punctual, courteous and professional, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the company.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/11/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the years we've had Peter do a number of jobs for us. He has replaced and performed annual maintenance on our central heating system and done a number of smaller plumbing jobs. Peter always provides a quote and agrees dates before starting any work and keeps to those dates. In some cases he has called and actually began the work earlier than expected. His workmanship is top quality and he always removes any rubbish at the end of the job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you so much. It is always a pleasure to work for you and we look forward to meeting again. Best wishes as always Peter
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Peter Higson for many years, a complete bathroom replacement, also a new boiler and new radiator installation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 20/09/2017
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
It’s always great to work for you and have a chat about the world in general- especially the Altrincham area !! Best Pete
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Old gas boiler replaced with new gas boiler, removed all old radiators ., replaced with new radiators (total 7). Replaced kitchen sink mixer tap, supplied and fitted new bath panel and new shower hose, carried out electrical work, fitted new thermostat and new consumer unit. Also some remedial plaster work. Supplied complete itemised estimate of work prior, prompt start and completion of work, advice given to us on any enquiry we asked about, but did not place any pressure us to have any extra work done. Placed on annual service. I fully recommend Mr Peter Higson and his company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 31/03/2020
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
The pleasure was all ours. We very much appreciate your business, jars of honey, tea & biscuits !! Great to have you on our client list. Best wishes Peter
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of uneconomical to repair combi boiler . Peter Higson chosen from a approved supplier list from the domestic and general warranty scheme for replacement boilers . Peter higson has been excellent from start to finish. Made contact within the hour to view the required job and has provided a first class service throughout from installation to clearing up after completing the work . Whilst they are not the cheapest I was happy to pay for many years of experience and expertise to ensure a professional job was done . The old adage ? you get what you pay for ? comes to mind . They ensured all was working correctly with the boiler and would not leave until a wifi connection to the boiler was working properly . Peter and his co worker James were pleasant and courteous throughout the time they were on site and answered any questions we had on the work being carried out I would have no reservations in recommending them .
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 21/10/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
It was a pleasure to work for you both and your cat was a great apprentice- always looking in the toolboxes and showing initiative. Thanks so much for your business Best wishes Pete
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional installation in time and on budget. Very tidy and no issues with his work at all.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 20/09/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
We are so glad that you are pleased with your boiler and heating order last year. Thanks for giving us your new bathroom order this year. It is very much appreciated and is a delight to work for you both Best wishes Pete
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
a very good professional job with lots of information along the way about progress,problems and costings
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 31/10/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thanks so much. Your review is much appreciated Best wishes Peter
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of new boiler. Was very satisfied with the work and the manner it was done. Reluctant to send copy of the invoice as it shows personal bank details.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 10/05/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you for your business and review. Both are much appreciated Best wishes Peter