Endorsed by Which?

P H Decorating

5.0

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

PHDecorating has one aim and that is to provide a first class service to our clients with respect to high standard of work that we produce and the top quality products used on each project. The vast majority of our bookings are by recommendation. We take on all types of jobs from small domestic work to interior projects projects, all carried out to the highest standards, and at competitive prices.

We provide interior decorating services including the fitting of skirting boards and covings as well as light maintenance and joinery.

PHDecorating is based on Queens Road in Hale and operates on a wide radius including Manchester, Stockport, Wilmslow, Sandbach ,Knutsford, Lymm, Urmston, Flixton Chorlton, Didsbury and anywhere in between.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Exterior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • Plastering

    • Coving
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • wallpaper hanging
    • skirting boards
    • hand painted kitchens

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Great work with fantastic results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used P H Decorating twice recently to paint the hall, stairs & landing plus 2 downstairs rooms. The communication throughout was excellent and I was kept informed of any changes to timings (sooner than anticipated for the first job which was nice) with plenty of notice. They were very flexible to accommodate plastering work being completed before they could start. The quality of the finish is excellent but this reflects the time taken in preparation and the attention to detail. I was given really good advice during the work which I'm glad I took as it made a real difference to the finish. When there was a slight issue with framing (due to the paint I had provided) it was sorted with no problems or quibbles. Philip & Scott could not have been more helpful or accommodating and it was a pleasure to have them in the house. The quote was not the cheapest but I'm very glad I decided to use them as the standard of work is well worth it. I would have no hesitation in using them again nor recommending them to anyone else.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/10/2023 , work completed 05/10/2023
Great transformation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and Scott have done a great job on my bedroom and living room. I had not decorated these rooms since I moved in 5 years ago so wanted to get it right. From the start, Philip's communication was excellent and he pointed me towards good finishes and colours. The work was carried out within the time scale indicated and I was always informed each day when they would be back. They are easy to get on with and quite simply work extremely hard. The result is a real pleasure, lovely finishes and as always meticulous attention to detail. I am very pleased. So much so that they will be returning to transform my hall stairs and landing later in the year!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/02/2023 , work completed 14/01/2023
Extremely Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil & Scott are simply the best in my opinion. They are very thorough, clean and tidy. The final finish of all their work is fantastic and lasts for a long time. They prepare all the walls, architraves, skirting boards etc properly and even between coats. I would always use and reccommend them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 15/11/2022 , work completed 11/11/2022
External painting of Victorian semi
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A high quality, professional approach and end product. Great communication and organization throughout the process. Philip and Scott were wonderfully polite, reliable and helpful. Would fully recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/08/2022 , work completed 10/08/2022
Superb Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband and I have used Philips services (PHD Decorating) several times now. Firstly he is very friendly but professional. He is extremely thorough, ensuring proper preparation of all surfaces resulting in a high end finish to all his decorating. He is also extremely tidy. We would have no hesitation to recommend him. You have to book well in advance!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/08/2022 , work completed 26/08/2022
Great work by trusted professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and Scott have done a number of projects for me over the last five years. We trust them as we would a member of our family, the work is always to the highest standard and both are always on hand to advise on progress or how to proceed. Whilst they deliver an outstanding result, they work in a clean and considerate manner and are a pleasure to have in your home (despite the often unavoidable necessity involved with major works). I trust their professional judgement and integrity and indeed our latest job was undertaken whilst we were away on holiday. One hundred percent recommended
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 13/06/2022 , work completed 10/06/2022
The trader replied (on 02/08/2022)
Thank you for your very kind words, it is always a pleasure working for you.
A really great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and Scott have done some decorating for me before, so I had no hesitation in asking them to do work on the exterior of my house. They have transformed it. Their meticulous preparation and attention to detail just makes all the difference. Philip knows instinctively what will work best and his ideas only add to the excellent outcome but he always takes the time to discuss the work with you. In addition, they are thoroughly nice people, which makes the experience of having them round the house an extremely positive one. I have requested that they come back to do some more decorating for me and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them one hundred percent.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/05/2022 , work completed 20/05/2022
The trader replied (on 02/08/2022)
Wonderful to know we are achieving our aim to produce great results. It is what makes us tick, its all about the passion for creating a "wow factor". Thank you so much for your comments and continued support.
Indoor Decorating Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A high quality, professional job, delivered on time, by 2 polite and courteous men. The high standard of the work ensured it represented value for money.
Customer in Cheshire Posted on 19/03/2022 , work completed 22/12/2021
The trader replied (on 21/03/2022)
Thank you for your review of our work. It is good to receive confirmation that the effort we put in ensures that our valued customers recognise and appreciate the high quality finish that we always strive to achieve.
Excellent, wouldn't hesitate to recommend and use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We reached out to Philip and Scott to re-decorate more or less our whole house, and they were both excellent from start to finish: (i) the program of work and the materials/effort estimates were detailed and accurate; (ii) they offered helpful ideas and insight based on their experience; (iii) they communicated well; (iv) they turned up exactly when they said they would every day and got straight down to work; and, (v) most importantly, the quality and attention to detail is excellent and everything we hoped it would be. The house looks like a million bucks and the little touches that we weren't expecting (e.g. replacing some rough sealant work around our windows and sink and tidying some rough decoration around the pipework for our radiators) have made a huge difference to the overall finish. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend them or use their services again.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/10/2021 , work completed 08/10/2021
The trader replied (on 17/10/2021)
Thank you for your great comments. Your feedback is really helpful to potential clients seeking decorating services. It is our passion to provide excellent service and quality and we are delighted you are pleased with the result. Thank you so much for providing the opportunity.
High quality and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and Scott always provide excellent service and this time in painting the outside of our house, which had many years of neglect, did a very thorough preparation with a high-quality finish. They always give detailed quotes and keep to start dates. In all very professional, friendly and competitively priced. Highly recommend.
Phil in Greater Manchester Posted on 18/08/2021 , work completed 28/07/2021
The trader replied (on 18/08/2021)
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your review is really appreciated and gives potential clients confidence they are dealing with a reputable company. It is as always an absolute pleasure working for you.
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the professionalism from start to finish, ie the detailed quote, the preparation before the work commenced and, of course, the quality of the finished job. Already booked for next year.
Gillian in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/08/2021 , work completed 13/07/2021
The trader replied (on 16/08/2021)
Thank you for your lovely comments Gillian, we look forward to seeing you again very soon for the start of the next project.
It’s all in the preparation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with the internal decorating in our house by PH Decorating. An excellent result, because of huge attention to the detail of preparative work. Problems along the way, with building work or plastering needing attention, were managed without fuss, and very efficiently, by Philip and his team. Very cheerful, friendly people who we recommend without reservation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 20/04/2021 , work completed 19/04/2021
The trader replied (on 15/08/2021)
Thank you so much for your kind words, it is always a pleasure working for lovely people....and ooh those cakes and sandwiches.
Polite, friendly and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and Scott have redecorated all our bedrooms, lounge and the hall, stairs and landing. They were very professional, friendly and their attention to detail is second to none. Lining paper, painted walls, wallpaper & woodwork were all completed to a high standard. Very Happy 😀
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/11/2020 , work completed 20/11/2001
The trader replied (on 15/08/2021)
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure working for you. We do like to make a difference and leave our valued clients with a wow factor......it's all to do with thorough preparation. Thank you for looking after us so well.
Great job restoring my oak front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip & Scott are really lovely people to deal with. They kept me informed of when they would arrive & how long the job would take & what to expect from the door restoration. It lived up to my expectations & I am very pleased with the end result. They also did an extra job & that’s great too. Would highly recommend them!
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 22/09/2020 , work completed 18/09/2020
The trader replied (on 22/11/2020)
Thank you for your lovely comments. it really is a pleasure when we complete the work knowing the customer is delighted with the result.
Excellent quality and customer focus
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After previously receiving a full and detailed estimate for the requested work, we went ahead and had our garden room, with a vaulted ceiling, completely redecorated by Phil and Scott. They started promptly on the agreed date and completed within the estimated timescale. The preparation, (including the protection of the fixed fittings and traffic walkways), quality and attention to detail was exemplary. The cleanup exercise on completion of the decorating was beyond expectation, including cleaning the fixed lights, light switches and plug sockets. The work was completed within the agreed budget and I would have no hesitation in recommending or re-engaging P H Decorating again.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 24/11/2019 , work completed 21/11/2019
The trader replied (on 23/11/2020)
Thank you for your comments and recommendation. It means a great deal to us to know that we have achieved a high standard we set ourselves in all aspects of the services we provide. It was a great pleasure working for you.
Outstanding, professional, polite and all round nice people.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used these gentlemen for a couple of years now and I use the word gentlemen on purpose. They are consummate professionals whose workmanship is second to none. Phillip couldn’t have been more accommodating fitting us in at last minute, although picking wall paper over FaceTime was a first. (Our busy schedules fault nobody else’s) The end result was outstanding in fact, breathtaking. Scotts workmanship can only be described as craftsman like. We cannot recommend this company enough, well worth the waiting time, unless you are lucky enough like us to find a window of opportunity. Wouldn’t use anyone else. Thanks guys.
Kevin Harper Posted on 16/10/2019 , work completed 14/10/2019
The trader replied (on 21/10/2019)
Wonderful feedback. It is a joy to know that we are doing things right. It is always a pleasure working for you and thank you both for your continued support.
Best decorator I’ve used in 10 years
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip was recommended to me and I managed to book him a couple of months in advance. I have been nothing but impressed with his him and his work. Not the cheapest but certainly the best. He made ceilings that I thought would need to be replastered look like new ceilings. He wouldn’t cut corners and is OCD about the finish. After spending a huge amount on the new kitchen I am so glad I invested in the best decorator in Cheshire!
Gareth in Cheshire East Posted on 14/10/2019 , work completed 14/10/2019
Great qulity work with firendly and professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Re-decorated our back bedroom. Previous owners had left the room in quite a state and the room needed stripping back and re-lining. Extra steps required were described in detail (and actually flagged as a possibility when the work was quoted for) and price agreed. The job was completed within agreed timescales, communication was excellent throughout. I would highly recommend Philip.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 20/08/2019
The trader replied (on 21/10/2019)
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it really is appreciated. This not only confirms that we are achieving the high standards we set ourselves but it really helps other customers seeking a decorating company make a considered choice regarding whom they appoint.
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the outset all dealings with Philip at PH Decorating were very professional and informative. From the detailed and comprehensive quote for the work to be undertaken, to the completion Philip was professional and reliable, keeping us updated on a daily basis of his progress. Philip discovered a fault with the wallpaper we had purchased and went above and beyond his remit to address the issue with the manufacturers, resulting in a full refund and compensation for the additional work involved. It was a pleasure to deal with him and we will not hesitate to use his services again in the future. Wonderful end result, thank you Philip
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/05/2019 , work completed 08/05/2019
The trader replied (on 28/05/2019)
Thank you for your lovely comments, it means a lot to us to know we have a satisfied customer....and all credit to Graham & Brown who dealt with the complaint in a swift and efficient manner. It was a pleasure working for you both....happy sailing!
Top Quality Work by Top Quality People
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Exterior painting of an Edwardian house, with lots of oddities. Any technical problems encountered along the way were just solved, cheerfully, with no fuss. The preparation work was so very much more than we have ever experienced before, and that really shows. The end result is superb. The team - Philip, Scott and Andrew - are dedicated craftsmen, with very high standards, and easy to get along with. We are delighted. We recommend PH Decorating without reservation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/04/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
The trader replied (on 19/05/2019)
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it gives us a great deal of pleasure to know we have attained the high standards that we always set out to achieve. It was a joy working for you and oooh...those home made cakes. I think we all put a kilo or two on during the time we were with you.
Excellent and reliable service with fantastic end results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When you require a professional decorating service I can wholeheartedly recommend PH Decorating. So far, Philip Hopkins and his co-workers Scott and Andrew have decorated the main bedroom, hall, landing and stairs and sitting room, and are about to start work on the exterior of my house. The entire process has been smooth and straightforward from the clear and detailed quotation to the superb end result. Phil, Scott and Andrew are an excellent and reliable team, working quickly and efficiently, minimising disruption to the household, and leaving all work areas clean and tidy at the end of each day. Timekeeping and communication are excellent, and their attention to the initial preparation is second to none. Phil is always on hand to discuss options and recommend the best products for each job. All of which ultimately pays off in the excellent finish. If you are looking for a trustworthy, skilled and professional decorator, I recommend you give Phil a call, I am glad that I did.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 10/04/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
The trader replied (on 17/04/2019)
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and your continued support. It is great to make a difference and leave feeling proud of what has been achieved. It always a real pleasure working for you.
Professional workmanship and delightful people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and Scott prepared and painted our kitchen, master bedroom and ensuite. The work was done to an exceptionally high standard. Our home was treated with respect: fitted furniture was protected and everything was clean and tidy for the following day's work. The rooms were immaculate when the decorating was finished. Philip and Scott liaised with us during the process and were very accommodating, polite, reliable and a pleasure to have as our guests. We received the quote promptly after Philip's initial visit. It was detailed with a clear Program of Work and each task was broken down to show what would be done and how long it would take in days/part days. We were advised of the daily rate and discounts on materials purchased were passed on to us. Communication by email, text, phone and on site was excellent. We will definitely ask Philip and Scott to return in the future. A fabulous service! Many thanks, Carole and Nigel
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 04/02/2019
The trader replied (on 21/02/2019)
Many thanks for your review and the lovely compliments. We are passionate about providing a high standard of service in all areas of our small business and receiving positive feedback from valued clients confirms we are getting it right. It has been an absolute pleasure working for you.
Very efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip was punctual on all visits, extremely professional, very pleasant and knowledgeable. He kept us informed all along as to when he would be starting the job. I asked for a slightly later start in the morning and he replied that he was there for our benefit and would fit in with anything we asked!! Extremely helpful! The job was completed on time to a very high standard with no mess. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 26/01/2019 , work completed 21/01/2019
The trader replied (on 05/02/2019)
Thank you for your lovely compliments and making us so welcome. Decorating is our passion but so is ensuring our clients are at ease with us. I'm very pleased that were able to accommodate your wishes. If we can be of further assistance please let us know.
Painting - hall, stairs and landing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with the end result of the project. Tricky areas to decorate now look really nice, painted to a high standard with good quality materials. Prompt, reliable and high quality service with transparent quoting and pricing. Also very easy guys to get on with. Will use again if needed and will recommend. Simon
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 11/01/2019
The trader replied (on 05/02/2019)
Many thanks for review and the lovely compliments. Customers like you make it all worthwhile Simon. It was a pleasure working for you.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phillip was asked to undertake the restoration and repainting of the exterior of our property. We were most impressed by his and Scott's painstaking and meticulous work in both preparation and completion. We are delighted with the results and would strongly recommend P H Decorating. B and S
Barbara & Stan Posted on 19/08/2018 , work completed 19/08/2018
The trader replied (on 23/08/2018)
What lovely comments...thank you both so much. It was so rewarding restoring the windows to the original condition and even more rewarding to have clients that are passionate about retaining the original features of their home.
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stripping of walls and ceiling, painting of new cabinets and skirtings etc and repapering of living room and some repairs to plastering. Philip and Scott did a superb job and were very helpful and friendly throughout. We are really pleased with the result.
JT2013, . Posted on 22/06/2018 , work completed 22/06/2018
The trader replied (on 13/08/2018)
Thank you for your great feedback, customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and your positive comments confirm we are on the right track. Also many thanks for the repeat business, we look forward to seeing you again in November.
Delighted customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip has done two major projects for us, an international decoration in 2017 and major external decoration / painting in 2018. He and his team are craftsmen and we are delighted with their service. I would have no hesitation in recommending them. The team care, are knowledgeable (colours, materials, styles) and entirely trustworthy.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/05/2018 , work completed 30/05/2018
The trader replied (on 03/07/2018)
Wonderful compliments....thank you. It is always a pleasure and a privilege working for you.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All internal doors sanded , primed and glossed They were punctual, polite and professional, a great job done
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/05/2018 , work completed 18/05/2018
The trader replied (on 03/07/2018)
Thank you so much for your feedback, it really is appreciated and great to know that we have pleased a highly valued customer.
Meticulous care; fantastic outcome
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip & Scott decorated the inside of our house during April 2018. It is a 1930s house and was showing it?s a age a bit. Thanks to their meticulous care & attention it has been brought back to its glorious grandeur again. Years of average work by previous decorators has been corrected; sharp lines between walls & ceilings or skirting boards have been created and from seeing them in action I know that the preparation of the surfaces was taken care of in detail. Walls had also been left with plaster hanging off and rawlplugs a-plenty due to new radiators having been fitted before hand. Now, there is no sight of this work and instead we have beautiful flat, smooth walls. The finish everywhere was simply beautiful. Thank you Philip & Scott
David & Julia, . Posted on 27/04/2018 , work completed 27/04/2018
The trader replied (on 25/05/2018)
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. It really is good to complete a job knowing that you have made a difference. It has been a pleasure working for you.
An excellent Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lounge, dining room and two bedrooms redecorated. This involved some repair work as well. The work was to an extremely high standard. They were also pleasant, helpful, tidy and had respect for the fact that the family were living in the house while the work was done. I cannot recommend them highly enough and will always use them in the future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/03/2018 , work completed 02/03/2018
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
Many thanks for taking time to provide a reference, we really appreciate it.
Highly recommended for great quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two large fitted wardrobes made of mdf painted by Philip and his team. Philip was very approachable and responsive from the start. Gave a detailed breakdown in his quote of the work required to achieve the desired finish on the wardrobes. He turned up at the time agreed and did a great job painting the wardrobes. He was more than happy to come back once the wardrobes dried to touch up a couple of parts. We?ve been very happy with his workmanship and great attitude and would highly recommend him. His may not be the cheapest quote someone gets but definitely worth the price.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/01/2018 , work completed 20/01/2018
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
Thank you for providing the reference, it really help future clients understand the value of the high quality we strive to achieve.
Superb!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Philip on several occasions now and he has become my 'go-to' decorator. I manage over 50 properties and know that when I send Philip to do the work he will look for solutions to any problems that arise, leaving me to get on with my job. The standard of finish is first class and all work is carried out with politeness and professionalism second to none. I can't recommend highly enough.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
Many thanks for your recommendation, we really appreciate the great comments and feedback.
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the past 12 months Philip has decorated every room in my house. His work is exemplary ,showing attention to detail and finish. Both he and Scott are polite and friendly and work hard to limit disruption in the house throughout the period of the job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/01/2018 , work completed 10/01/2018
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
Thank you so much for the lovely comments. We thoroughly enjoy what we do because of people like you.
An exceptional finish!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip and his colleague Scott have decorated our house from top to bottom and we are thrilled with the result. They arrived early each day and left the house impeccable each evening. Philip also provided some great advice in terms of what would work best for our decorating requirements. I wouldn't use anyone else to work with and have recommended Philip to many people.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/12/2017 , work completed 10/12/2017
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
What great feedback. Thank you for taking the time to provide the reference and the recommendations .....it means a lot to us when we know the customer is really pleased with the end result.
Conscientious decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Redecoration of bedroom, hall, stairs and dormer bedroom. Thorough preparation of areas to be decorated; painstaking and careful painting. Furniture well-covered and rubbish take away daily. Completely trustworthy whether at home or not, and very helpful regarding acquiring materials. Works a long day- begins early and finishes late. Very pleased with finished job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
Thank you for providing the reference and for you lovely comments, we love to receive positive feedback and it is so helpful to potential future clients.
Excellent service and fantastic results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Interior decorating of 2 rooms, one involving repair work to cornicing. Exterior decorating of the house including woodwork and brickwork. The decorator was really professional, completing the job in the stated timescale to an extremely high standard and at a competitive rate. He was knowledgeable, offering expert advice when needed, always on time and left my house clean at the end of every day. I would highly recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/08/2017 , work completed 28/08/2017
The trader replied (on 03/05/2018)
Many thanks for providing a reference. Lovely comments which are very much appreciated.