Endorsed by Which?

Plumbox Limited

4.8

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

This business has not added a description yet.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Gas installers

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom Installation
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
27 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Work well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, arrived on time, friendly and helpful. Would definitely use Plumbox again and recommend them to my friends. Quality workmanship.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/02/2024 , work completed 05/02/2024
Bathroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A good bunch of guys who work hard to please and do a good job. Michael has some great ideas and is very positive
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 01/02/2024 , work completed 26/01/2024
Thorough, methodical and as quick as possible.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had to represent the owner of the rented property, occupied by a family with young children. Plumbox were able to get to the property as soon as there was a slot available, diagnose the parts of the boiler that were not functioning and give an estimate fairly quickly. After consulting with the owner, I was able to place an order for repair that was carried out with the first available slot for an engineer. During repairs, the engineer found that another part was not allowing the boiler to function. The part was ordered on the same day and the works were carried out on the same afternoon. I am pleased that the family with young children are now able to live comfortably with a functional boiler for heating and hot water.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 25/01/2024 , work completed 24/01/2024
Friendly, efficient gas boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to have a new central heating gas boiler installed due to the complete breakdown of our previous one. We selected Plumbox based on three key criteria: we wanted a supplier who was accredited for the boilers we were considering, preferably local as we believe in supporting local businesses and one that had good trusted reviews. Plumbox were contacted and came to see us promptly to look at our system and discuss our needs. This was done and a quote provided soon afterwards, along with prospective start date and completion times. For comparison purposes we did get other quotes but having considered them all we decided to proceed with Plumbox. We admit that the fact they could complete the installation without delay helped. An installation date and start time of 08.00 was agreed. It was good to see that the team arrived exactly on time and proceeded with the installation efficiently, cleanly and without delay. All went well, the friendly team showing great respect for our home and answering questions regarding the installation as they proceeded. By mid-afternoon the new boiler was installed and commissioned with the warm water proceeding to keep us warm again. Instructions on using the new boiler were given and a follow up visit arranged to hand over paper work relevant to the installation and to answer any questions. Overall we were completely satisfied and can wholeheartedly recommend Plumbox.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 18/01/2024 , work completed 13/01/2024
Excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were having problems with our boiler which was a worry so soon before Christmas. Michael got someone round to us very quickly. He identified the problem and gave us our options, explaining them very clearly. Within a few days they replaced our boiler. The whole team are friendly, efficient and very helpful. We've used Plumbox before and definitely will again.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/12/2023 , work completed 18/12/2023
Great service, would recommend
After 29 years it was time to replace our boiler while it was still working. Right from the start we were pleased with the attention we received from Michael and his team. He listened carefully to our requirements and came up with a solution which met what we wanted and was competitively priced. The Plumbox team worked flat out to complete the work on the 2 days we had requested. They left us with some heating overnight and were careful to clean up after each day. We are more than happy to recommend Plumbox for their professional service
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 20/12/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Communication was excellent and engineer punctual and knowledgeable. When I had a problem with the settings on my underfloor heating I was given a very prompt call back and the advice I needed which avoided me having to pay for a call out .
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 20/12/2023 , work completed 14/12/2023
Very happy to recommend Plumbox
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael Thomas and the Plumbox team have done several jobs for us in the last few years. They have always been remarkably efficient, knowledgable and informative. Michael has provided an excellent service and is always patient in explaining the complexities (or ortherwise) of the task.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 09/11/2023 , work completed 25/10/2023
Problem solved!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael and team serviced our boiler and fixed a long standing problem with our underfloor heating, very happy with the work and will be using again!
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 14/10/2023 , work completed 04/10/2023
My thanks to Plumbox Ltd of Cambridge for so expertly fitting my fab new Boiler, October2023
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am glad to wholeheartedly recommend Mr Michael Thomas’s PLUMBOX, the local Cambridgeshire boiler & plumbing company who in October 2023 fitted an excellent new boiler and did much else besides so as to get my heating-system running like Swiss clockwork in my 1980s four-bedroomed home here in Newnham. Director Mr Thomas phoned up & came to evaluate my needs for a new boiler within hours of my enquiry, and then his expert Engineer Mr ‘Dan’ Cutts, fitted it. Dan was a pleasure to have around the house for his cheerful focus on his work that he clearly took satisfaction in doing thoroughly, and all I had to do was fuel him with an occasional cup of coffee and shortbread biscuits. If a new boiler is going to work at its best and the warranty hold good, it benefits from the system flush-through and other sundry works to boiler-piping and flue, particularly on older kit… and all these works were included within the quote…a quote that was very fair and competitive with other firms [other firms who were far less impressive in their going about a quote]; and let me emphasis that Plumbox was a FAR more attractive option than the impersonal goliath of British Gas. So, if you want old school trustworthy and cheerful pride in their work, then I warmly encourage you to invite a visit from Plumbox. Dr Nick Baylis, 22 years a homeowner in Cambridge
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 12/10/2023 , work completed 09/10/2023
Excellent all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really really good all the way through. Michael took a lot of trouble to help me get suitable tiles chosen and Dan carried out the work beautifully - fast, clean and looks better than I dared hope. Michael easy to contact and even rang me afterwards to make sure I was happy. Five stars all round!
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 29/09/2023 , work completed 19/09/2023
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional plumber, changed out my CH cylinder without drama. Always helpful and answered all my questions.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 18/09/2023 , work completed 13/09/2023
Replacing water filter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Plumbox where professional and complete the job quickly and efficiently. I would be happy to use them in the future.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 24/08/2023 , work completed 18/07/2023
Easy to book and fast availability
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had an error with my baxi boiler, did a google search on the saturday and found and appointment for first thing monday am. Great communication throughout the experience. Professional and friendly, and diagnosed issue quickly and rectified. Also gave me advice on how to use my system moor efficiently, saving on my utility bills.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 06/06/2023 , work completed 05/06/2023
Super company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I invited a number of heating engineer companies to assess my leaking boiler. They all confirmed very quickly I needed a new boiler and sent me quotes for many thousands of pounds to replace. Michael at Plumbox was the only engineer to suggest it was likely not the expensive heat exchanger component that was the cause and took the time to investigate and determine that, in fact, it was only a low cost air valve that was leaking and needed replacement. Boiler now fine again. I will certainly only be using Plumbox in the future and recommend without hesitation.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 08/03/2023 , work completed 02/03/2023
Professional boiler installation with good customer care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new gas combi boiler and Michael of Plumbox responded swiftly to our enquiry and after his survey visit he provided a clear, written quote within 12 hours, which seemed reasonable from our research into the price and installation of combi boilers. From then the work was carried out less than a week later with excellent communication via email, phone and text throughout. On the scheduled day of the installation, the fitters Adam and Kai arrived on time and worked steadily throughout the day to complete the job by mid afternoon. They were courteous, put dust sheets everywhere and cleaned up well afterwards. They were a pleasure to have a around the house and the new Vaillant boiler works as it should. After they left, their boss Michael phoned to check everything was OK and told us to get in touch if we needed him to come round to explain controls or any further help. Michael and his team at Plumbox are professional, good value and a pleasure to deal with and I am happy to recommend them.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 30/01/2023 , work completed 24/01/2023
Shower not working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Michael of Plumbox as my shower had stopped working. I sent photos of my existing shower so he could order me a new one, sent a quote and arranged an appointment. He turned up on time and decided that I did not need a new shower only the electrical box. He went to purchase this and had installed it within the hour hence the cost was much less. He was very helpful, honest and genuine and I wouldn't hesitate to use this company again
Carol in Cambridgeshire Posted on 28/01/2023 , work completed 27/01/2023
Very good, clean and fast.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We use plumbox to change our central heating from a conventional boiler to a combination one, plus all new radiators. Michael was very helpful, from the survey to the installation they were very professional, clean, fast and very friendly. I would definitely recommend them and hopefully we are using them for other projects in the house.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 01/10/2022 , work completed 26/09/2022
Very efficient and prompt
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Plumbox for a few years, did install of new boiler a few years ago, and do subsequent annual service and Gas Safety Check. They are prompt, efficient and are easy to deal with. As a landlord I value their service and their tidiness when dealing with tenanted properties.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 21/09/2022 , work completed 16/09/2022
Boiler service and new bathroom basin tapsiI
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used plumbox for eight years.Always found them, polite ,friendly,cleaned up after finishing the work. Have had no problems,
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 23/08/2022 , work completed 18/08/2022
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I want to remove an old cylinder and boiler to change into a new combined boiler, they provided many options and suggestions for me. From start to finish Michael expressed lots patience. On the installation day, he and his team guys worked nearly 9 hours in a hot day and when they finished work they cleaned everywhere ,I am very satisfied with their work. New combi boiler works very well I am not worry about how to survive the coming winter.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 17/08/2022 , work completed 16/08/2022
Power shower not working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Plumbox to replace our power shower which was not working properly. Plumbox said they would order new one and advised us when arrived the shower arrived on a Monday and made appointment for Wednesday. On arrival they found the problem was not broken and found it was a faulty bullock which they replaced and and solved the problem. They returned the new shower at on cost to us Michael from Plumbox was helpful friendly and efficient and tidy and left no cleaning for us. My wife and I are75 and 78 and were very happy to have him in our house.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/07/2022 , work completed 15/07/2022
Very happy with the service - new boiler install and nest controller.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service, very happy with the new boiler install. good communication and prompt service. Strongly recommended.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/07/2022 , work completed 15/07/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Downstairs cloakroom redone. Works spot on and tiling is perfect!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/07/2022 , work completed 22/06/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They repaired a boiler for my parents, I'm filling in the survey as they're not up to date with technology there not 100 percent sure how to do it. I would highly recommend plumb box Michael & Ollie especially they are very well mannered and respectful not to mention the impeccable job they did with my parents boiler! They left the house in a very clean state even hoovered up (that hasn't been done in a while lol) Will 100 percent recommend them to a friend
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/07/2022 , work completed 01/07/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a boiler installed by Plumbox earlier this month, we received a very professional service with a very quick turn around. They was a very lovely team and answered all my queries with no problems at all, they made me feel at ease as they definitely knew what they was talking about, I'd definitely use them again for any future needs.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/07/2022 , work completed 01/07/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to an emergency leak we needed a plumber ASAP. My husband contacted Plumbox who were able to visit us and have the pipes repaired quickly. Overall, I am pleased with the outcome and service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/07/2022 , work completed 10/06/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Plumbox to install a shower that needed replacing. I spoke to Michael, who came out to the property to give me a quote, he was very friendly and professional. The quotation was sent in good time and once agreed Michael managed to fit us in very quickly as this was our only shower in the property. Absolutely over the moon with the new shower and Plumbox's great work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/07/2022 , work completed 24/06/2022