We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Porthmadog Computers

Profile thumb logo

5.0

51 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:30–17:30
  • Monday 09:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 09:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 09:30–17:30
  • Thursday 09:30–17:30
  • Friday 09:30–17:30
  • Saturday 10:00–14:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Please call or visit our shop to discuss your computer needs.

What we do

  • Computer Repairs

    • Apple Mac Repairs
    • Audio visual set up and installation
    • Cloud based services
    • Data backup
    • Data recovery
    • Hardware Installation
    • Laptop repair
    • PC Repairs
    • Virus and malware removal
  • More Services

    • laptop and printer repairs
    • virus and malware removal

Customer reviews

5.0
51 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Really good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were barred form our online bank account and warned there was malware detected. Our provider said we might have been hacked. Porthmadog Computers checked and cleaned all our equipment (5 computers) at short notice despite the covid-19 lockdown. They updated the ones capable of updating, kept us informed by phone of what they were doing and why. They explained what the probable cause was (dynamic allocation of a suspect external line by EE) and what to do if it happened again line. Today by phone they have talked me through sorting out a glitch with my search engine. Always friendly, and very reasonable charges. I recommend them highly.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 19/06/2020 , work completed 19/06/2020
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this shop initially to chat about issues with my existing laptop. They gave me various options and I decided to purchase a new laptop. Fantastic support on choosing a laptop and unexpected service in creating the laptop I needed. They transferred data and reinstalled my windows purchase from back in 2013 to my new laptop. Truly delighted they could do this and all without charge. Furthermore they wiped my old laptop free of charge so I could gift this item. Highly recommend this store for personal customer service, speed and efficiently. Thank you - will always use this shop :)
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 05/05/2020 , work completed 31/03/2020
Friendly Help at all Times
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Porthmadog Computers since I moved home to North Wales and have been very pleased that the recommendation I sought locally has worked out so well. Originally I used them on an ad-hoc basis when I experienced problems but have since joined their Contract service so that I receive priority treatment if required. My laptop is updated, cleaned of viruses and serviced at least 4 times annually. If particular issues arise then an extra visit to them is always greeted with a friendly face. The staff and owners are considerate and helpful to a 70+ semi literate operator and that is very welcome. The cost has always been sensible and fair. I have renewed the Annual Contract several times as this is a flat fee which covers most things. I have not paid extra at any time. Use them - you won't regret doing so!
Alan Posted on 04/05/2020 , work completed 04/05/2020
Excellent service as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been buying computers, parts and using this service for at least 20 years. Gareth's vast knowledge has always been a great help.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 17/04/2020 , work completed 17/04/2020
PC Fault Finding & Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I experienced an issue with my PC and called Porthmadog Computers based on a personal recommendation from someone who had used them before. They were exceptionally helpful and solved my problem without fuss. They gave me and my PC their personal & immediate attention and did not leave me until I was entirely happy that the matter had been resolved. That is what I call service. No wonder they have so many other rave reviews. I highly recommend them
New customer, Gwynedd Posted on 03/03/2020 , work completed 03/03/2020
Excellent service and would 100% recommend this business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thought I needed a new laptop, as my 7 year old HP was running slowly and needed Windows 10. This business was recommended to me by friends, and I really couldn't be happier with their friendliness, service and professionalism. Having upgraded my drive and installed Windows 10, they said my existing laptop was perfectly ok to carry on using - when they could quite easily have convinced me to buy a new one - I'm very very impressed and will definitely use again.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 08/02/2020 , work completed 07/02/2020
Prompt, convenient & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work done to the agreed schedule and budget. The trader & his assistant came to my house to deal with the computer. Problems were resolved satisfactorily with speedy aftercare.
Kath, Gwynedd Posted on 21/01/2020 , work completed 21/01/2020
Great. Keen to solve problems rather than sell new kit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Samsung A3 phone vs computer problem. The guys spent over an hour trying a million and one ways around the problem. Powered by a drive to fix the problems rather than just sell you new gear. Highly recommended
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Purchased a new laptop and transformed my first etc. Very helpful advice given.
Rhoswyn, Gwynedd Posted on 07/01/2020 , work completed 07/01/2020
Professional and Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service with expert advice. Very efficient in sorting out my computer and on top of this, these fellas are so helpful and friendly. I highly recommend them.
Ann, Gwynedd Posted on 08/11/2019 , work completed 08/11/2019
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, patient and very efficient service sorting out my computer which had been hacked. Computer cleaned up. Staff always supportive particularly as I am inexperienced.
Roger, Gwynedd Posted on 21/08/2019 , work completed 21/08/2019
Excellent shop to buy a computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gareth and team built a pc for music production for me at a very fair price and v quickly which is now installed and working perfectly. They also helped me to set the program up in the pc and made sure everything worked fine which of course they didn’t have to . So glad I bought from them as the after sales is second to none and the advice of an experienced person is invaluable.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 29/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
Excellent service professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, professional, down to earth advice, would recommend this shop and its staff to anyone with P.C. problems or queries.
Adrian, Gwynedd Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 26/07/2019
Superb service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called in with a problem, sorted within minutes. Fully recommended.
Arthur, Dyfed Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 26/07/2019
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recovered my external drive to get back thousands of pictures and music.
Barry, Gwynedd Posted on 28/06/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
Cheerful & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great staff from first call to end of installation, fitted to suit us - arrived on time and finished whole house same day. Good installers - cleaned up afterwards - cheerful & professional.
David, Gwynedd Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
Computastic.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Staff exceedingly helpful and knowledgeable. Prices always fair and competitive.
John, Gwynedd Posted on 11/06/2019 , work completed 11/06/2019
Very good.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service.
Marian, Gwynedd Posted on 29/04/2019 , work completed 29/04/2019
Fixed Laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have previously been here with my tablet and it was fixed straight away. Today I brought my laptop that would not switch on, and with five minutes it was fixed. Wonderful staff.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
Fast and amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service was complete. They kept me informed. Repaired the problem.
Tony, Gwynedd Posted on 01/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
Super .
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everyone is always very helpful. All work done quickly and no after problems. A really brilliant service.
Lis, Gwynedd Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
Excellent service (again).
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rescued all my data when hard drive died. A real life saver!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They fixed my laptop - removing viruses and cleaning up. Prompt, efficient, excellent service. Very friendly.
Susan, Gwynedd Posted on 18/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job - very prompt and professional. Very pleased.
Patricia, Gwynedd Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Most knowledgeable place around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb service, very prompt and cheaper than expected! Saved me buying a new computer so close to Christmas!
Daniel, Gwynedd Posted on 15/12/2018 , work completed 15/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a service contract with the shop for a number of years now, and I continue to do so even though I have moved away from the area. As at the date of this review I have just renewed the contract for 2019. It has been of great value to me not only in terms of the money paid and quality of service provided, but also in terms that if I need assistance I can either phone them for a direct answer or use the occasion to visit my friends in the area and take my computer up for a service, the computer being promptly ready for collection, usually within 24 hours. Under the terms of the contract and in practice I always receive immediate attention. Should an answer to the problem be available but occasionally require some research, this usually becomes available within a few days. I have also been successfully rescued in immediate action from an attempted scam. Gareth, the owner of the shop is highly skilled in his work on computers and I trust him implicitly. His advice has proved itself over and over again and I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Customer in Powys Posted on 14/12/2018 , work completed 13/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, done the work as promised.
Gwynfor, Gwynedd Posted on 10/12/2018 , work completed 10/12/2018
Professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class prompt repair on my laptop after another so-called expert national retailer reported it was uneconomic to repair. Highly recommended.
John, Gwynedd Posted on 04/10/2018 , work completed 04/10/2018
Fabulous, kind, knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everybody in the shop is always most helpful, kind and knowledgeable. Always find the problem.
Kim, Portmadog Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always friendly and helpful, well recommended.
Gwilym Rhys, Gwynedd Posted on 30/08/2018 , work completed 30/08/2018
Amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using for 10 years always sorted problems quickly.
Ken, Gwynedd Posted on 29/08/2018 , work completed 29/08/2018
Knowledgeable, efficient & thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Porthmadog Computers from my experience fully justified the title of "Trusted Trader". Totally efficient and welcoming whatever your problem with your computer.
George, Gwynedd Posted on 09/07/2018 , work completed 09/07/2018
Professional and thorough services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a computer problem which could not be solved by even the manufacturer. The staff assessed my problems, took time to explain process of repair and establishing methods of procedure. Problems solved, further advice given. Would have no hesitation in using this company again.
Laurence, Gwynedd Posted on 27/06/2018 , work completed 27/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Reduced charge when my equipment found to be faulty. The customer care was first rate.
Nick, Gwynedd Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
They are the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They give you good advice. They won't rip you off. Won't sell you things you don't need.
William, Gwynedd Posted on 12/04/2018 , work completed 12/04/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They always know what they are doing. Very helpful.
Alan, Gwynedd Posted on 04/04/2018 , work completed 04/04/2018
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All staff are very helpful and efficient. They will always get any repairs done in the shortest time possible. Highly recommended.
Euwan, Gwynedd Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Fast, excellent service as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called at shop with a problem. Sorted immediately with explanation of the problem. I always receive this service, although more complex problems take a day or two to sort out, when I am kept informed by telephone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problems solved promptly. Great service.
Patricia, Gwynedd Posted on 16/03/2018 , work completed 16/03/2018
Immediate professional, friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The instant professional help which I received in my local shop, saved me from a long drive to the shop from where I bought it. I have recommended them to many people on the quality of the work and the friendly yet professional attitude.
Anne, Gwynedd Posted on 23/02/2018 , work completed 23/02/2018
Extremely Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treated the customer as a friend. Advice given and problem solved efficiently and cost effective. Highly recommended.
Huw, Gwynedd Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
Excellent service always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Porthmadog Computers are wonderful. They are very professional, always truthful and value for money. Cannot recommend them highly enough.
Julie, Gwynedd Posted on 03/02/2018 , work completed 03/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a broken laptop screen and it was fixed quickly. Great value and the shop kept me updated in progress. Many thanks.
John, Gwynedd Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, prompt, helpful and knowledgeable.
Andy, Gwynedd Posted on 10/12/2017 , work completed 10/12/2017
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely excellent service from Porthmadog Computers staff. They went above and beyond to ensure we got the best deal and service possible. Very happy with the service and many thanks to them.
Llio, Gwynedd Posted on 08/12/2017 , work completed 08/12/2017
Professional throughout!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service and after-care. Would be back again if any other needs occur.
Philip, Gwynedd Posted on 01/12/2017 , work completed 01/12/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sorted my laptop problems quickly and professionally. Good value for the cost. Highly recommend.
Alexander, Gwynedd Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Great Professional and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We purchased our Samsung laptop from Porthmadog Computers many years ago, and have been very happy with it. When we have problems (few and far between) they have sorted them out quickly. We have taken out a Service Contract with them, and if we have any problems then we can drop the laptop off and they sort it. For someone like me, who knows nothing about the workings of a computer, this is invaluable. They are always friendly, and they never make me feel like a "dumbo" when I ask silly questions or give silly answers! Their pricing is very reasonable, and they have never tried to sell me something I don't need. Fantastic service
Hughes Posted on 22/11/2017 , work completed 22/11/2017
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, very helpful polite.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They service my computers on a service contract. I can take it in 2/3 times annually for a checkover for any sort of work needs doing. I moved from Porthmadog and it's a 60/70 mile round trip, but the service is so good I wont go anywhere else more local
Iewan, North Wales Posted on 23/02/2016 , work completed 23/02/2016
Fixed Computer Monitor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good fun guys and really knowledgeable. Crystal clear pricing and processing.
Mrs B, North Wales Posted on 15/01/2016 , work completed 15/01/2016