Endorsed by Which?

Porthmadog Computers

5.0

128 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Please call or visit our shop to discuss your computer needs.

What we do

  • Computer Repairs

    • Apple Mac Repairs
    • Audio visual set up and installation
    • Cloud based services
    • Data backup
    • Data recovery
    • Hardware Installation
    • Laptop repair
    • PC Repairs
    • Virus and malware removal
  • More Services

    • laptop and printer repairs
    • virus and malware removal

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
128 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
An excellent shop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The screen of my apple computer went wrong and was replaced in one day at the price quoted. I have used this shop for some years. They are invariably kind and helpful with usefuyl free advice. They also seek the cheapest price that will meet one's needs. Portmadog is lucky to have such a shop John Parsloe
Customer in Surrey Posted on 17/06/2024 , work completed 14/06/2024
Prompt and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After the unsettling experience of a computer hack, it was very reassuring to find that our local computer shop is a Which? trusted trader. They were able to complete the necessary 'deep clean' within a couple of days. Their service was friendly, helpful, prompt and efficient. For those of us not so 'tech savvy' the telephone support (for local numbers) is also a bonus. We would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 04/06/2024 , work completed 28/05/2024
Helpful clear explanations and work carried out quickly retrieved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Retrieved lost data and explanation of procedure given in simple terms. Answered all questions again in terms I could understand. Upgraded computer to Windows 10 Gareth and his team always helpful Month earlier put my iPad on floor and damaged by chair leg as I sat down. Repaired for fraction of cost quoted by others and done in timely manner. I have no hesitation in recommending Gareth and team to others
Customer in Conwy Principal Area Posted on 14/05/2024 , work completed 30/04/2024
Computer repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having never visited Porthmadog Computers before, I was most impressed by their service. Very professional and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending Gareth and team.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 18/04/2024 , work completed 12/04/2024
Great service every time.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to replace my very old laptop with a modern second hand one. I chose to to this at Porthmadog Computers because I have used their services many times over the passed 7 or 8 years, and have always received good, helpful and honest advise. For this purchase I was asked to provide a list of my needs and wishes for the new laptop so that they could find the best match to my list. This happened within a week and then having agreed a price for the machine, the staff spent 2 days setting it up with all my data and "stuff" on the old one. I was very impressed with the result, everything looks familiar, and nothing has been lost in the changes. The good value of this purchase includes the excellent customer service, which is personal and with unlimited time, included in the price. I won't need to go anywhere else when I need help with anything electronic. Thank you to all the staff, I will recommend you to anyone who asks!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 21/03/2024 , work completed 20/03/2024
Quick Efficient Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My desk top computer approx 8/9 years old needed replacing as it was using windows 10 and getting slower and slower to use. Porthmadog computers replaced with a model using windows 11 and transferred all the data across from the old system. This was completed in a quick friendly informative and efficient fashion
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 07/03/2024 , work completed 06/03/2024
Power Supply failure
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from Porthmadog Computers…! They quickly identified the problem: the PSU had stopped working. Being a fairly old machine, a replacement was difficult to find, but I managed to find a 2nd hand unit on eBay, which Gareth checked and tested, before installing back into my computer. All in all an excellent job - well recommended, and thanks.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 13/02/2024 , work completed 12/02/2024
laptop service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took laptop in for check-up, quick efficient service, friendly knowledgable staff, good value for money.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 01/02/2024 , work completed 30/01/2024
Great staff, great communication & great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time my PC has been into Porthmadog Computers to be fixed & the third time the very knowledgeable staff have fixed it in next to no time. The staff are very helpful & friendly & the work doesn't cost a fortune. I thoroughly recommend Porthmadog Computers, I wouldn't take my tech anywhere else.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 06/10/2023 , work completed 05/10/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you for the prompt service we received regarding our Mac computer. Exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful staff. All work carried out quickly and we would highly recommended this family computer business for your computer needs, repairs etc. thank you again
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 02/10/2023 , work completed 02/10/2023
Excellent speedy service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Porthmadog Computers for over a decade and have always found the service to be friendly, accurate and value for money. The family owned business understands our needs and responds with a speedy personal service. Well worth trying you will not be disappointed. Alan M. Edwards........HARLECH Gwynedd.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 27/09/2023 , work completed 25/09/2023
Replacement Computers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Decided to replace my aged desktop PC as it had got very slow and was not upgradeable to Windows 11. Was unhappy with the service received from the Bangor branch of a nationwide store. Having moved back to Porthmadog area I decided to try a longstanding local business with a good reputation. They discussed the options with me, and made a recommendation; didn't try to sell me an expensive PC with specification above my needs. Decided on a refurbished model. Price, which included transferring documents/programs etc, very reasonable. I was pleased by the friendly service and price and convenience of them being only about 3 miles away. Went back about a week later and bought a replacement for my laptop. I'm very pleased by the performance of both machines.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 11/09/2023 , work completed 22/08/2023
So pleased with the service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my aged Windows machine refused to start recently I contemplated getting rid of it as it must be at least 15 years old now, but as it holds quite a lot of photographs of the local area going back many years I decided to contact Porthmadog Computers via email. The response was to take the machine into the shop, which I did, explained the problem and about photographs, no problem, leave it with us. Received a call the same day advising of the nature of the fault, and the cost of repair, agreed, and collected my now working PC the next day. Excellent service, highly recommended local business!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 18/08/2023 , work completed 17/08/2023
Great phone repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good and quick phone repair for my bent iPhone 13. Was very easy and reasonable prices The screen ended up being dodgy down the line few days from their supplier however they had this rectified at no cost very quickly. The best phone repairs in the area if you ask me. I haven’t found any better!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 01/08/2023 , work completed 27/07/2023
Laptop repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Laptop freezing. They diagnosed failed HDD, replaced with NVMe and copied all files. Now working very well. Helpful and thorough and explained everything.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 14/07/2023 , work completed 11/07/2023
Good work as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly and efficient service from a knowledgable and courteous team They always take great care to ensure the computer leaves the shop in the best condition possible Would recommend them every tome
Customer in Posted on 13/07/2023 , work completed 12/07/2023
HP laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this business several times previously. This time we bought a refurbished laptop for our domestic use. We noticed a small crack in the casing so returned it and were immediately supplied with another unit which was actually a better model for the same price. We are techno dinosaurs so have found their help and advice invaluable and wouldn't hesitate to use them again and will recommend them to others.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 28/06/2023 , work completed 26/06/2023
First port of call for all computer queries
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A reasonable annual fee (frozen if maintained) seems to cover all queries and answer all problems. Wish they did gardening and decorating...
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 21/06/2023 , work completed 20/06/2023
Quick repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't fault the service. Has always been right for me, Have used them for many years, so it must be okay or I would have moved on. Been a member of their package for years, good investment.
Keith in Gwynedd Posted on 20/06/2023 , work completed 20/06/2023
Very Good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My Windows programme had got scrambled and Porthmadog fixed it quickly and completely. Work was done within 24 hours.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 16/06/2023 , work completed 09/06/2023
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Laptop was barely functioning. Despite explaining to me how I could save everything on the device and put it back to factory condition, I opted to have Gareth do the work for me. He is very knowledgable, helpful and charges a very fair price. The computer now works fine. This is the second time I have had a laptop repaired and on both occasions I have been very pleased. Highly recommended.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 07/06/2023 , work completed 05/06/2023
Info and advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Knowing that I needed a new laptop, I was given excellent advice having explained what I was looking for. Having then chosen an Asus laptop, all my documents and programmes were transferred from my old laptop to the new one, as agreed. The aftercare is also to be commended, with online and in store assistance available if and when required. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 23/05/2023 , work completed 23/05/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A friendly, helpful service. Quick, efficient and reasonably priced. Explains in plain terms to the computer illiterates! Have used this company twice now, once for a kindle fire and then for our PC Can't recommend enough!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 15/05/2023 , work completed 13/05/2023
New desktop computer set up to my specifications
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband and I both wanted new desktop computers as ours were old and slow. We asked Gareth if he could supply ones which were not filled with programmes we didn't want. He assured us he could supply and customise them to our requirements, and he did! Gareth completed the work fast and efficiently. He gave us good advice and was always open to answering our questions. He also volunteered valuable information. We felt he really listened to us and wanted to give us a good deal. We left the choice of desktop to him. He is very knowledgeable, with decades of experience, values his customers and isn't prepared just to sell high cost items when they are not necessary. He is very principled and wants to do the right thing. Aftercare is very important to us and we have been able to phone to talk through some of the new features, all of which has been very helpful. Nothing has gone wrong and we are absolutely delighted with our new, fast and versatile machines. We highly recommend Gareth and wish we had known about him before we bought our last machines!
Christine in Berkshire Posted on 17/04/2023 , work completed 13/02/2023
Repair of laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ensured my laptop was repaired under warrenty- handled everything from protecting my data to liaising with manufacturer and to ensure repair beig carried out. They kept me informed at all times and chased the repair being done by the manufacturer. They were very efficient and demonstrated excellent customer care...and all with a sense of caring. Simply put they were excellent.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 04/04/2023 , work completed 03/04/2023
Changing an Apple laptop battery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The shop obtained the required battery very quickly, removed the old one and inserted the new one whilst I did a little shopping.
Customer in Posted on 03/03/2023 , work completed 27/02/2023
Update defunct PC
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took much time to discuss my options to migrate from old PC running Windows 7 to new PC running Windows 10/11. Matched my new PC to my needs and pocket. Imported all my data and replicated the Desktop I was familiar with. Thoroughly explained operation of Windows 11 before handing over my new PC. Subsequently dealt with teething problems over the phone and gave me confidence that ongoing support was there. A positive experience during what could have been a stressful time.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 28/01/2023 , work completed 26/01/2023
They came highly recommended and lived up to expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was looking for a new laptop, but the nearest shop selling new ones is about sixteen miles away. I looked into buying a reconditioned laptop from this local shop, and they were very helpful and understanding, and I'm happy from my dealings with them that they will give a good after sales service if I need it.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/12/2022 , work completed 02/12/2022
New laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gareth, looked over my old Lenova, gave me an honest review on wether to spend money on upgrade or put towards new one, having decided to get new one and deciding what my budget was, he then offered me a laptop after gauging what my usage was, I accepted, he then transferred all my needed data from old to new, wiped the old one clean so that my 11 year old granddaughter could use it, would gladly recommend this computer shop to anyone.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 24/10/2022 , work completed 22/10/2021
Great advice, honest trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader was recommend by a neighbour. If you are not knowledgeable about computers and want good honest advice and follow up support, look no further.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 24/09/2022 , work completed 22/09/2022
As on previous occasions, I received excellent advice from Gareth
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Surface Pro which I had owned for five years crashed and was beyond economical repair, according to the supplier that it was purchased from [not Porthmadog Computers]. Having received great service and advice from Gareth and the team at Porthmadog Computers in the past, including the purchase of a new desktop computer from them in 2020, I had no hesitation in returning there for advice. As usual, Gareth asked a series of questions regarding my requirements and budget and showed me a laptop which I really liked and a deal was made. In an effort to alleviate the 50 mile return journey to Porthmadog, I asked whether the laptop could be set up that day, to which Gareth immediately agreed and I spent a few enjoyable hours in Porthmadog until they rang my mobile to say the set up was complete. I, therefore, have no hesitation in recommending Porthmadog Computers as the courteous and friendly service and advice from Gareth, Tracey and Dave is excellent. Thank you.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 06/09/2022 , work completed 25/08/2022
No worries here
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gareth asked me what I needed doing. He then explained the pros and cons of any variation to whatever I needed. He explained clearly his costing and I was happy to proceed. He explained his anticipated schedule and because he is very knowledgeable at what he died my computer was given back to me well within the time quoted and within budget. Upon completion he explained all that he had done and said any further work or purchases I might require he was always willing to help. I would have no hesitation in using this company again and would recommend Porthmadog Computers to anyone. Knows what they are doing and very good customer service.
Peter in Telford and Wrekin Posted on 16/06/2022 , work completed 15/06/2022
Excellent customer service and advice for my computer repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Porthmadog computers looked at two of my PCs. They quickly identified the issue with my Windows laptop (broken top board fixings) and gave excellent free advice on my options. They subsequently repaired another laptop - Mac book Pro. They identified the issue immediately (failed hard drive) and it was replaced very quickly. The communication on repair progress was great and the repair was cost-effective and good value. I would thoroughly recommend their services.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 02/06/2022 , work completed 01/06/2022
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have a new laptop. My old printer was great but is not compatible with Windows 10 so there was no way to use that printer with my old laptop. Instead of just selling me the most expensive printer they had, the owner interviewed me to find out what my real printer needs were. He suggested and very simple one which could be had at a VERY reasonable price. Furthermore, they agreed to a modest fee to come to the house and make sure the installation went well. He arrived at exactly the time he promised, installed the new printer, and supplied a new ink cartridge which it needs, at a competitive price- and what a treat to work with! Very knowledgeable and able to listen to the customer to find out what my real needs are. It's rare to find someone like this. Large stores have salespeople but they only know what they are trained for. I highly recommend this business.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 30/05/2022 , work completed 21/05/2022
Computer repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service and support from the team at Porthmadog Computers. The gave excellent advice and kept me informed throughout my repair. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 11/05/2022 , work completed 11/05/2022
Excellent, friendly service; accurate diagnosis
Customer Service
Quality
Value
While on holiday my elderly laptop 'broke down' and Portmadog Computers did a very good job of getting it working again. I felt that the service was excellent: the owner explained the diagnosis well, treating me as if I was an intelligent human being (as a woman I have had the opposite experience in other computer repair shops). The charges were transparent and the computer was ready on time. Everyone in the shop was friendly and we all felt welcomed as customers. Thank you very much indeed!
Customer in Worcestershire Posted on 02/05/2022 , work completed 05/07/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent rapport; Excellent Communication; Resolved Problem Quickly; Extremely knowledgeable and helpful. All problems explained simply. All options explained clearly. Timeline and costs adhered to. Clear documentation making you feel safe and secure. Very happy outcome!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 29/04/2022 , work completed 29/04/2022
Trustworthy and Friendly Experts!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Porthmadog Computers have assisted me this week, helping to revive my ageing PC. They are very friendly, professional and sorted out my problem extremely quickly and for a superb price. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing advice, problem solving or to purchase tech gear.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 17/03/2022 , work completed 16/03/2022
They reconnected my computer.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Porthmadog Computers did excellent work at the agreed price I would highly recommend them.
Valerie in Gwynedd Posted on 16/03/2022 , work completed 16/03/2022
Issues Resolved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been having a lot of trouble with Microsoft 365 since I terminated my website, issues Microsoft said they couldn't resolve. I phoned Gareth yesterday and he said to come in and he's resolved all the issues I was having. Genuinely, helpful, well run business.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/03/2022 , work completed 18/02/2022
excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
updating the operating system to my Mac air to OSX and updating the associated software. Work was completed within 36 hours, the price was very reasonable and I warmly recommend this company
David in Bontddu Posted on 22/02/2022 , work completed (undated)
Thanks, appreciation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thanks for an excellent, prompt and friendly service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/01/2022 , work completed 24/01/2022
Excellent service and communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I took my Macbook in to be repaired and received it back in working order the next day - The team gave excellent service and communication throughout. I would highly recommend Porthmadog Computers! Thank you very much
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 07/01/2022 , work completed 07/01/2022
New computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Porthmadog Computers built me a new computer to replace my laptop which was broken beyond sensible repair. Recovering a very large number of old files and installing well chosen, new software, I am now enjoying using my quick machine. I think the cost was very fair, and I thoroughly recommend their services.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 08/12/2021 , work completed 07/12/2021
Data recovery from a [failed] external hard drive.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service at a very reasonable price. Quick and efficient. Proposals for carrying out work were fully explained in 'easy to understand' terms. Maximum price quoted before commencing work. Work successfully completed within a couple of days. Final price came in below the quoted price. Well done Porthmadog Computers.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 23/11/2021 , work completed 18/11/2021
Amazing service for all our Apple Mac needs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The staff at Porthmadog Computers sourced my new Apple Mac when many others couldn't. They collected my old machine, transferred all my data and settings then promptly came and installed my new iMac Very very satisfied Many thanks
Patricia in Gwynedd Posted on 19/11/2021 , work completed 19/11/2021
Dell repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely fabulous! Helpful, quick and efficient. Explained everything and was a very reasonable price.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 30/09/2021 , work completed 30/09/2021
An excellent and fast service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a service contract with this trader for at least the last 10 years and in all that time the owner of the business has provided me with a faultless first class service. His advice has been especially important to me because I didn't have the previous training necessary to equip me with the essential knowledge to use my digital devices successfully, and I have therefore relied on him very heavily. The owner of this business clearly has a tremendous wealth of experience and knowledge which has throughout been of a very practical benefit to me; especially so on one occasion when he very urgently and successfully rescued me from an attempted fraudulent take-over of my computer. Very recently he has also advised extensively and in detail, giving full reasons for his suggestions on my very expensive purchase, so as to avoid my incurring unnecessary future expense. I trust this trader implicitly and cannot recommend him highly enough. He meets all the requirements made in Which? Trusted Traders Code of Conduct in full, to a very high degree.
Ann in Flintshire Posted on 17/09/2021 , work completed 16/09/2021
Fixed an old laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I took my 10 year old Toshiba Windows 7 laptop into Porthmadog Computers to have Chrome installed as it could no longer download websites with IE. The boss did the job himself while I waited and provided good advice. He also checked it connected to my iPhone to use the Personal Hotspot. Despite me not being a local customer (I’m on holiday in the area), he made no charge even though it took half an hour of his time. He even provided a seat while I waited. However I noticed he had a 1T Intenso 2.5” Memory Play portable hard drive at a good price which I needed for back up so I made that purchase.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 10/09/2021 , work completed 07/09/2021
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I finally understood what I needed following a very helpful discussion about my requirements with Garreth at Porthmadog Computers and I ordered a new desktop PC. Their customer service really is first class with telephone updates on progress and to discuss alternative components that would provide a worthy step up in performance with little added cost. When I collected my new machine I was very pleased to see that the invoice was still £50 below my maximum budget. Result! Compatibility problems with my old outdated monitor not communicating with my new PC caused a bit of head-scratching but a quick call to Garreth had the problem solved quickly. Porthmadog Computers have a well-deserved reputation and provide great customer support. Many thanks.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 09/09/2021 , work completed 08/09/2021
Great work yet again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a returning customer to this trader because they do such great work at reasonable prices. My latest needs were unorthodox but that did not worry Gareth and his team, in fact, they relish in it. The job was done on time, on budget, and with excellent results. I would not go anywhere else.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 09/09/2021 , work completed 06/09/2021
They know what they are doing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The task was to revive an aged iMac so that it speeded up. It involved removing the hard disk, installing SSD and laboriously rebuilding the OS level by level. They immediately diagnosed the problems and discussed the pros and cons of various solutions with me. Once we had selected an option they gave me a price quote and timeline. The work was done on time, on budget, and with great results. This is not another 'we'll sell you something' computer shop'.They have great expertise, care about their work, and want to ensure customer satisfaction. It is the ' must go to' computer shop in this area.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 28/07/2021 , work completed 27/07/2021
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/07/2021 , work completed 19/07/2021
Excellent Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were on holiday and my son was working on his final year degree dissertation when his laptop died. We contacted Porthmadog Computers & Gareth immediately looked at it suspecting a connection fault. He set out the different options, costs and estimated time to complete. We settled on purchasing a refurbished Laptop from him and him transferring the hard disc over and to make contact for collection the following day. The problem turned out to be more serious as the hard disc was corrupted. Gareth stayed late that evening to run a recovery programme & Tracey rang us to update on progress. Next day all data had been recovered and transferred to the new laptop, which worked perfectly. Despite all the extra effort and fast turn around Gareth stuck to his original quote. Gareth and Tracey were excellent throughout and took great pride in their service. This is my best customer experience ever in a PC shop and I can't recommend enough. Thankyou.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 06/06/2021 , work completed 02/06/2021
PC repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Part of charger cable detached and stuck in laptop. Offending item removed and laptop collected within the suggested time scale. Very helpful and informative service.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 21/05/2021 , work completed 21/05/2021
Well you (Which?) couldn't fix it but they did!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been associated with computers since 1970 and this is superb. I just wish that they were into sales of new equipment, they would soon put PC World etc. out of business!!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tracy and Gareth were very polite, reliable and business like. Because I have quite a journey to Porthmadog they kindly saw to my problem on a "while you wait" basis. They spent half an hour diagnosing and solving the problem (poor WiFi performance) and provided me with the answer - a very reasonably priced aerial. No labour charge. at the same time they were very helpful in answering my computer related questions. Excellent service.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Update on computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service all round, trader couldn't have done anymore and fair price
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/05/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
Excellent Service 'to boot'!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this service on many occasions and always found the team to be very professional and competent; always going above and beyond what I expect. I usually leave with some additional knowledge and advice that will hold me in good stead for a happy computer going forward. I also think their fees are extremely reasonable and I recommend this company to other people without reservation.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 18/03/2021
Experts in their field, excellent customer service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I trust Porthmadog Computers with all my IT support needs - they are completely trustworthy, always welcoming and happy to help. Their expertise is astounding! I've not yet come across a problem they can't solve, or a glitch they're unfamiliar with. In fact, such is my praise of them, that my elderly father (finally!) allowed me to take his very out-of-date laptop in for a service at Porthmadog Computers, despite not letting anyone else look at it for years due to fears around IT security and worries about safety. Hey presto, the old laptop is running smoothly again, with no loss of files or apps, but fully updated and all set to use! I'd be lost without the lovely team at Porthmadog Computers.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 24/01/2021 , work completed 22/01/2021
Transferred data from old computer to my new one
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very straightforward, helpful people. easy to deal with, nothing was too much trouble. they even alerted me to a traffic problem for my journey home
Simon, Llan Ffestiniog Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 15/12/2020
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently bought a new desktop from Porthmadog Computers and I am very satisfied with the results. I was struck by how friendly and helpful they were, and feel I have been given great advice and service. I would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 14/10/2020 , work completed 18/08/2020
Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot fault the service, friendliness of staff and most importantly I had confidence in their technical ability. They diagnosed the problem with my laptop immediately, gave me a minimum and maximum quote, (depending on part required) for work needed. The job came in at the minimum quote, and within the time scale advised for the repair.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 12/10/2020 , work completed 09/10/2020
Quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service I recieved does not do it justice. Superb service. They kept in touch all the way through the procedure and they met every need that I had with the replacement. I would not hesitate to use them again and tell everyone else.
David, Porthmadog Posted on 08/10/2020 , work completed 28/08/2020
Buy new computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was given comprehensive advice by Gareth. He did not try to sell me any computer until he knew exactly what I needed. He transferred everything he could from my old computer and everything was ready in 4 days which was a very good service. I will be able to contact him whenever I need advice. Everything was very professional and I would recommend this company to anyone.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 03/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
Big e-mail issue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My emails would not download at all. Gareth was unable to sort out the problem as my speed was not fast enough for remote access so we went to Porthmadog to see him and the team to have the issue remedied. Gareth identified the problem and solved why the emails would not download. This was crucial to me as I'm starting an OU course next week and it's all on-line. Thank you Gareth. Brilliant as usual.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 02/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
Adjusted computer to open certian file types
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Execellant service. Very good indeed.
David, Porthmadog Posted on 01/10/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
So helpful and kind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My daughter had illness all her life. She recorded a message for me on a bear before she died. After 14 years the batteries wore out and I couldn't listen to the message. I got in touch with customer service at Build-a-Bear, the company which took over the Bear Factory. They never replied to my enquiry. We took the recorded unit into Porthmadog Computers and they ordered the batteries required and replaced them We paid for the batteries, but they refused to charge me for the work. They were so happy to help!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 01/10/2020 , work completed 27/08/2020
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my old PC conked out the fab people at Porthmadog Computers came to the rescue. They couldn't have been more obliging and helpful - indeed their advice saved me money - and my new computer is fast and does everything required (and more). They also retrieved important data from my old hard drive when all seemed lost. I would highly recommend you use this firm, especially if, like me, you're something of a technophobe. They are honest, approachable and happy to spend time talking things through. A top quality outfit!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 01/09/2020 , work completed 18/08/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a very happy customer. I have used Porthmadog Computers since I moved to Wales 3 years back. The few times I have needed to have my computer repaired they have given me fantastic support and excellent value. They are friendly, professional and will do everything they can to fix the problem rather than you needing to buy new. Highly recommended.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 25/08/2020
Could not be more knowledegable or helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had dealings with Porthmadog Computers over several years. Recently I needed to purchase a new lap-top and, as always, found Gareth and Tracey helpful and able to explain in layman's terms a computer that best suited both my requirements and pocket! Past computer problems have been sorted out with their usual competence plus cheerfulness and any promise of repair dates have always been met at a cost already agreed. I would therefore have no hesitation in recommending anybody who wants advice, information regarding repairing or purchasing a computer to contact Porthmadog Computers.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 23/08/2020 , work completed 19/08/2020
Knowledgeable and super helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys really know their stuff and were able to help me out with my computer worries on more than one occasion, also assisting with advice for my PC rebuild. Very reasonably priced and quick to diagnose problems and get your machine back up and running quicker than most Windows systems can boot!
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 20/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
Forget the rest go to the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual the owners and staff of this amazing shop have given me first class service. They are all so knowledgeable and kind, and explain everything to you in easy to understand terms. I trust their advice implicitly and they have NEVER been wrong. Their charges are very reasonable and they're not in it to make a fast buck out of you. They have their reputation at stake, and in this area they are known for being the best people to go to if you want quick and professional knowledge. Computers, GPS, gadgets and much more are available in their shop. Face to face or over the 'phone they are always polite and caring, and very helpful. May they prosper in these difficult times, and I thank them for all their wonderful help and advice in the past.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 18/08/2020 , work completed 18/08/2020
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After Gareth and his team spending two whole days testing and attempting to repair my PC, Tracey telephoned to advise me that despite their efforts, they had not found the cause of the problem and invited me back to discuss the situation. It was therefore clearly evident that they concentrate on customer service rather than just selling new products as it was only at this stage we started talking about a replacement. Throughout the entire process I was kept updated and never felt uneasy about making contact with them, in fact they encouraged it and were always polite and helpful. I therefore have no hesitation in recommending Porthmadog Computers as they are very competent, professional and have the customer’s interest in mind above profit.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 16/08/2020 , work completed 06/08/2020
Won't use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was charged £19.99 to be told my hard drive was shot and needed replacing. I took the PC home and fixed it myself for free with no computer experience. Hard drive is working just fine.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 11/07/2020
Delighted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with their work, especially during lockdown. Very good even when you phone them.
Ann, Gwynedd Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
Really good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were barred form our online bank account and warned there was malware detected. Our provider said we might have been hacked. Porthmadog Computers checked and cleaned all our equipment (5 computers) at short notice despite the covid-19 lockdown. They updated the ones capable of updating, kept us informed by phone of what they were doing and why. They explained what the probable cause was (dynamic allocation of a suspect external line by EE) and what to do if it happened again line. Today by phone they have talked me through sorting out a glitch with my search engine. Always friendly, and very reasonable charges. I recommend them highly.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 19/06/2020 , work completed 19/06/2020
Great service and advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was given very helpful and reassuring advice after my laptop had been hacked. My laptop was cleared of any and all viruses very quickly, and later on, they thoroughly cleaned my device under their support package scheme at no extra charge. I was assured that I could telephone the shop or call in with any queries or problems, and they would do their best to give support. Very friendly and informative staff. I would 100% recommend Porthmadog Computers to anyone.
Glynda Posted on 15/05/2020 , work completed 02/03/2020
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this shop initially to chat about issues with my existing laptop. They gave me various options and I decided to purchase a new laptop. Fantastic support on choosing a laptop and unexpected service in creating the laptop I needed. They transferred data and reinstalled my windows purchase from back in 2013 to my new laptop. Truly delighted they could do this and all without charge. Furthermore they wiped my old laptop free of charge so I could gift this item. Highly recommend this store for personal customer service, speed and efficiently. Thank you - will always use this shop :)
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 05/05/2020 , work completed 31/03/2020
Friendly Help at all Times
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Porthmadog Computers since I moved home to North Wales and have been very pleased that the recommendation I sought locally has worked out so well. Originally I used them on an ad-hoc basis when I experienced problems but have since joined their Contract service so that I receive priority treatment if required. My laptop is updated, cleaned of viruses and serviced at least 4 times annually. If particular issues arise then an extra visit to them is always greeted with a friendly face. The staff and owners are considerate and helpful to a 70+ semi literate operator and that is very welcome. The cost has always been sensible and fair. I have renewed the Annual Contract several times as this is a flat fee which covers most things. I have not paid extra at any time. Use them - you won't regret doing so!
Alan Posted on 04/05/2020 , work completed 04/05/2020
Excellent service as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been buying computers, parts and using this service for at least 20 years. Gareth's vast knowledge has always been a great help.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 17/04/2020 , work completed 17/04/2020
PC Fault Finding & Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I experienced an issue with my PC and called Porthmadog Computers based on a personal recommendation from someone who had used them before. They were exceptionally helpful and solved my problem without fuss. They gave me and my PC their personal & immediate attention and did not leave me until I was entirely happy that the matter had been resolved. That is what I call service. No wonder they have so many other rave reviews. I highly recommend them
New customer, Gwynedd Posted on 03/03/2020 , work completed 03/03/2020
Excellent service and would 100% recommend this business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thought I needed a new laptop, as my 7 year old HP was running slowly and needed Windows 10. This business was recommended to me by friends, and I really couldn't be happier with their friendliness, service and professionalism. Having upgraded my drive and installed Windows 10, they said my existing laptop was perfectly ok to carry on using - when they could quite easily have convinced me to buy a new one - I'm very very impressed and will definitely use again.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 08/02/2020 , work completed 07/02/2020
Prompt, convenient & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work done to the agreed schedule and budget. The trader & his assistant came to my house to deal with the computer. Problems were resolved satisfactorily with speedy aftercare.
Kath, Gwynedd Posted on 21/01/2020 , work completed 21/01/2020
Great. Keen to solve problems rather than sell new kit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Samsung A3 phone vs computer problem. The guys spent over an hour trying a million and one ways around the problem. Powered by a drive to fix the problems rather than just sell you new gear. Highly recommended
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Purchased a new laptop and transformed my first etc. Very helpful advice given.
Rhoswyn, Gwynedd Posted on 07/01/2020 , work completed 07/01/2020
Professional and Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service with expert advice. Very efficient in sorting out my computer and on top of this, these fellas are so helpful and friendly. I highly recommend them.
Ann, Gwynedd Posted on 08/11/2019 , work completed 08/11/2019
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, patient and very efficient service sorting out my computer which had been hacked. Computer cleaned up. Staff always supportive particularly as I am inexperienced.
Roger, Gwynedd Posted on 21/08/2019 , work completed 21/08/2019
Excellent shop to buy a computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gareth and team built a pc for music production for me at a very fair price and v quickly which is now installed and working perfectly. They also helped me to set the program up in the pc and made sure everything worked fine which of course they didn’t have to . So glad I bought from them as the after sales is second to none and the advice of an experienced person is invaluable.
Customer in Gwynedd Posted on 29/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
Excellent service professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, professional, down to earth advice, would recommend this shop and its staff to anyone with P.C. problems or queries.
Adrian, Gwynedd Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 26/07/2019
Superb service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called in with a problem, sorted within minutes. Fully recommended.
Arthur, Dyfed Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 26/07/2019
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recovered my external drive to get back thousands of pictures and music.
Barry, Gwynedd Posted on 28/06/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
Cheerful & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great staff from first call to end of installation, fitted to suit us - arrived on time and finished whole house same day. Good installers - cleaned up afterwards - cheerful & professional.
David, Gwynedd Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
Computastic.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Staff exceedingly helpful and knowledgeable. Prices always fair and competitive.
John, Gwynedd Posted on 11/06/2019 , work completed 11/06/2019
Very good.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service.
Marian, Gwynedd Posted on 29/04/2019 , work completed 29/04/2019
Fixed Laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have previously been here with my tablet and it was fixed straight away. Today I brought my laptop that would not switch on, and with five minutes it was fixed. Wonderful staff.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
Fast and amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service was complete. They kept me informed. Repaired the problem.
Tony, Gwynedd Posted on 01/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
Super .
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everyone is always very helpful. All work done quickly and no after problems. A really brilliant service.
Lis, Gwynedd Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
Excellent service (again).
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rescued all my data when hard drive died. A real life saver!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They fixed my laptop - removing viruses and cleaning up. Prompt, efficient, excellent service. Very friendly.
Susan, Gwynedd Posted on 18/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job - very prompt and professional. Very pleased.
Patricia, Gwynedd Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Most knowledgeable place around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb service, very prompt and cheaper than expected! Saved me buying a new computer so close to Christmas!
Daniel, Gwynedd Posted on 15/12/2018 , work completed 15/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a service contract with the shop for a number of years now, and I continue to do so even though I have moved away from the area. As at the date of this review I have just renewed the contract for 2019. It has been of great value to me not only in terms of the money paid and quality of service provided, but also in terms that if I need assistance I can either phone them for a direct answer or use the occasion to visit my friends in the area and take my computer up for a service, the computer being promptly ready for collection, usually within 24 hours. Under the terms of the contract and in practice I always receive immediate attention. Should an answer to the problem be available but occasionally require some research, this usually becomes available within a few days. I have also been successfully rescued in immediate action from an attempted scam. Gareth, the owner of the shop is highly skilled in his work on computers and I trust him implicitly. His advice has proved itself over and over again and I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Customer in Powys Posted on 14/12/2018 , work completed 13/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, done the work as promised.
Gwynfor, Gwynedd Posted on 10/12/2018 , work completed 10/12/2018
Professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class prompt repair on my laptop after another so-called expert national retailer reported it was uneconomic to repair. Highly recommended.
John, Gwynedd Posted on 04/10/2018 , work completed 04/10/2018
Fabulous, kind, knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everybody in the shop is always most helpful, kind and knowledgeable. Always find the problem.
Kim, Portmadog Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always friendly and helpful, well recommended.
Gwilym Rhys, Gwynedd Posted on 30/08/2018 , work completed 30/08/2018
Amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using for 10 years always sorted problems quickly.
Ken, Gwynedd Posted on 29/08/2018 , work completed 29/08/2018
Knowledgeable, efficient & thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Porthmadog Computers from my experience fully justified the title of "Trusted Trader". Totally efficient and welcoming whatever your problem with your computer.
George, Gwynedd Posted on 09/07/2018 , work completed 09/07/2018
Professional and thorough services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a computer problem which could not be solved by even the manufacturer. The staff assessed my problems, took time to explain process of repair and establishing methods of procedure. Problems solved, further advice given. Would have no hesitation in using this company again.
Laurence, Gwynedd Posted on 27/06/2018 , work completed 27/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Reduced charge when my equipment found to be faulty. The customer care was first rate.
Nick, Gwynedd Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
They are the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They give you good advice. They won't rip you off. Won't sell you things you don't need.
William, Gwynedd Posted on 12/04/2018 , work completed 12/04/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They always know what they are doing. Very helpful.
Alan, Gwynedd Posted on 04/04/2018 , work completed 04/04/2018
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All staff are very helpful and efficient. They will always get any repairs done in the shortest time possible. Highly recommended.
Euwan, Gwynedd Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Fast, excellent service as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called at shop with a problem. Sorted immediately with explanation of the problem. I always receive this service, although more complex problems take a day or two to sort out, when I am kept informed by telephone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problems solved promptly. Great service.
Patricia, Gwynedd Posted on 16/03/2018 , work completed 16/03/2018
Immediate professional, friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The instant professional help which I received in my local shop, saved me from a long drive to the shop from where I bought it. I have recommended them to many people on the quality of the work and the friendly yet professional attitude.
Anne, Gwynedd Posted on 23/02/2018 , work completed 23/02/2018
Extremely Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treated the customer as a friend. Advice given and problem solved efficiently and cost effective. Highly recommended.
Huw, Gwynedd Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
Excellent service always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Porthmadog Computers are wonderful. They are very professional, always truthful and value for money. Cannot recommend them highly enough.
Julie, Gwynedd Posted on 03/02/2018 , work completed 03/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a broken laptop screen and it was fixed quickly. Great value and the shop kept me updated in progress. Many thanks.
John, Gwynedd Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, prompt, helpful and knowledgeable.
Andy, Gwynedd Posted on 10/12/2017 , work completed 10/12/2017
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely excellent service from Porthmadog Computers staff. They went above and beyond to ensure we got the best deal and service possible. Very happy with the service and many thanks to them.
Llio, Gwynedd Posted on 08/12/2017 , work completed 08/12/2017
Professional throughout!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service and after-care. Would be back again if any other needs occur.
Philip, Gwynedd Posted on 01/12/2017 , work completed 01/12/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sorted my laptop problems quickly and professionally. Good value for the cost. Highly recommend.
Alexander, Gwynedd Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Great Professional and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We purchased our Samsung laptop from Porthmadog Computers many years ago, and have been very happy with it. When we have problems (few and far between) they have sorted them out quickly. We have taken out a Service Contract with them, and if we have any problems then we can drop the laptop off and they sort it. For someone like me, who knows nothing about the workings of a computer, this is invaluable. They are always friendly, and they never make me feel like a "dumbo" when I ask silly questions or give silly answers! Their pricing is very reasonable, and they have never tried to sell me something I don't need. Fantastic service
Hughes Posted on 22/11/2017 , work completed 22/11/2017
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, very helpful polite.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They service my computers on a service contract. I can take it in 2/3 times annually for a checkover for any sort of work needs doing. I moved from Porthmadog and it's a 60/70 mile round trip, but the service is so good I wont go anywhere else more local
Iewan, North Wales Posted on 23/02/2016 , work completed 23/02/2016
Fixed Computer Monitor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good fun guys and really knowledgeable. Crystal clear pricing and processing.
Mrs B, North Wales Posted on 15/01/2016 , work completed 15/01/2016