Endorsed by Which?

R.J. Mitchell And Son Limited

5.0

42 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a central heating and plumbing company based in Bath. We have been in operation as a family run business for over 40 years.

We take the time to use our extensive experience to provide you with the best and most efficient system your budget will allow whether a manor house or tiny flat and we will do our best to tailor to your needs.

We are both Worcester and Vaillant approved boiler installers which means we can offer extended guarantees on their boiler ranges.

We are the type of firm that likes to build a relationship with its customers, some of whom have been with us for many years. This relationship being based on trust, that we will do our best to undertake the work at a reasonable and competitive price. We would like you to know that we intend to be on the other end of the phone/computer for at least the next 40 years!

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • combination boilers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
42 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Complete Replacement of Heating System
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had a new boiler and radiators fitted into a Victorian flat, and throughout, we found John and his team were thoroughly professional. From the start, there was easy communication and quick responses; knowledgeable advice and recommendations concerning all decisions; adherence to the time plan; consideration of property, neighbours and communal areas; attention to detail and highly organised; and finally and very importantly, ability to explain the working of the new system. We would thoroughly recommend them to others.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 30/01/2023 , work completed 07/01/2023
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this firm of plumbers for many years even going back to the days of Mr Mitchell senior. His son installed a new boiler for us recently, eighteen years after installing the previous one. Every aspect of his work was excellent and we were amazed that he could undertake it single-handed. The job was completed quickly and efficiently, even taking less than the estimated time of two days. All the pipework was finished to a very high standard and fitted neatly into the existing cupboard space thus preventing us from having to redecorate. John Mitchell was extremely thoughtful and courteous throughout the time he was working in the house. He worked extremely hard, taking only very short breaks and even refused a hot drink. We would have no hesitation in recommending the firm to anyone whatever their age and circumstances.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 22/11/2022 , work completed 12/11/2022
Replacement boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Kim, John and his team made it easy to get a new boiler. Ours was over 20 years old and actually broke down a month before we were booked to have the work done and the team all moved things around so we didn’t have to be without a boiler once it got really cold. Once here, they couldn’t have been more careful and neat plus always happy to explain what was happening and needed to be done. Payment was also transparent, efficient and fair. We couldn’t have been more satisfied.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 04/11/2022 , work completed 01/11/2022
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An amazing experience! Replacing an aged 38yr old boiler was something I was not looking forward to but I need not have worried. John, Korey and Alex did a fantastic job. Some pipework and the flue had to be replaced as well as the rerouting of some electrics, but each small problem was solved smoothly and efficiently - you would not know that carpets/floorboards had been taken up. They were all extremely hard working, efficient, clean and cheerful. The whole experience was topped off by my trusty old boiler not going to landfill but to our local college for Korey and his fellow apprentices to learn on. I also have to pass on the praise of my decorator who followed on this week - he asked me to congratulate John on his work - he has never seen such clean and tidy work which made his job so much easier. I can't recommend JR Mitchell John highly enough.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 07/10/2022 , work completed 30/06/2022
The only company you need!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new heating system as our back boiler was coming to the end of its working life. With the array of different heating systems, we were unsure of the best option for us. So, we decided to contact various recommended local heating engineers to come and advise on different systems. The majority of them were not interested or couldn't be bothered to get back to us even after chasing phone calls. So, we contacted Worcester Bosch boiler manufacturers who had a list of approved heating installers in our area and came across two companies. One being RJ Mitchell of Bath. As members of the Which organisation, we also looked for advice on heating systems and installers. One installer had an exceptional review, and this happened to be RJ Mitchell of Bath. We registered our interest on the Worcester Bosh website and received a phone call within 10 minutes from Kim Mitchell. Kim was very helpful and willing to discuss our initial thoughts of changing our heating system over the next 45 minutes. Following this, she arranged an appointment for John Mitchell to do a site survey and discuss further details of heating options. John contacted us to confirm his appointment and arrived on time and was comprehensive with what they could offer. He genuinely seemed interested in our project and wanted to give the best heating system for us, not what he could sell us. John Mitchell is, by far, the most approachable, friendly and experienced heating engineer we had contact with.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 13/09/2022 , work completed 29/04/2022
Boiler Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is excellent to deal with a family firm like RJ Mitchell. The boiler is on the top floor of a tall house which meant scaffolding was needed -all very efficiently organised by Mitchell’s. All dealings with the firm from the initial survey, the quote and the installation went exactly to plan and the whole team was a pleasure to have working in the house. They are experts in their field so I am very happy to recommend them
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 06/09/2022 , work completed 31/08/2022
Brilliant in every way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My partner and I recently took on a renovation project that required a new hot water and heating system. Communication from the start during initial meeting and quote was great, and this was provided in the time agreed. Being very new to the process, John offered a lot of helpful and useful advice along the way, and always seemed on hand to respond to all of our queries. During the work, the team were tidy, organised, and very efficient. They were able to work round our changing schedule, and very accomodating during a busy period. They also coped well with the challenge of installing two curved radiators in bay windows. All the team we came into contact with; Kim, Adam, Korey and of course John were all polite, friendly and helpful. Any small issue was rectified quickly and easily. As new homeowners, it's reassuring to know of RJ Mitchell, and we will be using them for the yearly boiler service, and any future plumbing needs. Quoted priced compared to some others was marginally higher, but the level of service, support, and care was well worth it.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 01/06/2022 , work completed 14/05/2022
An example for others to follow.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My existing old boiler failed and although I was booked to have a new one fitted during January 2022 Kim in the office pulled out all the stops and my new boiler was fitted only days after I reported my problem. A very professional happy team arrived on time, worked solidly all day and completed the job to my absolute satisfaction in the evening. This is the second time I have used this company to fit a new boiler in this house and my previous one. I will always use this company who are so helpful and an example to others. Recommended without reserve!
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 17/12/2021 , work completed 16/12/2021
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John did a great job installing our new boiler. Because it was a replacement for a very old boiler there was a lot of replumbing, new pipework, flue replacements, etc. Some of the plumbers we got around to give us a quote wouldn't even attempt the job, but John was unphazed and found good solutions to all the potential problems. He let us know what needed to be done at every stage and fully answered any of our questions. I can't recommend John highly enough. It was also very useful to have Kim available as a dedicated person 'front of house' to handle any queries. Highly recommended.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 28/10/2021 , work completed 25/10/2021
Central heating upgrade
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found RJ Mitchell and Son on the Gas Safe Register, as I was looking for a G3 qualified heating engineer who is experienced at installing unvented cylinders and willing to install one in the loft of my house, to replace a gravity-fed system. John Mitchell was just the man for the job and we were very grateful that he was willing to take on the work. He installed a new boiler and the unvented cylinder, with all the new pipework running to and in the loft. He piped in eight new radiators and fitted a water conditioner to reduce limescale throughout the house. All work was done to a high standard and within the timescale originally specified--5 days. The total cost was clearly specified and within the region of what we expected, therefore reasonable to us. As other reviewers have mentioned, John is hardworking, honest, courteous, ably resolves issues when they arise (as they do) and leaves working areas clean and tidy. My husband noted that he must be the best-equipped heating engineer on the planet and it shows in the outcome. His pipework is a work of art in our house. We are delighted with the new, upgraded system, which has been running without any problems since the installation and has turned out to be even better than we expected. Thank you to John and Kim, who is a very able and organised administrator for the business, and the team for all your hard work.
Lisa in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 04/09/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021