We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

R Read Decorators

Profile thumb photo  1

4.9

53 Reviews

About

I have been trading over 20 years and have 33 years experience.
I have a team of 3 men, 2 of equal experience and the youngest one with 5 years of experience.
We pride ourselves on attention to detail and first class decorating.
We also do Tiling, aspects of Carpentry & General Repairs.
Equally customer relations is our top property along with a clean and tidy site to come home to.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Exterior decorating

Customer reviews

4.9
53 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Highly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship and pride taken in the final outcome. Very pleasing.
C, West Midlands Posted on 09/06/2020 , work completed 19/05/2020
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and Aidan have just painted the outside of our property and we are really pleased. They’ve done a great job, they are efficient, finished on time and really nice people. We will definitely use them again!
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 05/06/2020 , work completed 03/06/2020
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Which Trusted Traders to select Read Decorators to carry out full external paint work including minor repairs to door frames and plaster work. We were not disappointed in this choice. Read Decorators lived up to the reputation that Trusted Traders expects. The work was done to a very high standard; the finish is excellent and the repairs were well done. The residues were removed and everything was left in a tidy state. Importantly, the final invoice matched the (much) earlier estimate exactly. As a result of this work we now intend to commission Read Decorators for the larger internal decoration that is probably overdue. No hesitation at all in recommending Mr Read. Top marks.
John, West Midlands Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 23/04/2020
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team provided a realistic quote, arrived on time and carried out the work efficiently and carefully. They did a great job of our kitchen and dining room and we are delighted with the result. Would definitely recommend.
Deborah, West Midlands Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 06/01/2020
Another Great Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Rob and his team for over 12 years during which time they have painted both the exterior and interior of my house. Each time the work has been carried out to the highest standard, completed on time and at a fair price. I have recommended his services to several friends who have also been very pleased with his work.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 15/05/2020 , work completed 12/05/2020
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Robert Read and his team of men completed the external decorations to my house. His work was of the highest standards was within the price quoted, and was completed on time. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this contractor. An excellent job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/06/2019 , work completed 01/06/2019
Reliable and excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob has done work for us over 15 years. Always an excellent job. So reliable, lovely to have around the house and very trustworthy. Would highly recommend him.
Michele, Warwickshire Posted on 04/05/2019 , work completed 04/05/2019
Great, professional and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team were great. We had a new loft conversion, two existing bedrooms, and the hallway and stairs from top to bottom painted in just 4 days of solid work. From initial first visit to quote, through to completion of the job, Rob and his team delivered what they said they would do, on time, and to an excellent standard. Unlike other traders that we have used, it felt like Rob and his team delivered a service that they would expect in their own homes - really strong attention to detail, clean, and courteous. I will definitely use Rob for other rooms in my house now!
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 10/12/2018 , work completed 07/12/2018
Reliable and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with service, this is the third time we have used this trader. Reliable, thorough job.
Christine, West Midlands Posted on 29/11/2018 , work completed 29/11/2018
Quality Decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team painted the whole exterior of my Mother's five bedroom house. There were a team of four and the works were completed in a week and a half. I can not thank them enough.... professional & hardworking, leaving no mess. I would have no hesitation in recommending them and I know we will use them again in the future. Regards Ian Rawlings
Ian Rawlings Posted on 20/09/2018 , work completed 20/09/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Perfect, accurate timing & a beautiful job.
Tim, West Midlands Posted on 20/07/2018 , work completed 20/07/2018
Reliable and professional team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team painted the whole of the exterior and interior of our house over three weeks. The quality of their preparation work, papering and painting work was very high. They were friendly, arrived on time every day and cleaned up the house before they left. We felt confident leaving them to work in the house on their own while we were at work. The final invoice was in line with what Rob had estimated for the job. Highly recommend them.
Tallmarc Posted on 04/06/2018 , work completed 04/06/2018
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional service from initial enquiry to completion. Work of a high standard and finished result exceeded my expectations.
C, West Midlands Posted on 25/04/2018 , work completed 25/04/2018
Highly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob was recommended to me by my mother who had used for years. This is the second occasion we have used him and his team, as previously they have completed a first class job, being friendly, professional and efficient. Just leave them to get on with the job, no problem with going out, full trust in them, they keep things tidy, whilst working very hard
Barry Clayton Posted on 25/02/2018 , work completed 25/02/2018
Decoration hall and stairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Robert Read decorators on many occasions over the last 10 years. Robert is reliable totally honest (and left to work alone) and his workmanship is of the highest standards. Robert is highly recommended.
David, West Midlands Posted on 20/02/2018 , work completed 20/02/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have had kitchen & lounge completely redecorated and I am so happy with the end result. I would definitely recommend R Read Decorators. They are clean, professional & do a fantastic job.
Diane, West Midlands Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
Efficient and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, professional team. Not a bother to have in house. Accommodating and helpful. Bob made good suggestions, very trustworthy. Team worked hard and carried out a decent job. Very pleased.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
High quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very high quality and hardworking team. Complete flat prepared and painted quickly and well. I'm unlikely to use Rob again, the quality of the work will probably outlast me. Thank you.
C G, West Midlands Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
Hire this man!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob Reid and his team painted the outside of our three storey Victorian house. It has never looked so good. Words like efficient, professional, friendly and superb quality don't even begin to tell the whole story. Will definitely recommend to all my friends and will definitely use again.
Amanda, West Midlands Posted on 25/10/2017 , work completed 25/10/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 3rd time we have used R Read Decorators. They always prepare the walls fill all holes/cracks before painting. They are very professional and for me an important thing is that they are prompt and trustworthy. The finish is always excellent.
Christine, West Midlands Posted on 02/08/2017 , work completed 02/08/2017
Well organised and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A well organised and professional team of decorators. Each man knew his job and did it well. They worked around the weather conditions well. I can honestly recommend them.
Michael, West Midlands Posted on 01/08/2017 , work completed 01/08/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Rob Read Decorators for years. They do a fantastic job every time and very pleasant guys also. Would thoroughly recommend them.
Gill, West Midlands Posted on 10/07/2017 , work completed 10/07/2017
Professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob Read and his team have been decorating our house, inside and out, for over 10 years. They are professional, reliable and skilled craftsmen who take pride in doing first rate work.
Bryan, West Midlands Posted on 12/06/2017 , work completed 12/06/2017
Perfection
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his colleagues were punctual, extremely reliable, pleasant at all times and completed both the outdoor and indoor decorating to a very high standard. Rob paid particular attention to detail, making sure preparation work was done to a very high standard. Definitely a good trader.
Pauline, West Midlands Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All of the work was carried out to a very high standard, with excellent attention to detail. Friendly and accommodating.
Diane, West Midlands Posted on 04/05/2017 , work completed 04/05/2017
Helpful and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his crew completely repainted our flat. He was helpful and responded quickly to questions and we felt confident leaving him during the day to get on with the job. Helpful with moving furniture and did a good professional job
plob500 Posted on 09/04/2017 , work completed 09/04/2017
Strongly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had very good service from this firm. Excellent results were achieved by the decorator who turned up on time everyday and worked quietly and efficiently.
John, West Midlands Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
Very pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob & his team are very pleasant & polite. They are punctual & reliable. The workmanship is excellent. Recommended without hesitation.
Barrie, West Midlands Posted on 29/03/2017 , work completed 29/03/2017
First Class Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The 2 lads that came did a first class job of painting 3 room in my house, would use them again. Very tidy and always cleaned up after the days work
Roger Phipps Posted on 13/12/2016 , work completed 13/12/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A brilliant job, quality is assured when you have Robert and his team carrying out the work. They are superb. Trustworthy and professional. Highly recommended wouldn't ever use anyone else.
Sandra, West Midlands Posted on 10/12/2016 , work completed 10/12/2016
Professional, polite, great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional. The team worked well and always courteous. Extremely pleased with the end result. Would certainly recommend.
Happy Customer Posted on 21/11/2016 , work completed 21/11/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient and thorough. Careful preparation & attention to detail e.g. removing door handles before painting. Rooms left clean & tidy ready for furniture to be brought back into room. Will definitely use again & will recommend to friends/neighbours.
G, West Midlands Posted on 31/10/2016 , work completed 31/10/2016
Perfect job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Rob Read and both times we have been very impressed. The work is to an exceptionally high standard. For us it works well, as they arranged a convenient time, and I was happy to leave them to work whilst I went out to work. Excellent service, would thoroughly recommend.
Robert, West Midlands Posted on 10/10/2016 , work completed 10/10/2016
Attention to detail is brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't recommend Rob and his team highly enough. This is the second time I've used his services and the attention to detail is excellent, the preparation is first class and the finish second to none. His team is made up of very talented people who are a pleasure to have around. I'd recommend you give him a try.
Happy Customer Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Professional / 5 star quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
R Read Decorators have transformed the outside of our Edwardian property with their detailed prep work, skilled workmanship and attention to detail. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Impressive job. Solid professionalism.
Jo, West Midlands Posted on 05/09/2016 , work completed 05/09/2016
High quality professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Robert Read and his team repainted the exterior of our house to a very high standard. We are delighted with their work. They rectified any faults and kept us well informed during the progress of the work. They were also very careful in clearing up after each day's work. On a personal level, Rob and his team were pleasant and positive individual.
John, West Midlands Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Quality decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team decorated the outside of our house. As always, they prepped the surfaces properly and had a good quality finish. Would highly recommend.
J, West Midlands Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All round good work. Recommend.
Harborne Posted on 17/06/2016 , work completed 17/06/2016
Job worth recommending
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job. Clean and tidy workmen. Finished job and does not go off site. Fair pricing.
Anne, West Midlands Posted on 20/02/2016 , work completed 20/02/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish an excellent job.
Sarah, West Midlands Posted on 25/01/2016 , work completed 25/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Rob and his team on two occasions now. I have found them to be reliable, prompt, clean, trustworthy and very reasonable in price. Rob and his team have painted and wallpapered pretty much all of the rooms in my house now. I have never had a problem with their work, in fact they always go above and beyond to make sure I'm happy with the end results. I would definitely use them again and would recommend them without a doubt. Great work guy's.
Emamoke Posted on 04/01/2016 , work completed 04/01/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team carried out work on my property (both exterior and interior) on several occasions last year. Rob works to a high standard, pays attention to detail and takes great pride in what he does. Rob is very happy to give advice and draws on many years of experience. Rob and his team are punctual, polite and helpful. They always leave the area tidy before they leave. I would definitely employ them again.
Jill, West Midlands Posted on 10/12/2015 , work completed 10/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team have just painted my sitting and dinning rooms. They stripped, and, when necessary, plastered and filled holes in the walls and skirting boards before lining and painting. The result was excellent. They worked hard and very effectively as a team. They were very friendly, gave good advice and were very tidy. They even put trial patches of similar coloured paint (from the back of their van) on the walls so that I could make my final choice. I have used them twice in the past and I will definitely use them again. Incidentally the two R Reads on the Which Local website are the same. Rob lives at 53 Field Lane, B32 3JT. His mother lives at the other address. Please delete the latter but not her phone number as she answers calls for him.
owens Posted on 18/11/2015 , work completed 18/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his team have carried out work on my house (both exterior and interior) on several occasions this year. He works to the highest standard and takes great pride in what he does. He is happy to give advice and is able to draw on many years of experience. Rob and his team arrive on time and have worked around other tradesmen on site when this has been necessary. They always leave the area tidy before they leave. They have always been polite and helpful. I would certainly employ them again. No need to have any worries with this company. I agree with the previous reviewer - they thoroughly deserve that 'Which trusted" sign!
Lance33 Posted on 17/11/2015 , work completed 17/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Rob and his team to decorate a bedroom, the bathroom and the kitchen after reading several reviews on Which Local. This included walls, woodwork and radiators. They stripped and prepped all the walls before lining and painting. It took them just 4 1/2 days work, which was very impressive and achieved through working very effectively as a team. All the team were friendly, punctual, neat and tidy. We did not feel at all inconvenienced having them around. We have a professional decorator friend who was unable to do this job, and have also undertaken our own decorating in the house - so are clear on what we expect in terms of standards. Rob and his team did a superb job throughout, and we are thrilled with the results. He also fitted us in quickly at our request. We have no hesitation in recommending Rob.
louisedickson19 Posted on 29/05/2011 , work completed 29/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used them twice. From the quotes they were not only the cheapest but also the most thorough. Very professional finish and take their time. I am planning to use them again.
tdrdhir Posted on 24/05/2011 , work completed 24/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked Rob and his team to paint the lounge, dining room and the hall and stairs. They were punctual and efficient and all painting was completed to a high standard, as was some awkward wood staining on the stairs and bannisters and the replacing of a damaged skirting board. They are all pleasant and trustworthy and work in a tidy manner; I had no problem leaving them in the house. I was very satisfied with the price and am very pleased with the results. I will have no problem employing them again and will recommend them to friends.
igdavidson Posted on 12/04/2011 , work completed 12/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rob and his men papered and painted our hall, stairs & landing. Rob gave good advice before the job. They did a good job in just 4 days, by having 3 people working some days. They were all very pleasant, and worked in a tidy way. They gave good value for money & I recommend them.
phil viney Posted on 19/11/2010 , work completed 19/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed Rob and his team to paint the outside of my victorian semi. I was very impressed from the start by the thoroughness of their preparation before painting. Rotten areas of wood were replaced with great skill by Rob and his advice was most helpful. I was happy to leave them alone in the house. I am delighted with the final product and shall definitely use them again - as will my neighbours!
ChristineReid Posted on 03/06/2009 , work completed 03/06/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used them several times both inside and out, and found them very good. They are nice people, their work is excellent, they clean up after themselves very thoroughly, and I had no qualms about leaving them in the house.
bob01 Posted on 12/02/2009 , work completed 12/02/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked Rob to paint the exterior of my house, walls and woodwork and the price was reasonable for the work undertaken. He and his team of two were very friendly, arrived promptly each day and completed the job to a high standard. The job included stripping old paint and sanding down on exterior doors and woodwork around bay windows, including crenellations, and the bargeboards and gable. A window ledge that was discovered to be in a poor condition was completely repaired and restored. Prior to the work being carried out Rob kept us informed about when the scaffolding would be erected and the start date. Overall I am very pleased with the finished result.
warwick Posted on 01/10/2008 , work completed 01/10/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reasonable prices and very good quality of decorating. Always pleasant and trustworthy. Fitted in at times that suited us and always available on the phone. We had Rob recommended by a friend and have used the company on several occasions, we are always pleased with the work.
skone Posted on 11/05/2008 , work completed 11/05/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work undertaken to a very high standard. Pleasant small team who, we felt, were totally trustworthy (e.g. when we were out). We have used them for decorating both inside and out, as have friends on our recommendation.
Philippa Russell Posted on 03/11/2007 , work completed 03/11/2007