We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

R Tredget & Son

Profile thumb r tredget   son cover photo
4.6

18 Reviews

About

We are a family run business, we take on a variety of jobs such as bathrooms kitchens complete refurbishment extensions and also painting and decorating. All our Quotes are free and we will give the best possible advise.

Where we cannot resolve any complaints using our own complaints procedure, as a which?trusted trader we use Dispute Resolution Ombudsman for dispute resolution in the unlikely event of complaint arising and you wish to refer the complaint to them please contact Which? trusted traders in the instance on 01179812929

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Plastering
    • Building services
    • Conservatories
    • Garage conversions
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • More Services

    • plasterers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.6
18 reviews
Customer Service
4.6
Quality
4.6
Value
4.6
Sort by
Bathroom
Richard was reliable professional and totally honest with his opinion of the work that needed doing. He was only too willing to assist and try to put right the problems that I have been experiencing from a previous tradesman. I felt that I could trust and rely on his judgement.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/08/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
Orangery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have had Richard and his team do work for me and he will be renewing my bathroom as well soon. This firm are great they are friendly and tidy and do a good job even though we had some delays with orangery through no fault of them all due to the virus but at the end of the day I have a lovely new room to enjoy thank you Richard and team👍
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 11/11/2020
Bathroom gut and refit: Second Contract with Richard - Just as good as the first. One in a million find. Great after care.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is my second time using Richard. The first time was rebuilding my kitchen/conservatory. The job itself was to gut out a bodged bathroom job and re-do it. New tiles, new flooring, under-floor heating and shower enclosure. The same standard carried out throughout this job, as expected. Cleanliness is outstanding - at the end of the day, the site is left cleaner than the rest of my house! Doesn't look like a building site at all. The quoted price was the cheapest of 3 quotes (and even cheaper than the family friend who originally did it "on the cheap" for me and bodged it). Now it's a room that people compliment me on whenever they come and visit, just like the first job he did. The aftercare is amazing too - complete trust in Richard to fix any underlaying issues that may arise (a few touch up jobs here and there). Always picks up the phone and comes to visit if anything is wrong. I was AGAIN a difficult customer but Richard handled this without fuss. He treats me with respect and care. Would recommend completely and am also going to get Rich back to do my garden next year (hopefully).
Customer in Kent Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 02/07/2020
The trader replied (on 15/12/2020)
Hello Jamie Thank you for your great feedback, glad you were happy with the works. Always a pleasure working for you! We are only a phone call away should you ever need us.
Beautiful, watertight and safe, conservatory.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my conservatory roof began leaking at the start of lockdown and the “builder”, who had replaced the roof just 3 years ago could not be reached, I asked Richard Tredget, who has carried out work for us in the past, for his advice and a quotation, which I accepted. Richard made the work a priority, whilst at all times keeping me safe at this difficult time. The whole roof had to be removed (revealing the poor - and dangerous - construction), the flank walls built up in blockwork and a steel beam installed before a new roof could be constructed and made watertight. I now have a conservatory/orangery which is beautiful both inside and out, watertight and, with blockwork walls, cooler in the summer and hopefully warmer in the winter. Some extra work was included as the job progressed, such as outside lights (which I hope to use on warm evenings and which add to my security), external sockets, a new floor etc. Richard, Adam and Jamie have been great. I only wish we had used them for the original replacement roof!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/07/2020 , work completed 28/07/2020
Orangery and Kitchen rebuild. Amazing attitude to work - fast, trust worthy, helpful, great communication and CLEAN!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having already been through a few difficult builders in my short (<1year) time home owning, finding Richard was a relief. I called Rich up and got him in to quote on rebuilding my conservatory and knocking down the wall to the kitchen. The confidence in his ability to get the work done was there from the first meeting. He knew exactly how to do everything that needed to be done, even spotted things that I would never have noticed that would be good to get done. He gave the quote at a cheaper price than competitors so I took him on. His team are quick, hard and VERY CLEAN workers. He knocked my conservatory down in a day! Everything is packed up and left neat at the end of the day. His communication was quick. Any issues that arose on the job, I got a call straight away explaining everything, reassuring me he will not let them be blockers. We came in to a few of these potential blockers (kitchen needed rewiring, whole ceiling needed to be re-plastered, waste pipes needed replacing), along with me being difficult as a first time owner (adding jobs, being indecisive), and where other builders would lose faith, get annoyed, try and get out of the job, Rich carried on. He even gave advice on how to handle another builder's terrible job who I have to take to court! I am getting Rich back to rectify this work. And will get him back for any future works needed. In the end, I am left with an open plan Kitchen and Orangery space that everyone who sees it is jealous of.
Customer in Kent Posted on 08/01/2020 , work completed 20/12/2019
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard Tredget and his team did a brilliant job on my kitchen. They were all polite and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They cleared up each day and took all rubbish away. I would recommend them 100% to anyone in need of builders.
Betty, Kent Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 11/07/2019
Let us down badly and didn't communicate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very disappointed by the service we received from Tredget and Son. They let us down twice on the arranged start date. This caused us considerable inconvenience in terms of rearranging related work and deliveries. On the second occasion they didn’t show up on the agreed date and gave us no notice. We had taken delivery of some large items and packed away the contents of the kitchen in preparation for works. And taken time off work to wait for them to start the job. We still have space in our dining room taken up with materials and appliances while we arrange new contractors. We were told that their cancellations were because Richard Darren had injured his leg and could not work; but we believe he may have been working on other jobs - particularly on the second occasion (confirmed by the Howdens branch used by Tredget). Whether or not Richard was injured, the company failed at communicating with us. They did return our deposit in full.
Frances Gant Posted on 31/07/2017 , work completed 31/07/2017
Would highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard and his team came to sort out retaining walls that had been bodged by previous builders. They promised to take care of it all for us and they certainly did. They delivered the work to time and to their quote, checking along the way that we were happy with the work they had done. We felt listened to and that we could trust them with the work in hand and in our house while we were away. They were also considerate with our children and pets! Would highly recommend and would not hesitate to get them back for any future work.
Anna Trethewey Posted on 21/03/2017 , work completed 21/03/2017
Kitchen extension - excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Many thanks to R Tredget & Son for completing my kitchen extension on time, to plan, and on budget. I didn't have a recommended builder from friends or family so took the plunge and googled local contractors. 3 or 4 came by before Richard and Adam visited and immediately put my mind at rest. They listened to what I wanted, suggested a couple of useful changes, and quoted a very reasonable price. They are very nice guys who genuinely seem focused on ensuring the customer is happy. I'm incredibly fussy and changed my mind on a couple of items mid job, but they took this in their stride. Their work is of a high standard, they keep the place spotless at the end of each day, and were more than happy to take my evening calls to discuss progress. I also really appreciated their help and experience in ensuring my plans would pass building control. A pleasure to deal with. I wouldn't hesitate to use them again. Thoroughly recommended.
DavidM Posted on 05/02/2017 , work completed 05/02/2017
Not great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Tredgets did work in our flat 6 months ago. There were highs & lows to the job. Positives: Richard & Adam are very friendly and they did more work than originally agreed without charging extra such as installing a new bathroom tap, attempting to sort out our old sash windows, and carrying up and installing our range cooker. Negatives: they weren’t able to complete all of the work agreed such as sanding the wood floors. This has meant we have to get other tradesmen in to finish the job at additional expense. The biggest problems were overrun and poor finishing quality. The job didn’t finish until August when we agreed mid-May; a massive inconvenience because we had to move in during that time & pay 100s in extra parking costs for their vehicles. Finish: it was obviously not great but seemed ok enough at the time, but since then more problems have surfaced. Cracks in the wall filled more than once have reappeared; plaster is bubbling up & flaking off. The paint job in some of the rooms is poor and the coving joints are awful. The new doors were all hung upside down and doorknobs were installed incorrectly. The grout in the kitchen turned to powder and I had to redo it myself - and did a much better job having never grouted in my life! The promise of a deep clean after the job finished never happened. Some of the delays were understandable but the sloppy finish was very disappointing. On the whole, the quality of the work is adequate for a rental property but not for a home.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/01/2017 , work completed 08/01/2017
Professional, Efficient and Prompt.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of the few builders to return my call and turned up in a timely manner to provide a reasonable quote. Would not hesitate to use again.
Nigel , Dartford Posted on 15/11/2016 , work completed 15/11/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We now have a fabulous extension due to Richard and Adam who worked tirelessly even with the confusing instructions. We now have a great space that we will enjoy for years to come.
Sylvie & Eamonn, Beckenham Posted on 23/10/2016 , work completed 23/10/2016
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A few months ago, in early 2016, my wife and I decided that we needed a new kitchen installed in our house in London, SE9. We also needed to open a doorway between the inside of our house and our garage which forms part of the structure of the house. We have had several previous bad experiences with builders in London so decided to consult the list of Which? Trusted Traders. We came across R. Tredget & Son and asked them (amongst other similar companies) to quote for the work we needed doing. Mr. Richard Tredget (accompanied by his son, Adam) visted our house to discuss our needs and came up with a scheme and costings. We found the quote very reasonable when compared with other quotes we had received and we also found Mr. Richard Tredget's attitude extremely professional and we particularly liked the way he made some sensible suggestions about the project. We finally appointed Tredget and Son to do the work which was completed on schedule and within our estimated budget. We now have a fabulous kitchen and have easy access to our garage from within the house. Richard and his team were tidy and courteous throughout the project and we are very grateful to them. We have no qualms in recommending Tredget & Son to others who need such a company. Others on our street have already contacted them to get work done.
Jebb, Kent Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard did an excellent job in refurbishing the bathroom, which was in something of a mess due to the previous poor workmanship. He did a thorough job, meeting all our specifications and going the extra mile in correcting some of the previous mistakes with minimal additional cost. He kept us abreast of all developments, making sensible recommendations when appropriate but always able to adjust to our requirements overall. He also ensured the minimum of inconvenience during the refurb. The bathroom now looks like something you would expect to find in a classy hotel. I would have no hesitation in using him again or recommending him to anyone else.
Robert, Kent Posted on 18/07/2016 , work completed 18/07/2016
Making good a cowboys work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rolls Royce Shower now installed. Totally professional service. Kept informed throughout and despite horrendous finding kept to quote and made good where necessary. Cleared up everyday, and stuck to timeline. Would recommend without hesitation and would use again!
Catherine Posted on 11/02/2016 , work completed 11/02/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard seems like the exception for builders in the area - nice guy, always very responsive, sends texts to keep us updated but most importantly his work is great value. Even after discovering a small complication in his latest job for us, he stuck to his original quote. We have no hesitation in recommending Richard's work.
Chris B Posted on 14/01/2016 , work completed 14/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wished to install a downstairs WC, but had very limited space. From the moment we met Richard Tredget, he impressed us with his enthusiasm and vision, combined with a practical approach. The finished work exceeded our expectations. Richard, Adam and Brian are professional, and also pleasant to have around. They have since returned and transformed our garden with paved area and pergola. The work is excellent and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them.
Eunette Posted on 29/09/2015 , work completed 29/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
test
W?Arnie Posted on 28/09/2015 , work completed 28/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Tredget has done a lot of work for me. He is reliable and an excellent crftsman. I would reccomend him to anyone.
Patricia Bellingham Posted on 22/03/2013 , work completed 22/03/2013