We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

S C Campbell's Decorating Services

Profile thumb fullsizerender
5.0

114 Reviews

About

I have over 30 years of experience across a wide range of projects. I am based in Loughton, Essex, and much of my work is from regular clients, word of mouth and Which Local recommendations. Over the years, many projects have taken me further afield, including London, Suffolk, and Berkshire.

My key areas of expertise are painting and decorating, including wallpapering.

I enjoy the process of discussing and agreeing the best products and finishes to use, in order to achieve results that my clients will be delighted with.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
114 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
A Very Professional Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did an excellent job decorating the main bedroom, after stripping the walls ,which was quite a job, he lined the walls and painted them plus the woodwork . He worked through on the hottest day of the year which was no mean feat. Steve is very easy to deal with and very helpful and professional and is coming back for further work in the near future. We would recommend Steve without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 26/07/2019
quality work, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve came over with his co-worker to refinish some external wooden window frames and doors. We were very pleased with the work, the wood was stripped back to bare state as agreed (quite a job for one of the doors which had layers of old varnish and wood stain), prepared, and finished with a base wood stain, and two-three layers of durable wood varnish over the next couple of days. The result is a great high quality finish, which reflects the care put into the work. The working area was also tidied each day. Steve and partner were friendly and put my elderly mother at ease as well, which was much appreciated. Definitely recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/07/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
Strongly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Steve's services several years ago - large exterior wall. Commissioned him this year to paint new long external fencing (back garden); new shed: front fencing (small front garden); front door. Good preparation on one day in the week before meant the work was done efficiently within a week. He was also helpful in giving advice on paints to use. Site was left tidy and clean Was very satisfied and have commissioned him further to undertake the decoration of my study.
Customer in Essex Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 24/05/2019
Repainting Kitchen Cabinets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Steve to repaint our handmade kitchen cabinets. They hadn't been painted for some time as we were worried about the quality of finish that could be achieved by hand. Despite being very busy, Steve managed to quote promptly for the work and we were struck by his knowledge and professional approach. He set a date with us to carry out the work and completed the work on time and on budget. The results are fantastic! He took such care with every detail of the job and the finish is perfect and not a brush mark in site. He was also very tidy and respectful of our home. In addition to his skill as a painter, Steve is a lovely person and we would not hesitate to have him in our home again.
Julia, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve re-painted the walls and woodwork in my loft room. This work was completed within agreed timescales and at the price quoted in the estimate. I was impressed by the high standard of Steve's work and his attention to detail. His preparation was thorough and the work was undertaken with care and in a very logical order, leading to a great finish. Steve applied a number of coats to all surfaces, in some cases doing more than had been agreed to get the right result; he also took a pragmatic approach to help resolve an unforeseen issue with a leaking window frame. Steve is clearly someone you can trust to be in your home and I had no hesitation in leaving him to get on with this job at times when I was out. Steve probably isn't the cheapest decorator you will find, but if you are looking for someone who you can completely trust to do a very professional job and, overall, who offers good value, you have no need to look any further.
Customer in Essex Posted on 14/06/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
Miracle Worker!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a wonderful job in rescuing my bathroom from an attack of black mould and brightening up my dismal peeling kitchen! He treated and painted both rooms beautifully and has really made both bathroom and kitchen look bright and inviting. The transformation is a miracle! Delighted with the results.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/06/2019 , work completed 09/06/2019
Strongly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our bedroom was a real challenge for decorating. Not only wonky walls, as is typical in many Victorian houses, but with a repaired damp patch under a window and around the chimney, and a burn from a fire in the roof! Steve was quick and efficient at waving his magic paintbrush, and the room looks lovely. We enjoyed his company while he was here. We will be using his services again and we do recommend him.
Customer in Essex Posted on 15/05/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Highly recommended. Great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Steve and Vic in our home for around 2 weeks and what a wonderful job they did, I had my hallway, 2 landings, dinning room and lounge painted and all my old woodwork including all skirting boards and 2 sets of french doors also 2 staircases transformed from oak to lovely white gloss. They work tirelessly and are extremely friendly and having them in our home for 2 weeks was fine you hardly notice they are there and clean up well after working also making sure all my furniture was covered well to protect it. I was more than happy with the cost as well considering the amount of work I had done so on this note I would recommend them to anyone I know and shall be calling them again when I next need any work to be carried out.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/05/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
Fantastic job, very nice guys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend Steve & Vic. Great work, very tidy and personable.
Jo, Essex Posted on 16/04/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Could not recommend him more highly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve on Trusted Traders and he has just finished carrying out considerable redecoration both inside and outside our house, and we would not consider anyone else if we needed similar work carried out in the future. We found both Steve and his assistant, Vic, utterly reliable, professional and trustworthy. They did a really superb job, making sure the painting was completed to a very high standard, while causing hardly any disruption. They kept the areas they were working in incredibly neat and tidy. Both of them are also thoroughly pleasant and friendly people, and we enjoyed their company while they were completing the job.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019