Endorsed by Which?

S & M Plumbing & Heating

4.9

100 Reviews

About

PLUMBING
Got problems with your plumbing or drainage? S & M Plumbing & Heating can help resolve all your issues with our expert plumbing service in Manchester.

BATHROOMS
Transform your bathing with our bathroom design and installation services. Visit our showroom and our plumbers can create the perfect bathroom for you.

HEATING
We can carry out a wide range of heating installations, repairs and servicing. Are work is approved, you can find more information on this by visiting our website.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Boiler repair
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas cooker repair
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Underfloor heating
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen showroom
    • Granite Worktops
    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen tiling
    • Kitchen worktops
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Automated Heating
  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • water main installation and repair

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
100 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Great work and excellent plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work carried out. John was friendly, helpful, efficient and a very tidy worker I’d give him top marks!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/06/2023 , work completed 22/06/2023
Friendly and efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S&M put a new walk-in shower for us a few years ago, and we were happy with the work, so they were our go-to people when we wanted a new boiler. Mike measured up 9th May, John and Chris put two new radiators and four thermostatic valves on 15th May and a new Worcester boiler yesterday 18th. Cheerful and hard workers, all rubbish removed and everywhere left tidy. Very pleased with the work done and the price. So helpful and friendly, would certainly recommend. Thanks everyone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/05/2023 , work completed 18/05/2023
Brilliant job thanks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This week I had the pleasure of meeting Mike and John from S&M. I was initially very impressed with the service S&M provided which was reinforced when John arrived to fit a new Worcester Bosch boiler. They were both very polite and professional and listened to me (the customer) to my needs and requirements. The job was carried out exactly as they promised/estimated. John was outstanding he is an excellent, and knowledgeable heating engineer, he arrived on time on both days and was respectful to both us and our property. His attitude to his work was quite refreshing not accepting anything but the best, he did a great job, I couldn't be happier. I certainly hope S&M realise the wonderful asset they have in John, I would certainly recommend them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/04/2023 , work completed 25/04/2023
Brilliant new boiler installation from a friendly team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is an easy review and a rare one-word summary; Brilliant! But of course you need more, so I’ll elaborate. From start to finish S & M were wonderful to work with. Initially Mike came to assess the job and recommended a combi boiler to replace our existing traditional boiler system. We didn’t just want a simple replacement, we wanted the new boiler to be far better than the old one, improving the level of heat that we experience in our extension, as well as the water flow rate to our two showers, things that the old boiler struggled with. After commissioning the job John and Chris came out to do the work, and they were great! They were only with us for three days, and were very friendly, respectful and tidy at all times. They worked very quickly, first installing quite a lot of new pipework (we were moving the boiler downstairs to a new location), setting up the new boiler and then switching us over to the new system. They then removed and disposed of all the old kit, which included a hot water cylinder and header tanks. Our new combi boiler is fantastic. The house has never been warmer, and that includes the extension, and the shower flow rate is so good that you’d think we’d installed two power showers! Mike had obviously sized up the job perfectly. I can heartily recommend S & M and will definitely be back in touch with them again when the need arises. Thank you S & M!
Chris in Greater Manchester Posted on 21/04/2023 , work completed 17/03/2023
The trader replied (on 24/04/2023)
Thanks Chris for your kind words.
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am pleased with the service, from quotation to installation. Every step is clearly explained and well executed. The new boiler was installed by John, who is very friendly and detailed oriented. Thank you S&M Plumbing!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/03/2023 , work completed 29/03/2023
Excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted S&M having used them before, about our broken boiler, Mike attended the very same day and provided us a quote for a new one which we accepted. John came out within the week to install the new boiler and several other components, he was a pleasure to have in our home, very polite and professional! Very efficient service and we wouldn’t go anywhere else! Thank you!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/02/2023 , work completed 31/01/2023
Remove existing Back boiler and fit new boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was carried out by John and Chris from S+M Plumbing. A great pair of professionals who clearly were experts at their individual roles and working together, which they carried out with courtesy and a touch of humour. They like chocolate! The work was complicated as this involved removing a Baxi back boiler and creating new pipework for a new Worcester Bosch boiler installed in a new location. This involved some underfloor work and additionally fitting an Aqualisia combi adapter for the shower unit, which avoided major reworking of my shower area. Work was competed sooner than I expected and all waste including the old boiler removed and fireplace tidied up. A first class project from everyone on the team, John Chris, Mike and Steve. I had several quotes from other companies for this project however unlike the others, Mike spent a considerable amount of time going through the detail including the best location. Follow-up questions were answered promptly. Price was acceptable as was start date a key feature being the contract being allocated on the basis of Mikes's excellent customer service. John and Chris were unknown and did not disappoint The business should be very proud of them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/12/2022 , work completed 07/12/2022
Remove existing boiler and fit new boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work today was carried out by John and Chris from S+M Plumbing and Heating, both extremely polite and friendly fellows. The job was very demanding in that they had to remove an existing Wooster Bosch boiler from a very constricted fitted cupboard in the kitchen which further involved removing sections of cupboard top and base and a section of the underfloor plywood and insulation to fit a new 28mm feed gas pipe running from the gas meter cupboard at the front of the property through the garage internally and then to the rear of the property under floor. They then had to fit the new Wooster Bosch boiler into the same space (a bigger and heavier boiler), pipe up and test the unit. This was to their great effort all completed and I had a fully working boiler and hot water and heating before they left. An excellent job by very professional and knowledgeable tradesmen.
Simon in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/11/2022 , work completed 28/11/2022
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S&M fitted a new boiler for us. Swift, excellent work from the company. John , our boiler fitter, was brilliant from start to finish. He was prompt, tidy and a pleasure to have in the house. The whole fit was fraught with difficulty as we had issues with gas pressure that Cadent failed to sort for 6 weeks. Throughout this John made sure he was able to come back and commission the boiler as soon as possible. S&M plumbing did an excellent job and I would thoroughly recommend them
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/10/2022 , work completed 27/09/2022
Fast call out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great company, really helpful and efficient. Can’t thank them enough. Attended to a leak really quickly. Much appreciated. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/07/2022 , work completed 25/07/2022