Endorsed by Which?

Shear Architectural Design Limited

5.0

14 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:30
  • Thursday 09:00–17:30
  • Friday 09:00–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

AUGUST 2023

About

At Shear Architectural Design, we believe that your home should be a reflection of your personality, style, and vision. That's why we offer a wide range of services to help you transform your house into your dream home. Whether you're looking for a simple renovation, an extension, a loft conversion, or a complete home transformation, our team can help you make it a reality.

Our process begins with a FREE initial consultation, where we'll listen to your needs, preferences, and budget to create a customised plan for your home. We'll work closely with you every step of the way, to ensure that your home is exactly what you want.

So if you're ready to take the first step towards your dream home, contact us today to schedule your FREE initial consultation. We are based in West Sussex, but offer our services to homeowners across Brighton and the surrounding areas. Visit our website to learn more about our services and get started on your home transformation journey!

What we do

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • architectural design
    • architect

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
14 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Build package and full plans calcs and building regs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the plans was always helpful and on call when we needed him or any questions to ask we will continue to use for all our up and coming projects
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 18/05/2024 , work completed 21/03/2024
Redesign of 1930's Bungalow
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darryl helped us redesign our 1930's bungalow to help create a lovely home which now flows perfectly. He also helped us with planning permission and building regulations for a rear and side extension. Darryl was patient with us through our design process, as material costs increased, we had to adapt and think about what could be realistically achieved within budget, which meant a couple of redesigns. All these changes were made very quickly and helpfully. Darryl stayed in contact until our building contractors were in place, who he also recommended and they have been great. We've not quite finished our project and we are hoping to enlist Darryl's help again for the final stage.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 24/10/2023 , work completed 01/10/2023
Very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Darryl with a question looking for advice and an initial discussion. He called in to see us and the bits we were thinking of changing. Gave us some good advice, told us honestly that he was already busy on a few other projects and since ours was simple, we probably could finish off ourselves the drawings we had started. Gave a bit of further advice to help us - all for free. Would be a first stop for any larger works.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 02/08/2023 , work completed 22/02/2023
The trader replied (on 03/08/2023)
We are thrilled to receive your wonderful feedback and to know that you had a positive experience with Darryl. It's indeed our aim to provide honest, valuable advice to our customers, and we are pleased to learn that Darryl was able to assist you in that way. We greatly appreciate your understanding regarding his current commitments, and we're glad to hear his advice allowed you to feel confident in proceeding with your project independently. The key to our business is to empower and support our customers, and Darryl's approach is a perfect example of this. Your commendations motivate us to continue delivering high-quality service, and we are truly thankful for your consideration of us for any future, larger projects. We assure you that we will be more than happy to assist with any further needs, whether it's a simple question or a full-scale project. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out should you need any further assistance.
5 Star Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Shear Architectural because they are a Which? Trusted Trader and we received a 5 star service from beginning to end. Everyone we dealt with at Shear was knowledgeable and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. We would not hesitate to recommend them and now have both planning permission and building regs for our extension in record time.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 25/07/2023 , work completed 20/07/2023
The trader replied (on 26/07/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to share your rewarding experience with us. We're incredibly proud to be a Which? Trusted Trader and hearing your positive feedback truly validates our commitment to maintaining this standard of excellence. We're delighted to know that you appreciated our knowledge, efficiency, and dedication. We're pleased that we could support you in getting your planning permission and building regulations sorted out swiftly. Your willingness to recommend us is a compliment that we don't take lightly. We will continue to strive to provide exceptional service, as that is what our clients like you deserve. Once again, thank you for choosing Shear Architectural. We look forward to having the opportunity to work with you again on any future projects!
Great Work and good Ideas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We received good service from Darryl and co from start to finish and we are very pleased with the advice and drawings provided. There was a difficult challenge along the way, which was resolved effectively and amicably by Darryl. I am not experienced at evaluating the cost of this type of work, so it is difficult for me to rate on value - but the costs were as I had expected.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 28/04/2023 , work completed 28/03/2023
The trader replied (on 02/05/2023)
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such positive feedback about your experience working with Shear Architectural Design. We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with the service you received from start to finish and that the advice and drawings provided were satisfactory. We understand that sometimes challenges arise during the course of a project, and we are glad to hear that Darryl was able to resolve the issue effectively and amicably. We take great pride in delivering excellent customer service and ensuring that our clients are satisfied with every aspect of the work. Regarding the cost of the project, we appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that the costs were in line with your expectations. We always strive to be transparent and fair when it comes to pricing, and we are glad that you felt this was the case. Thank you again for choosing our services, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further needs or questions in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to work with you again.
Plans and building regs for hip to gable loft conversion and new build
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daryl was great and give us plenty of ideas always very helpful and his team will be using again for certain for sure with his good knowledge. Fantastic work and plans we are so happy, also he recommended a fantastic builder as well which was great.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 15/04/2023 , work completed 15/04/2023
The trader replied (on 02/05/2023)
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience working with him and that his ideas and suggestions were helpful to you. It is always our goal to provide our clients with the best possible service and expertise, and we are delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to work with you again in the future. If you have any further needs or questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.
Excellent knowledge, support and expertise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darryl picked up my commercial development project after two other architects had started work and then let me down. He stepped in quickly, and has given the project all the support and expertise required to bring it to a successful conclusion. Liaising with fire safety, structural engineers, building control and the developer, his input has been invaluable. Highly recommended!
Commercial customer in West Sussex Posted on 16/02/2023 , work completed 01/02/2023
The trader replied (on 17/02/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled you have had a positive experience with us, regarding your commercial development project. We are glad we could provide the necessary expertise and support to bring your project to a successful conclusion. It is fantastic to hear that you highly recommend Darryl, and we hope you'll consider working with Shear Architectural again for any future projects!
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darryl has been enormously helpful and a real pleasure to work with. He produced fantastic plans for our conservatory and was really good at keeping in touch throughout. Excellent service from start to finish. We can't recommend him and his company highly enough.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 19/11/2022 , work completed 18/11/2022
The trader replied (on 02/02/2023)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback! We're so glad to hear that you were pleased with the service!
Arcitects plans for 2 storey extension and loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with Daryl from the start always on hand for us for questions and helped through all processes and building regs we will be using again for sure for future projects.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 06/11/2022 , work completed 01/11/2022
Small extension to 1930s bungalow
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darryl and Shear has been great to work with. He really took his time to understand what we were looking for with the addition of space to our 1930's bungalow. Drawings and modifications were turned around very quickly and we found hime very responsive to all questions.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 09/09/2022 , work completed 09/09/2022
Property extension and improvement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an outline plan in our minds of how we wanted to maximise expanding our house whilst maintaining its cottage feel. Darryl personally visited us and showed us how we could substantially increase volume upstairs to add 3 bedrooms and an ensuite within the footprint, under permitted development. Darryl arranged for his surveyor to call around followed by an engineer and all went to the timescales we were given. Although the local Planning department imposed untenable restrictions, Darryl used his initiative and contacts to reason with the case manager and swiftly agreed to submit full planning. Once again, planning let us down but Darryl immediately got into this and achieved the desired result we needed. It was comforting to deal with a proactive professional who understands how planning officers think and work. So not only were we given a fixed price and a step by step plan of action but when there were frustrating problems with the local authority, Darryl’s experience and abilities to deal and solve planning problems came to light. We have another project in mind and we will definitely be using Shear Architectural Design Ltd for this.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 23/04/2022 , work completed 21/04/2022
Large-scale residential renovation and change of use in Hove
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darryl has an excellent sense of design and can easily translate ideas into technical drawings, and incorporate structural and electrical elements into his design. He is easy going, with a calm and relaxed demeanour, and a focused mind which sees tasks completed on time. He can quickly adapt his designs and workload, and does so competently without any stress or pressure. He approaches the challenges of his work with an unfazed attitude, and is good with communicating his ideas, thoughts and plans. A great guy who gets the job done to a high standard!
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 18/02/2022 , work completed 18/02/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extension and loft conversion
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/12/2021 , work completed 10/11/2021
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Architectural Drawings completed for an extension to our property.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/12/2021 , work completed 30/09/2021