We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Shepherd Roofing Ltd

Profile thumb shepard logo
5.0

38 Reviews

About

At Shepherd Roofing and Slating, we provide almost every roofing service available, and we are passionate about what we do. From small roof repairs through refurbishments, to new roof construction, we have the experience, accreditation, and skill to complete the job to a high standard every time.

With us, you can be sure of receiving expert services from tradesmen dedicated to achieving the highest standards of workmanship. We have experience working with almost every type of roofing material available, and so we’re confident that if you have a roofing or slating need – we can provide a professional solution.

As a sign of our uncompromising approach to quality, we are a members of the Guild of Master Craftsmen. All our tradesmen are SVQ qualified ensuring they provide an excellent service every time.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Flat roofing
    • Chimneys
    • Lead work
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
  • More Services

    • slating
    • fibreglass
    • shed roof
    • leaking roof

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
38 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Quality work done on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shepherd Roofing replaced a broken slate on my roof, they came promptly even though they were busy and did a quality job, cleaning up afterwards. Their charges are fair.
Bill in Fife Posted on 18/10/2021 , work completed 18/10/2021
Professional and Prompt responses
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is one of the best tradesman we have engaged with so far. Martin was very prompt to response via email. He gave a quote to fix our roof (minor repairs) after I provided a picture. It was all fixed on the next day. The workman arrive 10mins before schedule, fixed the roof and cleaned up. The invoice was as quoted. No extras and no drama. I highly recommend using this company for your roofing repairs! Top-Notch!
Cari in Edinburgh Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 30/03/2021
New roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shepherd Roofing fixed a problem with my roof a year ago. Other problems developed and I decided that my 50 year old roof was needing replaced. Craig gave me a quote for the work and what I was quoted was what I paid. No hidden extras. I was kept updated about when scaffolding would go up, tiles to be delivered etc. Craig and the lads were respectful, hardworking and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend them to family and friends. My new roof looks great. Many thanks lads.
Customer in Fife Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 25/01/2021
New roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job by people who take a pride in their work. Kept me involved at every stage. Work was done within agreed Schedule and cost. Considerate of myself and my neighbours. My new roof looks great. Highly recommended.
Customer in Fife Posted on 09/06/2020 , work completed 18/05/2020
A great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recommend Shepherd Roofing. Am very glad that I chose them. Old tiles were stripped off and then replaced with new ones over a breathable membrane. New guttering and PVC soffits. The old wooden facia on dormer window was replaced with a PVC one plus its flat roof was renewed. I hadn’t intended replacing my 3 Velux windows but removal of tiles showed the biggest one needed this so did all three. Sourcing new windows of the correct size held things up a bit...as did the weather! Everything, however, got done in the end. Martin, Sandy and James are a great team. Any questions or concerns which I had were immediately addressed. The scaffolding was removed immediately. Great! Very happy. Thank you.
Customer in Fife Posted on 05/11/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
Very professional
Having to get my roof replaced is a big job so finding Shepherds roofing who were recommended by my brother. The whole team of roofers and scaffolders were very professional and helpful. Martin gave his advise on rendering what the options were. They all worked so hard and are very professional.I take my hat off to a marvellous company. I am so pleased with everything and would highly recommend this firm to others Thank you again for a superb professional job.
Amanda in Fife Posted on 29/10/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Quick efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found leak in roof, phoned Shepherds who came very quickly & supplied advice & quote. The job was completed in a timescale which prevented further internal damage. Also the team explained every step of the process and left everything in perfect order with no mess. Very impressed, would definitely recommend.
Martin Posted on 27/10/2019 , work completed 17/10/2019
Replacement roof tiles
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shepherd Roofing stripped existing tiles and boards and replaced with new ones on a bungalow. Replaced gutters and downpipes. Fitted PVC soffits. Flat roof extension and garage roof overlay. Also Slate roof replacement at a previous property with dormer roof. Very professional from start to finish with friendly informative updates from Martin as to timeline of work. Sandy does a great job of making sure everything is done correctly and professionally. Very pleased with result of a tidy watertight roof with guarantee. Reasonably priced. Highly Recommended roofers.
Customer in Fife Posted on 08/05/2019 , work completed 17/04/2019
Chimney removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an issue with water leaking into the attic area. i phoned Martin at Shepherd roofing and he attended and identified that the dummy chimney was allowing water in and advised that removal would be the best long term option. Martin and Sandy attended and carried out a very high standard of work. They are both very professional and knowledgeable and I can't recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Fife Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
Industrual spray booth chimney installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish, we were kept well informed through the work scope, great advice on working with corrugated sheets and leak prevention. All materials supplied were of The highest standard resulting in a flawless leak free end result, I couldn’t recommend shepherd roofing and slating more 5 star company five star rating.
Customer in Fife Posted on 11/03/2019 , work completed 09/01/2019
Good work, well communicated and work executed excellently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recently had PVC soffits fitted all around the house and new verges also and am completely satisfied with the standard of work. Martin communicated excellently both prior to work commencing and during the work, always advising what the day held, draw any issues to our attention or just seeking to advise why they were doing things a certain way and were very understanding when emergent work appeared. Would definitely recommend these guys for any roofing works.
Customer in Fife Posted on 18/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
Excellent!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Shepherd Roofing do a superb job of retiling our extension roof last year. So when we needed our full roof replaced, there was never any doubt that we would call on them again. Martin and Sandy are a great team, seldom if ever will you find two tradesmen that take such pride in there work. This pride ensures that they deliver a professional efficient service resulting in us being very satisfied customers. Throughout the job they constantly updated us on progress and invited a final inspection, at which time I noted several nice little finishing touches and was assured “it was all part of the service”. Their professionalism extended to the subcontractors (scaffolders & skip hire), ensuring that they cleared the site extremely quickly. Therefore I would have no hesitation in recommending Shepherd Roofingi Archie & Margaret Love
Customer in Fife Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 14/01/2019
A job well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Am pleased to provide a positive review for Martin and the team at Shepherd Roofing Ltd. A repair and replacement job for my part-flat/part-pitched roof. Quality work. Tidy and efficient team. Good communication and helpful advice from Martin throughout. Delivered on budget. Had to reschedule of some dates due to poor weather but this was well managed. Happy to recommend.
Customer in Fife Posted on 20/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
NEW FLAT ROOF
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really happy with our new roof. Explained everything that they were going to be doing and kept us up to date and explained any unexpected additional work. We picked Shepherd Roofing as they have been in business for years with outstanding reviews. So if anyone is looking for a roofer and first class tradesmen then we highly recommend them. THANKS GUYS
Eddie Mayhew Posted on 08/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
Excellent profesional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin and his team provided an exceptionally professional and reliable service at a competitive price. I appreciated being kept up to date on the progress of the work and pointing out work still required. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Shepherd Roofing.
Alan Miller Posted on 16/09/2018 , work completed 16/09/2018
First-class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First-class service on all fronts: friendly and prompt communication (my e-mails were being answered on a Sunday afternoon), quick response, and top-quality workmanship. Martin and Sandy were excellent: they turned up when they said they would (even a few minutes ahead of schedule), explained clearly what they were going to do, and repaired our roof to a great standard. Martin even took the trouble, once they had completed the job, to give us a few useful tips on roof maintenance. Thank you very much, guys, and keep it up: you are a true gem of a company and a credit to your profession.
George Govan, Fife Posted on 31/07/2018 , work completed 31/07/2018
Would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We selected Shepherd Roofing as a result of their sound reputation, they did not disappoint. Martin and Sandy did an exceptionally good job of our chimney removal, roof replacement and ventilation system. Martin and Sandy were trustworthy, friendly and communicated with us regularly throughout the project. The work was executed to an exceptionally high standard. It was a pleasure to work with them, we would highly recommend.
Australia13 Posted on 23/07/2018 , work completed 23/07/2018
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first meeting through to completion of job - re-tiling of whole roof and replacement of guttering and down-pipes - they could not be more helpful. The spec was clear and the work done on time and to a high standard. All through they explained what they were doing and why and always showed me the materials they were using.
skesting Posted on 08/06/2018 , work completed 08/06/2018
Superb experience from quotation through to roof re-tiling and paint work on gutters and pipes.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you want to have confidence that the work will be to a very high standard executed in a professional and timely manner, then use this company.
peeby01 Posted on 24/03/2018 , work completed 24/03/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sandy and Martin did a great job completely re-slating my roof. The lead work on the coping stones was excellent. The more modern extension also had its flat roof replaced. The standard of workmanship throughout was first class.
Graeme Rymill Posted on 16/02/2018 , work completed 16/02/2018
Brilliant Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work done promptly and efficiently with high standard. Friendly, hard working men.
David, Fife Posted on 09/01/2018 , work completed 09/01/2018
Reliable, punctual, job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They Came quickly to do the job. Worked very hard on the day. Both men were very pleasant. Highly recommended.
B in Fife Posted on 17/11/2017 , work completed 17/11/2017
Highly recommended. Excellent and professional service to the highest standards.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A quality all round service provided from the initial assessment of the roof to completing the last cut. Pricing was competitive, realistic and good value. Martin and Sandy are courteous, friendly, highly skilled and have a wealth of experience which they demonstrated by the quality of the final product. This is the best finish I have seen on a dry ridge roof, the mitres are phenomenal! In addition to the quoted scope, during the stripdown several problem areas were found on valleys and the lead work due to previous short cuts. These were highlighted quickly, solutions offered, clearly explained and incorporated into the job without adding to the duration.
Kevin - Fife Posted on 16/11/2017 , work completed 16/11/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed by Shepherd Roofing both from the drainers quote explaining all aspects of the job and also the professional manner in which they carried out the job taking time to explain what they were doing at final stage.
Norman, Fife Posted on 20/10/2017 , work completed 20/10/2017
Prompt & efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very impressed with the efficiency. Reliability and the quality of service shepherd roofing & slating have provided to us. We will certainly continue to use them & don't have any hesitation in recommending their services to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/06/2017 , work completed 12/06/2017
Completely satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No problem with workmen and had lots of comments from neighbours about the good job being done! Someone even said "What good scaffolding". A long, expensive job but I can now sleep soundly under a new roof.
Marilyn, Fife Posted on 01/05/2017 , work completed 01/05/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin and Sandy visited to assess the leak on our flat roof. After the initial assessment they provided a number of options and a quote was sent out that evening. Martin arranged for the work to commence within a couple of days. The work carried out was to replace the flat roof, replace the wood cladding with rosewood shiplap and also replace the upper tiled roof. New guttering was also fitted. All members of the team very extremely professional, courteous and tidy. They worked full-on and completed the job within the allotted timescales. We would have no hesitation in recommending Shepherd Roofing to friends and family as the results they produced were second to none. Well done guys...
M&MStuart Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
Professional, reliable and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a leaky roof and water was coming in through my bathroom ceiling. There was no obvious signs of damage to the roof externally. Martin and his team came out to inspect the property and were able to identify the problem immediately. It was explained to me clearly what the problem was and what was needing to be done to fix it. Despite a busy schedule, it was arranged for the work to be carried out as soon as possible. Photographs were taken as the work was progressing to show the extent of the damage under the roof tiles and the repair work being undertaken. If you are looking for a no-nonsense, professional, reliable and friendly service then I would not hesitate to recommend this company.
J Weir Posted on 10/03/2017 , work completed 10/03/2017
Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new Velux window fitted and flashings replaced. Martin kept us informed of available dates and how long the work was likely to take. The work was carried out to a high standard with minimal disruption, no mess and competitive rates. Very pleased with our new window and service received from Martin and his colleague.
happymummy82 Posted on 23/01/2017 , work completed 23/01/2017
5*+ Recommendation for Shepherd roofing following complete renewal of roof.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of very old slated roof required bespoke craftmanship in lead, slating, zincs, uPVC and guttering work. Full coverage of lead coping is a big maintenance advantage over other contractors. Plus we had a reliable, attentive, skilled team, quality material and excellent guarantees - a complete service.
p & c, fife Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
Knowledgeable, efficient, friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not the most expensive, not the cheapest. Martin and Sandy are excellent at what they do. Everything was explained, a quote was received, no hidden charges. The repairs to my cottage roof took 3 days. Martin explained what they were doing on that day every day. Punctual, clean, tidy and friendly. Excellent, I would definitely recommend Shepherd Roofing and Slating to repair/replace your problem roof.
Kiltedchico Posted on 10/11/2016 , work completed 10/11/2016
Work will surpass your expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bang on schedule, bang on budget. The quality of work was outstanding. Excellent value for money. My project lasted about a month and I can honestly say it was a pleasure to have them around.
Kevin, Fife Posted on 01/10/2016 , work completed 01/10/2016
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Roof of our bungalow was replaced and carried out by first class tradesmen. Clean, tidy job that was completed on time and to quoted price. Would definitely recommend Shepherd Roofing to family and friends.
Andrew, Fife Posted on 13/09/2016 , work completed 13/09/2016
Replacement of Flashings
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed the replacement of 4 sets of flashings on some skylight windows, since the original builder had used the incorrect ones more suited to slate roofs and leaks were developing. Shepherd Roofing did the job well on time and in accordance with their original quotation. What I really appreciated was the fact that I was contacted quickly and kept informed of dates and not left wondering if they would turn up. I would certainly recommend them and will be using them again for some other flashings that still need to be replaced.
hfbabell Posted on 17/07/2016 , work completed 17/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Firm very satisfactory to deal with. As the house is terraced with a flat roof, I cannot comment on the finished work out from photos it looks very good and I have no complaints.
Anne, Fife Posted on 25/05/2016 , work completed 25/05/2016
404472210
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problem: Broken Marley Valley tiles allowing rain water to penetrate attic space. Morley stopped manufacture of these fifteen years ago!! Martin Shepherd responded quickly and efficiently. He explained what needed doing and why and emailed quotation that evening. Shepherds replaced the valley exactly as described and also tidied some associated ridge tiles. A very tidy job, no mess, no fuss, no broken promises. Exactly what I hoped for. Not a cheap job but guaranteed for five years and when compared with the potential damage the leak could have caused, it was money well spent.
Robert, Fife Posted on 21/04/2016 , work completed 21/04/2016
Very Happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came out - the refelted the roof, put the strappings on and they retiled the roof as well as releaded the chimney, and carried out work on the bay window. Pleasent chaps, nothing to much trouble, I have no trouble reccomending them, no added extra's in cost - everything went well. No complaints at all, slightly ran over but this was due to weather, No mess and they cleaned up after themselves. Really good - its hard getting good trademen and these really were good tradesmen who were ontime every day & worked until the job was done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/02/2016 , work completed 21/02/2016
Roof done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
no problems at all. Completed on time and to budget would recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/01/2016 , work completed 10/01/2016
Very Thorough & Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the whole roof related - damaged timbers replaced, new gutters, new flashing, new ridges & hips. The roof is 106 years old. We have had terrible weather since the job was done & we have had no problems, First class guys - when they found anything they kept us apraised of everything & went out of their way to do the best job possible. they do the job properly.
Posted on 15/10/2015 , work completed 15/10/2015