Endorsed by Which?

Skylar Solar

4.9

16 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:00
  • Monday 08:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:00
  • Thursday 08:30–17:00
  • Friday 08:30–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We make switching to cleaner alternatives more accessible to everyone.

We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and craftsmanship, installing solar systems for residential and commercial customers across the UK.

Although our Head Office is based in Essex, we are nationally based and cover the whole of the UK and Wales.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar Panel Maintenance
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar panels
    • Solar water heating
  • More Services

    • solar batteries

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
16 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Solar - 12 panel with 5kw Growatt System with 5KW battery storage - fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I initially contacted Skylar based on the positive Which reviews. From initial contact I found the team so informative and passionate about their products. Andy Martin was my main point of contact, who I found to be so friendly, helpful and professional. I had so many questions, which Andy addressed in detail. Skylar presented options, whilst clearly spelling out the pros and cons of each. I have an electrical engineering background, so although the field of solar was new to me, I was able to recognise that what was being discussed was from a knowledgeable and experienced company. At no time did I feel under any pressure. Skylar didn’t take any money whatsoever, until the system was installed and running. Other companies I contacted required at least some money up front. The installation followed an initial on site survey. Workmanship is of the highest quality and the job was completed in a single day. Even in mid February with cloudy weather, we are almost generating the electricity demand from solar I would highly recommend this company
Customer in Somerset Posted on 18/02/2024 , work completed 14/02/2024
Excellent Service Trusted Company Perfect Install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Sky Solar were exceptionally professional especially Payton who was most patient with a newbie to solar power with batteries. From 8 quotes I chose Skylar solar not the cheapest but by far the best in product and service I must admit being a subscriber to Which Magazine I was swayed by Which magazine best buy trader. Installed with the up most care and attention to every detail. Very friendly and professional extremely informative and set up everything including the app. The install was very clean and an extremely impeccable truly amazing work. Very knowledgeable and informative about the solar panel system and batteries. After service from Payton second to none no question to trivial and extremely helpful. Payton set up all the paperwork G99, export DNO and MSC Certs, which made it so easy to receive the correct export tariff quickly. With a lot of rouge traders out there it is very reassuring that there are great companies like Skylar solar out there. A must if you are looking to install a trusted reliable Solar System. Immediately feeling the dividends of the system, within 8 days so far no charge from the grid for electricity after exporting. Truly an Amazing Company Customer service was impeccable.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 15/09/2023 , work completed 06/09/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Skylar from three companies because of their comprehensive estimate and specification. Skylar were mid range on price but all their people have been excellent, explained important details clearly and did what they promised when they said they would. Special thanks to Georgie, Payton and account manager Devon for their friendly and efficient customer service. 10 panels, 3.6 Kw Growatt inverter and 6.5 Kw battery installed in one day by Luke, Liam and Rob. They discussed and agreed all installation issues and followed through with solving any minor niggles on site. All up and running the same day and system generating as it should from moment it was switched on. Thanks, Skylar.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/08/2023 , work completed 16/08/2023
Installation of solar panels and batteries.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A real pleasure to deal with everyone from Skylar Solar. After agreeing the system and price I was contacted by Devon to arrange convenient time to carryout survey the guys that turned up were very friendly and helpful. Devon then contacted me to arrange a convenient date to have scaffolding erected again both guys were very friendly and 2 days later Luke & Lewis arrived and installed the 16 Hyundai panels, Growatt hybrid inverter and 3 x 3.3kw Growatt batteries within the day they done a great job and left my house clean and tidy and removed all the packaging. I would strongly recommend Skylar Solar.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 31/07/2023 , work completed 26/07/2023
Quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1 month since our installation of 11 panels and 4.2kw inverter and all is going well. Received all certificates and our export tariff is live. Initially Skylar got stumped by the need to run about 40 meters of cable between 2 buildings and to our consumer board but after a delay of a week or 2 the job was completed in fine fashion. There was no mess, everything done to a high standard, you wouldn't even know they had run cable in the loft or been working about the house. I highly recommend them to anyone else.
Joel in Essex Posted on 15/06/2023 , work completed 15/05/2023
Good Value and Quick installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was cautious about who to use for my solar installation (16 panels, 13kw battery, Eddi and Zappi) but opted for Skylar mostly off the back of Which Trusted Trader reviews. True to form they proved to be cheaper than most and quicker to install than all. Although there were some teething problems, mostly related to supply issues re equipment coming out of China and I would recommend that customers closely check the post installation handover info, I cannot fault everybody's effort and desire to put things right once issues were brought to their attention and everything is now operating brilliantly and as anticipated at the outset. All staff, from Georgie in sales, engineers including Rob, Ant and James, plus customer support team Devon and Payton have been lovely to interract with. I would recommend to anyone and have indeed recommended to 3 friends and family who have since used Skylar and are similarly happy.
Mike in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/04/2023 , work completed 06/01/2023
Cold work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our panels were due to be fitted on 12th December but it snowed the day before. Two helpful men arrived early, but despite valiant efforts to sweep snow off the roof, this proved to be impossible, but they did instal the inverter, battery and wiring, leaving the panels to be fitted when the snow cleared. The bad weather delayed most work until after Christmas when two other helpful guys returned to fit the panels, which are working fine - full battery the following day, which is not bad for January. The scaffolding was erected quickly before the work, and removed promptly after by other helpful men who also cleaned the gutter in exchange for a cup of tea.
Customer in Kent Posted on 17/01/2023 , work completed 05/01/2023
Eleven panel solar install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete solar installation in several stages, employees turned up on the dates agreed, put in a tidy installation. Back office have a dedicated employee to liase and sort any issues should they arise. Full marks for that aspect. My installation all works as expected and company works to industry standard bodies MCS and HIES accredited member. Only downside I experienced due to Skylars popularity is talking with Harry in sales!
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 22/12/2022 , work completed 22/12/2022
Installation of 11 Hyundai solar panels, Growatt hybrid inverter and Growatt 6.5kW battery storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After contacting Skylar, getting initial quote and answering questions, all efficiently carried out by Harry, was offered a survey about a week later. Survey carried out by Rob, answered a number of questions on suitability and reliability issues of proposed system. Was offered a short notice installation date 5 days latter( due another customer postponement) which happy accept. Installation carried out by Luke on 4th August, but was two day process as he works on own. Not an issue as he does a first class job. Documentation and certificates have taken a while to arrive, thankfully completed by Payton. Now all complete and very happy with work carried out. Having contacted a number of solar installers, many not even bother to reply or fail to quote, even though said would. Another installer, part of local authority scheme, misquoted, failed to meet 5 promised installation dates so had cancel. Skylar are one of the few solar installers worth dealing with, easy to contact and deliver what they say they will and have no problem in recommending them.
Alan in Greater London Posted on 23/11/2022 , work completed 12/11/2022
Great install of new Solar panels and Solar Battery (even with a out of box failure)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked the Skylar Solar team to install our solar panels and solar battery after getting quotes from about 4 other suppliers. Whilst not the cheapest, for me they gave me the best experience initially and the fact that they are a Which Trusted Trader swayed my decision. The install once the contract was signed was quick (about a week after signing) and the install was excellent with two installers working on one of our very hot days we had in August! The system was up and running in no time. Unfortunately the battery was not - after initial investigation work, it was deemed that the Inverter was faulty. Rob the MD, quickly arranged to get it replaced on warranty and had the battery working fully within 2 days of working out the original issue. The whole team were extremely helpful and accommodating and I would very much recommend them. Thank you
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 23/08/2022 , work completed 11/08/2022