Endorsed by Which?

SLW Plastering

5.0

21 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 08:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I have 40 years experience in all aspects of plastering and rendering.
The majority of my work comes through recommendation and repeat business, mainly through the theatres and also for builders that i have built up good relationships with over the years.

I am based in old Bexley and cover south London and Kent

What we do

  • Plastering

    • Coving
    • Flat ceilings
    • Lime plastering
    • Pebble dashing
    • Plastering
    • Rendering
    • Screeding and dry lining
    • Skimming
  • More Services

    • plasterer
    • silicone rendering
    • coloured rendering

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
21 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
EXCELLENT PLASTERER AT A FAIR PRICE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve completed re-plastering a bedroom and a ceiling in another bedroom on time and to a high standard. He communicated clearly throughout the job and finished on time and to the price agreed. He is pleasant and completely trustworthy. I highly recommend him.
Customer in Kent Posted on 15/11/2023 , work completed 02/10/2023
Ultra reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was asked to replace some blown (loose) pebble dashing on the rear of our house. He arrived exactly at the agreed time gave me a price and started the next day. He made 2 visits one for preparation of the wall and another 2 days later when the base coat had dried to finish the job. When finished the wall looked as if there was never a problem being the same level as the existing pebble dash and the same density of stones. Steve cleared up thoroughly after the job was done. His price was reasonable for the work done. I would not hesitate to recommend him to friends and family. Steve is a very personable friendly guy who does exactly what he says when he says. Thanks Steve. Bill Foster
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/11/2023 , work completed 09/11/2023
Excellent Professional Plasterer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I liked a comment made by a previous reviewer about the smooth finish achieved, and I'm glad I picked Steve because they weren't wrong. I had living room plastered and external back wall rendered and re-pebbledashed. He is very cheerful and approachable and takes pride in his work. He prepared the walls, including hacking off loose areas for a sound finish. Very tidy and reliable. Cost wise he is clear about pricing. He had to work round furniture in my living room, whereas other plasterers may have baulked and insisted on a clear room. Overall I'd 100% recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/10/2023 , work completed 16/10/2023
Excellent ceiling repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did an excellent job plastering the damaged ceiling of my shower room. He was able to fit my job in. He explained what he proposed to do and gave me an estimate of cost and timescale, both of which he adhered to. I am pleased with what he has done and would recommend him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/08/2023 , work completed 28/07/2023
Expert plasterer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve plastered and painted the external wall of our house. His work is of a high standard. We would use him again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 16/07/2023 , work completed 15/06/2023
Hands down the best tradesman I've ever worked with. Excellent Job on external render
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From quote to completion Steve was excellent. He made the process of having the work done easy. We had an external house render for a period property with decorative timbers. The thing that immediately stood out with Steve was his can do attitude, he thought of creative ways to solve challenges of doing the work and was responsive to what we wanted. He gave me a quote which covered each part of work required and did all the organising and co-ordinating for it. This included scaffolding, carpentry, painting, gutter replacement and to have a skip. All I had to do was buy the paint and make sure I was in when he told me to be and the other tradespeople knew what they needed to do and got on with it. Steve is the kind of guy that likes to clean up as he goes along, which meant that he always left the house in a good state at end of day and when he'd finished there was no mess to clean up after, if anything the patio was cleaner than when he arrived. One thing that really set Steve apart was that he knows how important it is to keep the peace with neighbours when doing work. He was considerate of them but also spoke to them directly when he needed to without needing to get us involved. Overall I'd recommend him to anyone!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/06/2023 , work completed 18/05/2023
Removal of landing lath and plaster ceiling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has definitely restored my faith in tradesmen. He responded quickly to my call, turned up on the same day to assess the job, explained what needed to be done in detail and provided us with a written quote. After arranging a date for the job Steve communicated with us right up to the date of the appointment. The lath and plaster ceiling was taken down, replaced with plaster board and was skimmed in 1 day, Steve and Jack came back the next day to finish off the coving. They were brilliant, quick, clean and importantly the new ceiling looks great. I would definitely use Steve again and recommend him to friends and family.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/05/2023 , work completed 21/04/2023
Plastering Works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job plastering a ceiling, walls and outside rendering. His work is finished to a high standard and I would not hesitate to recommend him and he is very polite.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/03/2023 , work completed 04/03/2023
Great plasterer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve recently plastered over 2 artex ceilings for me and his work was first class. He turned up when said and was very friendly and professional, not to mention very clean and tidy. Would not hesitate to use again or recommend him.
Winston in Greater London Posted on 13/03/2023 , work completed 13/03/2023
Plastering
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve plastered my living room, passage and bathroom ceiling. Fantastic finish and very clean. Steve is very friendly and reliable and always turned up on time.
David in Greater London Posted on 08/03/2023 , work completed 20/02/2023
An excellent professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was the plasterer used by our builder when we had our kitchen extended. The quality of his work, including coving was superb, so much so that we have used his services again with the expected excellent result. Steve is a very pleasant guy, competitively priced, neat and tidy and completely reliable.
Customer in Posted on 25/01/2023 , work completed 25/01/2023
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve plastered my kitchen, did a great job. The painters said it was one of the best jobs they've painted over. They didn't even need to sand it down, very impressed, looks great.
Sian in Greater London Posted on 16/01/2023 , work completed 12/01/2023
Great plasterer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Steve on a number occasions after an initial recommendation from a friend. Undertook screed/ plastering and external render for us on our extension. Steve has always been reliable/ friendly/ professional/ clean and tidy. Always polite and answered questions and explained the works and gave a realistic idea in terms of how long works would take to complete and cost. Wouldn’t hesitate to use again and have recommended to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/01/2023 , work completed 03/01/2023
Always excellent work done with a smile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Steve for our plastering and rendering work for several years. He has completed many jobs for us which are usually extension protects or loft conversions to domestic properties, as well as often plastering bedrooms, hallways and kitchens as part of the refurbishments we are doing. The standard of work is fantastic and our customers are always wanting to take his number for further work in their properties or to recommend him to others. Our painters who follow him are always glad when they see it's him plastering because they know their work is going to be made easier! Steve is a great personality to have in the team, always cheerful, and reliable and he really cares about his work. If something isn't going to be perfect he will come to me or one of the guys and discuss the options so we can change something so we can get it perfect. He's a great problem solver and thinks about the job as a whole, rather than just his specific trade. He works closely with our electrician, painters and tilers. Honestly, I wouldn't use anyone else. I have used several plasterers through the years and can tell you I have seen a large variance in the quality from one to the next. A great job and month's worth of work can be ruined by poor plastering and for this reason I make absolutely sure Steve is booked to complete our work. He is the best I have worked with for sure.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/01/2023 , work completed 06/05/2022
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I subcontract for 7 London theatres, Steve was recommended to me by a friend of mine and has carried out 4 or 5 jobs for me now at 3 different Theatres in London. Her Majesty's Theatre, the Adelphi and the London Palladium. His work is exceptional, and he is now my first port of call for any plastering or rendering work that I need carrying out.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 01/09/2022
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Plastered ground floor of an extension in our house. Steve is a nice guy and very professional. He's very efficient. Very reliable and turned up when he said he would.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 14/10/2022
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve completely rendered the outside of our house. He had done the house across the road, who recommended him, and the quality of the work was very good. My only complaint was that he went off to do other jobs sometimes, while working for us, so he finished late, but the end result was worth waiting for.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 11/11/2022
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Plastered ceiling and walls of a bedroom for us. He did a great job, and is a really nice man. I'd highly recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 29/11/2022
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve plastered all our downstairs rooms and an extension. It was supremely good quality and very clean and tidy. The finish was the best I've ever seen.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 20/10/2022
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Steve to plaster our three storey hallway. He talked us through what he would do, and how long it would take. We very impressed with the finish, and the work was complemented by a builder and painters who followed him. He also made very little mess. A really nice guy too.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 01/03/2020
Endorsement reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did plastering and coving for an extension on our house. The work was so good it looked like a show home. I'm a perfectionist and I thought he did a brilliant job. We will be using him again on a new house as we have moved now.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2022 , work completed 01/06/2020