We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Smarter Home 4U Limited

Profile thumb smarter home 4u logo

4.9

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:30–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Smarter Home 4U have transformed countless properties across Greater Manchester – and beyond – with professional, reliable repair and maintenance services. From those odd jobs around the house to full-scale extensions and restorations, we draw on over 30 years’ experience to deliver the highest standard of workmanship every time.

We carry out all types of home improvements, inside and out, whether you’re a homeowner wanting to give your property a makeover, or landlord seeking a quick, cost-effective fix for a tenant. We also offer property maintenance services to commercial clients, and strive to become a long-term partner for your facility management needs.

No task is too big or small for Smarter Home 4U. Whether you’re putting up shelves or planning major refurbishment works, we combine our hands-on knowledge with an honest, hard-working approach to deliver the best solutions for our clients. Just scroll down to see our reviews and portfolio for yourself.

What we do

  • Property refurbishment contractors

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Guttering repair services
  • More Services

    • home improvements
    • property maintenance
    • joinery
    • kitchens

Customer reviews

4.9
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Perfect experience from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot speak highly enough about the service and quality of work I have received from Tony and his team . From start to finish the communication has been first class , even through the difficult recent times . Nothing I have asked for along the way has been too much trouble and the quality of his work has blown me away - the results are far beyond what I imagined they would be . I would recommend him to anyone and will 100% use him for my next project
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/07/2020 , work completed 25/07/2020
Fantastic quality of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided to get our kitchen spruced you - the layout of the cupboards etc was fine but it was all looking a little tired and dated. Tony and his team managed the everything - old cupboards taken down, electrics redone, plaster work done and then the good stuff - bespoke shelving, new table, new tiling - all done on time and within the agreed budget. He was also more than happy to do a few “whilst you’re here...” jobs that had been stacking up, little things around the house that had been niggling us for ages! His team are great - respectful of our home, very tidy and trustworthy. I can’t recommend him enough - quality work, genuine interest in what you’re trying to achieve - and a nice person too!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/07/2020 , work completed 07/07/2020
The trader replied (on 20/08/2020)
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope to work with you again.
Wooden Slate Screen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smarter homes for you are very professional & produce a high standard of work & afterwards you would never know they have been. I would have no hesitation in recommending their services. We are quite indecisive but Tony will always “pop” to see you to put your mind at rest & usually what he says is right! Thank you Tony, Chris & Jack.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/06/2020 , work completed 15/06/2020
The trader replied (on 20/08/2020)
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope to work with you again.
Great work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant work done. We had the shower fitted. Tony came when he said he would and fitted it all on his own. Work completed in a timely manner and Tony was great. Thank you!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/05/2020 , work completed 22/05/2020
The trader replied (on 20/08/2020)
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope to work with you again.
Extension and kitchen fit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smarter Home 4U turned our dream and the architect's plans into reality. The work was carried out to meet our highest expectations and we now have a family living space with a downstairs toilet and shower combined with a superb working kitchen and sitting area. Tony, Chris and Jack were easy to have around amidst all the four months of disruption and they kept us fully informed about timescales during the build. Other trades were involved in the build but everything was coordinated by smarter Home 4U and the whole process was smoothly completed. We would recommend Tony and the team not only for the quality of the work but also for the professional and friendly way the project was completed.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/01/2020 , work completed 13/12/2019
The trader replied (on 03/02/2020)
Thank you for your lovely review, we very much enjoyed working with you and hope you'll continue to enjoy your lovely new space.
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we've used the team at Smarter Home 4U, and once again they did a great job. They are very professional and hard working, and I can highly recommend them! Thanks again.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 15/11/2019 , work completed 06/11/2019
The trader replied (on 18/12/2019)
Thank you for your nice review, we're pleased you are happy with our work.
Installation of French doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smarter Home 4U turned up on time and completed the job to a high standard. At the end of the job they removed all rubbish. They are a flexible team that completes jobs to a high standard and in good time.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/10/2019 , work completed 23/10/2019
The trader replied (on 18/12/2019)
Thank you for your nice review, we're pleased you are happy with our work.
Knowing the work will be to the highest standard for a sensible price. A builder you Can Trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I contacted "Smarter Home 4 U" I wasn't sure they would be interested in taking the job. It was more about "finishing off" work I had started but was unable to complete because I was going into hospital. Laying laminate floors, painting walls and ceilings, putting on skirting, hanging doors etc. They were happy to do any work I asked them to do. I was quoted for 4 days work and they had it all done in 4 days (I thought it would be impossible) at the price quoted. Very Impressed and have no hesitation recommending them. Always prompt, tidy, and very short lunch break. Very, very pleased.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 24/09/2019
The trader replied (on 18/12/2019)
Thank you for your nice review, we're pleased you are happy with our work.
Excellent repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gave a quote and estimate of work then negotiated a mutually convenient time to arrive. Arrived on time. Fixed our gutters and added an extra downpipe. Tidied up after work. Helped us source new runners and then repaired a set of wooden drawers that at least 4 others had said were unfixable, saving us hundreds of pounds. Excellent work. Reliable, skilled, good communication - would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/08/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
The trader replied (on 10/09/2019)
Thank you for your review, it is appreciated. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
2 Jobs well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In truth Smarter Homes for U have done two jobs on my house which says a lot in its self . In my job I have a fair few contacts and Smarter homes came highly recommended. I've bought a two up two down mid terrace and an ex rental into the bargain. As you can imagine there are previous jobs that have be missed and jobs that are just shoddy. Case in point were my UPVC windows on the front fascia, poorly fitted and guttering to the rear was the original cast iron .i Invited Smarter Homes in the form of Tony Turner the owner to create a plan to remedy the ills of my house over a period funds permitting. Tony came up with a plan and costing that was sensible and cost efficient. In two separate visits I have new UPVC windows and new guttering and soffits. I have found a skilled, reliable trades person whose prices don't break the bank. The kind of person you keep on speed dial.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/05/2019 , work completed 05/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your great review, we look forward to working with you again.
Quick, reasonably priced, good standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed some minor jobs doing in order to put my house in the market - making good around a recently-installed Velux window and repairs to two ceilings. Tony got back to me quickly after my initial enquiry and, once he'd surveyed the house, provided a quote promptly. He recommended people for the jobs that he wasn't able to do and made a couple of suggestions that would save me money. The work was completed in half a day and I was pleased with the quality of what had been done. The price was also reasonable.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 07/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Great to work with you, thank you for your review.
New kitchen, utility and downstairs lavatory, including removal of old and fitting of new units, floors, new wooden doors throughout the house etc
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team undertook this large piece of work for us to extremely high standards in all aspects. At our very first meeting Tony gave us advice about the layout of the furniture to be fitted and the types of finish we could have and expect. His quality advice continued throughout the project. He dealt with unexpected developments including the need to replace rotten floor joists and kept in constant contact throughout. We took on board virtually all of his suggestions and they have proved to be of benefit in that the end result is better than we could have expected. My wife and I would definitely recommend Tony and his company and indeed have done so already to family and friends.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your lovely review, great to work with you!
Good work, good communication, good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got several quotes for constructing a small 'pantry' room over a stairwell. Tony discussed what I wanted, made the arrangements clear and submitted a reasonable quote. He communicated well about coming in and turned up when arranged. The work was discussed with me as it went along, done to a high standard, communication continued to be good. The resulting room is exactly what I wanted. I will be very happy to use Tony again when I have more work to do, and hope he will be available.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/04/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you, we look forward to working with you again when you have more work to do!
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Smarter Home 4U spent two and a half weeks finishing off our major house renovations in March 2019. They were very professional and hard working, and completed all the work to a very high standard. They absolutely saved us after our original builder had badly let us down. I can highly recommend them!
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 28/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you! Please let us know if we can help again in the future, from small jobs to larger projects, we can help.
Garage Base Construction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his crew were excellent. From turning up bang on time for the estimate AND the work itself, through to keeping me posted, they were professional and efficient. The work itself was done quickly and well, and when heavy rain put imperfections in the concrete, Tony screeded the floor quickly and effectively. I have no problem recommending his company, and they will be our first call whenever work needs doing on the house.
Hart Posted on 01/11/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you, we look forward to working on other areas of your house, when needed.
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Tony after being let down by two other tradesman. We received a prompt reply and a professional service from the initial enquiry up until the work was completed. We are extremely happy with our new storage space and cupboard. The work was finished to a high standard, in the given timescale and at a reasonable price. Tony and his team are punctual,reliable, polite and professional . Which unfortunately in our experience we have found to be rare. All rubbish was cleared away and everything was left clean and tidy. We would definitely use Tony and his team for future work on our home and would not hesitate to recommend this company to others.
Mrs Kelsall Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Mrs Kelsall, we're pleased that you're happy.
Excellent and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My parents needed a new bathroom and I had no hesitation in asking Smarter Home 4U to quote and carry out the work. The new bathroom is amazing and work was carried out meeting all deadlines and budget. Tony was very easy to contact and talk to and kept me updated throughout the process. We will be in touch soon for more renovations.
Wendy Taylor Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Wendy!
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an issue with my waterfall shower head (embedded in the bathroom ceiling) which was really concerning. Chris from Smarter Home 4U came out and sorted the issue for me quickly and I could stop worrying about my attic being flooded. Brilliant service
MarkyS Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Mark for your nice review.
Barn conversion in the Lake District
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team worked with me on this right from the start - meeting with the architects even before we submitted our planning application. Then the real work began, and it was so much more than the usual building work. He liaised with utility companies to get electricity, gas and water connected to the property, heritage dry stone wallers to ensure that the external appearance was in keeping with centuries of history, local roofers who helped create a new property that was in keeping with everywhere else - and all the time making sure that the Building Inspector was very happy! Inside he turned a derelict building into a luxury holiday retreat - a mezzanine bedroom floor was created, original beams were re-purposed, an old stone fireplace was acid-washed to create an amazing feature. This was all in addition to "the usual stuff" - managing the plastering, electrics, plumbing, tiling, creating a fabulous kitchen, making a feature window where old wooden barn doors had been, installing a shower room, fitting a staircase and a hundred other things that brought my dream together. Throughout it all, Tony achieved that perfect balance of keeping me informed of any issues and at the same time dealing with problems himself. I honestly couldn't have done this conversion without him and his amazing team who often worked very long hours to ensure that everything kept to plan. It's a sign of a good builder when even the neighbours were sorry to see them leave!
Suzanne Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Suzanne, great to work on your project.
Summerhouse Construction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and Chris, arrived on time and worked in an extremely professional manner at all times when on site. They built the summerhouse with basic instruction from the supplier and improved its construction in a number of areas ensuring that the end product was totally functional and fit for purpose. It was certainly not a job I would like to have undertaken on my own and they made the work look simple. They worked to a high standard throughout the day. I certainly hope to use Tony and Chris again in the future as finding good reliable professional tradesmen can be difficult.
John_Allen Posted on 10/05/2017 , work completed 10/05/2017
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you John, we hope you are enjoying your summerhouse.
Great transformation!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and Chris have been working with us for a couple of months to transform an outbuilding in the garden. Their vision is great and the suggestions gave to improve upon our ideas was really valued. I can highly recommend the service they provide and would without doubt use them again - well done!
Bonny123 Posted on 27/04/2017 , work completed 27/04/2017
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to working with you again on another project.
Excellent builders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and Chris enlarged a window for us yesterday. From original assessment through to completed job they were excellent. The work is of a high standard and although only a small job they consulted us about options so we got what we wanted. They have done work for us before and we would definitely use them again.
Murphy Posted on 22/04/2017 , work completed 22/04/2017
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your great review, we hope to see you again.
New Kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Tony with a query about Kitchen refurb, and I was delighted when he not only showed up, but on time too. While he was assessing the work, he managed to fix a toilet cistern that needed to be re-set (when other people had told me I needed a new toilet), so I commissioned him on the spot. If you are thinking about hiring Tony for work, do it now ! He and Chris are honest, reliable, they do great quality work, are friendly, keep you in the loop and they charge a fair price. They did the work promptly, which was much appreciated. The kitchen looks amazing now, and they even managed to repair the back gate at the same time. Really top guys who do A* rated work. I’m already thinking about other work they can help me with.
Mrs Ali E Posted on 20/02/2017 , work completed 20/02/2017
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your review, we look forward to working with you again.
Reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Tony and Chris three times in our house. They have stripped three rooms completely back to the brick where necessary, removed a fire surround and built in wardrobes and taken the carpets up. They quoted a price which was great value for money. They arrived early and were polite. They kept the mess to a minimum and swept and vacuumed when they had finished. They stacked all the rubbish neatly in the garden and bagged up the loose bits. We have had to have the radiators removed for the rooms to be plastered and they have promptly returned to put them back. There have been various other tradesmen that we have needed and they have recommended these to us. These have been good recommendations. We have found Tony and Chris to be reliable, trustworthy, professional and they do a really good job. I have recommended them to friends who have also used them and been very happy with the work done. We will be using them again in the future.
Josie B Posted on 04/01/2017 , work completed 04/01/2017
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Josie!
Beautiful transformation to our home
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two ensuites, a bathroom and a downstairs cloak modernised, rebuilt and transformed into the most beautiful rooms imaginable. Tony was prompt with his quote, reliable during the work and couldn't have been pleasanter. The work was carried out and finished to a very high standard and within the stated time. We couldn't be happier and have already recommended this company to friends.
2011-08-13 19:26:58.19 Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you and thank you for your recommendations too!
Room refurb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, efficient, friendly & reliable. High quality work - very happy and have already recommended to friends :0)
DanielB Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Daniel
Loft boarding at 4 Willow Lodge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found that this trader arrived when he said he would, was very clean and tidy sweeping up at the end of the day. He was prompt with his quotation and with an acceptable time between my accepting his quotation and completing the job.
Richard Wavish Posted on 28/04/2016 , work completed 28/04/2016
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Richard
Several jobs on a rental property
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony undertook several jobs on rental property for us meaning we didn't have to get several different trades in. Tony always turned up on time and both myself and the tenants are happy with the quality of the work and the price.
Amanda Posted on 22/09/2015 , work completed 22/09/2015
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Amanda
New Bathroom suite and towel radiator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and Mark did an excellent job complying with our wishes. They were punctual, hard working, honest and tidy, consulting me immediately an adjustment might be needed to our plan. The final cost complied with their estimate plus itemised parts. I immediately asked them to consider doing additional jobs for me in the near future. Thoroughly reccommended
"Which? Trusted Traders Consumer" Posted on 14/08/2015 , work completed 14/08/2015
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to work with you again.
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony erected garden rails for a disabled person in my household. Very pleased with the result and I appreciate the effort he took to track down these particular railings. They were installed without fuss and look good. Tony also offered to help and advise on other aspects of house repair that i might need any time in the future and even if the type of work was not within his scope, he would provide advice and contact details for getting the right people in. Goes the extra mile for his customers.
AMRtab Posted on 27/07/2015 , work completed 27/07/2015
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you, we always like to go the extra mile. Please let us know if we can be of assistance again in the future.
Fitted wardrobes - on time, in budget, no mess
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed new wardrobes in our bedroom - Tony & Chris did an excellent job - on time - in budget - no mess - just what we wanted - use this firm - they're great!
ggheap Posted on 13/05/2015 , work completed 13/05/2015
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Graham!
Recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed our boiler in the back bedroom boxing in and asked Tony to give us a quote. We also needed more storage space and Tony suggested that we kill two birds with one stone and enclosed the boiler and made it into an airing cupboard by adding sliding doors. The cupboard looks like it's always been there and makes the bedroom look like a bedroom again and not "the room with the boiler in"! All the work was done neatly and professionally and Tony and Chris tidied up a few other jobs that they noticed while they were here. We'd recommend them to anyone looking to do home improvements and/or repairs.
malcent Posted on 29/04/2015 , work completed 29/04/2015
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your review and great to work with you.
Honest, Trustworthy Builder With An Eye For Detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We're a local based Window Company & came across Tony & Chris on one of our jobs where we were installing windows & they were installing a bathroom. We were on site with them for 4 days & they were polite, clean & had a real eye for detail on the finish of the job which looked amazing as they both enthusiastically showed us what they'd done. To be proud of your work & actively make the effort to show anyone available says it all really. This that first meet Smarter Homes have done numerous jobs for us as a company & personally & have just completed a bathroom for my Parents which they are over the moon with. If you want a builder that will give you a competitive quote, turn up on time & finish everything with an eye for detail then Smarter Homes is the Company for you.
CMR308297297 Posted on 09/03/2015 , work completed 09/03/2015
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your review, great to work with you too!
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built a cabinet itno an alcove. He was very professional, helpful and punctual. We felt that it was a value for money job for what we needed, because of the excellent options provided.
Ellie, Withington Posted on 01/12/2014 , work completed 01/12/2014
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Ellie!
Great problem solver!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Tony and his assistant twice now. The first time, they installed a loft hatch and ladder, which was a tricky job because of the piping in the loft. The second job was replacing wood on the fascia of the house, towards the apex of the house. Tony is skilled in listening to what the customer wants, and finding a good solution to the problem.
Mary, Eccles Posted on 01/07/2014 , work completed 01/07/2014
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your review Mary.
Did exactly as we wanted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony put a false ceiling effect in my lounge. They did exactly as we wanted to a very good standard. They were helpful and professional.
Darren, Sale Posted on 13/02/2014 , work completed 13/02/2014
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your review Darren.