We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

SMD Electrical Services Limited

Profile thumb smd logo jpeg

4.9

89 Reviews

About

SMD Electrical Services Ltd. is an award winning established local company providing all types electrical installation work, maintenance, inspection & testing services throughout Surrey. NICEIC Approved and Happy to take on the smallest to the largest job we have a solid local reputation for quality and service. We champion electrical safety and in 2010 we received the prestigious "Which? Award" Which-Local "Business of the Year" Operating in the domestic and commercial markets we pride ourselves on providing a reliable experienced conscientious and thorough service. We do not advertise as such, most of our work comes from client recommendation. Keeping up to date with all regulatory changes and industry standards we have built a reputation of sound knowledge and experience offering quality electrician’s services. We provide documentation and NICEIC Safety Certificates where required with all work undertaken. We are CRB checked.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • Ventilation installers

    • Ventilation systems
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated home audio
    • Home automation
    • Security
    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • Indoor air quality

  • More Services

    • maintenance
    • fault finding
    • testing
    • ev
    • electric car
    • extractor fan

Customer reviews

4.9
89 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I picked SMD Electrical Services because of the very complementary reviews on "Which Local". I have now used them twice and have no hesitation in recommending them. Steve(the main man) is very knowledgeable as well as punctual and courteous, and dealt with my problem very efficiently. I will certainly use him again if the need arises.
lenwatson Posted on 27/03/2012 , work completed 27/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good professional service received. I will definitely use them again and would thoroughly recommend them to others.
norman ratcliffe Posted on 14/03/2012 , work completed 14/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work involved the replacing & upgrading of domestic electrical distribution boards, the installation of proper earth bonding, the addition of new circuits, and a complete testing of the installation. The work was completed in a very diligent & professional manner - and to the predicted timescale. The documentation & certification is full & complete. I am very pleased with this experience and recommend SMD very highly.
Quintus Posted on 25/02/2012 , work completed 25/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were in need of finding a competent electrician and after being let down by another firm we were very fortunate to find Steve on Which Local. He is extremely professional, very reliable and right from the start we had total confidence in him. We would never use anybody else and would thoroughly recommend his services. Ron and Sandra
Sandra Strudwick Posted on 28/01/2012 , work completed 28/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was recommended to us after completing some work for my brother a couple of years ago. We found him to be courteous, reliable and extremely thorough in his approach. Steve diligently talked through each steps and the rationale behind them- a genuine professional tradesman. SteveÍs methodical and respectful attitude would leave us no doubt in recommending him to any other client in the future. We are already considering some aesthetic work in the not-so distant future!Í
nelliebuk Posted on 09/01/2012 , work completed 09/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Steve and have no hesitation in recommending him. It was a relief to find an electrician we felt we could rely on. He always arrives when he says he will and is extremely helpful.
gwynethann Posted on 09/11/2011 , work completed 09/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed some spotlights and checked a socket. Did a reasonable job of spotlights. However installed into a ceiling which needs to be replaced, could well have been due to miscommunications on my part. Took longer than expected, but otherwise seemed decent.
Clubby Posted on 30/08/2011 , work completed 30/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We purchased our first house in Old Woking and got the keys Monday July 18. Steve was in the property on the 19th bright and early at eight o'clock. By midday Thursday he was finished. Two weeks prior, we invited Steve and another independent contractor to provide us with quotations for a rewire and other remedial works. Although the other chap picked up on some grounding and bonding issues, Steve pointed out that a total rewire was not essential since the ex-Council mid-Terrace house was already completely rewired under their responsibility, something that the other guy failed to point out to us. Steve showed us all the evidence and this has saved us a bundle of money. Steve was very thorough and professional throughout the job, identifying and discussing all critical issues while providing detailed information on each item. He replaced the old fuse board with a modern RCD unit, tested all the circuits, made safe all the dodgy DIY jobs left behind by the former owners, rectified some faults, installed some additional sockets, and provided the circuit diagrams and all the relevant installation certificates and reports as promised. He was punctual, courteous, and even did a spot of re-plaster and cleaned up after once all the jobs were completed. We are very happy with the results, and all the suggestions and advice received, and will not hesitate to use him again in the future.
JayViv Posted on 16/08/2011 , work completed 16/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his team installed solar PV panels for us. He was professional from the start, coming over to survey the house and discuss options and the work involved before sending any quotes. He was thorough in his approach, examining the roof both inside and out as well as the house electricity meter/distribution. He was competitive and flexible in his quotes, offering two different types of panel, describing them both fully and very quick to requite as a result of requested changes. In carrying out the work he and his team were well organised, careful and tidy. They and their subcontractors arrived as planned and finished within time and took clear pride in their work. A professional job from start to finish, quite unlike some of the quick sale merchants who have contacted us.
greenspecs Posted on 11/08/2011 , work completed 11/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Steve - this time for fitting solar panels. From start to finish Steve was highly professional and courteous; explaining the entire technical procedure and undertaking the fitting in a timely and efficient manner. All paperwork and certificates arrived swiftly and we are fully confident in the installation which is happily generating away! If you are thinking of fitting solar panels and want to speak to someone who will give proper impartial advice, please get in touch with Steve. We have no hesitation in recommending his services and will certainly be using Steve again in the future.
jollyboy2 Posted on 26/04/2011 , work completed 26/04/2011