Endorsed by Which?

So Go Solar Ltd

4.9

41 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–18:00
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

Based in south west London, SogoSolar specialise in the design and installation of Solar PV systems together with battery storage systems and EV charge points.

Established in 2010, we have a vast amount of experience in the sector and have built a very solid reputation with our customers.

We are accredited by most of the major international brands including Tesla, Panasonic, SunPower, SolarEdge, REC, Sonnen and LG Chem.

Whilst we we have affiliations with major brands, we are an independent installer and our aim is to provide you with a system tailor made for your particular circumstances.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
    • Solar panels
  • More Services

    • battery storage system
    • powerwall

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
41 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Would use this company again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prior to installation of our solar panels and battery, Ben answered our endless questions with speed and patience. He came up with an excellent solution for installation of all the electronic kit in our very small cottage. Everybody involved hard working and friendly. Recommended!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 19/06/2024 , work completed 14/06/2024
Difficult project - insurance claim
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben took on a difficult project - storm damaged solar panels - insurance claim. Difficult access avoiding neighbour’s flat roof. Ben met all agreed deadlines and gave sound advice re MCS certification. The team (Richard & Alex) left the site cleaner than they found it.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/06/2024 , work completed 03/05/2024
Solar panels and battery with backup
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team installed solar panels, battery and backup device. I chose SoGo because Ben's advice beforehand was so useful compared with the competition. I thought I knew what I wanted but Ben made me realise what I didn't need. The price was fair for the system I wanted. Unfortunately after the installation, some electronics was not working properly. This was not SoGo's fault, it turned out that something needed to be done by the manufacturer who were slow in responding. Ben's interaction and perseverance with the company ensured that we received a software fix that cured the problem. We have a highly efficient system now and are grateful to SoGo. The team worked well to fit system efficiently, they were intelligent and friendly and answered all of my questions. I would recommend SoGo highly.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/06/2024 , work completed 16/05/2024
Excellent, professional installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team installed solar panels with a battery and also a backup interface for us. Everything was good and we can't fault them. Very pleased with the final product which was installed to schedule and on budget. The whole team were very considerate, polite and helpful. Ben has also been happy to answer any questions post install. Would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/05/2024 , work completed 26/03/2024
Good work and informative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben took the time to consult on different numbers of panels and the benefits of a battery. The fitting was quick and efficient and everything is in good working order. He’s also come back pretty quickly whenever I have had questions.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 20/05/2024 , work completed 20/09/2023
Integrated Solar Panels - Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So Go Solar installed an integrated / In roof system on my new build. The product looked great and the installation was quick and efficient. Ben was very friendly, professional and very knowledgeable, giving great advice from the initial enquiry to completion. I would fully recommend So Go Solar.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/05/2024 , work completed 01/05/2024
Pleasant and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had had an issue with our solar panels following a re-roofing and needed an expert to take a look. We contacted SoGo solar having used them about 5 years ago and found them to be extremely helpful and really good at what they do. Once again, Ben responded quickly and did exactly what we needed very efficently and for the cost we agreed. Both Ben and Sue, who works in the SoGo office, were pleasant, helpful and efficient and we wouldn't hesitate to use them again
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/02/2024 , work completed 20/02/2024
Completely trouble free
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first contacted Ben in late 2017 to discuss the possibility of adding PV solar panels to my major renovation project which was in its very early stages. During the first meeting Ben gave me a thorough overview answering all my questions as he went through it all. It was refreshing to be able to discuss the installation, which for me was a fairly daunting thought, without any aspect of a hard sell just the free passing of information. When the two roofs were eventually under the early stages of completion Ben visited once again and provided a quotation based on the roof areas available. At the same time Ben provided information for the builder as to how the roofs should be finished off and prepared for the in-roof installation on one of the roofs. The installation went perfectly, the team of installers were very proficient and friendly and happily answered my various questions as they proceeded with the work. If all the other various sub-contractors that I employed on my project had been so plain sailing my life would have been very much less stressful! The system with the hot water boost is working very well and the information on the day to day working of the system provided by SolarEdge is excellent. Post installation Ben has readily answered the odd query that I have had. To sum up therefore I would say that the whole experience with So Go Solar has been first class and I would recommend them for complete solar panel installations without hesitation.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 16/02/2024 , work completed 11/11/2020
Excellent work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Ben and team from Sogo on a number of occaions in the last few years. Firstly he and his team completely rewired the solar and batery electrical installation after the original installer did it incorrectly. Ben has also helped us move the battery and also changed a faulty manufacturer inverter under warranty. He is very knowledegable, gets the work done promptly and is always very determined to get to the solution when the often wayward tech isn't always playing ball. Good relatonships with the manufacturers which is key. Strongly recommended. Prices always sensible and reasonable.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 06/02/2024 , work completed 17/05/2023
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contracted So Go Solar to remove and reinstall our solar panels (which they had installed in the first place) so that we could carry out roof works. Felt very looked after throughout thanks to excellent communication from Ben and Sue. They understood our scheduling constraints and helped us to coordinate with roofers and bird-proofing installers smoothly. Richard and Alex who carried out the work were very friendly and take pride in their work. I'm very happy with the work and would recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/01/2024 , work completed 18/12/2023
Professional installation of solar system with battery
Contacted Sogo Solar back in July 2021. Following a site visit and a quote I requested references which were provided. Installation was conducted in April 2023 to full satisfaction. Ben and team were well organised and accommodated special requests. Ben has been available following installation to answer any specific questions and assist with such items as applying for export of electricity to my energy provider.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/11/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
Top Solar Team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So Go Solar fitted a Zappi car charger, my roof solar system (18 panels & inverter) an Eddi and a Solar edge 10 KWH Battery. The planning was first class Ben came out for a site visit in advance and discussed the project at length answering all of our questions and gave us a master class in the terms and terminology. The installation was carried out by a first class team of professionals each with their own tasks and skillsets. They were happy to explain as they went along and take input from a hovering client. Upon completion the operation of the system was explained and it has worked without hic-cup ever since. Ben reappeared a few days later to confirm that we were happy. I would highly recommend this team to anyone that asks.
Customer in Posted on 10/11/2023 , work completed 31/08/2022
Happy customers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose So Go solar as they were a Which recommended trader and we were glad we did. Ben’s advice right from the start was thorough and easy to understand so we were happy that the components we chose were exactly what we needed to meet our needs. Now that the system has been running for a few weeks it actually exceeds our expectations and we can power our house day & night and charge our EV car, with the integrated battery very little power is drawn from the grid. We even export excess electricity and get paid by Octopus for it ! The So Go team were all cheerful and highly skilled and we have ended up with a neat installation that we are very happy to show friends and neighbors. They deal with all the paperwork and liaison with the electric company / authorities in the background which is a bonus in itself ! and not to be forgotten. Ben drives a fully electric van so he is committed to a low carbon electric future for sure. We highly recommend So Go Solar.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 29/10/2023 , work completed 01/09/2023
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team are very friendly, knowledgeable, efficient and professional. They went above and beyond to get us set up with solar power and a battery, and Ben checked back in with us after to make sure everything was up and running smoothly. We highly recommend so go solar!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/06/2023 , work completed 24/05/2023
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and the team did a great job. Well informed, great advice, great price and the installation was perfect. His team can install EV points, solar panels and battery storage. I've already endorsed SoGoSolar to friends and neighbours. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/05/2023 , work completed 16/05/2023
Expert advice, courteous installers.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben’s expertise was very important to help us choose the right panels, particularly with our less than ideal roof configuration. Whilst the energy crisis meant waiting a year, once our installation was scheduled, it all went very smoothly, and all the team were very courteous, and even went the extra mile by cleaning gutters and moving existing cracked tiles! The SolarEdge is App is excellent, and helped identify a faulty Optimiser, which was quickly replaced, but be warned of becoming addicted to the App! I also recommend asking about bird proofing, as the pigeons only took a day to identify a new warm place to nest!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/05/2023 , work completed 14/03/2023
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A true test of a company is how they respond when things don't go to plan. We first contacted Ben in February 2021 to provide solar panels for our new build. At that time we hadn't started the build. Ben provided a quote which they honoured even though installation wasn't completed until Sept 2022. During the build, Ben attended meetings with the builders and roofers to plan and co-ordinate installation. The first problem was the roof fittings, without any fuss or charges Ben changed these quickly. Several months passed while the build took shape and Ben came back to complete the installation. Unfortunately one of the panels was not generating electricity and Ben returned to trouble shoot. To resolve the problem access to the roof was required but at this point the scaffold had been removed. So Go at their cost erected scaffold, changed the faulty component and we were up and running. So although this was not a trouble free installation, they way Ben and his team responded was exceptional, a lesser company could have thrown up all sorts of excuses and delay tactics but Ben just resolved the problem. I would highly recommend So Go Solar.
Adrian in Surrey Posted on 10/02/2023 , work completed 22/09/2022
Solar panels and Tesla battery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our neighbour recommended Go Solar. We met Ben while he was doing his installation. It was wonderful to find Ben. He is an enthusiast, knowledgeable, patient and actually does the work. We had previously contacted people who were consultants and were not going to do the installation. Ben gave clear and comprehensible advice which we then asked him to action. We are very happy with the work and the operation of the solar panels and the Tesla battery.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/02/2023 , work completed 14/12/2022
A neat and efficient installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team did a great job. Some panels were set into the pitched roof and look great, the rest are hidden on the flat roof. They all work well, the SolarEdge app is great, and I am looking forward to some serious generation when spring and summer arrive. This is the third property So Go Solar have fitted solar for me, they are keenly priced and workmanship, communication and backup is excellent. I would thoroughly recommend the company.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 05/12/2022 , work completed 28/11/2022
No fuss, no mess, no surprises
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy - Ben talked us through everything from beginning to end, made several treks out beyond his normal range to measure up and fit, and did the work quickly and efficiently, leaving no mess and no surprises. Our new 6kW system with inverter, battery and zappi eV charger is all up and running well.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 04/06/2022 , work completed 19/05/2022
Fast, efficient response to problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After 7 years of flawless usage of our solar panels installed by Ben and his team, certain components failed on a couple of panels (I have 13) and were replaced within a few days. All issues were resolved quickly and efficiently. Whilst waiting for the installation the rest of the system still functioned well. Stressless, quickly sorted, highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/05/2022 , work completed 20/05/2022
reliable advice, excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What swung it for me: During the selling process Sogosolar actually advised me against buying extras like a battery until they had monitored the performance of the system for a while. Other sellers wanted to sell me extra kit from the word go. The installation was expert, advice was clear and the product is good. I am looking forward to seeing how effective the system is when I touch base with Ben in six months time.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/05/2022 , work completed 20/04/2022
Knowledgeable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My dealings with Ben were very straightforward. He answered all the questions I had, was extremely knowledgeable and professional, and delivered exactly what he promised. The installation process was easy and painless (for me) and Ben and his team were hard-working, courteous and interesting. They really know their stuff and are committed to the solar cause, not just in it for the short term. The app is a great source of information, showing how the panels are doing - I have 8 and was 23% energy independent two days after installation, in the middle of January! It also shows electricity usage, which has encouraged me to make savings by eg switching things off at source, rather than leaving them on standby. I’m altogether absolutely delighted and would recommend SoGo Solar without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/01/2022 , work completed 14/01/2022
Excellent solar panel installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted a number of companies when looking for someone to install solar panels. Many didn't come back to me and several of those that did didn't seem to know much about the products. Ben and his team responded very quickly and were very knowledgeable about the different products available and what might work for our needs. They put together a report outlining the options, costs and likely returns which enabled us to decide which option was best. We ended up with REC solar panels on the roof, a SolarEdge inverter in the cupboard and a Zappi EV charger on the side of the house and the plan is to add a battery now that we can see how much we export. Ben was very helpful in showing us how to set up the app that allows us to monitor the importing, generating, consumption and exporting of electricity. Overall an excellent experience and we are very happy with the outcome.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 17/01/2022 , work completed 29/10/2021
Installation of Solar Panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SoGoSolar (SGS) responded quickly to my initial enquiry. After an initial visit a comprehensive quote with technical details was provided and, after a useful discussion, the specification was changed to increase output. The work was carried out shortly afterwards in one day by a very competent team and Ben Saunders then visited us to explain the installed items and the monitoring app. Subsequently, within a few days, after being satisfied the system was working correctly, a full set on insurance, compliance and technical documents were delivered. I recommend SGS very highly.
Robin in Greater London Posted on 05/10/2021 , work completed 23/08/2021
Great Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed 8 panels and inverter, plus all infrastructure in readiness for future addition of further set of panels, battery and car charger. Very patient as we worked out what the future-proofed solution should look like. Really pleased with the end result - quality product and installation!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/08/2021 , work completed 23/07/2021
Solar Panel Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So Go Solar installed solar panels on our roof successfully. The only company to visit when quoting. They were clean, punctual & on price; came back to sort out a very minor glitch.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/06/2021 , work completed 20/10/2009
Excellent Company who cares about their customers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a solar install by Sogo Solar, with an iBoost immersion heater divertor, and they were fantastic. Ben knew the technical details of the various brands and made suggestions to make sure we got value for money (many others would try to sell as much as possible). During installation, Ben, having noticed a number of broken tiles on the roof (these were already broken and not broken by them), went out and purchased several tiles and replaced them at his own cost without any request from myself. Installation was very smooth, clean and tidy, and the panels look great on the roof. We had one issue where we had a tripping breaker, and Sogo Solar came out and resolved this straight away. Excellent company who cares about their customers!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/05/2021 , work completed 09/03/2021
Solar panel and Tesla Powerwall installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sogo Solar fitted panels in June and a Powerwall in September (there's a good VAT reason to do them separately as Ben advised). One of the panels became defective (it was noticed by Ben remotely on his App) and he came back with minimum fuss to fix it. Ben doesn't try to oversell - he just believes he is making a difference to our planet (he is). I have no idea how cost competitive he is (hence a cautious 4 stars) as my initial quotes were 2 years old by the time I made a decision to proceed. I chose Ben because I liked him and the way he went about things - and I have no regrets doing so.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 24/11/2020 , work completed 15/09/2020
Solar panels installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Ben on the recommendation of a friend who had come across Ben - in his own search for a PV contractor - but had not used him in the end because he had already committed to another contractor. From the start I found Ben to be trustworthy, straight talking and informative. His quote was not the cheapest I received but i decided to go with Ben because he came across as sincere, the price difference was not big and i just felt i could really trust him. He did not disappoint. The installation of 23 PV panels, with inverter and Eddi for the immersion boiler etc. all went smoothly. I found Ben and his team both friendly and efficient and they got on with the job with minimal fuss. Ben kept me informed every step of the way. And everything (including wiring etc.) has ben neat and tidy. I would highly recommend Ben.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 23/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
Tesla Battery and EV charging
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SogoSolar installed a Tesla Powerwall and Zappi EV charging point to work with my existing solar panel installation. Ben carried out the initial survey and explained the options available to get the solution that I wanted.The work was carried out on time and on budget by Ben and his team. There were a couple of problems that cropped up during the installation but these were solved efficiently and the system works much better than I had anticipated. I am very happy with the work and would give SogoSolar my highest recommendation.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 12/10/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Honest and reliable
I did not actually use Ben Saunders' services, but I would like to recommend him because of his expertise and honesty. He examined the roof of our Victorian house and made some measurements, and advised me against installing solar panels because of the excessive shade from the house next door; he also pointed out that any maintenance would be expensive because a tall scaffolding would be required. He could easily have tried to sell his services anyway (though a meter is installed that shows energy generated), but he did not do that and gave me some good advice. Ben was recommended by neighbours on the site Nextdoor, who had been happy with his work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/10/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having no idea about what to do regarding installing solar I contacted 4 companies but found Ben to be the most informative, honest and competitive. The system has just been Installed and we are confident we made a great choice.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/09/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
Once again, great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So Go Solar are very professional and reliable. They do a good job and do it when they say they're going to do it. I'd certainly recommend them.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 29/07/2020
Great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had problems with a previous battery, which was removed, and I decided to go for a Tesla Powerwall. The quote from SOGO was the most competitive and I trusted Ben and so I decided to go with SOGO. They took care of the application to the "electricity board". The installation was problem free taking a "long day". They even fitted a Harvi for my Zappi 2 charger without extra charge. They caused very little dust or disruption, The room was as clean when they finished as when they started. All in all, I am very happy with the work, the firm and the engineers I met. I can't recommend SOGO highly enough. I am also delighted with the Powerwall which is very slim and silent (no noisy fans). I am almost independent of the grid with my solar panels combined with the Powerwall providing 98% of the electricity I use.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/08/2020 , work completed 04/08/2020
Professional Company & Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sogo reinstalled our 10 solar panels after our new extension. Happy with the work and professionalism of the work force.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 22/07/2020
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our solar meter did not show any increase of watts despite the weather being sunny for several days. Ben came by to check out the system and realised the inverter had stopped working due to some electrical fault. It took him less than 30 minutes to have it going again. Ben is a pleasure to deal with and very reliable. Both times I used them he was very efficient and kept costs down
Jorg Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Residential solar PV and Tesla PowerWall battery installation. Ben was knowledgable, friendly and quoted a fair and competitive price that was the best of several quotes I received. The installation was done professionally and to a high standard. Subsequent manufacturer warranty issues (not the fault of SogoSolar) were dealt with efficiently and without fuss. Genuine company and highly recommended
Yaoyao Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted solar panels and data monitoring. Ben and his team were a pleasure to deal with. They were not pushy like other solar companies. Talked me through my options giving me clear advice and costings. They did the work promptly and efficiently. All of the team were very helpful, polite and professional.
Melanie Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A fantastic service from Ben and his Team. We have now had the panels for 2 years and on the odd occasion when we've needed a bit of technical advice Ben has always been available and provided great help. Would not hesitate to recommend SogoSolar to others thinking of having solar panels installed
Dave Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have foud them practical, obliging and reasonably priced. They do what they say they will and put themselves out to get round problems. They apply expertise in a specialised field to the benefit of the customer.
Grahame Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a solar PV panels fitted to seamlessly cover the entire of one side of the pitched roof on our detached garage. So-Go-Solar installed all the panels, inverter, battery, and associated electrical equipment to a very high quality, working extremely collaboratively to ensure a high quality finish on a slightly unusual roof design
Jeremy Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SoGo Solar designed and installed an inlaid 12 panel system on to new roof prior to it being dressed with tiles. The installation includes battery storage and connection back to the grid. The company has been efficient and co-operative around work scheduling within the overall extensive building works that have been undertaken on our home.
Steve Posted on 10/06/2020 , work completed (undated)