We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Southgate & Culham Ltd

Profile thumb all vans
4.9

79 Reviews

About

We are a family run business with a strong ethos on Customer Service. We not only provide our customers with an excellent standard of work but also take pride in trying to save them money wherever we can.

We are also very proud to be a Diamond Worcester Accredited Installer. Worcester have yet again been awarded Which? Best Buy on their Gas Boilers and now also on their Oil Boilers.

Why choose a Diamond Worcester Installer? Simple, Worcester are very careful who they Accredit and further more being a Diamond installer we can give you the maximum Manufacturer's Guarantee offered on the boilers we supply and install.

Being both OFTEC and Gas Safe Registered we are qualified to install Oil, Natural Gas and LPG Boilers. We are also qualified to install Unvented Cylinders, holding the G3 Qualification.

Give us a call, we are always happy to help.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler installation
  • Heating contractors

    • Oil fired heating equipment
    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • More Services

    • oil fired boiler installation service and maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
79 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Great to find a local plumber who can be relied on
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having found Southgate and Culham's name on the Weissman website I left a message on their answering machine. I was rung back within 30 minutes and was able to arrange a boiler service within 2 weeks. I had been somewhat concerned due to the Covid situation but the service was carried to our complete satisfaction and in a safe manner. In view of this, we went ahead with a toilet fitting which we had been putting of for nearly 12 months. Again the work was carried out in a friendly, competent manner and I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 27/03/2021 , work completed 09/02/2021
Reliable and professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Southgate and Culham have just fitted a new gas boiler for CH and water. We have used them since moving to this area 10 years ago and they have consistently provided a reliable and competitively priced service for the several jobs we have had done. They provide a very professional service through experienced engineers and support staff. I recommend in full confidence.
Customer in Essex Posted on 27/03/2021 , work completed 23/03/2021
Recommendation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Southgate & Culham Ltd installed my gas boiler in 2012 and since then have annually serviced the boiler. They are always punctual, friendly, knowledgeable, and considerate. They are also easy to contact by telephone or email.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 25/03/2021 , work completed 25/03/2021
Boiler efficiently serviced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin arrived on time and completed the boiler service with his customary efficiency. We discussed other work to the heating system to be undertaken at a later date. A quotation for this work arrived very soon after and we have agreed to go ahead.
Donald in Suffolk Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 08/03/2021
New External Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had way too many quotes from various suppliers (my mistake!) offering different solutions for replacement of our leaking boiler. Didn't think an external boiler would be within our budget and was told by one supplier it couldn't be done! Southgate and Culham explained everything in plain English and came across as honest and trustworthy people so they got the job. Great work, a tidy installation and we've never been warmer, plus the hot water tank finally fills up properly and has not run out once, so we are well pleased. Definitely recommend and they will be getting the service work too.
Chris in Suffolk Posted on 12/03/2021 , work completed 03/02/2021
The trader replied (on 12/03/2021)
Thank you for your lovely review. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Any problems or questions please do not hesitate to call us, always happy to be of assistance.
Really poor job, twice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used S&C for years but their recent performance has been very disappointing. Replaced a shower valve and left the new unit stuck on with silicone sealant - explanation was that " all showers are 155mm spacing" This is untrue as I found many online. Fixed this "at their expense" after initially arguing it was the best that could be done. Replaced a hot water cylinder - left us overnight with no hot water (immersion set to minimum) and shower not connected as this "would take too long" ( were going to two breakdowns) plus a leaking joint on the hot water pipe. Returned the next day and left us with no hot water from the central heating. This they claimed was an existing fault, even though it was working fine before. A separate electrician called on Monday and fixed the issue as a defective "quick connector" had been used. Earth bonding had been removed whilst replacing stop cock. S&C claim this was already disconnected even though I have a photo taken before their work. It is dangerous to not connect earth bonding. This repaired by the electrician on Monday. Have used them for 4 boiler replacements plus other work in the past, but having to argue to get a resolution is draining. A simple apology and fixing the issue would be fine - not excuses like "it was already like that" "it's the best that could be done as no smaller valves exist" "it will take too long to connect the shower" The faults were fixed at their expense, which is only to be expected and not a virtue.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 05/03/2021 , work completed 21/01/2021
The trader replied (on 10/03/2021)
Thank you for your comments. As you state, we have installed four boilers for you without complaint, so must have been installed to an excellent standard; otherwise, you wouldn’t have come back to us. The two issues you made us aware of with our latest work have been corrected swiftly and without argument, as you confirm, which is the true measure of a company.
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another fantastic installation by S &C. Reliable, efficient and easy to contact which is all you need when you are having problems with heating etc.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 23/02/2021 , work completed 13/02/2021
The trader replied (on 10/03/2021)
Thank you for your lovely comments and for your continued custom. Very happy to be of service to you.
Quick call out response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hi, After calling the company that installed my boiler with no response for two days. I found this company, Southgate & Culham Ltd from the Worcester-Bosch website. My central heating system broke down and I call the company and Nikki who answered the call was nice and friendly. The engineer would be with you, within an hour. When I told her what the problem was I had with the system, she knew what the fault was and check that the engineer had the part on board before sending him out, which was great, because the the engineer was able to change the broken part and resolved the problem satisfactorily. He was very helpful and the job was done in 30 minutes. Great work well done. Yes I would recommend this company. Mr H Sutherland
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 17/02/2021 , work completed 11/02/2021
The trader replied (on 10/03/2021)
Thank you for your lovely comments and for your custom. Very happy to be of service to you.
Excellent, Efficient Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitting new Worcester/bosch oil fired boiler. Fitting was completed on time and in budget. I would thoroughly recommend Southgate & Cullum. The fitters were incredibly efficient and the job was done with little disruption and completed in a day. The old boiler and pipework taken away as agreed. After sales service very good and boiler has been running perfectly. I would highly recommend for future projects.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 15/02/2021 , work completed 26/01/2021
The trader replied (on 10/03/2021)
Thank you for your lovely comments and for your continued custom. Very happy to be of service to you.
Reliable and timely
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you again for your prompt and professional gas boiler service and safety inspection. Nikki is always quick to respond and communicates clearly and precisely. Highly recommend Southgate and Culham, again!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 05/02/2021
The trader replied (on 10/03/2021)
Thank you for your lovely comments and for your continued custom. Very happy to be of service to you.