We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Southgate & Culham Ltd

Profile thumb all vans
4.9

82 Reviews

About

We are a family run business with a strong ethos on Customer Service. We not only provide our customers with an excellent standard of work but also take pride in trying to save them money wherever we can.

We are also very proud to be a Diamond Worcester Accredited Installer. Worcester have yet again been awarded Which? Best Buy on their Gas Boilers and now also on their Oil Boilers.

Why choose a Diamond Worcester Installer? Simple, Worcester are very careful who they Accredit and further more being a Diamond installer we can give you the maximum Manufacturer's Guarantee offered on the boilers we supply and install.

Being both OFTEC and Gas Safe Registered we are qualified to install Oil, Natural Gas and LPG Boilers. We are also qualified to install Unvented Cylinders, holding the G3 Qualification.

Give us a call, we are always happy to help.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler installation
  • Heating contractors

    • Oil fired heating equipment
    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • More Services

    • oil fired boiler installation service and maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
82 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Professional and quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New Boiler installed and working within a day. Great service, friendly team, very efficient and highly recommend.
Sue in Suffolk Posted on 26/11/2021 , work completed 26/11/2021
The very best tradespeople
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were recommended by a friend and their advice and professionalism lived up to and exceeded my expectation. Initial advice; honest and expert. Quotation; comprehensive and very fair. Punctuality; turned up on site on the day originally agreed. Workmanship; extremely professional and tidy. Handing over; comprehensive and understandable. To add to this, they were polite, friendly and respectful of our property. An absolute delight to have them undertaking the work for us. They will always get my recommendation.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 10/11/2021
Central heating system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company installed my central heating system and a new boiler in 2012 and have serviced it ever since. They have always been efficient, reliable and a pleasure to welcome into my house. On a couple of semi emergency callouts they were able to respond quickly which is a great comfort to me. I cannot speak highly enough of them and if your first contact with them is Nikki your experience will be reassuring and leave you confident of the good standard of service you can expect to receive.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 26/10/2021 , work completed 08/04/2012
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Heat exchanger failed on our 13-yer old boiler and so we were without hot water and heating. Within two days of diagnosing the problem, Kevin had stripped out the old and fitted a new boiler. Brilliant!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 22/10/2021 , work completed 21/10/2021
Boiler service - Southgate & Culham
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler service carried out by Nikki. Covid precautions discussed and agreed. Comprehensive check of installation including oil supply carried out including combustion efficiency test. Courteous throughout - will use again.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 14/10/2021 , work completed 11/10/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Southgate & Culham Ltd installed my boiler in 2019 and have also serviced it every year. A small problem occurred and they arrived at my property within 40 mins of my call. Came back next day to check everything was fine. Excellent service and would recommend the company. Fast efficient and friendly.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 14/10/2021 , work completed 13/10/2021
Totally Incompetent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler developed a problem which meant it wasn’t switching on and because it's a combi boiler we had no heating or hot water. I phoned S&C and told them the two fault codes. I was told the electrodes needed replacing and they would order them. The electrodes arrived a few days later and the engineer installed them. The boiler came on and he left, and 30 minutes later it stopped working again. I phoned S&C who washed their hands of the problem and advised me to contact the boilers manufacturer (Vaillant). A Vaillant engineer came out a few days later. He checked the fault codes, stored in memory on the boiler, and quickly diagnosed the problem as a faulty gas valve. The gas valve was changed and the boiler has worked perfectly ever since. Subsequently, we received an invoice from S&C for £102. I emailed them and suggested that as they had not fixed the boiler they should consider giving us a discount. This they refused to do. They deny I told them both fault codes over the phone. I know I told them both codes but I can’t prove it. Even so, the two fault codes were displayed on the boilers screen and they are stored in memory and can easily be accessed by a competent engineer. The S&C engineer who attended failed to diagnose the problem. He just wanted to change the part and get out fast. I don't think the S&C engineer knew how to fault the boiler and they should not have taken the job. Needless to say, I will NEVER use them again.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 03/09/2021 , work completed 13/05/2021
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 08/09/2021)
I am sorry you were not satisfied with our service. According to the notes on your file you notified us of a F28 Fault, an Electrode Fault. No other Fault Code was reported, if it had the necessary parts would have been ordered. Our company ethos is to cause the least amount of expense to customers, wherever possible. We ordered the Electrodes for the engineer’s appointment. The engineer installed them, and the boiler fired up with no other Fault Code showing. Boilers will continue to go to a fault code if there is another part that has failed. Checks and tests were done and the boiler was left in working order. When we received a phone call from you a few hours later we were told the boiler had failed. The engineer was contacted and he explained the fan was noisy and the diverter valve slow to change over. Both parts are expensive to replace and we advised it would be cheaper for you to get a one-off call out with Valiant. Also, as the boiler is a combination, and you were without heating and hot water, Valiant would be able to resolve the problem quicker, they carry parts, we would have to visit, diagnose and then order the parts, with the current crisis this might have delayed fixing and could potentially have cost you more than using Valiant. We did not discount our invoice as we did repair the original fault. Unfortunately, as with cars, when a boiler gets old replacing one part can lead to another part failing. Again, we apologise you were not satisfied.
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Routine annual service carried out on Worcester Greenstar Danesmoor 18/25 oil fired boiler. Work was done to agreed schedule and budget. Company staff arrived promptly, carried out the work in full compliance with Covid19 protocol and left the site clean and tidy. I have been using this company for many years now and have always been pleased with their cheerful prompt response when occasional faults happen.
Paul in Suffolk Posted on 30/07/2021 , work completed 02/07/2021
Great friendly service, great job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Southgate and Culham replaced our aging oil boiler with a Worcester Bosch unit and did an excellent job from start to finish. Throughout the two day job they were friendly, efficient and courteous. We decided to redesign our utility room where the new boiler was going to go and Kevin was really helpful with pipework routing to make the new room easy to tile and paint, nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely use again for servicing and future works. Would recommend highly.
Nicholas in Suffolk Posted on 16/07/2021 , work completed 16/07/2021
Boiler repair and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Southgate a very helpful and efficient company, and would recommend them to anyone, and a pleasure to deal with and were spot on diagnosing our problem immediately. Easy a 5-star company
Chris and Denise in Suffolk Posted on 30/06/2021 , work completed 29/06/2021