We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Southgate & Culham Ltd

Profile thumb all vans

5.0

57 Reviews

About

We are a family run business with a strong ethos on Customer Service. We not only provide our customers with an excellent standard of work but also take pride in trying to save them money wherever we can.

We are also very proud to be a Diamond Worcester Accredited Installer. Worcester have yet again been awarded Which? Best Buy on their Gas Boilers and now also on their Oil Boilers.

Why choose a Diamond Worcester Installer? Simple, Worcester are very careful who they Accredit and further more being a Diamond installer we can give you the maximum Manufacturer's Guarantee offered on the boilers we supply and install.

Being both OFTEC and Gas Safe Registered we are qualified to install Oil, Natural Gas and LPG Boilers. We are also qualified to install Unvented Cylinders, holding the G3 Qualification.

Give us a call, we are always happy to help.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler installation
  • Heating contractors

    • Oil fired heating equipment
    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • More Services

    • oil fired boiler installation service and maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
57 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Reliable and communicative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys are what anybody would want in a tradesman. Office correspondence is clear and friendly and they respond to questions and answer phone calls and emails. They try hard to fit you in quickly when your system is down. They know their stuff but are ready to give advice as well as make repairs. I can do some of my own work and they are happy to work with me on it. They are flat out but give you time. Excellent rating from me.
Marcus in Suffolk Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 23/12/2020
Outstanding 5 Star Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The first paragraph on the profile page of Southgate & Culham on Which? Trusted Traders is spot on! Finally, a Plumbing & Heating company with Morals, Scruples & Principles who provide a 5 Star Impeccable Service with Excellent Customer Care & Excellent Customer Service Wayne arrived early to carry out:- Two Radiator changes along with two TRV/Lockshield sets Six TRV/Lockshield set changes Tighten Mono Mixer Tap on Kitchen Sink Wayne removed his shoes upon arrival (which is always a good sign that a Tradesman respects your home) & placed covers under the Radiators to be removed. He worked incredibly fast & was clean & tidy throughout the house & even hoovered! Wayne was friendly, very polite & courteous with excellent people skills. He is very knowledgable & answered all my questions I asked him to look at & carry out additional works if he had time:- a) Hallway Radiator change b) Replace & Redirect Condensate Pipe to new Combi Boiler (Worcester Bosch Greenstar 30i) which had been fitted by another company a week earlier c) Check Boiler Flue in Loft & Roof Nothing was too much trouble & he carried out the additional checks & work very quickly. I have used numerous Plumbing & Heating companies throughout the UK & Abroad for Hospitality Venues & Homes & Wayne is one of the best Plumbing & Heating Engineers I have ever seen. He is an excellent asset & a superb ambassador for Southgate & Culham. Can thoroughly recommend this 5 Star company for any Plumbing & Heating work
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 18/12/2020
A Breath of Fresh Air for Plumbing and Heating Services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a Which member, I found Southgate & Culham on the Which? Trusted Trader website. After reading the reviews & then viewing their website, I first phoned the company on 12.11.20 for a quote to carry out:- 2 x Radiator / TRV / Lockshield changes and 6 x TRV / Lockshield changes. Spoke to a very friendly helpful lady called Nikki, who gave me a verbal quote straight away. This was confirmed by email the next day & received by post two days later. I accepted the quote, which was very competitive & thorough. Then had further communication by phone & email. The work was initially booked for 10.12.20 which unfortunately I had to change to 18.12.20. I also added some additional work. Nothing was too much trouble for Nikki, who is very professional & knowledgeable. She is very polite & courteous with excellent customer care & people skills. Having dealt with numerous Plumbing & Heating companies over the years, both professionally & for my own home use, throughout the UK, I have to say dealing with Southgate & Culham is a very welcome breath of fresh air!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
Thermostatic Radiator valve replacement.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two out of eight valves had developed faults after 30-35 years service resulting in rhythmic rumblings, clatter and a cold radiator. I requested renewal of them all. This needed total drain down followed by recharging with corrosion inhibitor. While conducting a full heat test, Kevin discovered that a heating zone valve was also faulty causing failure of the boiler to start. This had manifested as an untraceable intermittent fault some weeks earlier, so I was very pleased to have this fixed at the same time. The work was carried out to the highest standard on the agreed date and the cost fell within expected parameters. Kevin was very careful to observe Pandemic protocol throughout the visit and left the house clean and tidy. We kept out of the way in the one room without thermostatic valves, kept warm with a portable electric heater! There has been no further problems with radiators following the visit. I have used this company for many years and always found them to be very helpful and efficient, I would not hesitate to provide a recommendation.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 02/12/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Southgate & Culham were selected to install our gas central heating based on good reviews and a competitive price. Right from our first phone conversation with Nikki in the office, to our site inspection and finally, installation, we have received prompt and courteous service. Kevin and Wayne carried out the installation, they answered our questions and queries and were polite. They arrived on time, on the day arranged and made sure our water supply was only off for the minimal time. After the installation we had a small query, and our email was promptly responded to. We would definitely recommend Southgate and Culham they are competent and efficient.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 02/12/2020 , work completed 24/11/2020
Going the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Make no mistake, this is what good looks like. Kevin and his team go the extra mile and don't rest until the problem is fixed. Having slowly been losing hot water pressure and temperature, a detailed investigation yielded a couple of issues, and a new pressurized cylinder was installed as an emergency job in a matter of days. They have previously also replaced our oil boiler. The onsite team are approachable and friendly, as is Nikki who works in the office.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 30/11/2020 , work completed 27/11/2020
Brilliant service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Faced with an emergency, we were very grateful to have discovered such an efficient, knowledgeable, competent and helpful company. We were very satisfied with all aspects of their service and highly recommend Southgate & Culham, Stowmarket. We had literally just completed the purchase of our new home and had no experience at all of oil fired central heating. Almost immediately we encountered three problems: a cold house; a Honeywell CM927 wireless thermostat control with a dead, blank screen - inoperable despite changing batteries; and overwhelming fumes in the room where the Worcester Heatslave II 25/32 combi boiler was located. Panic! Scrambling through the papers left by previous owners, and checking the service records at the back of the manual, we saw Southgate & Culham had carried out the original installation and the annual servicing until recent years. A phone call later and we were reassured that, at the very least, things would be made safe that day, and if at all possible, fixed too. The lovely engineer arrived, and worked quietly and competently - explaining exactly what the faults were, and what he was doing to fix them (including the annual service). At the end, the system was throughly tested, its operation throughly explained - including how to check the oil tank level, and what to do in any future emergency. He even helped us navigate an unfamiliar control for some under-floor electric heating. Brilliant service!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 17/11/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
Reliable and excellent service with helpful and knowledgeable advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second Annual Boiler Service undertaken exactly on time and to budget. Engineer was polite, helpful and offered informative advice and information during and following completion of work carried out. Will definitely use again for any future plumbing / heating requirements. Highly recommended.
Nigel in Suffolk Posted on 13/11/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
Gas boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, professional service, with plenty of helpful advice. Always delivered at a competitive price. First class!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 06/11/2020 , work completed 04/11/2020
Annual Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Meeting booked for service. Arrival on time and work carried out quickly and efficiently. Very COVID aware process. Would highly recommend this business. We have used them for over 10 years and have always been fully satisfied.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 29/10/2020 , work completed 28/10/2020