We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Steve Franklin & Sons Ltd

Logo on white
Profile thumb franklin double glazing steyning sussex

4.9

105 Reviews

About

We are a local family run business established in 1994 with many years of experience installing quality home improvements. Our main specialities are windows, doors, conservatories, soffits and fascias, but we can accommodate most property home improvements. We also offer a repair service for older installations of double glazing.

Although based in Steyning, we work anywhere within the Sussex area.

Steve Franklin & Sons take care to install only quality, high performance products and provide our customers with superior levels of customer service. This means that we do not need to use high pressure sales and do very little advertising, as much of our business comes through recommendation and repeat business.

We are:

Members of FENSA (since its launch in 2002) and abide by Part L of building regulations.
Members of West Sussex County Council Trading Standards 'Buy with Confidence' scheme.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Double glazing installation
    • Timber windows
    • Sash windows
    • Replacement window services and repairs
  • Doors

    • Bi-fold doors
    • Timber doors
    • Patio doors
  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory maintenance
    • Conservatory repairs
    • Hardwood conservatories and orangeries
  • Double glazing

Customer reviews

4.9
105 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 bay windows were replaced at the front of our terraced house. This was carried out on dates agreed & according to budget. Care was taken to carry out work to a very high standard. Steve Franklin & his son were friendly & helpful. They also made every effort to keep rooms dust free. If any problems or questions arise, we were told not to hesitate to call them.
Mary, East Sussex04/09/2019
You are lucky if the Franklins can fit your project into their busy schedule!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They replaced all my many doors and windows efficiently and tidily. Good planning and good service. Very impressive. Steve likes Jaffa Cakes and Digestive biscuits and one lump of sugar in his tea! His son Richard is less demanding. Chris thinks he is more handsome than brother Richard. All three are very professional and very friendly. The fabulous Franklins. You will not find a better team to install your doors and windows.
Customer in West Sussex26/08/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Date set - turned up at time agreed. Completed job in a professional manner, very pleasant. Work done on one of the hottest days of the year but they remained happy all day.
Velma, West Sussex23/07/2019
Trustworthy and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It took a while for our order to be achieved but a clear explanation was provided. 'The guys' were fantastic. Our old windows were in a terrible state and badly bodged, so the job took longer than predicted in order to obtain a fantastic finish. They worked with my builder to finalise some finishing details and co-ordinate brickwork with window fitting. Great job. Great guys.
Hannah, West Sussex20/05/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent replacement of gaskets on conservatory windows by Steve's sons - so pleased with result - fantastic job. Many thanks.
Customer in West Sussex17/04/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can see why Franklin is a Trusted Trader would recommend anytime. Work delivered on time as promised at the quoted price to what we believe is a very good standard. This was below the quote received from the other two recommended companies in the area.
Customer in West Sussex21/03/2019
Outstanding service and quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Steve Franklin & Sons Ltd for all our glazing requirements over the last 20 years and we are always impressed with their skill and level of service. Being a family owned business they take more care and concern over the work than more corporate outfits from the initial survey to the actual fitting. We have never felt they had anything other than an interest in doing a first class job for a fair price. The most recent job involved replacing an old casement window with a new one and we are very pleased with the result. The installation took place whilst work on refurbishing the bathroom was taking place at the same time and they worked very well with the plumbers on site even lending them a sealant gun when theirs had broken! I have no hesitation in recommending SFS Ltd and would commend them to anybody looking for a trustworthy and reliable installer.
Customer in West Sussex26/02/2019
Very professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nothing is too much trouble for this family run business. They have replaced a number of windows for me over the last few years. Would highly recommend.
Customer in West Sussex19/01/2019
Replace windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tidy, efficient and good workmanship.
David, Upper Beeding19/12/2018
Prompt, helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Double glazing - covered wall to increase window size in 1 room, changed position of windows in another, installed new windows and door in kitchen. Stood out because they made good suggestions and brought full samples of product, excellent work.
Hilary, West Sussex30/11/2018
Helpful and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted French doors for me in a friendly and proficient manner. All went well, no snags, all mess was cleared away and everything left tidy. Would thoroughly recommend and I would certainly use again. The doors look great and are a very good quality!
Raymond, West Sussex21/11/2018
Nice people to do business with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A proper family business. Nothing is too much trouble. They replaced a window and a door in our kitchen. An excellent job well done.
Paul M26/10/2018
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Franklin & Sons are a family business that take care to do an excellent job for you. The two lads were friendly, explained what they were doing and did an excellent job of replacing our windows. They went to great lengths to keep any dirt & disturbance to a minimum and made sure they cleaned up after they finished. A first class trader.
James, West Sussex15/10/2018
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve's sons took out patio doors and put in new ones. They came at 8.30 am as arranged and completed by 17.10 pm. Excellent clean work. A very good price.Previously we had a new front door and side window which was also an excellent job. We will recommend them to other people in the future.
Laurie west sussex03/10/2018
Great work in Conservation area
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve gave valued and constructive advice about replacing a dormer window on our house in a conservation area. The subsequent work was carried out to a very high standard by Richard and Chris, involving some work which had not, and could not have, been foreseen. Throughout, we were kept advised of progress and the extra repair work. The result is a window that enhances the visual appearance of the house, whilst at the same time improving insulation. Highly recommend Steve Franklin & Sons.
ColinM13/08/2018
Perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Front door & side panel. Exactly what was chosen. After removing old door several problems became apparent, all professionally overcome. Well finished off and tidy.
John C, West Sussex01/08/2018
They care about whhat the customer wants.....
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They replaced our original, bay, lounge sash windows with new double glazed ones, to match the upstairs ones they had done for us previously...... Their work was of a very high standard, keeping me and my wife involved at all stages of their work, letting us know what they're doing and why.....and giving us options and choices of finishes to most aspects of the work.... They also made very little mess and what they did make, they tiddied up! Really, really pleased with them and the new windows and would not hesitate to recommend these chaps.
ColinL04/06/2018
Excellent job, very friendly guys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Definitely no complaints.
William, West Sussex22/05/2018
Efficient, Reliable, Very Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A small family firm, excellent work, recommend them highly - planning to use them for more work.
Dorothy, West Sussex03/04/2018
Excellent local installer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Steve and his sons following a recommendation by a neighbour. The job included removal and replacement of a large (4m x 2m) window and a similar sized sliding door unit. it's not an easy site to work on with limited access but they worked efficiently and quickly and got the whole job completed in two days. They kept everything tidy and the new aluminium units looks wonderful. They were always courteous and polite and willing to explain what they were doing as the new units were assembled and fitted. It was a pleasure having them working on my home and I would recommend them to anyone.
Patrick20/03/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean. Very good work. Would recommend to others.
Adrian, West Sussex25/02/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Excellent job
Doreen, West Sussex08/02/2018
FIRST CLASS INSTALLERS
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service from start to finish. Richard and Chris worked tirelessly replacing 7 windows in my property to a very high standard with special attention to every detail. They were friendly and courteous at all times and a pleasure to deal with. I am delighted with my smart new windows and would highly recommend this family business to anyone.
Azzopardi21/11/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, professional & would highly recommend them.
Pippa, West Sussex10/10/2017
Love it!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve's sons fitted our new door for us. They were polite and efficient, leaving everything spotless. It looks so smart and we feel so safe. Everything was brilliant, from Steve coming to quote, his wife discussing options and his sons delivering and fitting the product. Thank you!
Amanda, West Sussex06/10/2017
Good at windows, ordering just OK.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, tidy and polite. Good job done of replacing windows in entire (old) house. Efficient clear up each day. Incorrect windows order supplied and fitted. Resolution reached swiftly and cordially.
Stephanie, West Sussex01/10/2017
Tricky job done well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was to remove old, broken PVC bifold doors and replace with new aluminium doors. The removal was time consuming & difficult but the whole job was done in a long today to a high standard. Very pleased.
Nicola, West Sussex26/09/2017
Knowledgeable and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Competitive quote, knowledgeable survey, prompt installation polite and tidy workmen. Only negative was the wait between booking and installation.
Rebecca, West Sussex01/09/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Could not fault.
Stephen, West Sussex15/08/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional and nice to see a uniform. Very polite and clean covered all the floor. Will use again.
Joe, Surrey07/08/2017
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Richard complete another 2 windows for me. As always they made a brilliant job of it. Steve and his sons replaced all windows and doors at my property and I would highly recommend them! Great products and a real great service. Very trustworthy especially for a woman on her own.
Sandra, West Sussex24/07/2017
Brilliant job & prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time - clean - very good job of fitting patio door.
Robert, West Sussex11/07/2017
Very excited
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very, very pleased with new door, great product knowledge delivered beyond my expectations!! Door locks fab, great friendly service. Trusted them which is a big thing.
Tracey, West Sussex27/04/2017
Excellent service all round.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Family business that works hard! Great service and quality they certainly go that extra mile. Also never seems to be as expensive as you think!
Maxine, West Sussex10/04/2017
Absolutely outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chose this company from 6 others. Major job replacing 33 windows & doors. Really outstanding job. Competitive, professional, polite.
Nick, West Sussex06/04/2017
Quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Franklin fitted two replacement windows. His service was of high quality and he was courteous & friendly.
Peter, West Sussex06/04/2017
Replaced windows, excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Franklin & Sons efficiently replaced three windows in our home. Clean, efficient, excellent service. Would recommend highly.
Pamela, West Sussex30/03/2017
Excellent service, highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, quick and efficient service. Work was done swiftly, workman were friendly and the finish is brilliant. Highly recommend.
Hannah, West Sussex02/03/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They came on time in fact a bit earlier & did a very good job. Cleaned up when they finished & both very polite & friendly.
Joy, West Sussex31/01/2017
Fantastic job. Thank you!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve, Richard and Chris worked incredibly hard in appalling cold weather. They cleared up everyday and the new windows are excellent. Cannot fault them.
Catherine, Surrey03/01/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional team, prompt & kept us informed about the work throughout the day, very tidy & prompt time as informed. Would recommend.
Dean, West Sussex28/11/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job, prompt and professional, tidied up completely after each phase.
Anthony, West Sussex24/11/2016
An extremely professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service from start to finish was completed earlier than expected whilst to a high standard. All trades people were professional, approachable and tidy, would highly recommend this service to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer23/11/2016
Great work, great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class tradesmen, great work & excellent value as always.
Andy, West Sussex04/11/2016
Fantastic job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not an easy window to replace, but it was done to perfection. Really pleased.
Jacqueline, West Sussex26/10/2016
Beyond the call of duty
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of new wooden windows to very old house. As Steve Franklin removed one of the old windows the brick surrounds started to collapse. He & his Son repaired the brick work diligently and without a fuss, beyond their remit. The installation of all of the windows was meticulous, efficient, clean & tidy, adding some unexpected touches. More than delighted with the company & a very smart high quality product. Thank you Steve & Son and for making good to what could have been a serious problem. Our new windows have way improved the look of the house.
Kerry, West Sussex12/09/2016
Good Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced French windows where the frame had rotted with PVC-u doors and frame. Arrived early and got straght on with the job. Great guys who did a super job and left everything clean and tidy. Very satisfied.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer11/09/2016
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team were, efficient, friendly, fast and attentive to detail. You wouldn't have known they'd been afterwards due to how clean they left the areas & well other than brand new lovely windows!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer07/09/2016
Good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job of replacing windows carried out efficiently & on time. All rubbish was cleared from site. Good to see the windows finished off tidily around the frames instead of a thick bead & mastic.
Richard, East Sussex23/08/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service - 1st class D/G window. Fitted. Clean, tidy & professional.
John, West Sussex27/07/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Courteous and pleasant from start to finish. Delighted with the result.
Diana, West Sussex27/07/2016
High standard of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very efficient professional job carried out from measurements to delivery and installation. Punctual and tidy work.
J, East Sussex25/07/2016
Replaced two wooden windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Replaced two wooden windows. Extremely tidy courteous with great attention to detail. Would recommend.
Pamela, West Sussex21/07/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship at a good price as always.
Graham, West Sussex12/05/2016
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good job, clean tidy workmen.
Anne, West Sussex10/05/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replace glass in six existing double glazed units. Friendly, courteous, very competent
Alistair, West Sussex06/05/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An old conservatory replaced. Problems overcome and I am very happy with the final results.
Norma, West Sussex20/04/2016
Polite, efficient, friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted a new shop front window, after I found my window cracked. Rung Frankling and they came out within a few hours they made it safe, ordered the glaze and gave me a quote in a matter of hours. The job was finished in a week (waiting time for other glazers). I asked them to come early so as to not disturb my shop running. They did arrive at 8AM, very grateful and they even swept up the path out of the front of my shop.
Matthew, West Sussex11/04/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, very conscientious, highly recommended
Brian, West Sussex29/03/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job carried out was for replacement bathroom window and new front door and frame as Steve has now replaced all our windows over the years. We are more than happy with his work and service. Overall we are very happy with Steve and both his son's work.
Roy, West Sussex22/03/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely fantastic work and great product fitted. Really prompt time keeping and tidy work. Price was that quoted and no increase.
Diane, West Sussex15/03/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of 2 sets of patio doors. Work was carried out efficiently and special attention was taken to the finish, where new doors were not quite the same as old ones. Excellent work by 2 very personable workmen.
Susan, West Sussex14/03/2016
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Steve Franklin to replace our old double glazing units with new ones. Steve has a very good reputation & after seeing the work that he has completed, it is fully justified. Prompt timekeeping, courteous & thoroughly professional. Would have no hesitation in recommending Steve to anyone needing double glazing services.
Ian, West Sussex15/02/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job
Keith, West Sussex06/01/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work undertaken at property in Steyning. Excellent service.
M, East Sussex08/12/2015
Excellent all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Perfect job.
John, West Sussex18/11/2015
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good job done in spite of difficulties due to location.
John, West Sussex11/11/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job well done as usual, prompt, professional & excellent craftsmanship.
Frank, West Sussex10/11/2015
Professional service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Steve Franklin & Sons for our windows as we were more than happy with previous work entrusted to them. They offer a quick and professional service and are more than happy to spend time making sure we received the right units for the job within our budget. Customer satisfaction is high on their agenda. Would certainly use again
Peter, West Sussex06/11/2015
Very pleased. Recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was very helpful, listening to our wishes and spending time suggesting solutions and options. Installations went smoothly. Team friendly and polite. We would definitely recommend.
W, West Sussex04/11/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were very polite and professional and did a great job.
Andrew, East Sussex29/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased, polite, clean and tidy. Would recommend to anyone.
Peter, West Sussex19/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Experienced and knowledgeable. Courteous and careful whilst working. Good value for money with quality service and products. Tidy and considerate.
Mark, West Sussex16/10/2015
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial visit to completion, it was excellent.
Sue, West Sussex28/09/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Courteous, on time, ultra tidy & a sensible price. Good quality product.
Shan, West Sussex25/09/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thought the price was very reasonable. The men worked extremely hard and had a pleasant manner. I'm very pleased with my new conservatory.
Penny, East Sussex15/09/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly family firm. Clear on cost, no hard sell. Very reasonable high quality windows put in by friendly courteous and highly professional grafters. Would highly recommend. We will definitely use them again for further work.
Hayley, West Sussex14/08/2015
Efficient and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced windows/doors on two fourth-floor flat rooms. Arrived on time, job completed on schedule. Pleasant and efficient, and would not hesitate to use again.
Peter, West Sussex03/08/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unhesitatingly recommended.
L, West Sussex16/07/2015
Efficient and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly and efficient staff, work looks good and tidy finish. Had all windows and doors replaced, truth will be if they last!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/07/2015
As good as one could hope for.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A perfect job, from inception to completion. A fine professional team!
Andrew, West Sussex22/06/2015
A professional team.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve on the Which Traders website. We have had fantastic service throughout and are very pleased with the work carried out. Steve and his sons worked conscientiously, cleanly and on time. Would definitely recommend their firm.
Sue, West Sussex04/06/2015
Very happy with quality of work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Disappointed in delay in starting work after confirming order.
Steve, Hampshire01/06/2015
Great job, polite & tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional workmanship, courteous and did a great job and good clean up on completion.
Sylvia, West Sussex11/05/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found this company online and chose them based on general customer reviews to replace a front door and frame. From initial visit, through quoting, ordering and installation they have been extremely helpful, friendly and professional. The work was carried out on 28/04/15 to a very high standard of workmanship. The quality and finish is excellent. I thoroughly recommend this company.
Graham, West Sussex28/04/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top glass
Derrick, West Sussex21/04/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used the same firm in the past. Work carried out to a high standard.
Christopher, West Sussex02/04/2015
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful in selecting the right style of windows for our property and gave a competitive quote first time. Excellent workmanship and attention to detail. Highly recommended.
Tanya, West Sussex25/03/2015
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very satisfied in every way.
D, West Sussex17/03/2015
Quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Accurate quotation, tidy, helpful, polite workman.
Roy, Kent10/03/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve & Sons ordered & fitted a new composite front door & porch for us. They were punctual, reliable, personable & professional. The completed job is excellent.
Neil, West Sussex09/03/2015
Highly professiona, courteous & value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company provide a professional courteous & value for money service, you get what you pay for! They have a superb still set & work is completed to an extremely high standard. I thoroughly recommend them.
Craig, West Sussex03/03/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hard workers, professional, excellent quality windows, good value. Couldn't be more pleased.
Sylvia, West Sussex17/02/2015
Fantastic, professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No pressure. Kept you informed at every stage and cleared up after doing the work! Fantastic!
Colin, East Sussex12/02/2015
Delighted with work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team were a pleasure to deal with - friendly & polite. Very pleased with the appearance & quality.
Jean, West Sussex03/02/2015
Excellent - as ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have now used firm for a dozen contracts on a variety of properties. He is always now my preferred supplier.
Robert, West Sussex15/01/2015
Expectations exceeded
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initial consultation for an 8 sided Victorian conservatory was very thorough. The work was carried out in a clean, prompt and professional manner and a very attentive follow up to minor snags. A cheaper quotation was available but the end result exceeds expectation and is excellent value for the price.
George, Surrey14/12/2014
Tidy, professional. Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not pushing for sale but very informative initial meetings. Good attention to detail with finish. Polite and punctual. Tidy workers. Would recommend
Lucy, East Sussex01/09/2014
Professional installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A professional but friendly company which undertook a good quality installation.
Nathan, West Sussex01/09/2014
good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard & Tom worked hard and made a very neat job of installing five new windows and replacing rotten gable facias.
Peter, West Sussex28/08/2014
All new doors and windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was extremely well informed and very helpful throughout the process from initial quote to fitting. The fitting team were good workers and friendly. They were slightly let down by the speed of their response to questions via email; however this is a result of them being a small family run business that is extremely well regarded and thus busy. Very pleased with the end result!
Robert, West Sussex08/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is an excellent family firm. They did the work efficiently and were friendly and courteous. They really take a pride in what they do and want to ensure that the customer is happy with the job. I would definitely recommend them.
zzzz5830/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
How wonderful to find a family firm like this that offer good value for high quality products fitted by skilled workmen. I found them efficient and very considerate. After all the horror stories that you read about double glazing companys it was a pleasure to do buisness with Steve Franklin and Sons. I highly recomend them with full confidence.
CSHan24/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for various aspects of house maintenance over fifteen years; soffits & facias, front door, windows. At all times I have found them helpful in identifying my needs, always aware of budgetery concerns. Timing and workmanship excellent.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very Reliable and an absolute craftsman. Very neat final finish.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer27/05/2009