We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Stephen Monk

Profile thumb portrait of steve
4.9

35 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I am an experienced, conscientious and friendly domestic electrician based in South London. I am fully Part-P certified by NICEIC which means all my work is guaranteed and insured. I am proficient in fault finding, testing, alterations and I am able to issue Electrical Installation Condition Reports (formally known as Periodic Inspection Reports). Customer satisfaction is very important to me and I am proud of the amount of repeat business I have as well as the "word of mouth" recommendations that have brought me many new customers over the years.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
  • More Services

    • fault finding
    • earth bonding
    • security lighting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Very Professional + Trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is extremely thorough and knowledgeable. We'd had several people quote for the work, and although Steve wasn't the cheapest, he came across as the most professional and trustworthy electrician we spoke to and it was a no-brainer to go ahead with him. The work took longer than expected but due to the unusual layout of our flat's previous wiring than his methods. Despite that he certainly let us off a significant amount of money for final bill he probably should have been owed as there was no way he could have known the job would take three times as long as when he originally quoted. We are really happy with the finished work and he'll be the first person we contact should we need other jobs around the flat.
Anthony Donoghue Posted on 23/10/2016 , work completed 23/10/2016
Spot-on service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was very professional, clearly explaining the various options to address my cooker installation conundrum and their pros and cons. He was punctual, polite, and good value. Will be using his services again soon.
2011-07-24 00:01:33.777 Posted on 21/11/2015 , work completed 21/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job at our house installing an external security light; fitting new lights in the cellar and loft; and replacing a badly setup unit in our conservatory. On time, on price, and a very personal service. Would definitely recommend him.
Adam H Posted on 27/11/2014 , work completed 27/11/2014
The most professional person ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Monk Electrical is in the top 3 for me, of all the traders I've ever worked with. Steve monk found solutions, explained issues clearly, developed clear plans when there were unexpected challenges. So, so, so Competent & professional!!!
Hugo, London Posted on 12/08/2014 , work completed 12/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good value service from someone who sets the standards in customer care. He repaired two sockets and I felt assured that he did what was required with great care and he was concerned to give me the best value
ina1 Posted on 19/02/2014 , work completed 19/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Monk fitted two security lights for us and sorted out our skittish smoke alarms, which had foxed another electrician. Steve worked a very long day to ensure everything was completed properly and we were very pleased with the results. He was tidy, punctual and careful to explain everything so we could understand it. We thought he was good value, too, and would highly recommend him.
LizJon Posted on 06/05/2013 , work completed 06/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I just want to echo what other people have said about Stephen. After having two opinions which seemed to me very overpriced, I contacted Stephen who came promptly when he said he would, he made sure he found the problems, explained what it was, repaired it and was very good value. I strongly recommend him.
vhartland Posted on 03/03/2013 , work completed 03/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has done three jobs for us now and i will be using him again in the future. I am an architect and so very particular about how things are done. Steve has been very reliable, trustworthy, prompt, efficient and had carried out work to a very high standard. He also patiently answers all my daft questions and is happy to discuss alternatives. if you want your electrical work done properly and by the book, then i can highly recommend Steve.
megclover Posted on 27/02/2013 , work completed 27/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just called Steve in again - as always very thorough, very reliable, honest and professional. All the jobs were fiddly and more complicated than expected but he tackled them with patience and thoroughness. I really can recommend him highly. Good value too!
Monsaraz Posted on 28/01/2013 , work completed 28/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen replaced recessed ceiling lights in our kitchen and repaired and installed several other lights and sockets a few months ago. He was very thorough and clear about the choices we had for each part of the job, and scrupulous about safety. When the lights started flickering in the kitchen, he came back and replaced them without any problem. Stephen always arrived on time, was thorough and very honest. The price was very reasonable. Highly recommended and we will definitely call him again if we need any more electrical work done.
Nathalie1717 Posted on 17/12/2012 , work completed 17/12/2012