We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Stephen Monk

Profile thumb portrait of steve
4.9

35 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I am an experienced, conscientious and friendly domestic electrician based in South London. I am fully Part-P certified by NICEIC which means all my work is guaranteed and insured. I am proficient in fault finding, testing, alterations and I am able to issue Electrical Installation Condition Reports (formally known as Periodic Inspection Reports). Customer satisfaction is very important to me and I am proud of the amount of repeat business I have as well as the "word of mouth" recommendations that have brought me many new customers over the years.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
  • More Services

    • fault finding
    • earth bonding
    • security lighting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
EICR certificate and replacement of consumer unit.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was a great find through Which. He arrived promptly, replaced my consumer unit, completed some electrical bonding and provided the property with an EICR certificate. Prior to completing the work, Steve gave me various options taking the time to carefully walk me through each one. The work was finished neatly, timely and under budget. I’d happily recommend him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/02/2021 , work completed 05/02/2021
Good for small jobs too
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen is a straightforward and easy tradesman to deal with, and is methodical in his work. He sorted out a few simple electrical repairs in our house with no fuss, was considerate, and the invoice price was very reasonable.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2019 , work completed 13/12/2019
Good work by an excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve arrived promptly and carried out an exterior lighting installation and several internal repairs at reasonable cost. He is very thorough and worked to the highest standards.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/11/2019 , work completed 13/11/2019
Supply and connection of a video door phone
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Steve's skill as an electrician before and have always found him to be extremely good at his work and an extremely nice person to have in the house.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 26/10/2019
Steven did a wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steven did a wonderful job rectifying the faulty wiring in our shower room and was most helpful during this time. Would definitely recommend him. Margaret
Morris-Marsham Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Highly recommended - friendly, polite, efficient, tidy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to make contact - returned call as promised. Reviewed tasks required, then quoted reasonable price and swiftly arranged day/time to undertake the work. Arrived when agreed, and worked efficiently to complete the job, tidying up everything afterwards. Really very happy with whole experience.
Blue-eyed Boy Posted on 28/04/2018 , work completed 28/04/2018
Excellent work and extremely efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I came across Stephen Monk's page on Which after searching for qualified electricians on google. I have had previous experience of very high prices from other tradesmen (electricians) for very small jobs (excessive labour charges) Stephen completed the work i needed very quickly and efficiently. installing lights in my kitchen and living room and configuring the required wiring. Very efficient and excellent service at very reasonable price would highly recommend to other customers and would definitely book him again for any future work
pnicholls007 Posted on 14/02/2018 , work completed 14/02/2018
Incredibly helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen came to fix some sockets that had stopped working. It was made more complicated by some previous work that had not been done to regulations and involved cutting into walls to find a junction box. He repaired the damage expertly, and left everything very tidy. He also identified two other issues and resolved these smoothly, explaining everything very clearly as he went along. A truly excellent electrician.
Turner Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
Fantastic - Big Recommendation!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Stephen Monk having found him on this website after a series of very bad experiences with a variety of tradesmen in the past. Including another electrician (not on this site) who failed to solve the current problem despite charging me a great deal and leaving my wiring in a potentially dangerous condition. These previous experiences had resulted in me simply avoiding having work done due to the stress! He answered my initial call immediately and has worked to solve a complex electrical problem with great charm, honesty, integrity, and reliability. He explains everything clearly and listens to what you want and makes suggestions. I have complete trust in his ability and will certainly use his company when I next need electrical work done. I wholeheartedly recommend him and am sure you will not be disappointed. Note: I have no links or connection to him or his company other than a hugely satisfied customer.
Gay Sutherland Posted on 03/08/2017 , work completed 03/08/2017
Excellent Electrician
Steve has worked for me on several projects and I have always been extremely satisfied. Recently he has done a thorough inspection of my Edwardian 6 bedroom house. His report was thorough and he explained all the necessary work needed and left me with a list of recommendations. I have recommended him to my parents where he fitted security lights and dealt with several smaller jobs. They were delighted and trust him completely. I know Steve will do a good job and have no reservations about recommending him. Professional, trustworthy and honest.
Angela Posted on 12/06/2017 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very Professional + Trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is extremely thorough and knowledgeable. We'd had several people quote for the work, and although Steve wasn't the cheapest, he came across as the most professional and trustworthy electrician we spoke to and it was a no-brainer to go ahead with him. The work took longer than expected but due to the unusual layout of our flat's previous wiring than his methods. Despite that he certainly let us off a significant amount of money for final bill he probably should have been owed as there was no way he could have known the job would take three times as long as when he originally quoted. We are really happy with the finished work and he'll be the first person we contact should we need other jobs around the flat.
Anthony Donoghue Posted on 23/10/2016 , work completed 23/10/2016
Spot-on service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was very professional, clearly explaining the various options to address my cooker installation conundrum and their pros and cons. He was punctual, polite, and good value. Will be using his services again soon.
2011-07-24 00:01:33.777 Posted on 21/11/2015 , work completed 21/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job at our house installing an external security light; fitting new lights in the cellar and loft; and replacing a badly setup unit in our conservatory. On time, on price, and a very personal service. Would definitely recommend him.
Adam H Posted on 27/11/2014 , work completed 27/11/2014
The most professional person ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Monk Electrical is in the top 3 for me, of all the traders I've ever worked with. Steve monk found solutions, explained issues clearly, developed clear plans when there were unexpected challenges. So, so, so Competent & professional!!!
Hugo, London Posted on 12/08/2014 , work completed 12/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good value service from someone who sets the standards in customer care. He repaired two sockets and I felt assured that he did what was required with great care and he was concerned to give me the best value
ina1 Posted on 19/02/2014 , work completed 19/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Monk fitted two security lights for us and sorted out our skittish smoke alarms, which had foxed another electrician. Steve worked a very long day to ensure everything was completed properly and we were very pleased with the results. He was tidy, punctual and careful to explain everything so we could understand it. We thought he was good value, too, and would highly recommend him.
LizJon Posted on 06/05/2013 , work completed 06/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I just want to echo what other people have said about Stephen. After having two opinions which seemed to me very overpriced, I contacted Stephen who came promptly when he said he would, he made sure he found the problems, explained what it was, repaired it and was very good value. I strongly recommend him.
vhartland Posted on 03/03/2013 , work completed 03/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has done three jobs for us now and i will be using him again in the future. I am an architect and so very particular about how things are done. Steve has been very reliable, trustworthy, prompt, efficient and had carried out work to a very high standard. He also patiently answers all my daft questions and is happy to discuss alternatives. if you want your electrical work done properly and by the book, then i can highly recommend Steve.
megclover Posted on 27/02/2013 , work completed 27/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just called Steve in again - as always very thorough, very reliable, honest and professional. All the jobs were fiddly and more complicated than expected but he tackled them with patience and thoroughness. I really can recommend him highly. Good value too!
Monsaraz Posted on 28/01/2013 , work completed 28/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen replaced recessed ceiling lights in our kitchen and repaired and installed several other lights and sockets a few months ago. He was very thorough and clear about the choices we had for each part of the job, and scrupulous about safety. When the lights started flickering in the kitchen, he came back and replaced them without any problem. Stephen always arrived on time, was thorough and very honest. The price was very reasonable. Highly recommended and we will definitely call him again if we need any more electrical work done.
Nathalie1717 Posted on 17/12/2012 , work completed 17/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have now called Stephen Monk four times. Each time, he has been efficient, courteous, friendly, patient, clear, thorough - and very reasonable. The first time was to repair two blown dimmer switches and repair some other things. æThe second was to replace one of the new dimmer switches, which was done free of charge. æThe third time was to install some outdoor garden lights. æThe fourth was to upgrade the electrics in the kitchen for a new gas and electric oven. æWe decided not to do so, because of the complications he discovered, and got an all-gas oven instead. æSince we decided not to go ahead with the work, he offered not to charge us for his time, on the understanding that we would have him do the new electrical work when we got the kitchen refitted, a bargain we were very happy to agree to.
69Arthur700 Posted on 11/12/2012 , work completed 11/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve through this website and the work that he did in our flat confirmed all the good things said about him here. He pretty much overhauled our antiquated electrical system and installed a new consumer unit. This involved mains bonding to gas and water, replacing back boxes in lounge, fixing extended spur in ring, adding new socket in kitchen, etc. He charges a fair rate and is not just highly competent but also extremely thorough, conscientious, polite, and meticulous in his attention to detail. He also explains what he is doing and why, and seems to enjoy the challenge of problem-solving. Will recommend him to anyone.
manishita Posted on 07/09/2012 , work completed 07/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Steve to come and fit some 250watt rated Varilight trailing-edge dimmers for LED down lighters in two bedrooms and also a track light in an upper landing. He explained the tasks in detail and completed the work on time. After he left we had problems with flickering of the LED lights and we have recently discovered that the dimmers fitted were 400 watts and were incompatible with the circuit. We did raise the issue with him at the time, although there was no follow-up.
davidsw16 Posted on 08/03/2012 , work completed 08/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 jobs carried out. First, a like-for-like hob replacement in our flat rented to tenants. At first I thought he might be a "tut, tut, you haven't got one of those" type of suppliers but turned out he just wanted to keep me informed of findings. Explained upgrade to fuse board that could be an advantage. Quick and extremely good value for money. Second, fault finding in our own home where we had lost 80% of the downstairs lights. I feel he enjoyed this challenge more but was still as quick and informative as he went. Problem solved, we now have light again. I then asked him to install some fiddly ceiling fittings which, although extremely time consuming, he still did willingly. Couldn't recommend more highly.
scantscant Posted on 02/09/2011 , work completed 02/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, thorough, seeks advice when in doubt, reliable. He 'took over' our Victorian conversion from a lazy big mouth - no problems, and fairly priced.
Karsten Posted on 10/01/2011 , work completed 10/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Monk is excellent value for a quality job. We had to install an induction hob to replace the old gas hob and replace the electric oven into our existing old kitchen units. Nothing phased him even though my measurements were right there were unexpected problems. There were re-sizing issues which meant lowering the supports for the oven to be able fit the induction hob and leave enough clearance for air circulation between it and the oven. He also had to make the size of the hole bigger for the induction hob to slot into. These issues had to be sorted out BEFORE he could do the straightforward electrical job. The suppliers of the hob and oven wanted £70 each to do the job but would have refused to do anything other than connecting the wires and slotting into the existing spaces anything more demanding and they would have walked away or charged much more. Stephen did everything even if the hard stuff was nothing to do with an electrician and more to do with the kitchen units. He was patient, polite, explained everything well and always tried to ensure that he could complete the work professionally without incurring additional cost or complication to us. Whenever we asked a question concerning this job or other future work, he explained in terms that we could understand and fully answered the question, explaining the options, complications, issues and costs for parts and labour so we always knew what we were going to do and how much it would cost first. And then he did what he said he would do and charged exactly what he estimated. Stephen is a decent, honest, good value and professional electrician and so much more. I will always call him first whenever we have an electricians job knowing that he can probably also do the associated ancilliary or peripheral jobs as well, all to a high standard. I cannot recommend him enough. For peace of mind , a high quality good value job, Stephen Monk is an excellent solution. (Much cheaper than some other quotes we received).
crg0 Posted on 04/12/2010 , work completed 04/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve via this site, and can confirm all the good things everyone has said about him. He is thorough, reliable, competent, tidy, pleasant and punctual - everything you are looking for in fact! He did lots of those 'small jobs' for us, which in fact are not small at all and quite fiddly - but he just got on with it.
Monsaraz Posted on 30/11/2010 , work completed 30/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was personable and helpful. He explained what he was doing and why he was doing it. Extremely methodical. Probably not the fastest operator but one that will find the right solution that will last. And lets face it that's what you want. He charges a fair rate so all in all I couldn't recommend him more.
wonderhorse Posted on 26/10/2010 , work completed 26/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve to come and look at the wiring in my new flat. He was really nice, conscientious, hard-working and polite. He explained (and showed me) the things that he felt needed some work. I found his rates to be very reasonable and competitive, so much so, I gave him a bonus - how often does that happen with traders?! I'd definitely use Steve again and recommend him to anyone.
melissawareham Posted on 30/09/2010 , work completed 30/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen is very friendly and courteous person. Most of all he is very reliable and trust worthy. He knows his job well. He installed a new consumer unit and made couple of light fittings for me. I am very happy and satisfied with his work. No doubt I will recommend to anyone.
khodgson Posted on 22/09/2010 , work completed 22/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
steve is great, the 1st decent tradesman i have found and would recommend him thoroughly, he was punctual, very professional and didn't rip me off. a very fair price which was carried out and finished on time without any problems. do not hesitate to call him
ryanmeli Posted on 14/09/2010 , work completed 14/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve rewired our kitchen and we found him to be an excellent worker, very conscientious and thorough. He was very friendly and explained exactly what needed to be done and the cost was reasonable. Will definitely recommend him to any of my friends.
lee++ Posted on 05/05/2010 , work completed 05/05/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen fixed my lighting fixture problem very quickly and fixed another problem which he found. Very good service and very reasonable cost. I recommend him highly.
Carolyn Serter Posted on 29/01/2010 , work completed 29/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was very nice and friendly and did a very good job on re-wiring most of our flat. His was not the smallest quote, but I went with him as he seemed very genuine and explained he had a higher day-rate as he worked long hours. I was very happy with the work and would use him again in the future
alicedickinson Posted on 17/01/2010 , work completed 17/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend Stephen to anyone. He is reliable, prompt, generous with his time and expertise and extremely genuine and friendly. By sheer coincidence, the evening Stephen had worked at our flat, a local substation suffered a fault and we had a brief power cut. Not knowing the problem, we called Stephen (who was an hour away) and he turned straight round and came back to check whether there was anything he could do. It was, in fact, an incident affecting lots of people locally and simply a matter of waiting for the substation to fix the problem, but Stephen seemed only too pleased to have come back to help and refused any additional payment. A really honest, friendly and reliable electrician.
A. Thompson Posted on 16/11/2009 , work completed 16/11/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good service
Lauretta Posted on 09/09/2009 , work completed 09/09/2009