We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Sussex Sash

Profile thumb facebook profile
4.9

30 Reviews

About

At Sussex Sash we know that what you need is a team of experts who will provide you with fully functioning, restored & refurbished efficient window, we also offer restoration & draught proofing to original external doors.

Excellence and attention to detail extends beyond the windows and doors we work on, into everything we do.

Sussex Sash are family run & covers all areas of Surrey, Kent, East & West Sussex & Isle of Wight please call 01424 541004 or 01983 472769 to arrange an appointment.

When working on your windows, firstly we focus on window renovation and secondly on upgrading the performance of your sash windows. Existing wooden windows can be restored back to their original condition; rotten timber is removed, the timber is repaired using high performance, two-part resin leaving a lasting unnoticeable repair once the window is painted.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Sash windows
    • Window consultants
    • Timber windows
    • Replacement window services and repairs
  • Doors

    • Timber doors
  • Double glazing

  • More Services

    • restoration
    • refurbishment
    • replacement
    • double glazed

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
30 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Lounge windows repair.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having initially found it difficult to arrange a date for the work to be carried out (this was compounded by us being away on holiday) when the work was done, it was done very well and exceeded our expectation. They went the extra mile and carried out some work that we hadn't realised needed to be done, only charging us for materials and not labour for this additional work. I would certainly use this company again and have no hesitation in recommending this firm to others.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 16/09/2021 , work completed 15/09/2021
Looking good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work done on the refurbishment of sash window and French doors, on a listed building. Great communication from start to finish, on time and cleaned up at the end of the day. No more rattles or draughts.
Chris in Isle of Wight Posted on 26/08/2021 , work completed 17/08/2021
Great Service - Reliable and Quality Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Darren after I was let down by another sash window business. Darren agreed to take a look the same day I called in order to quote for the work. Having called me with his price, which was very reasonable, he offered to do the work there and then. Part of the job required more work than he'd anticipated but Darren kept to the price agreed :) I have already recommended Darren to other flat owners in our listed building as I was impressed by his professionalism as well as the quality of his work.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 17/08/2021 , work completed 09/08/2021
Beautiful double-glazed sash windows, in-keeping with the age of my property
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb. I cannot fault the standard of service. They were professional, on time, on budget and kept me informed all the way through the job with texts, videos and photos. I now have beautiful fully double glazed sash windows and repaired windowsills that are so in- keeping with my Victorian house they look perfect! I had been anxious to retain the character of the old sash windows and not wanted ugly upvc replacements and I have not been disappointed. I am very impressed and would recommend this company.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 07/07/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
Very helpful team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and Tom on site and Barry were all very helpful and professional. We are well pleased to have our sash windows working properly. The work was carried out very quickly and there was no mess. We would not hesitate to recommend them.
Francis in Isle of Wight Posted on 16/06/2021 , work completed 15/06/2021
Perfect Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and his team have just fitted two new sash windows and a pair of French doors for us, which are excellent. They have been extremely professional throughout the project, including installation.
John in Isle of Wight Posted on 04/05/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
Sash refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Spotted Darren and crew working in my road and impressed with quality of work so engaged Sussex Sash to refurbish 2 Georgian sashes in my grade 2 listed home. They fitted me into their busy schedule and completed the work to a high standard, courteously, tidily and at a reasonable price. Would highly recommend them as they really know their business and are very easy to deal with. I will be engaging them for further work as I refurbish the rest of the house.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 30/04/2021 , work completed 24/02/2021
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Sash was recommended to us. To date, they have refurbished 10 sash windows in our house and have just installed 2 new double glazed sash windows. As always they have been on time, have been considerate and have cleaned up any mess at the end of the day. If the job lasts more than one day they make sure that our property is safe. I will continue to use them should we need any further work done and am happy to recommend them to others.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 27/01/2021 , work completed 22/01/2021
Wonderful looking windows and terrific service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and his team replaced two of my large single-glazed sash windows with good-looking double-glazed windows in Accoya, retrofitting them into the existing boxes. All done quickly, efficiently and very tidily - great care was taken to properly cover carpets and a newly sanded and sealed floor and the team tidied and cleaned up at the end of each day. Darren had explained and costed all my options beforehand, inviting me to visit him on a nearby job (with owners' permission!) to see some examples of his work, and once I had made my choice was happy for me to change my mind on some of the fittings. He was throughout very easy and pleasant to deal with, responding quickly and clearly to any queries I had. The costs, which included stripping and decorating the boxes, were exactly as estimated despite replacing all the pulleys and extra work on repairing one of the boxes. And the windows look wonderful.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
Refurbishment of sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and the team at Sussex Sash did a terrific job of refurbishing our sash windows. The windows were in very poor condition, difficult to open and close. All the work was carried out from the inside, which was helpful as we are in a top floor flat. The work was meticulous, taking the windows out and stripping them back before repainting them. They also checked for any damage and rot, carrying out repairs where needed. The sashes were rehung with new cords and the weights were rebalanced. They also installed a draught proofing system into the windows, which is already proving itself. The finishing touch was made by adding chrome furniture to each window. The windows can now be opened and closed easily and look terrific. Sussex Sash also sourced and replaced the glass in our skylight which looks so much better than what we had. The team were always polite, friendly, on-time and made sure we were fully informed about what they were doing. The work, by its nature is messy, but again the team worked hard to be tidy and considerate. Although it may appear to be a costly undertaking, the work is worth every penny. In fact I would say excellent value for money. Also where extra work was required Darren was upfront about the costs right from the start. Overall a great job done by a great team.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 11/11/2020 , work completed 09/11/2020
Impressive craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had two large sash windows restored and repainted in a Victorian house by Sussex Sash and I am extremely happy with the result. One of the windows was in a terrible state but Darren was confident that it could be repaired and his father did an amazing job of restoring it. They were clear about pricing and cost and there were no surprises. The final result is absolutely fantastic and I have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 06/10/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
First Class Craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have recently moved into a property in St Lawrence, I am in the process of upgrading and replacing the propertys windows, with slimline aluminium double glazing: However one of my windows is a curved casement that opens onto sea views and was rotten, I was unable to find a firm on the island that would manufacture in Aluminium as the profile is curved. I did not want to go down the "chunky" UPVC look. I then saw Sussex Sash phoned and Darren came the same day to lookout the casement I had removed, he said that he would be able to re make the casement in Accoya hardwood, he was able to give me a price on the spot and took the old casement away. Darren was accurate with his timescale, what I have got back is a beautifully engineered and finished casement, primed and undercoated that is far better than the old window was even when new, he has improved it by adding a draft excluder and a drip grove. This new casement should now last for years, I am very pleased indeed with the finished product and would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 17/09/2020 , work completed 17/09/2020
Helpful, Hard-working & Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and his dad did a really excellent job of sympathetically re-rendering and strengthening my old crumbling stone wall, and moulding and adding a new coping stone to fill a gap on another. They were efficient, hard-working, and always polite - they also tidied up on completion of the work and were certainly not too expensive! I would have no hesitation in recommending Sussex Sash to anyone.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 11/08/2020 , work completed 11/08/2020
Highly recommend this company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend this company to anyone considering double glazing on a period property. We have a Victorian house built in 1850 and were very reluctant to have double glazing. However, after the 20 years of condensation problems on north facing windows we finally found the right company for the job. We viewed a Victorian property where they had replaced all the original sash windows and this gave us the confidence to proceed. Darren and his father are a great hardworking team and we have been impressed with every aspect of their business.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 20/06/2012
Replacement of four large sash windows in two separate rooms with new double-glazed sashes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a complex job very professionally executed. The location was a compact ground floor flat in a Victorian property with a frontage not far back from the pavement, and the work had to be undertaken when we were in full occupancy. It was complicated further by the fact that some of the old frames were in a very bad state. The work was also being carried out in the middle of the social distancing scenario brought about by the Coronavirus pandemic. Sussex Sash planned the work meticulously to ensure that we could carry on our daily lives with the minimum of disruption and that the flat was kept fully secure overnight. They kept us fully informed about the whole installation process and their reasons for carrying out particular procedures in a certain way. The work was finished on schedule, and the place was left spotless. As an added bonus, they were friendly and polite throughout We can heartily recommend Sussex Sash.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 23/07/2020 , work completed 10/07/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Sash refurbished and draft proofed the sliding sash windows, repaired the frames and sills and fitted a new book door to my mid-Victorian cottage. All done during the Coronavirus lockdown when we were away. They communicated progress regularly by photo and kept me informed of additional items and costs. I am very happy with the result.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/07/2020 , work completed 28/05/2020
The finest craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just brilliant craftsmanship in renovating two pairs of casement windows to make them wind- and rain-proof. Darren quickly identified the problems with the windows and produced a solution that was both highly effective and cost efficient. The work was carried out quickly and cleanly. I have no hesitation in recommending SS windows.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 07/07/2020 , work completed 07/07/2020
Outstanding service and work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Last summer I had 19 Edwardian sash windows renovated (7 in one window) by Sussex Sash and I am delighted with the result. I have now been through a very windy and wet winter and the sash windows were completely draft free and water proof. It took nearly 6 weeks and the amount of work that has gone in to it was incredible. It Is quite expensive but the results are amazing and the windows look and work as new. Definitely worth paying the bit extra to get a thorough job done. Having had several companies come round to quote on the work, this company were by far the most knowledgeable and also the most thorough. It is a small family business specializing only in sash windows. One of the big advantages was the fact they do the refurbishment and the painting. Many companies don’t want to the the painting as it’s very time consuming. Most of my windows were stripped back to bare wood and have three coats of paint on!! They can do all work on sash windows including renovations, repairs and wood sash replacements. I’m not on a commission!! I’m just delighted with the service from a company with whom I’d trusted such a large and expensive job with. I’ve said I’m happy for them to show my windows to any potential customers. I saw the house they had done prior to doing mine. Of course this is only my recommendation for what I had needed doing. You still have to do your own homework and research before you decide who to use. Rich
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 18/03/2020 , work completed 01/08/2019
Refurb of sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex sash came and refurbished our Victorian sash windows and did a great job. They were always on time and worked methodically and tidily making as little mess as they could. They were polite and communicated well regarding which rooms would be out of use when. They also fitted a new wooden back door and when we had a little trouble with it they came back straight away and put it right. We would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Kent Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 06/07/2019
Good work completed fast.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did work faster than originally stated & informative as work was being done. Some little extras done at no extra cost- in all very happy with quality of work done and that it was competed some time ahead of schedule. I would recommend to anyone asking me about any work done on sash windows.
David Posted on 27/06/2019 , work completed 26/06/2019
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came round and quoted for refurbishment to all five of my very large Georgian sash windows. Gave me a date to start the work, which he kept and finished on time too. Both he and his father Barry were real gentlemen and did a fantastic job. Windows are perfect, and no mess left behind. I have no hesitation in recommending Sussex Sash to all my friends and neighbours.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 22/06/2019 , work completed 20/06/2019
Couldn’t be more satisfied!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have very large original Victorian sash windows which haven’t been looked after for years so finally decided to have them fully refurbished if possible. Darren came over immediately to take a look, give us our options and quote accordingly. He clearly knew and had a passion for sash windows borne out by the outstanding result of the fully refurbished windows which now look like new, are fully functional and add character back to our property. Darren worked tirelessly and was keen to keep us up to date with progress along the way as well as any unforeseen issues which were minimal. The standard of finish, cleanliness of work, open communication and desire to please made our experience thoroughly enjoyable and there were no hidden surprises in the quote at the end which was equally refreshing. Thanks to Darren and his team for saving our windows and bringing them back to life for years to come!
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 08/06/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Outstandingly Satisfied with my Windows.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've recently had work completed on my wooden sash windows in my property in Ryde on the Isle of Wight. There's so many fantastic things to say about this company, their customer service is amazing and always keeping you informed of the ongoing work. The final product in which they provide is outstanding, words can't describe how overwhelmingly satisfied I am with the final completion of the work carried out. Overall if you need either restoration, repairs or replacement this is definitely the company to go with as you won't be disappointed with the final result.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 22/04/2019
Great work, very pleased with the results.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great work, very pleased with the results. Professional service provided, very approachable and took care to minimise the disruption caused by the work undertaken.
Customer in Kent Posted on 08/04/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SS restored and painted our front door and it looks beautiful. Darren and his team were hardworking, polite and made sure no mess was left behind. Would have no hesitation in recommending their services.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 04/04/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Draft proofing sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the job. We're incredibly accommodating with my requests and very pleasant to work with. Great customer service. Would recommend.
dhall39 Posted on 19/08/2016 , work completed 19/08/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job as specified
Michael, Buckinghamshire Posted on 17/09/2015 , work completed 17/09/2015
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt to come and quote. Work was carried out within timeframe, to a great standard. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Zoe, East Sussex Posted on 01/08/2015 , work completed 01/08/2015
Renovated 2 sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were very punctual came out to quote on a weekend which was great , they left the house tidy all together a great job
Nicola, Sussex Posted on 06/05/2015 , work completed 06/05/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did exactly what they said they would do! I'm really happy with the job they did and highly recommend them. The work was new sash windows.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/03/2015 , work completed 20/03/2015