Endorsed by Which?

Sussex Solar Ltd

5.0

78 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We are a family-owned, renewable energy company, established since 2004. We install solar PV panels, Tesla Powerwalls, heat pumps and solar thermal (hot water) systems. We also provide a comprehensive maintenance and repair service. Based in Horsham, West Sussex we are known for our technical expertise, high standards of workmanship and excellent customer service. We preserve our great reputation by never subcontracting our work to others and we keep our installations to a geographical area that we know we can support with ongoing service.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Air source heat pumps
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
  • Air conditioning contractors

  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • More Services

    • tesla powerwall
    • energy storage
    • solar pv
    • energy batteries

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
78 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Solar Panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar are a phenomenal, customer centred business and I wouldn't hesitate to use them again, nor to recommend them wholeheartedly. They not only communicated with us promptly and kept up informed throughout the process of having our solar panels fitted, but they advised us about the planning process with the local council and communicated with our roofers to ensure the entire build went smoothly. I can't recommend them highly enough, they are an incredibly caring family run business and were professional and polite at all times.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 15/02/2024 , work completed 10/02/2024
Impressive Work and Workers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted solar panels and a battery so got estimates and surveys from three local companies, all Which Trusted Traders. Sussex Solar was not the cheapest but I was impressed by the intelligent nature of my discussion with the boss on his survey visit and with all the other Which reviews like these. The work was commenced on the scheduled day by a team of four and despite the wet weather all outside work was completed on the first day, leaving one person to complete all indoor work on the second day. The workers were all friendly and responsive to queries as things were proceeding. Throughout, communications with the office were also friendly and efficient, so as a result my certificates and approvals from the power network were obtained quickly, enabling me to apply for an export tariff. The system is working just fine but I'm left thinking that if I need a response from the company it will be good.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 11/01/2024 , work completed 10/01/2024
Trustworthy and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the start they explained how to maximise the benefits of using our power wall and Eddie with our solar panels to keep bills to a minimum .Accompanied by friendly and professional installation and office staff you don’t need to look any further . Even my wife who was initially hesitant has now been converted.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 30/11/2023 , work completed 28/11/2023
Smooth solar panel installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the service provided by Sussex Solar. Time was taken to explain how the whole system would work. The office was very good at keeping us up to date with the schedule and minor changes to timings and very responsive to queries.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 20/10/2023 , work completed 23/10/2023
Further excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Sussex Solar for a number of years now since they installed a battery and took over the servicing of my system. They have always provided a first class, reliable and friendly service, and always been prepared to go the extra mile to solve a problem. I recently decided that I wanted to replace my ASHP which was proving unreliable and they did all the necessary work to establish the best model to work with my system and then installed it very efficiently. I take great comfort in knowing that I have them on my side and able to cope with any problem that my somewhat complicated system might throw up.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 14/09/2023 , work completed 06/09/2023
Expert installation of solar panels, battery and heat pumps
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted with the installation of solar panels, battery and heat pumps by Sussex Solar and I appreciated their flexibility over planning issues and being able to complete the project so swiftly after permission was granted. It was a pleasure to have their expert team in every nook and cranny of the house for two weeks and they left everything tidy and organised. The new plumbing for the heat pumps in the garage is a work of art and the wiring complements it all admirably. I have no hesitation in recommending Sussex Solar with their expertise in the installation of the latest renewable energy technology.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 07/09/2023 , work completed 23/08/2023
Solar panel and battery installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a solar panel and battery installation and after unsatisfactory quotes from 3 companies I bought Which? magazine. I wanted a knowledgeable local trader and found Sussex Solar via Which? I have been completely satisfied with Sussex Solar from the first visit. I understood the quotation and the work to be done and the potential benefits. Communication from start to finish was excellent and the work was completed on schedule and to budget. Sussex Solar is a family owned company with a professional team in every part of the company. The team are happy and they all wish for their customers to be happy too. I strongly recommend Sussex Solar for your Solar Panel, Heat Pump or Energy Advice requirements. Ted Tylee Horsham August 2023
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 30/08/2023 , work completed 25/08/2023
Solar Panel & Battery Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have been excellent. The initial survey was comprehensive and clear. They were open about the lead-times involved - it’s worth waiting for a quality job. The installation team were hard-working, competent and a pleasure to deal with, as are the office staff. They explained things clearly and patiently, so that we now firmly engaged with monitoring the benefits of the system. Sussex Solar were not the cheapest quote we received but my judgement is that they are the best value-for-money overall.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 07/08/2023 , work completed 04/08/2023
Great work - always kept us informed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar fitted our system over three days, in line with expectations set when the contract was signed. We were kept informed of minor changes to the original plan. All the kit was delivered in time and the electricians took pains to make sure all was working and that we understood how everything operated. The team was polite and the work carried our efficiently and professionally.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 31/07/2023 , work completed 27/07/2023
Ground mounted solar and a Tesla Powerwall battery.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar were extremely professional in their approach, with all of their team being friendly, helpful and accommodating. I was very impressed by the quality of their workmanship, with great attention to detail. This followed on from the advice and support which Andy and his team provided when choosing the system. I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 17/07/2023 , work completed 05/07/2023
Solar in the field
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, Sussex Solar have been fantastic. Accurate quote, work completed on time and to a professional standard. Any questions were answered quickly and accurately. Any problems were resolved immediately. Really pleased with our system and looking forward to making the most of it. I would highly recommend Sussex Solar.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 01/07/2023 , work completed 28/06/2023
Ground Mounted Solar Array & Powerwall Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot recommend Sussex Solar highly enough. The team advised and communicated with us from planning permission, ground work preparation through to installation and questions thereafter. All the team are hard working, polite & highly professional. Our new PV system battery has exceeded our expectations. Thank you so much Sussex Solar - keep up the great work!
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 11/06/2023 , work completed 20/05/2023
a fantastic local family firm with a wealth of experience in solar panels and batteries
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A fantastic local, family company who have been in the solar panel and battery business for decades. Very helpful, and they did a fantastic job. Andy is extremely approachable and informative, and the office did a great job in keeping me updated. His wife works in the office, and his son is the electrician that helps set it all up. It is really nice to have a family company running this, as it is easy to speak to someone very quickly. A really neat and tidy job and we are very happy. Several other friends have used them and all sing their praises - after using them, I fully agree.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 06/06/2023 , work completed 23/05/2023
Solar Panels and Tesla Powerwall Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar installed solar panels for us in March 2023 and a Tesla Powerwall in May 2023. The whole setup has worked flawlessly so far and we are very pleased with it. I would highly recommend Sussex Solar to anyone thinking of installing a solar energy system. The service has been excellent - everything carried out to plan, flexibility in dates to fit around our schedule and great communication about what was happening and when. The guys that came round to do the installation were great - polite, hard-working and explained clearly to us what they were doing and how the system would work. We look forward to many years of clean power to come.
Richard in West Sussex Posted on 04/06/2023 , work completed 26/05/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar provided an excellent service for my PV and battery installation. Their staff were always extremely friendly and professional throughout the process from initial contact to completion. My thanks to all Sussex Solar office and installations staff. A pleasure to deal with.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 25/04/2023 , work completed 24/04/2023
Sussex Solar Ltd supply and installation of solar panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have just installed a 3.16 kw peak output solar PV system with a 5.2 kWh battery. I was impressed by their professional approach and the standard of workmanship. Everything went smoothly with the installation and handover. It was a pleasure to have the employees carrying out the work and they were quite inobtrusive but very pleasant. It is quite satisfying to see the amount of electricity being generated and the surplus charging up the battery for use overnight.
Charles in Surrey Posted on 10/04/2023 , work completed 28/03/2023
Heat pump installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had a heat pump installed by Andy and his team at Sussex Solar. Following the heat loss survey Andy was able to recommend a system that connected into my existing radiator system, with a few radiator upgrades. The team at Sussex Solar were all helpful and responsive whether it was the office team or the installers led by Lewis and Fraser. The installation started on the agreed date, with the team being timely, polite and respectful of our house. The system has been running for three weeks now and we are toasty warm and importantly have hit a scop of 3.5 so it is delivering the efficiency as planned. We were looking for a reliable trustworthy company upon which we could rely for ongoing service and believe that Sussex Solar will deliver this. I have no hesitation in recommending Sussex Solar.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 28/03/2023 , work completed 08/03/2023
Excellent in every aspect of design, installation and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar Ltd is a family-run company and every interaction we have had says they care about us as customers. The design of the 8kWp PV solar array and a Tesla Powerwall was fully commissioned in September 2022 and has performed exceptionally well. I have delayed writing the review until March 23 in case there were any snags, but there have been none. Installation of the solar panels was carried in June 22 out by their own staff, who were efficient, pleasant, tidy, took care not to damage any of the roof tiles and replaced a couple that were already cracked. Shipping of the Powerwall was unfortunately delayed by Tesla, but we were kept informed and when it finally arrived in September, the installation was completed in a day, as all preparatory work had already been carried out. We have had a couple of power grid outages this winter, which had no effect, and the ability to load shift has meant that we have also benefitted from the Demand Flexibility payments. Based on last summer's PV production, before the Tesla battery was installed and we were thus unable to self-consume all our output, we are looking forward to about four months of totally "free" energy this coming summer. I can highly recommend Sussex Solar for their technical design, installation, friendly staff and customer care.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 05/03/2023 , work completed 01/10/2022
True professionals and outstanding customer care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have just installed solar PV panels, the inverter and a battery for us. They are true professionals and have done an excellent job at every stage, keeping us well informed and taking care with our home. On this last point, Sussex Solar really deserve their five star review, for the customer care that we have received after their scaffolders inadvertently caused some damage to the roof of our extension. Sussex Solar did not quibble at all and went to great lengths to ensure that all of the damage was rectified. Many thanks for a great job well done.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 25/01/2023 , work completed 24/01/2023
Sussex Solar 5.6kW PV system with 5.2kWh battery: Enthusiastic recommendation and endorsement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In September 2022 Sussex Solar Ltd installed a 14 panel 5.5kW (pk) solar PV system with GivEnergy 3.6kW hybrid inverter and 5.2kWh battery. It went live towards the end of September and over the first week of its operation met more than 80% of our electrical power needs. The positives: • A well-proven set of system components: solar panels, hybrid inverter, battery, cabling and smartphone app. • Very good responsiveness to emails, requests for information, and answers to questions. I approached four possible suppliers for a quote: Sussex Solar were the only one who responded. • Excellent project management of the whole installation process: scaffolding install; system install and commissioning; and scaffolding removal. • Excellent quality of workmanship, including tidiness • A great set of individuals involved throughout the process No negatives, but a couple of things to aware of: • They offer a limited number of inverter/battery configurations. This is good as it means that the whole process from design to installation is very smooth. But you may need to make some compromises in your requirements. • You will be given an estimate of the overall peak solar power that your panels will generate. However, it will be up to you to work out the economics of what this will mean for your situation. • The application to the local electricity supplier for a DNO / export MPAN is made after commissioning. Depending on the electricity supplier it could be a week/months.
Robert in Hampshire Posted on 30/09/2022 , work completed 22/09/2022
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with the way that Sussex Solar handled this project. From the site survey to start with through to completion and commissioning, everything was handled in a professional manner. Andy has a very competent team working with him and I would thoroughly recommend this Company.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 29/08/2022 , work completed 12/08/2022
Fitting a 4.6KW system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial enquiry onwards Amanda and Andy gave clear and easy to follow advice on the best set up for me and our house. It was daunting not knowing where to start. I tried several companies, many of whom didn't even bother to call me back. Due to strong demand, getting the equipment took longer than envisaged but they kept in touch. The team who fitted the panels were very efficient polite and also very tidy. Once installed and the system commissioned Andy spent time to really clearly walk us through the system and how to use it. Sussex Solar were top notch and a great family business.
Tim in Surrey Posted on 17/06/2022 , work completed 31/05/2022
2KW PV panel System - Hampshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have been a delight to work with from the initial enquiry through to the completion of the installation. The original enquiry based on purely my supplied requirements and details produced an initial illustration design and cost estimate. That evolved as more details were understood but the final pricing was met. At every stage of the process, Sussex Solar keep me fully informed of every step including accurate lead-times and on-site attendance. Their timekeeping was impeccable considering they are based 50 miles distant and they treated my property with respect at all times leaving it as they had found it. It is early days to report on the performance of the installation but I have no doubt that it will live up to the projections. Bearing in mind the increased interest in renewable energy and the associated enquiries I can only complement on the company for their responsiveness which is a quality I value highly and wish others would/could emulate.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 12/04/2022 , work completed 08/04/2022
Excellent long establish firm in the renewables business.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have just installed a twelve kw Vaillant air source heat pump to replace our gas boiler. Advice, planning and execution of the job all excellent. We have in fact used Sussex Solar for a number of jobs over the years (first, solar thermal about fourteen years ago, then a PV system about twelve years ago, and now the heat pump). In each case they gave good advice, designed a robust system, and installed it to a high standard. The few items of servicing that have been necessary have also been handled well. I highly recommend them for the range of products and services they offer.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 04/03/2022 , work completed 01/03/2022
5kwp Solar installation by Sussex Solar
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex solar finished my 5kwp solar installation just before xmas 2021. I found dealing with Sussex Solar to be simple and pleasant from inception to completion - the office team provided great communications for all my little questions in a very timely manner. Sussex Solar were the only company to respond with a design capable of fitting 15 panels upon the roof of my new build garage, providing a significant increase in capacity to just under 5kwp. As with many new build projects, coordinating suppliers and contractors in these times is a challenge, Sussex Solar were very flexible about fitting in around my roofer, which I very much appreciate. Installation of the in-roof trays and panels (when the day finally arrived), was quick and painless and they were happy to await the final electrical connection before commissioning the inverter and panels. I'd recommend speaking with Sussex Solar to anyone considering PV renewables, I'm very happy with the end result.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 01/02/2022 , work completed 24/12/2021
Decommission old solar system and install new solar pv panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very satisfied with the work carried out by Sussex Solar. The installers were efficient, courteous, punctual and left the premises in a clean and tidy state.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/07/2021 , work completed 05/07/2021
Installation of solar panels and Tesla Powerwall battery.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installation was a very smooth operation from start to finish. Sussex Solar maintained the highest level of personal service throughout. First impressions inspired confidence and everyone we dealt with was courteous and knowledgeable. The works were completed on schedule and the budget adhered to. Everyone on site was as courteous and pleasant as the office staff, and the work was carried out professionally and with minimum disturbance. As regards aftercare, we received all the relevant paperwork surprisingly quickly. To date, all is functioning extremely well. Sussex Solar are highly professional and deliver an outstanding standard of personal involvement in the project, which we appreciated. We would recommend them unreservedly.
Jo in West Sussex Posted on 14/04/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
Solar PV, Tesla Powerwall, Tesla Gateway, EV Charger installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first site visit to final installation Sussex Solar did everything as promised. A real quality job and fairly priced. Nice, honest, flexible people to do business with. Their scaffolding contractors were polite too. Would not hesitate to recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Very Happy With Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been very happy with the service from Sussex Solar from the planning of our system through to installation. Andy and the team really know what they are doing. I would not hesitate to recommend Sussex Solar to others.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 03/08/2020
Solar Annual Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an air source heat pump installed seven years ago, and have been delighted with it. The company that installed it, and the panels, no longer service this area, but I was fortunate enough to find Sussex Solar in my area. They came to service the system in 2019 and I took out a contract with them so that they would come out if there were any problems. They have just done another service, taking great care because of the current lock-down. Dom and Fraser needed access into the loft, but the light was not working. They had torches but offered to clamber across the loft to fit another bulb for me. I have always enjoyed professional and friendly service from this company, and as I hope to downsize, I shall certainly want them to install solar units in the next house.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 17/11/2020 , work completed 23/10/2020
From initial contact to completion of installation, we received first class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our old heating system required replacement, and following less than satisfactory service from our previous contact, we decided to search for someone more local to install our new Air Source Heat Pump. From initial contact, through a very detailed survey and quotation, to installation of our new system, Sussex Solar provided exemplary service. The job was carried out to the agreed schedule (in fact earlier than quoted due to a change of plan elsewhere) and for the price quoted. Sussex Solar were pleased to answer all our queries in a timely and professional manner - no question was ever too silly! The post installation data pack was well put together with all the information required assembled in one place. I would unhesitatingly recommend this company.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 29/09/2020 , work completed 29/08/2020
Small company, excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar completed installing PV solar panels for us last week, and we are extremely pleased with the whole process from the initial consultation to the final testing. They are a small Horsham family company, very efficient, very friendly and very competent. We have no hesitation recommending them to anyone else wishing to install renewable energy systems.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 18/08/2020 , work completed 11/08/2020
A great piece of work, efficiently completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar did a very good job done of fitting 10 panels to my roof in two days. The finished appearance is very neat including the cabling into the kitchen. The whole job was much less disruptive than I was expecting and expertly carried out. All the way through the process the advice and information was excellent.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 23/07/2020 , work completed 09/06/2020
Very professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first contacted Sussex Solar 2 years ago to see if they could fix a problem with an air source heat pump that came with our house. Andrew went beyond the call of duty in getting an unfamiliar unit going again. When that unit eventually packed up I contacted Sussex Solar to quote for a new unit. All contact with this company has been professional and the work done to the highest standard. In these days of average to poor service it is a delight to deal with a company such as this. I recommend Sussex Solar without reservation.
Mr Aspinall Posted on 23/06/2020 , work completed 18/02/2020
Great experience with Sussex Solar
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar has recently completed the installation of solar panels and a Powerwall system at our house, and has been excellent from start to finish. Its initial advice was very informative helping us understand what was involved, and the survey further developed our knowledge and confidence to go ahead. Andy and his team were great during installation, and on completion spent time ensuring we were completely satisfied with the system and how it operates. We did talk to other companies, but Sussex Solar stood out in terms of service, and we are delighted we went with them.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 12/06/2020 , work completed 05/06/2020
Solar panel install follow up customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy installed our solar panel in 2009 we found him one of the most competent people we know. He left us a drawing of what he had done and how it connected to our other services. Which was so helpful to other service people over the years. We have recently had cause to contact them for help as we had a big problem with our eco boiler stove, and although not their area they gave tremendous help to our plumber over the phone. They are brilliant, thank you. Their follow up service is also great.
Anne Posted on 17/04/2020 , work completed 13/09/2019
A masked angel!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So there we are confined to barracks due to our advanced stage of life - and the heating system packed in The cold nights and the forecast of north-easterlies to come became a trial This morning Sussex Solar arrived and even though the problem was one never before encountered, Andy was set on finding a solution He was patient and methodical and his determination paid off Warmth is returning- a most welcome result especially as my husband was very unwell today This company have been a pleasure to deal with and we warmly(!) recommend them
Hazel Posted on 28/03/2020 , work completed 27/03/2020
Three yearly Solar Thermal Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The technicians arrived exactly as arranged, on time and date and were careful in laying down dust-sheets before they started. They took the time to check what work had been done previously before commencing the servicing work. They were very knowledgeable of the solar system we have installed and extremely customer orientated. Very happy to recommend them.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 08/02/2020 , work completed 04/02/2020
Sussex Solar, quality installation!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar, after friendly consultation about problem with an inverter installed by another company who had gone bust. They were able to fit a new inverter within a few days, by their knowledgeable engineers. The job only taking a few hours. Wish I had used them to install solar panels in first place as they are a long standing family company. Unlike the fly by night company who originally installed my solar panels. Highly recommend them.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 03/02/2020 , work completed 29/10/2019
Vacuum Tubes Solar Heating System Serviced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the first time we have used Sussex Solar Ltd. and we were most impressed with the two technicians who came to work on our vacuum tubes solar heating system. They arrived on time and proceeded to service our system, which we have to admit, had not been professionally checked over for quite some time. Both technicians were courteous and polite and conducted the work of the service in a very professional manner. It was pleasing to note that they actually knew what they were talking about and were helpful in explaining the intricacies of the system to us. Nothing was too much trouble and at the end of their visit we felt that it had been a valuable and worthwhile exercise. We would definitely recommend this company - they did an excellent job in servicing our system and also left the workplace clean and tidy. Well done Sussex Solar Ltd. we look forward to seeing you again in three years for some more of the same.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 09/12/2019 , work completed 06/12/2019
Prompt and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar were called to resolve an overflow from the Air Source Heat Pump at Fishbourne Church Hall. The response to the call was prompt and efficient and replacement valves quickly sourced. The team were flexible and were able to fit us in, days earlier than anticipated. The engineers were very efficient and tidy and the work completed with minimum disruption. Overall, an all round friendly and helpful team. I would recommend their services.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 26/11/2019 , work completed 20/11/2019
First class service when all else failed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A squirrel got under my solar panels and attacked the wiring, causing the system to go offline when ever it rained. I made contact with Andrew at Sussex Solar (who were the original installers of my system back in Oct 2015) and reported this issue. After removing the panels, carrying out repairs to the wiring and fitting wire mesh around the panels to prevent further issues with birds, squirrels etc, it became evident that there was an intermittent fault with the inverter. There was still 5 years warranty left on the inverter but it proved difficult to get a replacement from the supplier. I sent three e-mails to the manufacture in China seeking their assistance but I received no replies from them. Sussex Solar agreed to fit a temporary inverter to the system to enable me to try and get the original inverter repaired else where. This again proved fruitless after many phone calls to companies seeking assistance. The upshot is that I had to purchase a replacement inverter. I would like to thank Andrew, Amanda and their team at Sussex Solar for their excellent work and patience in helping me resolve my problem.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 25/11/2019 , work completed 22/11/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Sussex Solar at Fishbourne Church Hall to maintain our Air Source Heat pump after the company that fitted it let us down badly. We have found Sussex Solar to be responsive, flexible and friendly. The quality of their work is first class and we have no hesitation in recommending them to other customers.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 20/11/2019 , work completed 20/11/2019
Solar and Tesla Powerwall Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful, friendly, local and knowledgeable family business. Installation was completed with no issues and our property was left clean and tidy. Cost was the best of all the quotes I got but would have chosen Sussex Solar for all the other reason above, cost was an extra bonus. Had a slight issue with Tesla app which was resolved very quickly by Andy. Completely satisfied with the whole experience and now enjoying helping the planet and running my electric vehicle for free.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 09/11/2019 , work completed 19/10/2019
Annual heat pump and tank service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased indeed with the annual service which was carried out as agreed in a very competent and efficient manner. It was done to the agreed schedule and all communications both before and during the service were clear and very helpful. I feel our system is in good hands and would thoroughly recommend Sussex Solar, as indeed I have.
Andrew Vivian Posted on 09/10/2019 , work completed 19/10/2007
Very Pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We're now "off grid" for much of the year! I'm very pleased by Sussex Solar's installation of in-roof solar panels and a Tesla Powerwall. Along with our Tesla cars, this means that we're off grid for electricity and transport for much of the year. All works very well, and being able to see the power flow through the panels, the house and the battery is the icing on the cake.
Mr Manktelow, East Preston, West Sussex Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were fair with their estimate, discussed options for replacement parts, answered my queries but didn't remove their boots or wear protectors in the house.
Peter, West Sussex Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
The trader replied (on 26/06/2019)
Dear Peter, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you found our service to be transparent and that you were consulted on options, but I am very sorry to hear that shoe protection was not used in your property. I am in the process of investigating why this happened and can assure you this is highly unusual. We go out of our way to respect and protect our customer's property and insist our technicians either remove their shoes or, if multiple trips to the van are required, they wear shoe protectors or lay carpet runners. The only occasion we may struggle to do this is on a wooden or slippery staircase where runners would be dangerous. Please accept our sincere apologies and I will contact you once I have spoken to our team. Regards, Amanda
Helpful advice
I had a number of questions which Sussex solar have been happy to assist with and provided some really useful advice on heat pumps. Knowledgeable and helpful without the sales push. Pleasure speaking with them.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 04/06/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Solar Thermal System.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar installed a Solar Thermal Hot water system for us. The team were very friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The work was carried out as unobtrusively as possible, they tided up after themselves and we received clear and concise documentation. We would recommend this company.
Mrs E, Coldwaltham Posted on 23/05/2019 , work completed 06/05/2019
PV/Tesla Powerwall fitted by Sussex Solar
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Sussex Solar because it was a local company; not knowing all the technical demands of a PV/Powerwall system we found ourselves dependent on the advice and expertise of Andy and Amanda Baxter and their team. It took some negotiation and a number of estimates before we were all happy with the final proposal and costings. The panels were fitted in early January and the Tesla Powerwall in early April – all the work was carried out effectively and efficiently by Andy and his team and the final system came in on budget. Sussex Solar offer a personal and bespoke service; emails were replied to quickly, phone calls returned and countless questions were answered – every effort was made to meet our requirements and our needs; we were treated as valued customers from the outset. Sometimes the administrative details went a little awry but we would have no hesitation in recommending this company. We are very pleased with our system and we know that if we have any sort of problem we can contact Andy or Amanda and the issue will be tackled quickly and effectively.
Mr & Mrs Greenhough, Goring by Sea Posted on 07/04/2019 , work completed 01/04/2019
Solar panels - friendly and professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Amanda, Andrew and their team provided excellent service during a very busy time for solar panel installations, with a FIT deadline looming. From the initial visit, through installation and to providing the comprehensive paperwork afterwards I was very pleased with the honest advice and professional service. The installation of 12 panels, Solar iBoost for water heating and associated system went according to plan and budget. All completed in 2 days. I would happily recommend Sussex Solar based on my experience.
Mrs C, Balcombe Posted on 31/03/2019 , work completed 12/03/2019
Very Impressive Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After telephoning several suppliers about the fact that my solar panels were only supplying half the usual amount of electricity - and mainly getting responses for very expensive solutions - I came across Sussex Solar, who from the start provided a very professional and honest approach to the problem i.e.conduct a proper service and then review. The service concluded that a new inverter was needed but that the panels were fine. Within a week Andy and his team had returned to fit the new inverters, provided me with a great bit of software so that I can monitor power production remotely and given me a fresh new and productive start. The key advantages of choosing Andy and his team are that, unusually for this business, he is always on the customers side. There is no hard sell and no doubt that he is giving you the best and most cost effective solution. Having talked to Andy about batteries and new/future technologies, I am also convinced that he goes out of his way to match their features with customer needs. So, in conclusion, the service I received from Sussex Solar was second to none and I have no hesitation in recommending them for any renewable energy needs. John Dunmall Hayling Island
Mr J Dunmall, Hayling Island Posted on 25/03/2019 , work completed 25/03/2019
Solar Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are becoming increasingly impressed with the capabilities of the system which you installed in October of last year. Throughout the whole of the darkest months, not a day went by when we did not get some power off the roof, the lowest being just 0.17 Kwh on the 16th January. It was hardly to wondered at that during these darker days we did not accumulate very much stored power in the Powerwall, although I don’t suppose that there were more than a handful of occasions when there was nothing in it. However since the days have started to lengthen we have noticed a very real change in the behavior of the system with every day showing overall (cloud cover permitting) a net gain of power output over the last. This last fortnight, however, has been a revelation with Powerwall attaining full charge for the first time on the 11th Feb, and barely a day since when it has fully discharged. But yesterday was a real landmark, not only did the array fully charge the Powerwall but for three hours in the afternoon we exported to grid for the first time since the battery was connected, and we generated 13.10 Kwh, the highest yet, with the Sun hardly at a high point in the sky. The four panels on the SSE facing aspect of the extension start putting out power by about 9:00 am in good weather and while the main heft is later in the day, from the 10 panels mounted on SW aspect. That start in the morning is enough to stop drawing on the battery at least and put it into standby. So without seeming to gush about this, we are very pleased with this, especially since we had advice some time ago that our house was not suitable for a Solar array, and would be happy to be a referee for any intending customers in the future. All in all we are delighted, although I am glad that in the end we were initially put off e during which time storage became possible and affordable, because without doubt that is a game changer. We foresee days at a stretch now, when we are off the grid altogether for our domestic power. Very best wishes,
Mr P, Haywards Heath. Posted on 25/02/2019 , work completed 25/02/2019
Super service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Air to Water heating system that had been installed by another company last year, stopped working just as the spell of cold weather arrived. After a week of frantic calls to numerous other companies, most of who did not return promised replies, we finally found SUSSEX SOLAR who could not have been more helpful. From the start our problem was treated as a priority and they arranged a visit the next day. The problem was diagnosed as incorrect installation by the company that sold us the system and this had caused the unit to freeze up into a block of ice. Andy spent at least an hour out in the cold defrosting and removing it, before resetting the system and rewiring to remove the problem. From initial telephone call, to job completion, we had friendly, helpful service by expert people who knew what they were doing. We thoroughly recommend this company for service and competence..
Mr W, Reigate Posted on 28/01/2019 , work completed 25/01/2019
Excellent Advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On 2 occasions I have been grateful for Andy’s expertise and sound advice. In 2016 I was considering installing an Air Source Heat Pump. The survey showed that it was neither economical or sensible here, and Andy explained this to me, and his honesty impressed me. Therefore when my solar water heating system failed I asked him to look at it. (It was installed in 2006 by another company and recently I had big problems with the servicing personnel) Andy found it to be in a poor state, expensive to repair, and not economical to run, so it was decommissioned. Here is a company that puts its clients first. I highly recommend it.
Mrs W, Petersfield Posted on 23/01/2019 , work completed 10/01/2019
Solar Panels and small battery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar quoted for our proposed PV panels early in 2018. We were unable to proceed at that point but some months later, when we were ready to go, this proved no problem. Andy was very helpful and knowledgeable about our options, and also suggested some improvements based on changes in the available technology. The team of fitters were pleasant, and good to have around the house, the roof and garden. They always left the place tidy at the end of the day. After fitting Andy took trouble to ensure our App was working well so we had clear real time data about our solar generation. We have had solar PV panels fitted before about 6 years ago on a previous house, so can realistically compare the process with another installation company. We would thoroughly recommend Sussex Solar based on our experience so far, and would definitely go back to them if we decide to upgrade our battery array.
Henfield, Sussex Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 03/01/2019
New Air Heat Pump System
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came and gave us a very comprehensive survey and understanding of what was required to install an Air Heat Pump System. He installed the new system whilst we were on holiday with a very professional approach and we found that the work had been done extremely well with no mess or untidiness. He set up the controls for us and advised on the method of using it. We were extremely pleased with all the work done by the whole team and would definitely recommend this company as they were all so efficient, polite and friendly.
Mr & Mrs Little, Mannings Heath Posted on 16/11/2018 , work completed 25/08/2018
We had a desperate need for a new heating and Sussex Solar Ltd delivered 100%
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been in the construction industry all my life and, regrettably, it is rare to be involved with a company of such high standards. I chose Sussex Solar Ltd above others as they created a trust and belief in their capability right from the start, from survey through to completion and their technical knowledge is second to none. Every step was professional and precise and you will very quickly be comforted knowing that you have chosen the right installer. I highly recommend this company .... you won't be disappointed.
Tony Hughes Posted on 06/11/2018 , work completed 06/11/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a first time visit !! Andy and his team were right on time, and it was nice to greet a cheerful crew who obviously knew what they were about !they got on with the service and kept us advised at each stage,as to what they were doing.... they were particularly careful not to make any mess or upheaval..eg removing shoes before going on carpeted areas..... everything was completed with the minimum of fuss and we wont hesitate to ask them to return if and when required....
Michael Posted on 30/10/2018 , work completed 30/10/2018
Solar panel service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 3 people from the firm come to service 4 units on the roof of 8 apartments in Brighton, they were punctual and pleasant . They worked quickly not only servicing the 4 systems but also pointing out several faults they spotted whilst working on the day that were nothing to do with the work they had come to do . They took time to explain the working of the solar panel systems in detail and were extremely helpful pointing out that some expansion tanks (part of the electric boiler systems of some of the neighbors apartments) had fallen off their fittings and needed urgent attention. This saved 2 apartments from a seriously disastrous and dangerous situation for which we were extremely grateful.
S Foulds Posted on 20/10/2018 , work completed 20/10/2018
Polite and Professional Team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team originally put the solar panels up on our new build garage in absolutely horrible weather conditions and when they came back to connect them we had mud everywhere but they didn't complain. They were all so polite and professional and cleared up totally after themselves. The work they did was excellent and more than exceeded our expectations. They are the only trade on our new build project to do this! Amanda is also excellent in the back office organising the dates and I would thoroughly recommend this company.
Anonymous Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
Polite and hard working team of professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been really impressed with Andy and his team. They have been so polite and professional. It was a delight to have them on site. They put the solar panels up in the most torrential rain and when it came to the connection they did it so neatly and without any fuss, leaving no mess whatsoever - the only trade so far to do this in our whole new build! Thoroughly recommend them. Amanda is also excellent back in the office with arranging the installation dates.
Joanne Godden Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
Air source heat pump installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very happy with Sussex Solar and will not hesitate to recommend them. They were on time, kept me aware of costs and didn't let me down.
A Rainford Posted on 31/08/2018 , work completed 31/08/2018
Superb mending of our solar system for water heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy did an amazing job, including climbing over our roof to replace 2 things on our panels. Totally, totally recommend him.
Jimmy Girling Posted on 07/08/2018 , work completed 07/08/2018
Very satisfied Solar PV customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of 16 Solar PV panels. Sussex Solar carried out the work efficiently, neatly and in a friendly and professional manner.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/06/2018 , work completed 22/06/2018
Excellent company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work carried out was a service and fluid change to our hot water solar collector heating system. The work was carried out efficiently, promptly on the date of the appointment and with no resulting mess or inconvenience. The Sussex Solar engineer was very polite, courteous and helpful by explaining the system,which was completely new to me, telling what was necessary to operate the equipment (basically nothing) but if we had any problems, which he did not anticipate with our set up, we were to call him and he would assist as soon as possible. The whole experience with Sussex Solar, from initial contact to completion and payment of the invoice, was entirely satisfactory throughout. We would not hesitate to recommend this company for any Solar panel that was required.
Bon Jolly Posted on 24/05/2018 , work completed 24/05/2018
Very prompt and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our premises had a failure with an air source heat pump system and we had been badly let down by the original engineer after nearly 4 weeks of waiting. The Sussex Solar response inspired confidence, sending out relevant information by email within minutes. When requested, they attended at the earliest opportunity and identified the problem. Within 4 days they had ordered the part from the manufacturers and fitted the replacement - coming out on a Saturday to do so. A first class service.
Fishbourne Church Hall Posted on 06/05/2018 , work completed 06/05/2018
Knowledgeable, friendly and efficient - highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have been extremely helpful and efficient in all communications I have had with them. My ASHP was fitted by another installer a few years back but when it broke they couldn't make it out for a while. Andy was recommended by a neighbour and was there the very same day and had it fixed and working within the hour! He was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. Also gave me helpful advice on running the system that our initial installer never did. I would highly recommend him and will be using him from now on for our annual service.
Alex G, . Posted on 13/04/2018 , work completed 13/04/2018
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a number of faults with my solar water heating system, some of which had been poorly rectified by another company in the past.Andy from Sussex Solar carried out a service visit within 48 hours of my contacting them.All of the faults I identified plus some I was unaware of were dealt with & a complete service of my system was carried out during his visit.My system is literally as good as new & has not worked so well in a couple of years.I have already recommended Sussex Solar to a neighbour as I am so pleased with their workmanship & punctuality.
Roger, Middleton -On-Sea, Which? Consumer Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
Excellent service from Sussex Solar - knowledgeable, professional and very responsive.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you’re thinking of solar and renewable energy then you absolutely must contact Sussex Solar. Back in 2015 they installed all of our domestic solar panels and associated equipment - a total of 7.9Kw of generation capability. This month (March 2018), they have been back to install a new Tesla Powerwall 2 battery. We are really delighted with all the work that Andy and his team have delivered. They have given us excellent service - from the early discussions about planning the installation, through to the installation and commissioning. They have clearly been in the business of renewable energy and solar for many years and they bring a very friendly, attentive and pragmatic approach to their work. There is inevitably a fair degree of paperwork involved in registering your solar installation with a Feed in Tariff provider. Andy has a very clear and simple approach to support you through the process and so it has felt incredibly easy to register and maintain our Feed in Tariff. I believe that Sussex Solar are one of the first firms to be accredited by Tesla to install their Powerwall 2 battery, which gave us a lot of confidence in their ability to install our new battery. This installation has gone very well and I would recommend anyone with solar panels to consider the Tesla battery. In summary, we have had great service from Sussex Solar and feel very supported by them. We have no hesitation in recommending them to other people.
Andrew of Sussex Posted on 16/03/2018 , work completed 16/03/2018
First Class & Friendly Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a number of companies come out to discuss installation of an Air Source Heat Pump. Andy was the only one who explained everything in layman's terms, answering all our questions with great knowledge. Installation and after service have been first class. We would have no hesitation in recommending Andy and Sussex Solar to anyone.
Fitzses Posted on 14/03/2018 , work completed 14/03/2018
Excellent in every way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can not recommend this company highly enough. The friendliness and quality of service, expertise, reliability and product are outstanding. Very pleased with the several projects Solar have carried out for me. Solar hot water. PV panels and follow up work. Solar storage battery installation.
Allan Posted on 13/03/2018 , work completed 13/03/2018
Faultless service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mending and correctly adjusting an air source heat pump installed by another. Came on a Saturday in cold snowy weather when we had no heating. Great service and very professional.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/03/2018 , work completed 03/03/2018
Straightforward and honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent communication followed by top quality workmanship. Couldn't have been better.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/02/2018 , work completed 28/02/2018
Excellent standard of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Sussex Solar to install both thermal and photovoltaic panels some years ago. High standard of workmanship and very happy with both installations. Andy is reliable, trustworthy and knowledgeable in his field. Recently has both panels serviced with usual excellent customer service, explaining what he had done, state of the panels etc.
Tipperary King Posted on 13/01/2018 , work completed 13/01/2018
Air Source Heat Pump Service and Maintenance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy took over servicing our two air source heat pumps and underfloor heating system this year and has been knowledgable, efficient, courteous and good value for money. What is more, when we had a problem (caused by a power cut) one evening, Andy called straight back, reassured us that he could come the following day but in the meantime gave sufficient help over the phone for me to fix it myself, with no charge and a follow up email! Great customer service.
LauraS Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Solar panel decommissioned
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a solar panel decommissioned
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/07/2017 , work completed 10/07/2017
Experts in their field
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Solar panels weren't working. Sussex Solar diagnosed the problem. Replaced the pump (which had broken), fixed a leak, replaced the fluid and serviced the system. They were knowledgeable, helpful and friendly throughout and completed all the work in one visit.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/05/2017 , work completed 08/05/2017
Great Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had PV panels fitted over 5 years ago. About 5 years before this, we had a solar panel installed to provide hot water. Subsequently we have had services carried out, and repairs undertaken. All dealings with Andy have been carried out to a good standard, in an efficient and timely manner. Andy and Amanda are very helpful and personable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/01/2012 , work completed 31/01/2012