We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Sustain Heating and Renewables Ltd

Profile thumb sustain  logo
4.9

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–19:00
  • Monday 09:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–19:00
  • Thursday 09:00–19:00
  • Friday 09:00–19:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Sustain Heating and Renewables are an independent heating and renewables installer serving the South and South West. We have over 20 years experience working within the industry and when Sustain was set up we had one clear Ethos:

Everything we do is Customer Focused.

From taking your enquiry, through fitting your system you will receive a personal service from us. We aim to deliver a five-star service as standard. To deliver a consistent level of service our staff share in the same company ethos. Everyone has a keen interest in delivering the best service possible and we have built a team that goes that extra mile every day.

As we are an independent company, we are not tied to any one product. This means we can research the market and always recommend the best product for your requirements. Every system is bespoke doing the job right means you get a successful install with the comfort of a 10 year independent workmanship warranty.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Air source heat pumps
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar panels
    • Ground source heat pumps
    • Home energy analysis
  • More Services

    • battery storage solutions

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Go Green confidently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a major solar PV installation completed by Sustain this April. We chose Sustain because they are Which? Trusted Traders and they were helpful and responsive to enquiries. (Another WTT solar firm rejected the house as unsuitable based only on looking on Google Earth!). As we have East and West facing roofs, we accepted Sustain's suggestion of having twin installations and a large battery. Our main motivation was ethical, but we were fortunate that the price difference between selling a London house and buying in North Somerset, enabled us to make the investment painlessly. The planning and execution of the work was excellent and we were kept in touch all the time with progress. The actual installation took about 2,5 days only. In practice now, in these days of maximum light, we use no paid for electricity at all, and a total of less than 1kw since April. In these days of energy crisis, Briish Gas has reduced, not increased our monthly standing order. So we recommend Sustain very highly. They are not perfect and in our case still need to do more to explain to a couple of OAPs how to get the best out of the system and the App, so they score 90%, but we'd certainly have them again and their staff are polite, skilled and helpful.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 08/06/2022 , work completed 27/04/2022
Reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was accomplished to a high standard whilst I was abroad even with covid restrictions and difficulties. They responded immediately on my return with small teething problems. It is now working better than the old gas system and I am extremely pleased with the result. All the stages were well explained and the grant approval system worked well due to the attention to detail they undertook.
Mike in Bristol City Posted on 06/05/2022 , work completed 23/03/2022
Sustain delivered!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We did lots of homework and spoke to several companies before choosing the supplier to install solar at our home. We chose Sustain due to their knowledge, help and reassurance they provided. They were the company we could trust. And I’m pleased to say that (after a bit of a delay waiting for the products to land in the UK) they delivered. It wasn’t a straightforward install and the weather wasn’t kind, but nothing was ever a problem and they did a brilliant, and very tidy job. I’m pleased to say the panels and battery are performing brilliantly and (now the weather’s improved), we’re reaping the benefits and tapping into renewable energy. Loving it!!
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 27/04/2022 , work completed 08/04/2022
A reliable, helpful and friendly company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first contacted Sustain last October and from the first conversation, I had a great feeling of confidence in their knowledge of my requirements and the reliability of their services. I have not been disappointed. The climate crisis, plus the rocketing cost of gas and now the need to cease using Russian energy have all contributed to my decision to convert from gas central heating to an electrically run heat pump system. Sustain has both provided this efficiently and been a constant source of help and information along the way. Heat pumps are quite expensive and at the beginning of my enquiries, they pulled no punches. I had an upfront breakdown of costs and information about the heat loss survey and energy performance check that would be required as well as much help in sourcing Government funding which over the next 4 years will pay for over half of my new system. As soon as I decided to go ahead I was given a rough date for installation as mid-February, but despite the pressures the heating industry is under, this was brought forward to 24th January. In just over two days my heat pump was installed with all the new radiators and was up and running most efficiently. Since then Sustain has also installed a storage battery which is charged on a cheaper nighttime tariff and also makes much more use of power from the solar panels I’ve had for a few years. All in all, I cannot recommend Sustain more highly, for all the help and information I had before I decided on
Andrew in Bristol Posted on 31/03/2022 , work completed 30/03/2022
An excellent company!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been thinking about having an air source heat pump installed for some time and once we had seen one in action at a friends’ house, we decided to get on with it. Going by reviews of local, specialist companies, Sustain Heating and Renewables really stood out and we weren’t disappointed – excellent service from start to finish, with home visits to explain what would be involved, through to the installation itself. Sustain also arranges all the necessary checks and documents, making the whole process simple and straightforward. Our installers did a great job, explaining what would be happening on a day to day basis; doing their best to inconvenience us as little as possible (we were never without hot water or heating when we needed them); keeping our house in a tidy state while they worked; and listening to our specific requirements, making small changes when requested. We live in a typical early C20 terraced house but our initial doubts about where the heat pump would be sited and how the new system would link to existing pipework were all dealt with in a most professional and reassuring way. We love our new system – responsive, simple to use, providing us with a warm house, masses of hot water and satisfaction of knowing we are using less energy. If you are considering switching to sustainable heating, we strongly recommend that you consider using Sustain. If our experience is anything to go by, you won't be disappointed.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 16/03/2022 , work completed 08/03/2022
Excellent installation of air source heat pump.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the very first contact with Sustain, we found them to be extremely professional and knowledgeable. We had many questions and at all stages they were promptly and expertly answered. They provided us with realistic timescales, despite the high level of work currently being undertaken to meet the RHI deadlines. The installers were clearly experts in their field and ensured that disruption was kept to a minimum. We are delighted with how well the system is working and would have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 28/02/2022 , work completed 15/02/2022
Reliable and competent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had my old dysfunctional heat pump replaced. The whole process was painless. From start to finish I always felt in good hands with people who knew what they were doing, which is so important with heat pumps, as one needs a firm with trained and experienced heating engineers. The communication was working well, Sustain´s plumbers and electricians did a good job, and their engineers Neil and Ashley were superb - picking up everything which needed tweaking and answering all my questions, giving me the confidence to work the system. All the necessary certificates and paperwork was provided and best of all, I know whenever anything goes wrong, I can rely on Sustain to come and fix it!
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 24/02/2022 , work completed 15/12/2021
Exceptional service from beginning to end
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are in the process of building a large 3 story extension and were interested in an air source heat pump for the extension only. After discussing this with Sustain we were told it would make more sense to change the existing house’s ancient heating system as well as we would get a better RHI return this way. Doing the calculations, made complete sense in the end when I had all the figures in front of me. The house was still on a one-pipe system so floorboards were all lifted and it was major upheaval. Joe and his team were amazing at working around me (who works from home) and causing a limited disruption even with such a big job. It took 9 days to complete the installation and I must say I can’t be happier with the whole process. I didn’t realise how bad the previous system was until the new one was up and running! Sustain has been super efficient throughout the process and I would definitely recommend them for anyone’s future renewable energy needs.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 07/02/2022 , work completed 15/10/2021
Air Source Heat Pump
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I received excellent customer service through from quotation to installation. The installation was carried out superbly and the system is working very well. The engineers were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Sustain
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 17/01/2022 , work completed 10/01/2022
A big decision; solar panels, battery and heat pump
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This review will be a little different to most, but in some respects may be more informative. We chose Sustainable Heating on the basis of the Which Trusted Trader scheme and we are glad that we did. We have given a five star rating but the installation was far from straightforward. The problems were mostly outside the control of the company but they resulted in the start of the work being delayed, with the installation taking longer than expected. The standard of the workmanship was high with the solar panels and battery installed on time taking only 2 days. The 4 week experience with this system has shown it's worth. The heat pump installation needed the replacement of over 90% of the existing central heating. The inevitable disruption and damage was far less than anticipated, the plumbing and pipework is really neat and to a high standard. The fitters communicated very well with both of us and discussed all aspects of the installation with us. During this time we spoke to Richard and Tony and it was very clear that their goal was to deliver a system that we would be pleased with. This they have done. There were some communication issues and difficulties but they were resolved. Heat pumps are not pretty but Neil, the senior engineer, arranged the pipework etc. to minimise its impact. Today, due to the recent warm weather, was the first time the heating came on for real, so to speak, and I feel confident that we've made the right decision.
Customer in Newport Posted on 28/09/2021 , work completed 21/09/2021
High Quality Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sustain installed a Air Source Heat Pump System at our property in May 2021. The work was completed on schedule and in budget despite some unforeseen challenges. From the initial survey before they actually commenced to the final commissioning the standard of work was exemplary. The work was carried out with the least possible disruption for quite a major amount of work and with courtesy and respect. The Mitsubishi equipment installed is of very high quality and is working very efficiently. The support staff at Sustain ensured all the relevant paperwork, surveys, etc... was all in place from the initial order placement to the final commissioning.
Peter in South Gloucestershire Posted on 13/09/2021 , work completed 21/05/2021
Outstanding Throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having made the decision to change our heating and hot water from LPG, we made contact with Sustain and they quickly arranged a home visit to give us advice on the best way forward. Their rep Trevor gave us great advice and recommended an Air Source Heat Pump as the best way forward. We had already done some research and were thinking along the same lines, so this confirmed what we wanted to have done. A heat loss survey was quickly and thoroughly carried out and Trevor came back to go through the results with us. We committed to the work and the company gave us a date to start work . This date did slip by a few days but we were kept advised of this, and the reasons, by one of the company directors. Our work involved completely replacing all of our old radiators, fitting two new radiators, and the installation of the ashp, and us such we were aware that this would be fairly disruptive especially as we had other work being carried out at the same time. The company’s project manager ran through the details of the work with us and the whole team were superb throughout the process. In particular the ashp engineer was excellent - friendly, helpful, efficient and genuinely a pleasure to have working in our house. He ran through every step of the process and clearly took pride in what he was doing, a true professional. We will be using the company again for our planned solar panel installation next year, and would happily recommend them to anyone considering such work
Steve in Dorset Posted on 20/07/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
Would Recommend Sustain Heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an Air Source Heat Pump fitted as our original heating system broke beyond repair. We had the system fitted with the help of the Green Homes Grant. The work was started and completed on time and all of the work was completed tidily and very efficiently. They serviced and connected our solar thermal system to the new tank and we now have lots of hot water. Everyone was very polite and helpful and we are happy to recommend Sustain Heating. We are so glad we found them.
Mr and Mrs Corrick in Somerset Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 26/04/2021
LG Air Source Heat Pump & Full Wet System Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an LG Therma 9 kw Air Source Heat Pump fitted by Sustain through the Green Home Grant Scheme. It was a really major job as the house we bought did not have any radiators / wet system and the whole house was functioning on 3 x ancient (and inefficient) storage heaters. Our first contact was with Trevor, who came to visit us in our home and talk through our options. To calculate the size of the pump and rads, Sustain arranged a Heat Loss Survey and Trevor came back to talk us through the results of the Survey and get us signed up for our installation. Despite the issues with delays in the Government scheme, Sustain were very patient and stayed with us through every twist of the application process. Tony, Richard and Sandra were responsive and helpful at every turn. Eventually, when we were issued with the voucher, we had a visit from a highly capable head engineer (Mike). The team from Yorkshire (Mike, James, Matty, Dave the Sparky and apprentice Dylan) were exemplary. They were friendly chaps, highly competent and tidy. They couldn't do more for us and even adjusted some pipework by arrangement. James was there through the whole week and we felt totally confident with every aspect of the work in his hands. The whole project was completed on time and on budget. We had all of the controlled waste collected too by James Stickland. From beginning to end, Sustain were excellent and we could not recommend them more.
Monika in Greater London Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
Recommendations and installation of air source heat pump
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Much impressed with the efficacy and speed of the service from the initial query through to the finish of the installation. A retro-fit of an air source heat pump and entire set of radiators isn't the easiest of jobs but it was accomplished swiftly and painlessly by a team that worked together effectively and thoroughly from the beginning to the end.
Amanda in North Somerset Posted on 05/05/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
Installation of an Air Source Heat Pump
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had an air source heat pump installed by Sustain Heating & Renewables, and are totally satisfied with the work carried out. They are a friendly company who go the extra mile to ensure the customer is satisfied with the installation, and we can say that it was a truly professional job done by very good workmen who were competent, experienced and brilliant. An excellent job done, and we would reccomend the company without hesitation. Overall a fantastic job done.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 16/04/2021 , work completed 16/04/2021
Going Green with Sustain
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Going green is an expensive process and we have just had our heating and hot water system converted from oil firing to an air source heat pump in our five bedroom home in Berkshire. It was a major job and performed amazingly well by Sustain Heating and Renewables Ltd. Nothing was too mush trouble and the work was completed to budget and on time. The whole team worked brilliantly well together and overcame all the difficulties as they arose. We would be more than happy to talk with potential customers.
Brian in West Berkshire Posted on 15/04/2021 , work completed 13/04/2021
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sustain fitted our ASHP and renewed all of our radiators. Plenty of support all the way. Very pleased with this company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/03/2021 , work completed 23/09/2019
Endorsement Reference - An honest opinion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a complete new air source heat pump central heating system supplied and fitted.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 31/10/2020
Endorsement Reference - Battery Storage for Solar Panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of battery to an existing solar panel array
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of air source heat pump, removal of old oil fired boiler, changing many radiators for bigger ones and installation of 2 new ones, moving hot water tank and reconfiguring system to work better, refit solar thermal with improved pump and software
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 14/01/2021
Endorsement Reference - Sustain Heating & Renewables - thoroughly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sustain Heating & Renewables installed our air source heat pump and thermal solar water heating during January 2021. They were one of a number of local firms that we considered and came across as professional, competent and rigorous in their approach to service delivery and customer satisfaction. I am delighted with the system that they installed, and would have no hesitation in recommending them to future customers.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Endorsement Reference - Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sustain Heating and Renewables quoted for an air sourced heat pump installation in our 4 bedroomed house to replace an aged oil fired wet central heating system. The company provided a competitive quote, not the cheapest and not the most expensive. Included in the quote were 6 replacement radiators, needed to work with the lower water temperature which air sourced heat pumps produce, After the heat loss surveys were complete we added, by mutual agreement, 2 further radiators and a shower pump. The initial contact, surveys and final quotation were all carried out in a professional and satisfactory manner, giving confidence in the company. Work started on the day promised and was completed within the 5 days promised with minimal disruption. Fan heaters were supplied to keep the house warm during the work. The plumbing and electrics were completed to a high standard and the workplace was kept clean and tidy. The system has worked well keeping the house at a comfortable temperature even during very cold weather. A fault developed in the LG heat pump last autumn and the company immediately sent an engineer to identify the problem. A PCB had failed and a new and improved one was sourced from LG under the warrantee and fitted within 48 hours. Overall the heat pump has proved very satisfactory and reduced the heating bills about as predicted, even though we run the house at 22 deg C rather than 20-21 deg.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 16/01/2020
Endorsement Reference - recommending an air-source heat pump
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Sustain on the Green Match website. They visited my house and gave a very thorough assessment and quote. I was given a 'scope' document which outlined accurately what the job entailed. I was given the dates that the work would be done. The new parts for the air-source heat pump arrived exactly on time and the work started and finished on the dates agree on. After the work was completed I was given a detailed tour of how it all worked. They had a problem getting the right pipe cladding because of the lock down, but once they had it they came back and replaced the lower quality one for the proper cladding. I was concerned at the noisy water pump and they came back and corrected that. I was then given and electrical installation certificate and a hies energy performance certificate and a NICEIC certificate of compliance. I also got an installation logbook which includes a warranty certificate and an insurance backed guarantee for 10 years. The installation staff were very friendly and efficient. The system has now worked very effectively for 7 months, keeping the house warm throughout the winter months.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 24/07/2020
Endorsement Reference - Great Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of 2 existing oil boilers and replacement with an Air Source Heat Pump installation. Including new hot water cylinder, new radiators throughout the property and new pipework to connect the 2 old separate heating systems to the new heat pump. The work was done on time but commissioning was delayed by a leak on the old plumbing system. The leak was fixed promptly, without any additional cost to myself. Since installation there have been a couple of minor issues which were fixed with hesitation and without additional cost. Throughout the work communication has been excellent.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 20/08/2020
Endorsement Reference - Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sustain fitted an air source heat pump for us. They were very knowledgeable and helpful, always available if we had any questions and the work ( which was a huge job as we were replacing storage heaters and had no pipes) was completed super fast, to schedule all with in a week. Planning to use them again due future work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 20/12/2020
Endorsement Reference - Great Heat pump installer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of a Valliant Air Source Heat pump at my house. The work was done professionally and systematically and met all expectations. I would have no hesitation in recommending Sustain.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 30/08/2020