We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

The Lock Doctors Ltd

Profile thumb lockdoclogo
4.9

54 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

The Lock Doctors was started by Richard Humphrey in 2010 and is a family run business which has gained a reputation for providing a reliable, local emergency locksmith service for residential & commercial customers over the years.
Since our humble beginnings in East London, the company has now expanded across London..

We offer full locksmith services as well as all aspects of carpentry work and security installations. This includes repairs to doors and windows, and installing intercom systems, access control, CCTV cameras & door/gate automation for residential and commercial customers.

Our customers include individuals as well as local councils, schools, shops, churches and non-profit organisations where we provide the servicing and maintenance of existing systems to the full planning & fitting of new installations.

We have experience of working with the elderly, and in environments supporting vulnerable groups including children & those with special needs.

EMERGENCY LOCKSMITHS

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • UPVC lock specialists
    • Access control
  • Alarm and security equipment installers

    • Electric gates
    • Door entry systems
    • CCTV installation
    • Alarm installation
    • Security activities
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • CCTV & video equipment
    • Burglar alarm systems
    • Intercom systems
  • More Services

    • access
    • entry
    • locks
    • repairs
    • electric gates
    • locksmiths

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
54 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
uPVC Door closure
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard was excellent. I rang in the morning and he came round the same day. My UPVC door had not been closing for some time. While on the phone, Richard asked me to check if the key would still turn in the lock - it would. When he called round, he fixed the problem very quickly and his charge was very reasonable. There was a bit of an issue with his card machine which he sorted out for me straight away. Altogether, I would highly recommend The Lock Doctors and Richard in particular.
Diana in Greater London Posted on 05/10/2021 , work completed 24/09/2021
Door repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to have my flat door repaired to bring it in line with fire safety requirements. This included replacing the self-closing mechanism, sanding down the frame so that it closed properly, fitting new hinges, and applying intumescent strips. Rich was great to speak to on the phone, he was very patient with me as I went through all the things I needed to have done. He came within the week to sort out the door, and did an excellent job. Extremely polite and knowledgeable; would definitely recommend!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/08/2021 , work completed 16/08/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Lock Doctors and they came out the same day, luckily for me! The back metal gate had snapped the key off in the lock and the lock doctor luckily had a special tool for the Locinox lock, otherwise it would have been a wasted journey and I would have had to call a specialist! The lock doctor took off the lock and replaced the cylinder with an EVA lock and gave me 3 spare keys. Really friendly and exceptional service. Very happy result for me and the tenants. Thank you!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/08/2021 , work completed 13/08/2021
Great service. Would definitely recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had been let down by another locksmith so came to Which? and found The Lock Doctors. My front door handle was loose and I was worried it could come off in my hand so I needed someone to look it over. They turned up on time, kept me informed of what was going on, fitted a new handle and serviced the lock and mechanism. All in all it took about an hour and I felt the price was reasonable for the time and effort involved.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/07/2021 , work completed 21/07/2021
Fantastic experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you Richard, you were able to change the lock on my window with ease. Same day call out, punctual, professional and Covid safe. I recommend your service!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
Exceptionally good service proven. Reliable, assuring, polite and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had recently been in a car crash. During the rescue process I managed to lose the only remaining key to my French door gate leading into the garden. As I am partially disabled this was a major blow. I contacted The Lock Doctors in desperation at 11.17am and low and behold at 12.21pm they arrived. They installed a new lock at a minimal cost and 2 hours later I had my freedom and piece of mind back. They are now plastered all over my FB page lol. I highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/03/2021 , work completed 28/02/2021
Rescued us when we locked ourselves out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took wrong keys out and locked ourselves out. Had key for bottom lock but not top one. Lockdoctor came round in about half an hour as promised and managed to open the door with a struggle but no damage. Nice guy too and very reasonable price.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/02/2021 , work completed 04/02/2021
Great and Super Swift Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called The Lock Doctors on the Monday evening around 5pm and arranged a visit for the next day. I had called a few other places who are listed on here and had no response until I tried this company. Polite and friendly, the gentleman quickly got to the roots of the issue and it was all corrected in under an hour. Very happy with this service and would both recommend and use again if needed.
Melanie in Greater London Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 08/12/2020
Thanks Rich!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you Rich! Availability was amazing, quickly found me a slot for next day, great price and great work. Came to do my sister’s baby bedroom lock in August but I never got round to doing this review.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/11/2020 , work completed 14/08/2020
Very good service, friendly and polite.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The locksmith could come on the day I contacted him. He worked fast and was very pleasant. I would use him again!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/09/2020 , work completed 22/09/2020
I'd use him again
I used lock doctors, Richard, communicated well, keeping me informed of his arrival time. He did a free home security check for me, installed locks I wanted in a timely manner on a very hot day. He swapped locks to the main house, put locks on the side access, and attached spring door closers. I'd use him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/08/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
great work, friendly locksmith and trustworthy advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Lock Doctors were able to come to the property at fairly short notice and were very flexible around timing. They were pleasant to have around and did a fantastic job of replacing the locks, including accomodating an additional request upon their arrival, and offering a better colour of lock to match the hardware of the door. They also swept and tidied up both inside and outside the flat afterwards. Would definitely recommend their services and their honest and fair prices!
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/05/2020 , work completed 16/05/2020
Prompt & responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed someone to review the security of our house and install the necessary locks. Richard responded immediately with a site visit and gave us practical advice about what needed to be done for relevant doors and accessible windows. He proceeded to install the necessary locks there and then. Courteous, responsive, timely and very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 28/01/2020
Great work and wonderful service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company was able to attend at very short notice. The problem with my front door was diagnosed quickly and the work was done within the hour, to a high quality. Highly recommended!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/01/2020 , work completed 17/01/2020
Best service I could hope for
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new lock and I called Richard earlier today. He came round this evening and couldn't have been more helpful and honest. He genuinely wanted to help and there was no up-selling, and he would only do work which he thought was essential and gave really good advice. He will be my goto person from here on when I need a locksmith. I've already recommended him to my neighbours. Couldn't speak more highly of him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/11/2019 , work completed 28/11/2019
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had never used the Lock Doctors before, and would now highly recommend them. I was locked out of my mother's house, the key would not turn in the lock. With Mum due home from hospital they totally understood my sense of urgency and arrived in less than 30 minutes. With a pleasant and friendly attitude the job was explained along the way and completed to a high standard. Great price as well.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2019 , work completed 18/11/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the first time I used The Lock Doctor. My issue was that the lock on my back patio doors was seized up and the key wouldn't turn. Richard answered and returned calls promptly, and came out the next day. He explained patiently what he was doing and checked for more straightforward reasons for the problem before investigating possible more complex ones. He quickly identified and explained the actual problem and replaced the lock and serviced the door for a very reasonable fee. He also gave me advice on general maintenance of the door. Richard was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and reliable and I would definitely go to this company again for any lock work. He also does other home maintenance work and I would not hesitate to contact him in the future for quotes for other home repairs and maintenance.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/06/2019 , work completed 26/06/2019
Came out when specialist would not!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My entrance door has a specialist pollards lock mechanism which had failed, Pollards are now based up north and would only come and visit for a full days labour with no promise of a fix that day. I tried 2 other locksmiths who said they would not have the parts. I saw the lock doctors advert, read the reviews and thought I would try. Richard returned my email with a call and promised to attend site the next day to see what he could do for us. Richard and a colleague arrived promptly the next day and without moaning about this that or the other just got on with the task, An hour later it was fixed, Richard was polite and respectful of my property and I felt I could trust him completely. I have no reservations in using him again for jobs other than locks, Richard charged a very competitive amount for the job which in truth I would have struggled to get from any other locksmith. My experience using the lock doctors was nothing short of excellent.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
Totally reliable and totally excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard has done several jobs for us over the last few years. Sometimes work on security and locks, his particular professional skill, but also with all kinds of household maintenance tasks. Today he worked on a jammed window, put up a grab rail for my husband and gave me guidance on a safety issue. He always does excellent work and he can be trusted to give you honest advice too. Richard will never recommend expensive solutions you don’t need. And he takes the time to explain what he's doing as well. Reliable and a joy to deal with - I’m very thankful to have him on my contacts list.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/04/2019 , work completed 23/04/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Richard to deal with 2 problems relating to stiff lock, and also door stiff to open/shut due to movement in frame associated with damp. Richard arrived within about 2 hours, and sorted out both problems. No call out fee and very fair price. Very good communication, explaining what he was doing and why, and how this would resolve the problems. This is the second time I had used the Lockdoctor, and I have found the service excellent on both occasions. I would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/01/2019 , work completed 17/12/2018
Great work, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard was courteous and professional all the way through. He cared about our situation (broken lock on front door) and resolved the problem with minimum fuss and maximum expertise. He is a friendly trustworthy person who is highly proficient. Excellent value too. Will use every time.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/12/2018 , work completed 13/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard fixed an external gate lock for us recently. As it turned out it was quite a tricky job but he was determined to repair it and he did. He takes pride in his work, is a pleasure to deal with and charges very reasonable rates. I highly recommend his company and would definitely use them again.
Barbara Posted on 26/10/2018 , work completed 26/10/2018
Changed locks on new house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used lock doctors to have the locks changed on a new house. They are pleasant to deal with, professional and provided a prompt service (done within a couple of hours of me calling!).
Ross Munro Posted on 23/10/2018 , work completed 23/10/2018
Repaired locks and cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard was very professional and friendly. He diagnosed the fault with my UPVC door and fixed in timely manner. He also repair the locks on my bathroom door and downstairs toilet that were constantly falling off. On mentioning that he also did some handywork/house maintenance, I took the opportunity to ask for his assistance in fixing a broken very heavy larder door. He agreed. Richard left the work space cleaner than me met it. Highly recommended in my books, would definitely use his company services again
Chineyenwa Ujah Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Helpful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard sorted out front door where lock had jammed and it was impossible to turn key due to movement in the door frame. Richard was very prompt, and is clearly very experienced. Very fair price. I would definitely recommend.
Elizabeth Graham Posted on 30/09/2018 , work completed 30/09/2018
Prompt and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired a faulty lock on my French doors. No call out charge and arrived on time. Did not exceed estimate cost for repairs. Was very efficient, professional and completed the job quickly.
Jennifer Posted on 01/09/2018 , work completed 01/09/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Fixed a dodgy front door lock. Efficient, obviously cares about doing a great job. Highly recommended. Lovely bloke too!
Martin Posted on 13/08/2018 , work completed 13/08/2018
Good work and a pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard is very considerate and easy to have in your home. He did an effective repair on two sagging UPVC doors. We'll contact him again if and when we have any more lock problems.
Peter Lloyd Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard fitted a new front door lock. he came quickly, worked speedily and did a good job for a fair price. I can recommend him
Irene Schwab Posted on 14/07/2018 , work completed 14/07/2018
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rich fitted two new locks for me. He was friendly, efficient and his prices are fair. He also offered helpful security advice. I would recommend him to others.
LGLondon Posted on 15/06/2018 , work completed 15/06/2018
Fast efficient & quality service at a fair price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a somewhat difficult that required a new chub lock on glass door and fixing the current yale lock. I was very impressed with the efficiency and problem solving skills to get the job done. I was away at the time so everything was agreed over the phone . An excellent job done by an efficient and experienced locksmith. Many thanks !
William ransom, . Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
Solved the problem. Great service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard sorted out a tricky lock on an old UPVC front door. I can't recommend him enough. This was a small and fiddly job but was important to me and Richard fixed it at a reasonable price. I would definitely use him again.
Roberts Posted on 28/04/2018 , work completed 28/04/2018
Absolutely outstanding service from the Lockdoctors. They Responded to a very sensitive situation and went out of their way to help us
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were given the Lockdoctors contact from a friend that used them previously. We just landed in another country while taking a short holiday, When our Naubour called to say that someone has broken into our house in Islington . After the police and forensics had been and gone we needed to get a front and back to repaired as there was so much damage to both doors. The Lockdoctors were so helpful and supportive, which gave me and my wife peace of mind . They fitted two doors , new locks and handles all in one day. The next day they returned and fitted a professional alarm and CCTV. They were trustworthy, upfront and genuine . The price of the work done was fair considering the amount of work that had to be done. Thank you guys The service was second to none. Mr & Mrs Grant Islington
Simon Posted on 05/04/2018 , work completed 05/04/2018
The trader replied (on 20/04/2018)
Hi Simon Thank you for this outstanding review, this has just triggered your 20% discount when you use the lock doctors Next Thank you for Using our Service The Lockdoctors Your Security Is Our Priority
Locksmith and handyman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard has done a a number of jobs for me Over the last six month. His workmanship and attention to detail are excellent. He is reliable, efficient and tidy ( cleans up after himself). And as a bonus he is a lovely guy. The prices quoted were very fair with no hidden extras. He is a good Locksmith but also a very clever and diligent handyman- works out how to do things and does them very thoroughly. Sorted out a things that other people walked away from.
Asif Islam Posted on 04/04/2018 , work completed 04/04/2018
Efficient, Fast and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Lock doctors out and within a few hours had someone come over to change a few locks. Member of staff was very friendly, extremely helpful and done a fantastic job overall. Looking forward to recommending them to family and friends, as well as using their services again when needed.
V29078 Posted on 25/11/2017 , work completed 25/11/2017
Bathroom lock fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lock on the bathroom door was broken and required the replacement of 2 bits of mechanism.
Peter, Peter Posted on 10/11/2017 , work completed 10/11/2017
Frendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was having problems with my front door and back door they were very stiff and hard to lock properly
Davo, Davo Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Fast response and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Awkward job that was dealt with, with ease. Great finish on completed work and left the site very tidy. Pleasure to deal with, polite, on time and efficient. Will use again.
Anonymous Posted on 06/11/2017 , work completed 06/11/2017
Reliable locksmiths
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They came when I called and fixed the porch door in less than 30 minutes. It was an evening job which was completed satisfactory.
Audrey Posted on 02/11/2017 , work completed 02/11/2017
Charged for nothing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called up for lock repair, the guy turned up very quickly, a very nice and polite guy, took down the lock but couldn't repair it, he suggested he would need to take it back to shop to reset etc, I said to him i would need to think about it but he still charged me £55.00, I noted to him that I thought there is no call out charge and he didn't mention anything about cost before, but he said this is only for regular customers which I feel is very unfair
Adler Posted on 17/10/2017 , work completed 17/10/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work, carried out in a friendly and efficient manner. Highly recommend.
Peter Slater Posted on 27/07/2017 , work completed 27/07/2017
Jonny.T
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lock Doctors were great to work with from start to finish. Our requirements were not complicated. However, they were solid to work with, reliable and honest and know their stuff. I would definitely recommend them
DavidT20 Posted on 03/07/2017 , work completed 03/07/2017
Effective hard working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant guy Richard came and did the job really well and added needed other tasks to the job for a very fair price.
Andrew Smith Posted on 19/06/2017 , work completed 19/06/2017
Speed and very helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and polite. Solved our problem very quickly. Reasonably priced and excellent service.
bukicole Posted on 03/05/2017 , work completed 03/05/2017
Fast and solve the problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard arrived on the day, which was excellent since I had my tenants on my back. I wasn't on site but he repaired the damage door and frame as good as he could.Richard was pleasant and easy to deal with and would be happy to use him again.
raj Posted on 19/03/2017 , work completed 19/03/2017
Fast, efficient, more than helpful and reasonably priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard arrived on time, focused on the challenge and resolved it as far as he good give the lack of parts and added a supplementary lock to deal with the immediate issue. He also adjusted another lock without charge - Richard got on with the task was pleasant and easy to deal with and is clearly understanding of customer needs and has the necessary expertise - happy to maintain his 5 star rating
1863095 Posted on 23/02/2017 , work completed 23/02/2017
Fast Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came the same morning I phoned. Serviced/adjusted ill fitting UPVC doors & lock. Polite, tidy tradesmen who cleaned up on completion.
1132 Posted on 16/02/2017 , work completed 16/02/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lock Doctors arrived within the hour as stated. They worked out what the problem was and dealt with it efficiently. Will definitely use them in future. Happy to recommend them.
alexandra.clarke Posted on 16/02/2017 , work completed 16/02/2017
4 Years of great service to date
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I manage a portfolio of over 100 residential properties and i've used the LOCKDOCTORS on numerous occasions to repair locks, to replace locks and even as an emergency contact for tenants who've locked themselves out. His service has always been prompt and there has never been a case where he came out and was unable to resolve the problem. I've recommended him before and will continue to do so in the future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/12/2016 , work completed 19/12/2016
Fast efficient & quality service at a fair price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a somewhat difficult that required a new chub lock on glass door and fixing the current yale lock. I was very impressed with the efficiency and problem solving skills to get the job done. I was away at the time so everything was agreed over the phone . An excellent job done by an efficient and experienced locksmith. Many thanks !
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/12/2016 , work completed 06/12/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Door lock fell apart. Richard fixed and made safe
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/10/2016 , work completed 03/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard has just rescued us again. One of our big conservatory blinds broke in the middle of the recent heatwave - which was a disaster. But he responded immediately and was on the doorstep within 48 hours. Always an absolute pleasure to deal with and determined to solve any problem you present to him.
Liza Jane Posted on 22/07/2016 , work completed 22/07/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can recommend Richard and Singh highly. I have had a problem with an electric loft ladder and I was let down badly by being sent the wrong part and then the tradesman who was supposed to come back and fit the correct one was unobtainable. Richard said on the phone that they liked challenges and this job certainly was one but they coped very well, re-installed the broken rung and now are trying to fix the bit that was broken because of being sent the wrong part. As Richard said, ''they like challenges" and they succeed. They are reliable, friendly and very capable.
CLEARY Posted on 13/07/2016 , work completed 13/07/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard worked on fitting a new lock and handle on one of the bedroom doors. He arrived on time, did the work at the quoted price and cleaned all the mess he created.
pgalpay Posted on 04/06/2016 , work completed 04/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found this company via local recommendation and I am so pleased to add them to my list of local traders. Brothers Richard and Terry run the company and although locksmithing is the starting point of the business they actually have a multiplicity of skills. I employed them to supply and replace some new skirting boards and also to do some painting, as well as to fit a new lock for our patio doors. They will tackle all sorts of home maintenance jobs; small and large. They took enormous care and they worked incredibly hard. I was very pleased indeed with the results. They are also are a pleasure to have around and their charges are fair and transparent. Not exorbitant at all. I will be definitely be using them again and so I rather hope they don't get too busy on the strength of this recommendation.
Liza Jane Posted on 13/04/2016 , work completed 13/04/2016