Endorsed by Which?

The Loft Boys Ltd

4.9

89 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–16:00
  • Monday 08:00–16:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–16:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–16:00
  • Thursday 08:00–16:00
  • Friday 08:00–16:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Jun 2020

About

The Loft Boys love lofts!! Our love for all things lofts, is always displayed through the quality and professionalism we apply when transforming dreary attics into usable storage spaces. We like spending our days working in people’s homes, which means we always work in a tidy and considerate manner to ensure we end up with happy customers!

If you need your loft boarded out for storage, we’ll always take the time required to work efficiently and professionally, with a minimum of disruption to our customers. Maybe you need your loft floor raised above insulation, no problem! We’ll fit the government-backed LoftZoneTM StoreFloor system for you.

To gain access to your loft, you’ll need an adequate hatch and a loft ladder to use it. If your loft hatch is a tad too small, we can extend the opening and fit your choice of ladders from our wide range. To find what you’ll be storing in your loft, you will likely need some form of lighting. We can even fit a roof window to make use of natural light.

What we do

  • Loft and property converters

  • More Services

    • loft boarding
    • loft ladders
    • loft lighting
    • loftzone
    • loft storage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
89 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Horrible service and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After requesting an all 100% natural wool insulation on our loft due to allergies, loft boys were too lazy to remove the previous (very old and contaminated) insulation and when complained after completion of work they said this is how they always do it. We specifically asked and paid for the best materials and wanted to get this job done perfectly and now we have to throw away the expensive wool and start again as everything is contaminated. The customer service was probably the rudest and most unprofessional I have ever seen in my whole life.
Customer in Berkshire Posted on 18/05/2024 , work completed 16/05/2024
The trader replied (on 22/05/2024)
Thank you for your feedback. We deeply regret that your experience with our service did not meet your expectations. Ensuring our customers are satisfied is our highest priority, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We would like to clarify that the quotation provided explicitly stated the removal of only the top layer of insulation. This procedure is also documented in the survey notes. Unfortunately, the employee who prepared the quotation is no longer with us, leaving us only with the recorded notes to reference. We understand your concern about the decision to only replace the top layer with sheep wool insulation. We agree that this approach may seem odd, which is why we have offered to return and replace the bottom layer at the cost of materials only. This additional work was not factored into the original quotation. We are also concerned about your comments regarding our customer service. We strive to provide professional and courteous service to all our clients, and it is disheartening to hear that this was not your experience. However, by reading our other reviews and noting our 'rating on here, you will see that many others have had positive experiences with our team. Nonetheless, we will address this matter internally to prevent it from happening again.
Amazing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were impressed by the professional and friendly service that The Loft Boys demonstrated throughout. Their attention and care after installation, in particular, is commendable. Thank you to all the team!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/05/2024 , work completed 18/07/2023
The trader replied (on 15/05/2024)
Thank you so much for this review! We're very happy that you were impressed by the service that you received from The Loft Boys. You're welcome and if there's anything else you need, please let us know.
Great work and company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good company in terms of communication at all stages. They even reduced the bill when they couldn't board one part of the loft. Their workmen were polite, efficient and again the communication was very good. I would definitely recommend this company if you need your loft insulated and boarded.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/04/2024 , work completed 19/04/2024
The trader replied (on 08/05/2024)
Thanks so much for this review! We're happy you were satisfied with your loft boarding experience with us. If you need anything else, do let us know. :)
Loft Insulation & Boarding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted The Loft Boys after finding them online. They arranged for their surveyor, Tom, to visit our house and advise on what were the best options for our loft space, which was already boarded and insulated, but not to current standards. From start to finish The Loft Boys we excellent. We had some personal issues that needed to be taken into consideration and Tom, Lily, Sam and the install team were understanding and did everything they could to work with us. Everything surface was covered and protected and when they left, they left our house clean and tidy. We would highly recommend The Loft Boys.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/04/2024 , work completed 26/03/2024
The trader replied (on 19/04/2024)
Thank you for sharing your experience with The Loft Boys! We're thrilled to hear that our team provided excellent service and accommodated your personal needs with understanding and professionalism. Our goal is to ensure that every aspect of our work, from the initial consultation to the final installation, exceeds your expectations. If there's something else you need help with, please let us know. Thank you again. :)
Loft improvement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loftboys were asked to improve loft insulation and board part of the loft for storage. They carried out a survey and gave details of the work required which was raise insulation to 10 inches and raise timbers to suit for storage area. Supply a new loft ladder and check for asbestos. Work was carried out efficiently and guaranteed for 5 years against defects and problems. I would recommend Loftboys
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 29/02/2024 , work completed 24/02/2024
The trader replied (on 15/03/2024)
Hello there! Thanks so much for your review, it was a pleasure working with you! If there's anything else you need help with, please let us know.
Good communication and a good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All worked well they did a great job my only point would be that they had to test for asbestos on the insulation before they could complete the job hence work being carried out on the 23rd December. I would recommend that this should be done at the time of the survey but apart from that no issues and would recommend them without hesitation.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 07/01/2024 , work completed 23/12/2023
The trader replied (on 27/02/2024)
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we really appreciate your review. If there's something else we can help you with, please let us know. :)
Loft makeover
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I originally got in touch with the Loft Boys in June 2023 and after a great survey with Sam, booked for work to begin at the end of July - this included full clearing of the loft, insulation, boarding, rafter foil, extending the loft hatch and a new ladder. Unfortunately it was discovered that our roof needed extensive work on it when the Loft Boys started on their first day and so work needed to be delayed. However they were so patient whilst we got the roof sorted and were able to complete work in December. Everyone has been so lovely throughout. The fitters were so respectful of our home, cleared up every day and really did their best to minimise any mess (and our loft was pretty grim!). When I requested some extra boarding after the initial work was finished this was sorted out so quickly and they were so helpful in ensuring the loft was accessible and safe for me as I'm disabled. I'd really like to say thank you to Wayne and Tommy, Sam, Claire and Kelsie, plus George and his colleague who came out to add some extra boarding the week before Christmas.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/01/2024 , work completed 16/12/2023
The trader replied (on 05/01/2024)
Thank you for sharing your experience! We're glad we could assist despite the unexpected delays. Our team, especially Wayne, Tommy, Sam, Claire, Kelsie, George, and others, truly appreciates your kind words! If there's something else you need help with, please let us know. :)
Loft insulation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our loft insulation wasn’t great so we wanted to sure the roof was properly covered. As a side benefit, we quite liked the idea of more usable storage space in the loft and being able to move around safely rather than perch on the joists. The Loft Boys came and quoted to add to the existing insulation to meet the recommended standard and to lay flooring on top of approx 60% of the loft to give us a good sized storage space They worked cleanly and quickly and we’re done in less than a day Very happy with the result
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/10/2023 , work completed 30/09/2023
The trader replied (on 18/10/2023)
Thank you so much for choosing The Loft Boys and we're so glad you're happy with the result of your new loft! And many thanks for leaving a review. :) If there's something else you need help with, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Rafter insulation in loft with foil.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everyone at this company was a pleasure to deal with, very informative and felt the advice I was given was fair. No attempt at upselling at all. Work was carried out efficiently and I was kept informed of everything that was happening as it happened. Would heartily recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/07/2023 , work completed 12/06/2023
The trader replied (on 11/07/2023)
Hi there! Thanks so much for your review, it was a pleasure working with you too! If there's anything else you need help with, please let us know. Thanks once again.
Excellent customer service and finished loft
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted The Loft Boys about getting my loft boarded with ladder and lights installed. I was impressed with the amount of helpful information on their website. The customer service throughout has been faultless with calls to check always made when promised. From the survey visit to the actual work on the day, all staff have been knowledgeable and friendly. The fitters on the day were great and obviously skilled at what they do. The finished work was exactly as agreed and ended up being much better than I imagined. We needed out loft hatch made bigger to take a ladder and that was done so neatly. I would definitely recommend The Loft Boys.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/05/2023 , work completed 06/05/2023
The trader replied (on 20/06/2023)
Hi there! Big thanks for this awesome review. Working with you was an absolute blast! If there's anything else we can lend a hand with, just give us a shout.
Professional from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Loft Boys after reading many good reviews. As it turned out, the reviews were spot on. They installed insulation, boarding and loft ladders and we couldn’t be more pleased. Everyone we encountered - the admin team; the surveyor who visited and the fitters - are true professions. We wouldn’t hesitate recommending them.
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/04/2023 , work completed 05/04/2023
The trader replied (on 24/04/2023)
Hello! Thanks so much for your review, what a great one to read. If you need any more help, please let us know.
Loft Works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recommended for scoping & carrying out loft works. In our case, this included additional insulation, some new flooring to increase storage space, new loft hatch & ladder. Work was preceded by asbestos checks (cost paid by me up front then deducted from total due when order placed & fulfilled). Work carried out over 2 days with the team explaining how they were going about things throughout. Impressive results.
Customer in Essex Posted on 30/03/2023 , work completed 24/03/2023
The trader replied (on 24/04/2023)
Hi! Thanks so much for your review. We're happy that you're impressed with the result of the work done! If there's anything else you need help with, please let us know. Thanks once again.
Fantastic usable loft space
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a great experience with The Loft Boys from initial contact to completed job. We had our loft boarded, lighting installed, hatch extended and a telescopic ladder fitted. The guys were great and extremely tidy. We can now get our items out of storage and into our loft! Would highly recommend this company and their work is guaranteed for 5 years
Customer in Thurrock Posted on 06/03/2023 , work completed 28/02/2023
The trader replied (on 09/03/2023)
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we really appreciate your review. We're looking forward to hearing about how you get on with your new loft. :) If there's something else I can help you with, please let us know. .
Fabulous job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Super impressed with all aspects of the work done by The Loft Boys. From the first enquiry through to the guys cleaning up at the end of the job the whole thing has been thoroughly professional. So impressed.
Russell in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/02/2023 , work completed 18/02/2023
The trader replied (on 09/03/2023)
Thank you so much Russell. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. :) We'd love to hear about how you get on with your new loft and please let us know if you there's something else we can help you with.
Professional and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Boys were one of many loft insulation providers I got quotes from. They seemed the most professional, their prices were competitive, plus they were Which Trusted Traders which is always reassuring. They also guaranteed their work for 5 years and had solid T&Cs so I felt comfortable using them. The installation work took a day and involved removing old boards and an old water tank, topping up existing 100mm insulation to modern standards, insulating the loft hatch and creating a new small boarded area for a bit of storage. I was very happy with the work and the team onsite were tidy, cleared up after themselves and polite. The administrative team were also great - lots of communication.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/01/2023 , work completed 30/12/2022
The trader replied (on 07/02/2023)
Hello, what a great review to read! We appreciate you providing such specifics about your experience with The Loft Boys, and we're happy to hear that we lived up to your expectations. Thanks once again. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.
Super Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called on the Loft Boys after a recommendation from a neighbour as we needed to replace our old outdated insulation and wanted to part board our loft space as well . As soon as the initial introductory phone call was made the service from start to finish was first class right from the admin team , the site surveyor, and through to the installation team . Once a date was agreed the communication was very good and always timely . The boys that did our installation ( Wayne , Tommy and Nathan ) were professional and informative , keeping us updated with the process and always accommodating . The standard of work could not be faulted and we are very pleased with the outcome . After the work was completed we realised we had a small problem as a bedroom main light was not working . The team came back a couple of days or so later and the problem was remedied to our satisfaction . Overall we would highly recommend the Loft Boys , they seem to be a very hands on crew , and customer service satisfaction is at the forefront of their service .
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/01/2023 , work completed 07/12/2022
The trader replied (on 04/01/2023)
Thank you for choosing The Loft Boys to assist you with your loft. We're thrilled that you're pleased with the work we did for you, and we appreciate your thorough feedback. It's a fantastic one to read at the start of the year! Enjoy your new loft, and please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. Have a wonderful year 2023!
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We booked work with The Loft Boys based on their Which? Trusted Traders profile and we could not be happier with the service we received. Our initial consultation was with Sam who was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful – we received a fully detailed quotation the following day and upon accepting to the quote, the date for the work to commence was arranged for around 4-5 weeks after. The work carried out included removal of old insulation and steel water tanks which was an additional cost, but well worth it (we did clear the loft of our own belongings prior to the work starting). New boards were then laid throughout the loft space, together with 270mm insulation and additional foil insulation across the roof rafters. A new hatch door and ladder were then installed. William who carried out the work (with the addition of different colleagues) is a credit to the company - courteous, efficient, and polite. The service and quality of his work was outstanding and we highly recommend The Loft Boys services without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/12/2022 , work completed 02/12/2022
The trader replied (on 21/12/2022)
What a wonderful review to read! Thank you for sharing your experience in such detail. We truly appreciate it, and reading it brightened our day! Enjoy your new loft, and please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Have a wonderful holiday season!
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was only a single day loft-job, but from start to finish the service provided was exemplary. The communication from the back office team was excellent throughout. The installers turned up bang on time and got the job done as promised. There may be 'cheaper' providers out there but if you want a quality service and product you can't go much wrong with the Loft Boys. They do exactly what they promise and for excellent value for money.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/12/2022 , work completed 01/09/2022
The trader replied (on 21/12/2022)
Hi! Thank you for choosing The Loft Boys again, and we truly appreciate your recommendation! Enjoy your new loft and Merry Christmas.
Fast, clean, reliable and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and Wayne came to clean, board and seal my loft space. All was done perfectly, with minimal noise and mess. They were a very courteous, informative and professional team. The work was done to budget, slightly off schedule due to another customer visit beforehand. This trader stands out because of the brand impact, the ongoing communication skills, the professionalism of the team. I received my guarantee certificates straight away. The process was simple, smooth and safe.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/11/2022 , work completed 09/11/2022
The trader replied (on 30/11/2022)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this recommendation. The guys were chuffed to know you were satisfied with the job that was done. Enjoy your new loft and do let us know if there is something else we can help you with.
Excellent company - recommend without hesitation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys installed loft insulation on 14 October 2022. This was carried out by Mikey and Steve. They were very friendly, efficient and helpful. They took us through everything. Included in this was the removal of loads of junk that had been left in the loft by us and previous occupants from at least 35 years ago. It was well worth paying the extra for this. They laid the 270mm insulation with great care. They also hoovered and cleaned up really well. The house was cleaner afterwards than before. Steve and Mikey were a pleasure to deal with. Prior to this Jay, from the Loft Boys had a survey visit and took us through everything. He set out the price there and then. He was here about an hour. He pointed out the loft had vermiculite laid down and this would need to be checked for asbestos. This was a bit of a concern but Jay pointed out this scenario was highly unlikely. Sure enough, we heard quickly that all was OK. The Loft Boys give you a 'Big Sales Pack'. They also do boarding but we were only looking for insulation, which was fine. All my communications with the office were exemplary and everyone was very helpful. They all turned up on time. It really could not have have gone better. We were so pleased we decided to get this work done using this company. For all the work that was done, we thought the price was very reasonable. We recommend them very highly, without any hesitation whatsoever.
Geoffrey in Greater London Posted on 15/11/2022 , work completed 14/10/2022
The trader replied (on 25/11/2022)
Hi Geoffrey! Wow, what a lovely review to read. We're glad you were pleased with the overall work we have done from the beginning until the end. Thank you so much for sharing this. Once again thank you for trusting The Loft Boys with your loft and if there is anything else we can help you with, please let us know.
Loft project
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had The Loft Boys install extra insulation and boarding in our loft. From the initial survey to the finished installation each team member was polite, helpful and mindful to take care of our property. Existing loose boards and general waste in the loft was removed and disposed of responsibly. The work was carried out on schedule and on budget, and although theirs was not the lowest quote, we went with our instincts and were really pleased with the finished results. Communication, both before and after the project was completed was good, and each stage of the work was itemised and costed with no “hidden surprises”. We can now enjoy the extra space gained and hopefully benefit from the energy savings the extra insulation should give us.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 09/11/2022 , work completed 07/09/2022
The trader replied (on 11/11/2022)
Hi! What a lovely review to read at the end of a workweek. Thank you so much! We're very happy you were satisfied with the work that we did. Thank you once again for choosing The Loft Boys! If there's anything else we can help you with, please let us know.
Example of great team work and skill
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In spite of unusually extreme heat, this firm managed to complete in the time estimated. To achieve this they arranged for 2 teams of 3 to work, one team frequently taking over from the other, to maintain the level of work required. They did a magnificent job. They were courteous and left no mess behind. Couldn't be happier.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 27/06/2022 , work completed 18/06/2022
The trader replied (on 28/06/2022)
Hi! Thank you so much for choosing The Loft Boys and we're delighted to read this review! :) If there's something else you need help with, please let us know.
Insulation and Boarding done to a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We got the Loft Boys to come and change/fix our insulation and also add more boarding to our loft so we could use it for storage. We were really impressed by the service throughout. After a visit from Sam, we were emailed a quote that seemed reasonable and they don't try to upsell you on unnecessary work. Once booked in, a team of three led by Rhys came to do the work. They arrived on time and worked throughout the day to get the work done and did a fantastic job. The whole team was friendly and gave us updates on how it was going. They cover up/protect the floors as they work and cleaned up well when they were done too. Overall we were really happy with the service and would happily recommend them to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/06/2022 , work completed 08/06/2022
The trader replied (on 24/06/2022)
Thank you so much for the recommendation. We're pleased to hear that you're happy with the service, and had a great experience with us. We've passed on your feedback to the team, and they were really chuffed! Thank you once again. If there's something else you need help with, do let us know! :)
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to improve our existing loft insulation, reboard the flooring and replace our dodgy ladder. The whole process with Loft Boys very easy and stress free. Customer service was excellent - always had clear communication. From the surveyor, the guys doing the installation, to those sorting out invoices - really professional. Everything done to time and budget - there was a minor issue with the ladder and it was easy to have it fixed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/06/2022 , work completed 17/06/2022
The trader replied (on 11/11/2022)
Thank you very much for entrusting us with your loft work and we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. If there's something else we can help you with, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Excellent Service throughout.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new floor and new insulation fitted in my loft. I initially noticed the company through when Which magazine. The surveying process was smooth and faultless. The timescale I was provided with worked for me and is what actually happened. The fitters were very professional, explained the process on the two days the work took to be completed and did a great job. My loft was left clean and tidy and unrecognisable given the state it had been before the work was completed. From start to finish the process was smooth and professional and the price was right for me. No complaints.
Peter in Greater London Posted on 16/05/2022 , work completed 26/04/2022
The trader replied (on 20/05/2022)
Wow, thank you very much for writing this review! This really means a lot knowing that our customers are satisfied with the work we've carried out. We hope you enjoy your new loft and please don't hesitate to contact us if there's something else you need help with. :)
Excellent job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After receiving many cold calls from scammers about insulating our loft, we decided to research insulation, but by a reputable company, Loft Boys. The surveyor arrived promptly, made helpful suggestions and quoted to insulate the whole roof (it is a longhouse) and also to board out the large middle section (where the loft ladder is located) for storage. We received the quote quickly and accepted it - we thought it was good value for money. A few weeks later a team of 3 arrived, covered all floors and stairs with sticky-backed polythene so they remained clean. We hadn't been able to lift some of the heavy storage boxes down before their arrival (we're in our 70s) but nothing was too much trouble for them and they quickly bought them down the ladder. The work was finished in one day and they asked us to inspect it before they left. It was immaculate up there. They filled in all the gaps around the edge of the floor, right up to the edge of the roof with both the insulating material and the chipboard flooring. Around the loft hatch they did a professional finish with wide-angle bead which meant no little gaps or traps around the edge. Various pieces of electrical equipment and piping was fixed down in position to the floor, where applicable. They checked the working mechanism of the fold-up loft ladder to ensure it was safe. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to others. They are a thoroughly professional company and we now have a warm second floor.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/05/2022 , work completed 24/03/2022
The trader replied (on 20/05/2022)
Once again thank you very much for choosing The Loft Boys. Secondly, thank you for writing this detailed review! It means a lot to us knowing that our customers are satisfied with the work we've carried out. It helps potential customers when deciding about boarding their own lofts. We hope you'll be able to use your loft as intended. Please don't hesitate to contact us if there's something else you need help with. :)
A professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quote was detailed and exact, my amendment was accepted without hesitation. The work was carried out on the agreed date and was completed sooner than I thought. The attitude of the installers was friendly and professional. Everything was tidied up to a high standard afterwards. A reasonable price, a professional installation and every phase of the project well communicated. Thank you Loft Boys.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 09/03/2022 , work completed 02/03/2022
The trader replied (on 11/03/2022)
Wow, this is fantastic! Thank you so much for the recommendation. We're very happy to hear that you had a great experience with us. If there's something else you need help with, do let us know! :)
Experienced traders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys know their trade. Their experience and knowledge is clear from the outset, you know they are going to do a good job. They are a little expensive but it is worth it for quality and peace of mind. Minor criticism is they offer Saturday appointments but their office is closed so if they have a staffing crisis and cancel last minute by email (which is what happened to us first time) there is no one you can talk to until Monday.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 05/03/2022 , work completed 01/03/2022
The trader replied (on 11/03/2022)
Thank you very much for the recommendation! We appreciate it and we are also grateful for the feedback. Although our office is officially closed on Saturdays, we do have one or more field managers who are working. They're present to pick up on potential issues and available for any support should a staff require it whilst on duty. Please accept our apologies you weren't able to get in touch with us, until the following Monday. Thank you once again. If there is anything else you need help with, please let us know! :)
New loft hatch with aluminium ladder & boarding & new insulation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My existing loft hatch was very small. I asked for a new bigger hatch with a loft ladder; for the existing old insulation and boards to be removed; for new insulation & boarding of 24 square metres to be laid. The initial survey confirmed there was no asbestos in the loft and a plan was drawn up with a diagram showing exactly where the new loft hatch would be and where the boarding would be laid. I also asked for a new 6 foot strip light with switch and double power point. I was told the work would probably take 2 days. The work did indeed take just 2 days and everything was completed to schedule and budget. The electrician turned up early before the loft installers and installed the strip light with switch and double power point. Then the two installers arrived. They wore masks and proceeded to put down protective sheets over the stairs & upper & lower hallway. They explained what they were going to do and after removing all the old insulation agreed a slightly smaller (in length) loft hatch with me, taking into account where the main joist was. Two things that made "The Loft Boys" stand out for me was their five year guarantee on the work they completed and the fact that they took photos of all the work they did in order to examine it all for quality control. I was very impressed by their work which has transformed my loft and I would unhesitatingly recommend this company.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/11/2021 , work completed 11/11/2021
The trader replied (on 22/11/2021)
Wow, what a lovely recommendation to read, thank you very much for this. :) We really appreciate all the details in your review, as these help our customers decide when it's time for them to get their loft sorted. We're glad to hear you're impressed with the work we've done. Enjoy your loft and if there's something else you need, please don't hesitate to call us. Thanks once again!
Great service from The Loft Boys - don't be put off by the company name!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys gave really professional service and I'm extremely happy with the outcome. It's a strange name for a company - but I guess it's memorable! Their surveyor came, checked requirements, and measured up. He arrived on time and was very professional. No pressure selling or up-selling, just quoted for exactly what we wanted: no boarding, just insulation. He emailed the quote that afternoon, as promised. It was clear and comprehensively detailed. We agreed the quotation, and paid a deposit. The team arrived on time on the agreed date. They did a professional job - very efficient, clean and tidy. They removed any boards that were in the way (including a couple of extra ones that hadn't been in the original quote - they didn't charge extra for that), and the loft is now fully insulated to a high standard. Each stage of the job has been confirmed via email, with follow-up calls where necessary. They probably aren't the cheapest company in the world - but they have done a really good job, so will rate 5* for value. I'm still not sure that the company name isn't off-putting - but despite that, they are definitely professional and I would recommend them without reservation.
Kate in Buckinghamshire Posted on 14/10/2021 , work completed 14/10/2021
The trader replied (on 18/10/2021)
Hi Kate. What a great review to read at the start of a workweek! Thank you so much for this very detailed review of your experience with The Loft Boys. We appreciate it as it helps potential clients when they're seeking a company to board their lofts, especially with various company names to choose from! :) We're glad you decided to get your loft done by us, have a great week ahead. Cheers.
A really excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I approached loft insulation with some trepidation, given the number of cowboys out there. Loft Boys were the complete opposite from the outset. A sensible, pragmatic explanation of the options on my first call was followed up by an excellent information pack. The survey was thorough, prompt and absolutely tailored to my needs. I got a really quick fitting date and the team arrived fully informed and ready to roll. I was not convinced they would do it all in a day but they were finished by mid afternoon. I have had a really good look around and the finish was excellent - really neat and well fitted. I was most impressed by the way they fitted the new storage floor around the existing hatch. When my wife got home she thought the cleaner had come on a day early! Great team, friendly, hard working and thoughtful . I have no hesitation in recommending Loft Boys to anyone needing this service.
Mark in Buckinghamshire Posted on 08/10/2021 , work completed 07/10/2021
The trader replied (on 11/10/2021)
Wow, Mark, your review is wonderful to read, this totally made our Monday morning better! :) Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with The Loft Boys. If there's something else we can help you with, do let us know. Cheers and thank you once again from all of us at TLB.
Very Pleased Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Approached the Loft Boys to board our loft and provide easy access with a fold-away ladder for the loft hatch. Went with them as they install Loft-Zone which I was quite keen on after a bit of reading up. Within a few days, the surveyor came round, inspected the loft, gave us the options with pricing, available space and best use of it. No hard selling involved, very professional - got an online link a few hours later - where we could choose options and customise it. We chose Telescopic ladder and some extra storage options in addition to the main boarding, provided a deposit and agreed works date, all done via online booking system. Couple of weeks, later on, agreed date, Wayne the team leader and 2 other fellas turned up bang on 8am. Super efficient, no interruptions, just cracked on and all finished by 4pm - with demo of all work completed. No mess at all. Really happy with the work carried out and attention to detail, super job. Price wise I think it was very reasonable, unlike quite a few other sites I looked at you can get a good estimate of costs on the website. No doubt you can get jobs done cheaper but I think you often pay for what you get.. More than happy to highly recommend.
Michael in Cambridgeshire Posted on 06/09/2021 , work completed 06/09/2021
The trader replied (on 21/09/2021)
Thank you very much, Michael, for this very detailed review of your experience with The Loft Boys. We really appreciate it, as it helps potential clients to know when they're seeking a company to board their lofts. Reading this made our day! We hope you enjoy your loft and let us know if there's something else you need help with. :)
A pleasure to deal with this company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed by this company. Rapid response to emails, phone answered promptly, good communication. I had an existing ladder replaced (because the mountings were becoming unstable) and a new, insulated, access trap installed. Excellent customer service and good value for money.
Moira in Greater London Posted on 09/08/2021 , work completed 20/07/2021
The trader replied (on 09/08/2021)
Hi Moira, Thank you for your lovely words! We're happy you found our customer service excellent and you took the time to leave this review. If you need anything else, just let us know. Enjoy your summer. :)
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a lot of work done to our home over the last 8 years and this was by far the easiest most professional company that we have dealt with. Each person of the team that I had contact with from the lady who booked in the free valuation to the tradesmen who carried out the work were an absolute pleasure. The guys who boarded the loft were on time, tidy and so polite, the job was done in the time frame they quoted and they kept us informed as they worked. I don’t often leave reviews as I haven’t had good experiences with trades but I cannot recommend the Loft Boys highly enough, thank you so much.
Dani in Greater London Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 02/06/2021
The trader replied (on 04/06/2021)
Wow Dani, this is lovely to read! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review here and on our Facebook page and we're so glad you think we did a professional job. Enjoy your new loft and if you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us. :)
Loft boarding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a previous good experience with the loft boys at my last property, so was keen to get them back to perform full loft boarding with ladder installation and extension to loft hatch. We were booked in for 3 consecutive days and Wayne and his team worked tirelessly with minimal breaks. The end product is beyond my expectation! The work is immaculate and attention to details is incredible. We can’t thank Wayne enough for his professionalism and the rest of the loft Boys team. It has been an absolute pleasure using you again and I will be highly recommending to friends and family.
Ben in Suffolk Posted on 22/05/2021 , work completed 11/05/2021
The trader replied (on 31/05/2021)
Wow, Ben, this is lovely to read! It was great to work with you once again. Thank you very much for this amazing review, we really appreciate it. - From all of us at The Loft Boys :)
Great team, great work!! Highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys are great. From the first interaction for the quote to the work being completed, this company was outstanding. I don’t usually leave reviews but these guys earned it. Above and beyond with the consultation and installation, Tom and the team were professional and a pleasure to do business with!! Keep it up guys! Cheers Jason
Jason in Essex Posted on 19/05/2021 , work completed 17/05/2021
The trader replied (on 19/05/2021)
This is fantastic Jason, thank you so much for leaving this review. We're very happy to hear that you had a great experience with us. If there's something else you need help with, do let us know. Enjoy your new loft! :)
Very happy with the service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was impressed not just by the quality of work, but the whole process from first contact, through the survey, the very efficient paperwork, and the execution. I was pleased to be offered a cheaper option than the one I expected and am very happy with the result. I would certainly recommend The Loft Boys.
Alexander in Greater London Posted on 13/05/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
The trader replied (on 14/05/2021)
Thank you very much Alexander for this lovely review. We're also happy that you're pleased with your new loft. :) Stay safe and have a good weekend!
Fantastic!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service we received from The Loft Boys was excellent from first contact to the completion of our loft work. The communication was brilliant, the staff were all friendly and efficient and welcome pack was one of the best I've received from any company. Would highly recommended!
Sue in Greater London Posted on 06/05/2021 , work completed 04/05/2021
The trader replied (on 11/05/2021)
Hi Sue. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we're very happy you think we did an excellent job! Enjoy your new loft and stay safe. :)
Efficient And Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Boys have demonstrated 5 star service from the first contact through to the survey and installation. They made pragmatic suggestions during the survey and conducted a quick, clean installation free from disruption, Whilst sticking to Covid restrictions throughout. The work entailed partial flooring in the loft of a new build. The quality of communication and efficiency of the back office staff was unusually high, leaving no room for confusion. Although less expensive options exist this is a really professional company, who thoroughly understand their product, and existing rules and regulations. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this company.
Michael in Suffolk Posted on 26/04/2021 , work completed 26/04/2021
The trader replied (on 04/05/2021)
Hi Michael! We're happy that you think we did a good job. Thank you very much for your recommendation! We appreciate that you took the time to leave this lovely review. If you need anything else, don't hesitate to contact us. Stay safe. :)
Professional, helpful, friendly and tidy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial quote request and survey, to the work being done and completed - this was a really professional and friendly job. Mark was great when looking over what needed to be done and gave me a robust quote fully broken down and didn't give me any grief when I chose to use my own electrician for the lighting elements. Then Tom and Scott came round to do the actual work of clearing out 20 years of rubbish, insulating and then boarding the loft. I kept the original hatch and ladder and they went out of their way to ensure it was reset so it was even more stable. They cleaned up really well after the job and throughout were very careful re social distancing etc. They have also offered to assist with moving boards when I have A/C installed with pipes going up and across the loft to ensure my warranty isn't voided. Super helpful, great job and highly recommended.
N M in Greater London Posted on 14/04/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
The trader replied (on 15/04/2021)
Thank you so much for this detailed review of your experience with the company. We appreciate you taking the time and we're happy you recognise we did a professional and great job. We've let the guys know and it made their day! Enjoy your loft and stay safe. :)
Excellent work, really tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tom and Reece from the Loft Boys boarded my loft today, including bracing to help with insulation, etc... I've used the Loft Boys in the past at two of my previous properties, and they really help make the most of the additional storage I need for my house. Tom and Reece arrived when they said they would, and kept me in the loop regarding arrival times, and once they were here they respected COVID guidelines and wore masks throughout. The completed work was high quality and done faster than I was expecting, and they tidied up really well and removed junk that was in the loft. I was happy with the work and would use Loft Boys again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/03/2021 , work completed 11/03/2021
The trader replied (on 16/03/2021)
Thank you very much for being a loyal customer and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with our company. We've passed on your kind words to the boys and that made their day! Thank you :)
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish an excellent job. Prompt professional service. Good contact with office. Delighted with work. Site left clean and tidy. Would thoroughly recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/03/2021 , work completed 03/03/2021
The trader replied (on 04/03/2021)
We're glad that you think we did an excellent job. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate it! :) Stay safe.
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided I needed a loft ladder mainly to save any workmen who may come on a future occasion to carry a ladder up the stairs and have safe access to my loft. The pre paper work was very helpful and concise. The boys arrived on time and quickly got on with the job. they worked quietly and efficiently and the job took the time they said it would. On completion they showed me how the ladder worked cleared up and reassured me to contact their office if any problems.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea Posted on 16/02/2021 , work completed 15/02/2021
The trader replied (on 25/02/2021)
Thank you for sharing your experience with The Loft Boys and we're happy you think we did an excellent job. Thanks again and stay safe. :)
Very professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used The Loft Boys to install a new loft hatch. Very pleased with the end result. Would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/02/2021 , work completed 11/02/2021
The trader replied (on 25/02/2021)
Thank you! If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us. Stay safe. :)
Huge extra storage space and loft ladder - Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked the Loft Boys to board the central area in my roof space and to install a timber loft ladder, including extending the hatch. The booking process was very easy and the quote was broken down very well. The work was done in a very professional way, minimising the disruption as far as possible and doing a good job of cleaning all of the dust, etc... after they had finished - and the guys were really friendly. I'm really happy with the new space, and the ladder makes it dead easy to get things up and down. We have already managed to clear loads of boxes of stuff away up there which gives us a lot more space in the house. I'd definitely recommend the Loft Boys to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 05/02/2021
The trader replied (on 25/02/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you're happy with your new loft space and that it gave you more living space. :) If you need anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thanks, from all of us at 'The Loft Boys'.
New Loft Ladder & Part Loft Reboarded
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great experience from start to finish, from the initial enquiry and quick response/correspondence by Lily & Sharron, to the very thorough survey by William and then the efficiently executed installation by Wayne & Tom within 1 day. Very competitive pricing and very pleased with result. Overall a very professional company who I would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/01/2021 , work completed 18/01/2021
The trader replied (on 28/01/2021)
Thanks for this lovely review and we're happy that you highly recommend The Loft Boys based on your experience with our company. If there is anything we can help you with, please let us know. Stay safe. :)
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't be happier with the service and workmanship I received for my loft hatch extension and ladder installation. Mark was very professional in starting us off with detailed quotes and Lily and Sharron got the work booked in and invoiced in a timely manner. All were happy to answer any questions I had. On the day Wayne did an expert job and was clearly very experienced, he even tidied up some of our disturbed loft insulation from a bathroom re-fit whilst he was there! He took great care in clearing up as well, leaving the landing as it was before he got here, and gave a run down of what was done and how to operate the ladder before he left. All in all, very satisfied, would definitely recommend these guys.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/01/2021 , work completed 07/12/2020
The trader replied (on 28/01/2021)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a detailed review about your experience with The Loft Boys. We're pleased that you're satisfied with everything. We'll pass on your lovely words to everyone you've mentioned and once again, thank you. Stay safe! :)
Professional From Start to Finish - Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Attracted by the ultra-informative website we found The Loft Boys to be totally pleasant and professional in all dealings, from handling the first enquiry, to the survey (Dean), the quote and scheduling (Sharron & Lily), and the installation (Wayne & Tom). The whole job - insulation, floor, hatch and ladder - was completed in one day and the clean-up left our house spotless. Many thanks to all.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 21/12/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
You're welcome and thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with The Loft Boys. We hope you had a good Christmas and a Happy New Year!
Loft ladder installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The initial survey and the final installation were both completed on time and we were very satisfied with the final result. There were no hidden charges so that our final invoice agreed with the quotation to the nearest penny. The installers were cheerful and quick. The only minor problem was having to remove the packing from the two tube lights that the electrician had left in the loft and vacuum up the mud that he had left on the stairs.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 17/12/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
We're glad you are satisfied with the installation. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had to deal with after the installation, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you had a fantastic Christmas! :)
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They came took all the rubbish I left up there away and did an excellent job. Clean and tidy as they worked. Thoroughly professional company and I would highly recommend them. Yes I could have had the loft floored cheaper but I wanted a proper job and that is exactly what I got. They kept us informed of any issues and progress and their covid safety protocols were followed well.
Customer in Luton Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 08/12/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We hope you had a good Christmas and a Happy New Year! :)
First Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very impressed with the Loft Boys right from our initial enquiry through to the completion of the job. This company is obviously on top of its game and is "a cut above the rest". I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/12/2020 , work completed 18/12/2020
The trader replied (on 01/02/2021)
Thank you so much for your recommendation, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Stay safe. :)
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Drawn to company through its excellent website, which is informative and humorous! Survey was carried out by Sam & Bill, and they came up with an excellent solution to our loft space. Installation date was indicated as 3 December, but brought forward to 2nd. The fitters were fantastic. Moved all stuff out of the attic to allow us to sift and discard. They removed all the unwanted toot, which filled almost the whole of the back of their van. Everything fitted in 2 days, and wanted goods moved back to the loft. We noticed some damage to the ladder, and this was no problem as replaced the next day. Because everything had been brought forward, electrician was delayed. But again he turned up on the Monday and fitted the light we had requested. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a new loft, or a refurb of an existing loft.
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 07/12/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Wow, thanks so much for this detailed review. We appreciate it and we'll make sure to pass on your kind words to the guys. We hope you had a fantastic Christmas! Thanks again.
Great work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with all aspects. These guys are very professional, respond promptly, and obviously care about the customer. The survey was very useful with some good advice from Mark. The lads that did the fitting (George and Rhys) were very professional and worked very hard, and genuinely try to keep the customer happy. We’re very happy with the quality of the joinery and the overall finish. Highly recommended.
Customer in Essex Posted on 28/11/2020 , work completed 27/11/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased you're happy with our work! We'll make sure to pass on your kind words to the lads. Stay safe. :)
Complete transformation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a loft that used to be dark, dusty and difficult to access. We now have a fantastic usable space. The loft entrance was enlarged and a good sturdy ladder fitted. The whole area has been boarded and we also have Velux windows put in. The installation team were fantastic. They were polite, hard-working and left the place very clean at the end of every day. They followed all the covid rules to the letter. But most of all they did a really great job. I can't fault the installers or the people back at the office. Communication all the way through was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. A very pleased customer. Will certainly recommend them.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 24/11/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Thank you for this review and we're glad you're pleased with your new loft space. Stay safe! :)
Professional, effective and courteous work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to create more storage space in the loft as well as improve the access to it. Mark came out to survey and took the time to explain the options and associated costs. Once we had decided to go ahead, the contact process for arranging the installation was very professional and smooth. All the legal and contractual papers are clearly laid out on the website and inspired confidence that we were dealing with experienced people. The electrics / lighting was installed first. Although this is sub-contracted to electrical specialists, the link ups with the main team were seamless. George and Scot, who carried out the main work over two days, were very hard working, courteous and kept us informed of progress. They kept up the COVID 19 safety procedures. Everything was cleaned properly before their departure. All in all, a very professional, seamless and courteous performance from The Loft Boys. Thank you.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 12/11/2020 , work completed 10/11/2020
The trader replied (on 20/11/2020)
You're welcome and thank you so much for this detailed review. We'll make sure to pass on your lovely words to George and Scott! Stay safe :)
Revamped my loft, better than a loft conversion!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely marvellous and once decorated will post photos on my website. I will not disclosed how much it was, but lets say that a full loft conversion would have cost me 5 times more what the loft boys charged. What I got is a very clean, loft wood panelled with bottom doors for storage, a much bigger door to access the loft and 2 velux windows. They are very professional and spent at least 20mn before leaving cleaning the house stairs and landing. They only took just over one week always respecting my pet parrots, dog, me and the house. No rubbish left on the driveway nor the landing or anywhere else. Pure joy to have them around. A big applause to the Loft Boys and recommend them with all my heart.
Customer in Essex Posted on 28/10/2020 , work completed 27/10/2020
The trader replied (on 20/11/2020)
Thank you so much for the lovely words. We're looking forward to seeing the photos of your new loft on your website! :)
Loft
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found the service provided by The Loft Boys to be of very high quality. From the initial contact and quote through to the fitting, we were very pleased with the whole process. The workmen were friendly and professional and abided strictly to all the social distancing guidelines whilst in the house. We were particularly pleased at the end of the job when they kindly put some items into the loft for us - saving us lots of time and bother! We are now looking forward to using the space they created for us.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/10/2020 , work completed 14/10/2020
The trader replied (on 27/10/2020)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with our company. We are really pleased to hear of your satisfaction with the guys workmanship and professionalism, and are glad to hear that you were happy with the steps the guys took to ensure they adhered to our social distancing policy. Thanks again
Excellent work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work needed was removal of old insulation, new insulation and boarding. Having searched via Which Trader website, I was very impressed with the information, advice and guidance on the various options available on Loft Boys own website. It made the choice to use them much easier The whole process from the initial enquiry the survey, quote, installation to final paperwork was carried out very efficiently and correctly. All of the people I dealt with were pleasant and helpful. I was pleased with the end result.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
The trader replied (on 20/11/2020)
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We're happy to know that you found us pleasant and helpful and that you're pleased with your newly boarded loft! Cheers :)
Loft boarding and ladder install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 2 loft areas boarded out. It was delayed slightly due to coronavirus but Sharron kept in touch and got us booked in as soon as possible. Unfortunately the installers came up against a live wasp nest and had to stop work unexpectedly. Sharron was great and booked us back in a week later once we had managed to get that dealt with and was very understanding. Couldn’t fault them from survey through to completion, a fantastic service and genuinely nice people to deal with. I would definitely recommend this company without reservation.
Mike in Buckinghamshire Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
The trader replied (on 12/08/2020)
Hi Mike. Thanks for leaving this awesome review. It really does help to let others know they are in safe hands. Stay safe
Perfect Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We booked The Loft Boys to board the accessible part of our loft and install some foil insulation and a couple of battery operated lights. The whole team were a joy to deal with from start to finish, including Sam who did the initial survey and was really fair and helpful with the quotation, to Sharron in the office (so lovely to speak to and super-efficient) to the boys who did the install (tidiest workman I have ever had!). Very friendly, professional service, fairly priced and very respectful of our home. I would definitely recommend.
Customer in Essex Posted on 09/07/2020 , work completed 07/07/2020
The trader replied (on 12/08/2020)
Thank you for posting these lovely words. Please feel free to yell if there is anything we can help with.
Great service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys fitted new insulation, boarded out the loft space and fitted a loft ladder. At the initial meeting the surveyor explained the various options available and their costs. At no point did I feel under pressure to sign up to anything. The team arrived on the agreed date and the work was completed in the two days scheduled. My loft has very little headroom and I’m sure they must have banged their heads more than a few times. In spite of this they were always good-humoured and courteous. I am extremely pleased with the finished work. I would definitely recommend their services.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 05/07/2020 , work completed 17/03/2020
The trader replied (on 12/08/2020)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review. We’ve taken your words on board and now send all the guys out with bash hats :0)
Loft insulation, boarding and loft ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys were recommended by our neighbour who was very impressed by their work. We contacted them for a quote to insulate and board our loft and install a new ladder. This was at the beginning of this year, but corona virus stopped them starting the job. Sharron was very helpfully in contact with us throughout the lock down, and as soon as it started to ease gave us a date and how they would proceed with the safe distance etc regulations (which they did excellently). The two fitters were Steve and Wayne and they were very professional with the work and cleaning up at the end of every day. Nothing was too much of a problem and they kept us informed with their eta at the start of every day and how the job was going throughout. All the work was carried out within the agreed timescale and budget. We are very pleased with the end result and thoroughly recommend this company.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 28/06/2020 , work completed 22/06/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys prepared our loft for insulation, lay the new insulation and installed some boarding. They did great work and were very friendly and helpful. The removal and disposal took an hour longer than estimated and quoted for, but they didn't charge for the extra hours work. I have been very impressed with their work and I highly recommend them. The service and quality of work is excellent.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/06/2020 , work completed 15/06/2020
Herculean effort
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So glad to have used TLB to help clear out 30 years worth of stuff from loft and flat. Its amazing the amount of junk we keep, but after two days hard uncomplaining graft it all disappeared and in its place new insulation, new flooring and space. The work was completed in two days as per estimate at the beginning of December and it was really cold - so hot chocolate all round. Team were great and really friendly making the clearance fun. Fully recommend TLB.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/04/2020 , work completed 04/12/2019
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our loft hatch moved, a new ladder installed and the loft boarded. 'The Loft Boys' were very professional from start to finish. I was kept informed at every step of the process. The job was split into two, on two different dates (at our request) and so two different teams turned up during the course of the entire job. Both teams were punctual, professional, courteous, tidy and nothing was too much trouble. The job was completed on time and at the agreed price. I can highly recommend 'The Loft Boys', they take pride in delivering the complete package.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/04/2020 , work completed 22/01/2020
Great work from honest people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loftboys did a fantastic job on boarding up my loft and providing me with the right ladder to access it. They were not trying to sell me expensive solutions and with some areas in the loft, they recommended leaving it in rather than incur huge costs for removal and storage. When they came in, they were quick, efficient and unobtrusive - they explained the scope of work very clearly at the beginning and there were no unexpected surprises or costs that they had not discussed with us. We are very impressed with Loftboys and would highly recommend them to anyone needing their loft done up.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/04/2020 , work completed 27/09/2019
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our loft boarded using Loftzone, a loft ladder and electric light installed in our new build house. All communications leading up to the installation were followed up promptly and all questions answered fully. In fact the whole process from survey to completion and receipt of the guarantee went very smoothly. All the team were very polite and helpful throughout. The installation was completed in a day. We are very happy with the work and would recommend this company to our friends.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/03/2020 , work completed 19/03/2020
Quick install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The loft boys insulated and boarded our loft, they called to give an ETA on the day and arrived punctually. The works were scheduled to take 2 days but they finished the works in 1 day and we are very pleased with the final output
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/02/2020 , work completed 21/02/2020
Replacement of a loft ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The experience of using The Loft Boys was one of complete professionalism, from the beginning to the end of the work. Mark came first to estimate the job explaining exactly what was needed and what the cost would be and a date was given for the works to be carried out. The guys came, one of which was Steve and they were both efficient and helpful. I certainly would have no hesitation in recommending the company to anyone in the future.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/02/2020 , work completed 15/02/2020
Job well done, all round friendly and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had loft part floored with loftzone, extended hatch and new ladder. The surveyor was very thorough and came up with a better solution than the other people I asked to quote, I also liked the loftzone system. The fitters did a really good job and were helpful and respectful. Work was completed in the time window stated even though someone stole their van while they were working.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/02/2020 , work completed 05/02/2020
Straightforward, friendly, efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first interaction to the last the Loft Boys were really easy to deal with, they communicated everything clearly, followed everything up efficiently. Did a great neat and tidy job on the loft and we are very happy!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/02/2020 , work completed 25/01/2020
Excellent service and a professional job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys were highly professional from the initial conversations and estimate, right through to the completion of the job. Grant was polite and very friendly, as were the two guys who completed the works on the day. When they showed me the finished job it was better than I expected. No untidy corners or incorrectly measured areas, and the new loft ladder and hatch are perfect. I would highly recommend them to anyone thinking of using this company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 24/01/2020
Velux windows and Loft floor & ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a great team... great service from start to finish. I trusted The Loft Boys with a demanding job; board out two attics, fit a fold down ladder to one and replace four ageing non-Velux roof windows with new Velux windows. From the time of the quote I felt a high level of confidence in the company, this was validated when the work commenced. The fitting team are polite, friendly and tidy. I wanted the window openings opened up to let in more light, the fitters listened to my thoughts and included as many as practicable. The December weather caused an unavoidable delay, but the team were back as soon as the rain stopped to finish the work. I now have two attics with floors I have faith in and easy access to them. I also have four solar powered Velux windows, working from the wall switches or the app on my phone! I'm also pleased to say the minor unforeseeable snags encountered were dealt with swiftly and contained within the original quoted price. I highly recommend The Loft Boys.
Paul Posted on 14/01/2020 , work completed 20/12/2019
Excellent service from the Loft Boys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have now used the Loft Boys twice (they boarded out our old loft in 2011) and would highly recommend them. From the original quotation to the leaving the property they have once again been highly professional and friendly. There was no hard sale to upgrade to options I didn't want. The quote was very reasonable and I have now been left with a high quality and highly insulated loft. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 04/01/2020
Appalling customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had my installation booked for multiple weeks in advance only to be rescheduled twice. All for reasonable reasons: death in the family of the installer and gory detailed visit to A&E shared with me. However, when I called to rebook again they did not acknowledge my frustration, got angry for my "lack of understanding" and pointed me to their T&Cs. Worst customer service I have received in years. I would have been happy with "We are sorry, these were out of our control, but here's how we are making up to you". Simple solution, just not the way they prefer to do business. If you use these guys I hope every goes smoothly. Else expect to see the true colours of their customer service. Either way, good luck! Note: As of today still trying to understand whether they will ever come to install the ladder or will give my money back. Will update review with the outcome.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/12/2019 , work completed 05/12/2019
The trader replied (on 15/04/2020)
Hi. Thank you for the review and for the opportunity to use your feedback to improve my company’s service. One of the biggest areas I pride myself on is the customer service we provide, which is a common positive in most of the feedback and reviews we receive. To hear of someone who hasn't had the experience I always strive to provide is quite upsetting and is certainly something I will look to address in this case. If possible, could I ask that you send me a direct email so I can work with you to get this resolved please. I’m unable to locate any information regarding outstanding installations or refunds due so can’t reach out to you directly. It is not my intention, or our company policy to have customers left feeling neglected or under valued so I’d love to resolve this with you as soon as possible. Many thanks and stay safe. Kindest Regards Dean Taylor Managing Director & Founder of The Loft Boys (dean@theloftboys.co.uk)
Fantastic customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job by Loft Boys! Arrived on the date work was to suppose to start and subsequently each day they worked. Polite, on time and very clean and tidy. The works was done without any hiccups and done to a fantastic level. Any issues that did occurs were self with swiftly and communicated to us, to keep us informed at all times. Fantastic customer service!
Justin Posted on 02/12/2019 , work completed 22/11/2019
Very happy, would highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Boys insulated and installed a cross-bracing floor in our loft space. They were very easy to deal with, from first contact to quoting and then doing the work. The job was great quality, and the installer was friendly, efficient and helpful, and added a few extras that made the space work even better. Many thanks Loft Boys.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/11/2019 , work completed 18/11/2019
Efficient, friendly and quality product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Boys have created a hobby room for me - clearing, insulation, boarding, lining, eaves storage, power and Velux window. My loft is unrecognisable from the filthy unpleasant space I started with! Everyone I dealt with in arranging the work - Grant and Sharron - were helpful, friendly and professional - everything explained to me. Allen supervised and did much of the actual work, he is really thorough and easy to deal with. Very happy with this work - an extra room for relatively little outlay! Recommended.
Matt - Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/10/2019 , work completed 11/10/2019
Very happy customer, would highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have recently had our loft boarded out, the hatch extended and a new ladder fitter as we was finding the old boarding in the loft wasn't up to standard and the ladder was unsafe! Having contacting other companies I came across The Loft Boys, they sent Grant the surveyor out to quote which we was happy with so booked The Loft Boys in. Alan was the fitter that came to complete the work and he was fantastic from start to finish, he even stayed late to finish the job so it didn't run into the following day, job was completed to a high standard and he even cleared up after himself! The team in the office were extremely helpful and always called or emailed me back when needed (thank you Sharron and Mark) We would highly recommend The Loft Boys to anyone looking to have work done in their lofts. Thanks again The Loft Boys.
Natasha Posted on 04/10/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Great service - has created a really useful space
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used The Loft Boys twice now. We recently moved house and booked them for shortly after our move. The service is terrific - the office staff are super helpful, and Alan our fitter was very experienced and talked us through several aspects of the job. The result is a superb and useful space for many years to come! I would thoroughly recommend.
(your username) Posted on 23/09/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
Outstanding work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was left in a real pickle by a rogue trader who came to board my loft. I bought the equipment as he advised and we fixed a day. On the said day of installation I started to get worried when he said that my loft doesn't look like the one on You Tube and could he borrow a saw! He spent the day making lots of noise and then said that he would need to come back another time to finish it. I paid him for the day and then I discovered that that he had only completed a fraction of the work, (which was later found to be unsafe) I couldn't have him back. I was advised to call The Loft Boys. I explained my dilemma to Sharron who was really understanding and sent their surveyor round. He advised that the whole lot would need to come out but they would be able to undertake the work. They gave me a very fair quote. There were a couple of unforeseen delays 1. a heat wave 2. a rethink. Finally the work was completed this week by Allan. He worked like a machine and clearly knows his stuff. The loft looks great and I know it was not a straightforward job. There was not a speck of dust when he left. I must say that The Loft Boys have not only done an outstanding job but have given me peace of mind. I now have a space that I know is well insulated and safely boarded by a professional company. Thanks again guys.
Customer in Essex Posted on 14/09/2019 , work completed 11/09/2019
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The original three-day loft-zone job was delayed by two days due to factors out of the Loft Boys' control (their van was broken in to and a staff member was ill). However, once started, the first stage was completed within 48 hours (with early starts and a late finish on the second day): the fitter made it his business to complete the job as close to the original promise as he could. A two day delay was turned into a one day delay by his amazing work-ethic! The fitter was also very open and honest about the choices I had made for the type of loft I had. On experimenting with our new loft space (which was superb!) and discussing matters with my wife, we opted to take the fitter's advice and so we ordered some follow-on work: switching to the wooden eco-ladder and an extended loft hatch with balustrade. The Loftboys team managed to fit in an appointment for the *same* *fitter* to come to complete the work on a Saturday morning (at the start of *his* week of holiday)! He did an excellent job again: early start and finished before lunchtime!
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 24/08/2019 , work completed 24/08/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had our loft cleared of rubbish, insulated, boarded and fitted with a telescopic ladder. I cannot recommend The Loft Boys highly enough. Working in filthy conditions in a confined space and coping with the tremendous heat, the job was completed professionally and quickly by Allan. We now have a fantastic loft space that we are delighted with. Sharron at Head Office was super efficient and friendly - a pleasure to deal with. If you want your loft done - use them and you won’t be disappointed.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 25/07/2019
Excellent service, knowledge and expertise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Loft Boys were highly professional throughout the entire service when dealing with my loft. My loft was in need of boarding and my current hatch was not in the most ideal position. The Loft boys provided a free consultation where they offered different options ideal to maximise my loft space and minimise costs. The job itself was highly skilled in moving the existing hatch into a different position and boarding the entire loft. As an additional bonus, the job was completed ahead of time! Special thanks go to Alan, Grant and Sharron for their service. I would highly recommend them for their professionalism and service.
Emir Sheikh, Milton Keynes Posted on 13/07/2019 , work completed 06/07/2019
Excellent Team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can highly recommend The Loft Boys. Whole process from start to finish was outstanding. Very professional, informative and friendly, excellent communication. Our thanks to Sharron back at base who was so efficient, professional and friendly, to Grant who carried out the survey and explained all options in a clear, non-pressurised manner and obviously knew his stuff! and last but not least, our thanks to Allan who came out and widened the loft hatch and boarded out the loft, did an amazing job, so pleased with the results. We now have a great usable space in the loft we can use safely and access safely. Thank you to the whole team!
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 10/07/2019
Highly recommend 5*
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It gives my great pleasure to give this company a 5 star review. They did everything right from the first meeting with Grant, the installation with Alan and head office support from Sharron. I cannot fault them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/07/2019 , work completed 09/07/2019
Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish the service from the Loft Boys has been nothing but exceptional! From the booking of the survey, the visit from the surveyor and the installation has exceeded my expectations. The Loft Boys came to install some Loft Flooring for my Daughter and the whole process was very professional. They were well presented, very polite and friendly. I would highly recommend The Loft Boys!
Customer in Essex Posted on 20/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Loft Boarding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, from start to finish. The two guys from Loft Boys worked diligently to create exactly our requirements. They were polite and cleaned up after themselves. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
Met expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent outcome at a very reasonable cost. Worked diligently and took care in their work and tidied up afterwards. Very happy with result
Customer in Reading Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019