Endorsed by Which?

The New Forest Locksmith

4.9

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Qualified Master Locksmith and Approved Company of the Master Locksmiths Association.

The New Forest Locksmith Ltd is a family run business with the focus firmly on ensuring your security and peace of mind are respected at all times. It's incredibly important to us that you trust us and are confident in our abilities to carry out the work, from the first phone call, through to completion and support after the work is complete.

As an Approved Company of the Master Locksmiths Association, we are DBS checked, examined and inspected by the MLA before being accredited and recommended. Both Which? and the MLA provide routes of complaint to any client who, in the unlikely event, may not be satisfied with the level of service they have received from me.

We can provide advice on all aspects of security and specialise in alarms, safes and one-key lock suites, giving you one key for your home. We can also service and fix failed doors and of course provide a lockout service. We would love to be able to help.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Alarm and security equipment installers

    • Alarm installation
    • Safe Installation
  • More Services

    • electronic smart locking
    • electronic locks
    • intruder alarms

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex communicated well, was transparent about costs. Arrived as arranged, fast to finish and all in all a very proffessional individual. I would recommend. Job: new locks on 3 doors and a garage.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 16/07/2024 , work completed 16/07/2024
Great job completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex came to fix the locking mechanism on one of my patio doors. He explained what had happened to the mechanism, the bottom section had become disconnected from the rest of the component and fixed it for me. He then realigned the doors so they shut correctly and squarely. Alex did a great job for me today at a reasonable cost. Thank you Alex.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 11/06/2024 , work completed 24/06/2011
The trader replied (on 12/06/2024)
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The job turned out well given the cost of a new mechanism and should continue to work for the foreseeable future! It was a pleasure to be able help. Many thanks once again. Alex
Another great job done for me by Alex at The New Forest Locksmith Ltd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another great job done for me by Alex at The New Forest Locksmith. From the moment I made contact with The New Forest Locksmith I found Alex to be very proactive, assertive, and professional. He kept in touch with me all the way through from advising, to installing, to ordering products for me. He was always on time, polite, friendly, clean and tidy. I would not hesitate in recommending Alex at The New Forest Locksmith to anyone looking to change their locks and to get sound advice on the best security available.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 15/04/2024 , work completed 12/04/2024
The trader replied (on 17/04/2024)
This is such a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to post it. I'm glad the service was all you needed and I'd certainly look forward to helping again in the future should you need it. Many thanks indeed.
Excellent fast service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent reply to first telephone call, and service that day. Fitted lock and adjusted door. Excellent return next day to finalise adjustment. Efficient and excellent customer care.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 16/01/2024 , work completed 15/01/2024
The trader replied (on 17/04/2024)
It was a pleasure to be able to help and thank you so much for the call. Feel free to let me know if you need anything further.
Swift lock repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, efficient and professional service. Arrived promptly as per time indicated when I contacted him and got on with the job. Wish we had not left both of the problems with external locks for so long because Alex was able to resolve the issues with both locks swiftly, with no fuss and as he had advised within his quote. Reasonably priced and job well done. We would use this service again if the need arose.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 29/11/2023 , work completed 29/11/2023
The trader replied (on 07/12/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to pen this review for me. I'm pleased I was able to help and thank you for referring to the reasonable cost as many think we are an expensive trade. Ultimately it's often cheaper for us to fix the problems than for them to persist and break further, or for a handyman to have a go. Please do give me a call if you need anything further. All the best. Alex
Gave excellent service and advice.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He phoned, as arranged, prior to his arrival. He was very polite and explained everything as he worked. The work was carried out confidently and effectively and he charged a very reasonable rate for the quality of work. Both doors (front and back doors) now function perfectly. I would recommend the New Forest Locksmith to anyone.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 27/11/2023 , work completed 27/11/2023
The trader replied (on 29/11/2023)
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure to help and I appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts.
replaced front door lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had the pleasure of meeting Alex for the first time, on Nov 3, having been referred to me (by a car key expert) – my ‘not that old ERA front door lock’ had truly locked. We spoke on the phone, set him photos with an explanation, he gave me a cost which matched the final invoice; he duly arrived as scheduled, took me through the remedial process, aligned the new lock correctly as opposed to the initial installation (by the ‘new build’ builders at the time), and took time to explain best practise on lock maintenance/handling…. Cleared up, tidy, polite, methodical, true professional in his field (and my dog liked him)
Customer in Dorset Posted on 09/11/2023 , work completed 03/11/2023
The trader replied (on 07/12/2023)
Thank you for this review. Yes that one had definitely locked itself up! I'm glad to have been able to help and to undo some of the problems which occurred from install. If there's anything else you need, please do get in touch. Many thanks once again. Alex
fantastic, knowledgeable and timely
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used the New Forest Locksmith. The initial contact is always a pleasure, the phone is answered, the problem understood and a date and time to deal with it is made. On both occasions, the lock was dealt with in under 48 hours (there was no time pressure from my side). The work is done well, very tidy and a pleasure to do business with. I would highly recommend
Customer in Dorset Posted on 06/06/2023 , work completed 05/06/2023
The trader replied (on 29/11/2023)
I very much appreciate you leaving a review. I'm glad I could help on both occasions! Many thanks for choosing me again.
Replacement of security lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Very clear and concise information given. Work carried out efficiently and on time. Overall cost was less than we had feared before finding Alex. Highly recommended.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 27/03/2023 , work completed 24/03/2023
The trader replied (on 29/11/2023)
I'm very glad I could be of service and you were happy with the work. Thank you for the review.
Helpful and Work carried out Quickly and Efficiently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex was very helpful in advising us with our issue, we went back to him quite a time later and asked him to carry out the work, he updated us with prices and ordered the part needed. He came in to fix the issue as soon as the part arrived. Would recommend Alex.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 07/03/2023 , work completed 01/03/2023
The trader replied (on 29/11/2023)
I always try to give advice wherever I can so my customers can take a properly informed choice. Many thanks for choosing to come back and thank you for the review!
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fixed the issue and gave honest and balanced advice about a few other changes I was thinking about doing. Was also flexible enough to get everything done there and then. Can't recommend enough.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 30/01/2023 , work completed 30/01/2023
The trader replied (on 30/01/2023)
Thank you. It was a great job and always satisfying to improve the security of a client's home. You know where I am should you need anything further. Many thanks indeed.
Very Good Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had one those fiddly jobs that are awkward and required some figuring out for a solution. Alex was prompt to engage with me and persisted until the solution was found and the job completed. I admired his professionalism in doing so and would not hesitate to recommend him and will certainly keep his name in my book for any future jobs!
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 07/10/2022 , work completed 07/10/2022
The trader replied (on 10/10/2022)
Thanks Jeremy, a fun and interesting job to find a solution for. I appreciate the review and will help whenever I can. All the best. Alex
Outstanding work and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Alex at New Forest Locksmiths Ltd today at 9.15am to explain that my elderly mother who lives alone in Barton on Sea was struggling to lock her front door. He took all my Mums details as I live over four hours away and told me he would ring her and arrange to go and look at the issue. By 12.30 the lock had been replaced and my Mum felt secure again. I cannot thank Alex enough for the work he carried out but more importantly the compassion and sympathy he showed towards my Mums situation. He also kindly checked my Mums other door locks while he was there. Outstanding service. I would highly recommend Alex and his company to everyone. Thank you so much Alex.
Louise in Essex Posted on 18/07/2022 , work completed 18/07/2022
The trader replied (on 10/10/2022)
It was a pleasure to be able to help. Thank you for the review and you know where I am should you need anything further.
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex provided first class service throughout. Prompt to action, he was very diligent tailoring our requirement to our needs and recommending optimum products to suit. All work carried out to highest degree. First class and I would thoroughly recommend.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 29/06/2022 , work completed 28/06/2022
The trader replied (on 30/06/2022)
Thank you very much for the review. It was a pleasure to be able to help. Many thanks indeed for the work and you know where I am should you need anything else of course.
Security Posts
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wider family own a small pice of land which was being used fir non authorised parking. The solution I realised was to install 2 folding security posts but not living locally to the land and not have the required tools myself who could I get to undertake the work? Being familiar with the Master Locksmith Association I fond The New Forrest Locksmith who took on the task, recommended a better post than I had found and although he had not done this before, installed the posts for me. Great and friendly service and someone being willing to go the extra mile. Would recommend and use again.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 16/06/2022 , work completed 10/06/2022
The trader replied (on 30/06/2022)
Many thanks for the review. This was a really interesting piece of work to carry out and to turn my hands to. Thank you for the challenge and if you need anything further please ask.
Helpful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex responded very quickly to my request for new locks for the house. It was quite a tricky job, but he took time and effort to make sure it was done properly. He cut some spare keys on the spot, cleaned up after himself and even helped to realign the front door, which was a bit wonky! Also very friendly - would definitely recommend!
Customer in Dorset Posted on 06/05/2022 , work completed 06/05/2022
The trader replied (on 09/05/2022)
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure to help and you know where I am should you need anything. Many thanks again.
Existing lock fixed and new lock fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex successfully fixed the existing 'Yale' type lock on our front door which was failing due to incorrect original installation some 15 years ago. He also fitted a deadlock to the same door. He was meticulous in his work, which was carried out to a very high standard, on time, and to the estimated cost. He kept us informed of progress at all stages of the work and left the hallway in a clean and tidy condition. He is friendly, professional, communicative and very, very good at his job.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 05/05/2022 , work completed 04/05/2022
The trader replied (on 09/05/2022)
Thank you for the kind words and the review. I always work to the highest standards and so I'm pleased you are happy with the results. Any problems at all, please let me know of course. Many thanks again. Alex
Fantastic all round!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Alex was excellent. Communication was spot on from the very first email. Alex took the time to talk through the various different options and was very knowledgeable about them all. There was no pressure to use his services at all, but after his friendly manner you wouldn't go elsewhere. I will definitely be using Alex's services again and will be recommending him to friends and family. Faultless, thanks again Alex!
Customer in Dorset Posted on 04/05/2022 , work completed 22/04/2022
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
Thank you for the superb review. It was a pleasure to be able to help and you know where I am if you require anything further. All the best for now.
Fixed faulty door lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex phoned to give me an update on his arrival time. Initially, he was only going to look at the door lock to assess whether to repair or to replace. However, he determined he could fix it then and there. He did a good job and door now closes and locks correctly. I would recommend Alex to anyone.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 09/01/2022 , work completed 05/01/2022
Stand out Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I don't regularly write reviews but the quality of service and standard of work carried out by them deserves a special mention. Having recently moved into our new home we required new and additional locks on both the back and front of the house. I researched and found The New Forest locksmith who had a full set of qualifications. They promptly made an appointment to carry out a survey in which he was very approachable and came up with a schedule of work and the price by the end of the meeting which was agreed along with the fitting date. The day before returning to carry out the work he contacted me by text to check all was in order and remind me of the time he would be arriving. He carried out the work to a very high standard and left everything clean and tidy as he proceeded. Before leaving everything that had been fitted was fully explained. Perfect Transaction, thank you.
Paul in Dorset Posted on 16/12/2021 , work completed 15/12/2021
The trader replied (on 16/12/2021)
Thanks . What a superb and detailed review. It was a genuine pleasure to meet you and to be able to help and I'm always available to chat about further security questions of course. All the best in your new home. Alex
Door lock repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Alex 3 times now and his work is always of the highest quality. On this occasion, unprompted by myself, he also double-checked the repairs he did at his previous visit to make sure everything was still OK (which it was). Service is always prompt, very efficient and professional. I thoroughly recommend this company
Gary in Dorset Posted on 07/12/2021 , work completed 07/12/2021
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After new extension works had been completed we had just learn to live with the sub-standard locks/handles that had been fitted on our bespoke doors. It just got to the point when I wanted someone local with more experience to provide their assessment and remedy. Alex responded promptly and organised a visit. He arrived as scheduled and knew exactly what was wrong, why and how to fix it. Alex was on a tight schedule but even took a look at another door and sorted that. Alex is extremely personable, professional, reliable and goes beyond what was expected of him to keep you happy. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 13/10/2021
The trader replied (on 24/11/2021)
Thank you for the review. I often come across problems which have not been solved by the original installers and so it was great to find a solution. Anything else you need, please get in touch of course.
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended this trader. I am renting out my mums old bungalow, the front door has never really worked/locked well. This locksmith came out to me within 24hrs, he removed the whole locking mechanism and then put it right and put it all back again, so now I have a good door that works again as it should. This trader was very good, quick, nothing was too hard, you could tell he didn't want to be beaten by our old door! I would highly recommend him. Thank you.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 04/10/2021
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed this trader after our third son recommended him as an expert in his field and a thoroughly reliable locksmith.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 05/10/2021
The trader replied (on 24/11/2021)
Thank you for the kind words. I certainly try to do the best I can! :)
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The locksmith opened and repaired a small personal safe
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 07/10/2021
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a much more secure lock installed by Alex ?The New Forest Locksmith?, He arrived on time, installed and tested my new lock, and instructed me on how to use it properly. I have paid, received the invoice, and am very happy with the service I got. I have no hesitation in recommending Alex to anybody else who needs a fully qualified Locksmith.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 11/10/2021
The trader replied (on 24/11/2021)
Thank you for the review and for recommending me to others. It was a pleasure to be able to help.
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex replaced a old front door lock on the Stanpit Village Hall. The completed work is excellent and the trustees are very happy with the work and the price charged. We would definitely use Alex again and would highly recommend him to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 11/10/2021
The trader replied (on 24/11/2021)
It was genuinely a pleasure to carry out this work. it was a shame we couldn't get the old lock working but sometimes they have just had their day! You know where I am should you require anything further. All the best. Alex