Endorsed by Which?

The Sash Window Workshop Trading Ltd

5.0

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–16:30
  • Monday 08:00–16:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–16:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–16:30
  • Thursday 08:00–16:30
  • Friday 08:00–16:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

MARCH 2023
NOVEMBER 2021

About

The Sash Window Workshop specialise in manufacturing and installing traditional timber windows and doors in London and the south of England. Windows and doors are designed to improve energy efficiency, while retaining the traditional character.

Operating out of our factory in Berkshire, we manufacture bespoke sash windows, casement windows and external timber doors. If the frame is still in a good condition we can just replace the moving parts.

We also offer bespoke secondary glazing and a draught proofing service for timber windows.

Our aim is to deliver excellence at every opportunity and our experienced team of sales surveyors will ensure that you are provided with the solution that meets your needs.

We are proud that roughly half our orders come from existing customers and recommendations, highlighting our high quality products and excellent customer service.

For a free, no obligation site survey and quotation, contact us on: 01344 868 668.

https://www.sashwindow.com/

What we do

  • Doors

    • Timber doors
    • Patio doors
    • Bi-fold doors
  • Glaziers

    • Window consultants
    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Double glazing installation
  • Draughtproofing installers

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • More Services

    • casement windows
    • featured windows
    • front doors
    • french door

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
The BEST in the business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't speak too highly of The Sash Window Workshop and I implore you to use them if you are looking for new windows or a door. The reason I'm so effusive is that I used another company when I first moved into my new house to do the front windows. The Co which will remain nameless (unless you want to contact me) had a very impressive website and strong reviews but we felt very let down by the service. The windows themselves were good thank god. But the service was really lacking and the engineers were shocking. I'm making this clear because windows cost thousands of pounds and it's a scary commitment. And that feeling of being let down never leaves you. When I found Sash Windows Workshop it was to the front door and from the first meeting with Stav the front/salesman it was a delight to do business with them all. The surveyors, the engineers, everyone. Plus the door itself is a solid piece of art. A beautiful thing to behold. I was so impressed I got them to do my back windows and they've just completed another perfect job from start to finish. You cannot mess around when choosing a window company. These people are just so nice, so knowledgeable, so polite, so tidy. Plus they've all worked at the company for many years and you can tell they are all part of a family and respect one another. If you want the best, look no further. You will be very happy.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/10/2022 , work completed 30/09/2022
The trader replied (on 06/10/2022)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an online review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with your work that we did for you and with the customer service that you received. We do our utmost to deliver the highest standards of both product and service, so having positive feedback makes all the difference to us. I have passed your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Fantastic from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first phone call, site visit, measurement, planning of installation date and then having all the windows and a door replaced we have been so impressed with this company. All the way through we were fully informed and reassured that everything was going to plan, whether that was being sent insurance for our payments, times and dates or answering any questions we had, the response was always swift, professional and helpful. The standard of workmanship and quality of the double glazed sash windows and door is superb. The installation was smooth, every attention to detail was met and the rooms were left clean and tidy once completed. All the old windows, door and debris was taken away by the friendly calm installers. All they left us with was well fitted, smooth running brand new windows and a draft free, warmer, much quieter home. We highly recommend their work, customer service and quality at a reasonable price for such a high standard. Very impressed and thankful we found them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
The trader replied (on 22/11/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our Which? profile and for recommending us. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with the service that you received and with your new sash windows and door. Thank you for trusting us with your business. I hope your windows and door continue to serve you well. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Superb wooded replacement sash & casement windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed several windows replacing in my Victorian house. My neighbours recommended The Sash Window Workshop. From the first contact through to the completion of the installation, everything proceeded smoothly. Communication at every stage has been excellent and no problems arose. I realised at the start that there was a long lead time involved and in the end this was over 4 months, but it was definitely worth the wait. The installation was carried out over 2 days and the remedial work to surrounding plasterwork has been minimal. I would have no hesitation recommending this company for the high quality of its products and excellent customer service.
Richard in Greater London Posted on 30/09/2021 , work completed 17/09/2021
The trader replied (on 01/10/2021)
Thank you for leaving us an online review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile. I am very pleased to hear that you would have no hesitation in recommending us and that you are so happy with your new windows and the customer service that you received. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Quality job, prompt & polite service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On this occasion, the Sash Window Workshop replaced two sash windows (one window only, one window plus box). We have used them in the past to repair broken sash cords. Throughout the quotation, order placement, and execution process, communication was swift and polite. On all occasions, service providers attended our property at the agreed time. The fitter who completed the work was friendly and polite, kept us well informed of progress, and cleared up after himself to a greater extent than I expected. The work was completed to a high standard, and we are very pleased with our new windows. The Sash Window Workshop is expensive but I believe it is money well spent. I would certainly use them again in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending them to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/07/2021 , work completed 15/07/2021
The trader replied (on 28/07/2021)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on our Which? profile and for recommending us to other potential customers. I am delighted to hear that you are happy with the service that you received, from the initial quotation to the installers cleaning up after the work was complete, and that you are also pleased with your new windows. Thank you for continuing to trust us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto everyone involved in your order. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Great Products, great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole service is excellent. The initial list to quote happened very quickly and I had a quotation within a day. The Workshop then communicated when they would install the windows, with follow up texts and emails as reminders. The actual installation was super. The installer arrived exactly at the time he said he would, and has done a fantastic job installing and cleaning up behind him. The company also confirmed when they had received all payments, so that it is very clear that nothing has gone wrong anywhere. Great job with all parts of the company giving a great, coordinated service.
Customer in Windsor and Maidenhead Posted on 30/06/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
The trader replied (on 01/07/2021)
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Which?. I am happy to hear that you found the whole service to be excellent. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
The most professional company I have ever used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got double glazed windows installed from the Sash Window Workshop about five years ago. I was so pleased with the company and the installation that I wanted to replace my front door. It took me another five years to finally get around to replacing the front door and I could only dimly remember their name. I Googled double glazed sash windows and I identified them by their logo. What I love about this company is that they do a very, very professional job and are great at communication. Having worked with a lot of builders in the past, I know you cannot take either of these for granted. They respond to anything I ask immediately and are always very clear and prompt with telling me what is going to happen and when. I love the sash windows and the door looks great. I haven't lived through a winter yet with the door but am confident that it will make a great contribution towards reducing my energy bills - and it looks great! They aren't cheap but I have found that cheap means I have to re-do the job a few years later. It also saves on painting - I never have to paint the windows (wooden windows) and I know I won't have to paint the door. That's another saving in maintenance. I can't recommend them more highly.
Pat in Greater London Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
The trader replied (on 16/06/2021)
Thank you very much for your online review. I am delighted to hear that your sash windows are still serving you well. We do our utmost to deliver the highest quality product and service, so I am very glad to hear that you are so happy with your new front door and with the service that you received. I will pass your feedback onto everyone involved in your order. Thank you for continuing to trust us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Overhauling sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would hesitate to recomend this company . First class job Efficient team , no fuss and no mess ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
The trader replied (on 11/02/2021)
Thank you for your 5 star review of our draught proofing and overhaul service. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the work we carried out to your sash windows and with the efficiency and tidiness of our installers. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
A Complete High Quality and Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 8 new sash windows, including one replacement window sill. The work was undertaken according to schedule and completed within the agreed time frame. The cost of the project was as agreed on the original contract with no variations. It was evident from the initial visit by the surveyor that this company has high professional standards. The surveyor was very personable and knowledgeable explaining clearly all aspects of the proposed work. He was also respectful of us in relation to Covid-19 protocols. We received a detailed, written proposal and any alterations were dealt with promptly. A contract was drawn up, which was transparent and easy to understand. The staged payments were specified and wholly reasonable. This company has very good administrative support. Circumstance meant a long lead time but the installation date was agreed and honoured despite coinciding with National Lockdown 2. The fitter arrived on time to commence the installation and he was polite, respectful and appreciative of our preparation. He discussed how the installation would proceed and kept us fully informed of progress. The standard of work was excellent throughout. He is highly skilled, hard working and proud of his work. He was meticulous in his work, finishing and clearing up. We are delighted with the work. The window units are high quality and manufactured to replicate the design of the original. An excellent company offering high quality products and a complete, coherent service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/11/2020 , work completed 13/11/2020
The trader replied (on 25/11/2020)
Thank you for your excellent online review of the work we carried out for you. I am very glad to hear that you are pleased with both the work and the service that you received. We do our utmost to deliver the highest standards of both product and service, so having positive feedback makes all the difference to us. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
New sash windows and door to balcony on Edwardian house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sash Window Workshop were absolutely brilliant. They have done a beautiful job replacing quite intricate windows, and they were efficient, polite and professional. We could not be happier.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/08/2020 , work completed 12/08/2020
The trader replied (on 25/09/2020)
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with the work that we carried out for you and with the service you received. Thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director The Sash Window Workshop
Great Product Installed Well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dealing with The Sash Window Workshop was a great customer experience from start to finish. We wanted the right look for the property and the initial visit helped ensure all the right options were chosen and in discussion it became clear that the right vendor was selected for our work. The installation was carried out by Joe over two days, and was very well done keeping the work area very tidy as he went along and spending a lot of time on the fit & detail using all the latest technology to ensure the windows were installed perfectly and aligned - which wasn't the case for the old windows that were taken out. The product just looks quality from inside and out, and being made from quality material with vendor guarantees gives us piece of mind. Overall highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/04/2019 , work completed 17/04/2019