Endorsed by Which?

The Sash Window Workshop Trading Ltd

4.9

24 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–16:30
  • Monday 08:00–16:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–16:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–16:30
  • Thursday 08:00–16:30
  • Friday 08:00–16:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

MARCH 2023
NOVEMBER 2021

About

The Sash Window Workshop is the premier manufacturer and installer of traditional timber windows and doors in London and the south of England. Operating out of our factory in Berkshire, we manufacture bespoke sash windows, casement windows and external timber doors. If the frame is still in a good condition we can just replace the moving parts.

We also offer bespoke secondary glazing and a draught proofing service for timber windows.

Our highly experienced team of sales surveyors and installers will ensure that you are provided with the solution that meets your needs. Our aim is to deliver excellence at every opportunity.

We are proud that roughly half our orders come from existing customers and recommendations, highlighting our high quality products and excellent customer service.

For a free, no obligation site survey and quotation, please contact us on: 01344 868 668.

https://www.sashwindow.com/

What we do

  • Doors

    • Timber doors
    • Patio doors
    • Bi-fold doors
  • Glaziers

    • Window consultants
    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Double glazing installation
  • Draughtproofing installers

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • More Services

    • casement windows
    • featured windows
    • front doors
    • french door

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
24 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Professional and great communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked the Sash Window Workshop to provide a quote for secondary double glazing for an upstairs window due to increased traffic noise. The sales visit was very informative and helpful and at no point did it feel like we were being given a hard sell. It was recommended that we instead replace our window with a double-glazed option made to match the one being replaced but with sufficient gap and additional acoustic glass. Throughout the process of survey, manufacture and the lead up to installation, communication was excellent and always polite and friendly. We were helped to find a scaffolding company, and on the day of installation, the fitters arrived promptly and took care of our home, working carefully and cleaning up afterwards ( not a great deal required but it was appreciated). The window is now in, looks perfect and provides a huge improvement in noise. I can't recommend them highly enough. Extremely well made windows in keeping with our house.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/02/2024 , work completed 29/01/2024
The trader replied (on 19/02/2024)
Thank you for your review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with your new windows and with the service that you received. We do our utmost to provide a high level of product and service, and believe that it is important to provide our customers with helpful advice based on our experience (rather than a hard sell). I am glad that you felt this was given and that your new windows have made such an improvement in noise reduction. I hope your new windows continue to serve you well and I will pass your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job. Thank you for trusting us with your business. Best wishes, Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and beautiful windows installed. We’ve recommended this company many times and numerous friends and neighbours have used them too and have also been delighted.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 31/01/2024 , work completed 05/01/2024
The trader replied (on 06/02/2024)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for recommending us to your friends and neighbours. I happy to hear that you, and those you have recommended us to, have been delighted with the work that we have carried out. Thank you for trusting us with your business. Best wishes, Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop
Victorian bay windows replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the original 1850s bay windows on our house replaced and the fifty year old secondary glazing removed. Communication between the company and us was efficient, the survey was thorough and the installation went smoothly. Plenty of dust sheets were provided and the installers were pleasant and hard working. We are very pleased to now have windows we can open easily. The rotted sills were also replaced and the windows look great both inside and out blending well with windows which were not replaced.
Customer in Berkshire Posted on 09/12/2023 , work completed 01/12/2023
The trader replied (on 12/12/2023)
Thank you for leaving us a review online and for recommending us. I am glad to hear that you are so happy with your new bay windows and with how the appearance of the new windows suits your Victorian property. I am also delighted that you are happy with the service that you received. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. I hope your windows continue to serve you well and I will pass your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job. Best wishes, Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Excellent and Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company replaced four sash windows for us. We were impressed by the professionalism throughout from the initial advice on options to the carrying out of the work. Everything happened as it should and when it should. We can highly recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/09/2023 , work completed 15/08/2023
The trader replied (on 22/09/2023)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with the service that you received when replacing your sash windows and that you would recommend us to others. Thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop
Excellent Quality and Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently replaced our traditional Edwardian, single-glazed sashes with like for like double glazed equivalents. Prior to the installation, I visited the Sash Window Workshop to have a look around and was extremely impressed with the setup and was not disappointed with the quality of the product when it was delivered and installed. The installers were professional, courteous and polite at all times and the aftercare impeccable. When some slight issues arose (mostly due to user naivety) a member of staff was dispatched promptly to deal with them. Overall - Impressed, I would have no hesitation in recommending the company or the product.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/06/2023 , work completed 24/05/2023
The trader replied (on 04/07/2023)
Thank you for leaving us an online review. I am glad to hear that you would recommend us, and that you are happy with the quality of your new sashes and with the service received. We do our utmost to deliver the highest standards of both product and service, so having positive feedback makes all the difference to us. I would like to thank you for trusting us with your business. Best wishes, Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Excellent work done by nice people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Sash Window Workshop were professional and helpful at all stages from our initial inquiry to completion. The job was tricky, fitting new double-glazed draught-proofed sashes into existing frames and required an extra visit which was carried out promptly. We are very pleased with the results.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/01/2023 , work completed 04/01/2023
The trader replied (on 18/01/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that you are very pleased with the work carried out installing new double glazed sashes into your existing window frames. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. I hope the windows continue to serve you well. Best wishes, Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
The Sash Window Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process of doing business with the Sash Window Workshop has been totally professional and efficient. Every step has occurred as and when described. From the salesman, Joe Parkinson’s visit, to the installation by Ryan and Attila with their team. Everything has gone smoothly. The product appears to be really good quality and the installation, swift and efficient with such attention to detail, safety concerns and impeccable tidying up - the whole experience painless and the result, beautiful. I am sure we can already see, feel and hear the benefits. Also the patience required while the grinding machinations of the (ridiculously unnecessary) Kensington and Chelsea planning department resolved to grant permission. Thank you for sticking with me! So, in conclusion, five stars all round for every aspect of the Sash Window Workshop’s work. Plus a special note of thanks to the very skilled, Ryan and Attila - who were exemplary… Thank you for looking after me so well. I would have no hesitation in recommending the company to anyone and everyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/12/2022 , work completed 29/11/2022
The trader replied (on 06/12/2022)
Thank you for leaving us a review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile and for recommending us. I am glad to hear that everything went smoothly and that you are very happy with your new windows. I am happy that you are already seeing, feeling and hearing the benefits of your new windows. Thank you for trusting us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto Ryan, Attila, Joe and everyone else who worked on your job. Best wishes, Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
The BEST in the business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't speak too highly of The Sash Window Workshop and I implore you to use them if you are looking for new windows or a door. The reason I'm so effusive is that I used another company when I first moved into my new house to do the front windows. The Co which will remain nameless (unless you want to contact me) had a very impressive website and strong reviews but we felt very let down by the service. The windows themselves were good thank god. But the service was really lacking and the engineers were shocking. I'm making this clear because windows cost thousands of pounds and it's a scary commitment. And that feeling of being let down never leaves you. When I found Sash Windows Workshop it was to the front door and from the first meeting with Stav the front/salesman it was a delight to do business with them all. The surveyors, the engineers, everyone. Plus the door itself is a solid piece of art. A beautiful thing to behold. I was so impressed I got them to do my back windows and they've just completed another perfect job from start to finish. You cannot mess around when choosing a window company. These people are just so nice, so knowledgeable, so polite, so tidy. Plus they've all worked at the company for many years and you can tell they are all part of a family and respect one another. If you want the best, look no further. You will be very happy.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/10/2022 , work completed 30/09/2022
The trader replied (on 06/10/2022)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an online review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with your work that we did for you and with the customer service that you received. We do our utmost to deliver the highest standards of both product and service, so having positive feedback makes all the difference to us. I have passed your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Fantastic from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first phone call, site visit, measurement, planning of installation date and then having all the windows and a door replaced we have been so impressed with this company. All the way through we were fully informed and reassured that everything was going to plan, whether that was being sent insurance for our payments, times and dates or answering any questions we had, the response was always swift, professional and helpful. The standard of workmanship and quality of the double glazed sash windows and door is superb. The installation was smooth, every attention to detail was met and the rooms were left clean and tidy once completed. All the old windows, door and debris was taken away by the friendly calm installers. All they left us with was well fitted, smooth running brand new windows and a draft free, warmer, much quieter home. We highly recommend their work, customer service and quality at a reasonable price for such a high standard. Very impressed and thankful we found them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
The trader replied (on 22/11/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our Which? profile and for recommending us. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with the service that you received and with your new sash windows and door. Thank you for trusting us with your business. I hope your windows and door continue to serve you well. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Superb wooded replacement sash & casement windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed several windows replacing in my Victorian house. My neighbours recommended The Sash Window Workshop. From the first contact through to the completion of the installation, everything proceeded smoothly. Communication at every stage has been excellent and no problems arose. I realised at the start that there was a long lead time involved and in the end this was over 4 months, but it was definitely worth the wait. The installation was carried out over 2 days and the remedial work to surrounding plasterwork has been minimal. I would have no hesitation recommending this company for the high quality of its products and excellent customer service.
Richard in Greater London Posted on 30/09/2021 , work completed 17/09/2021
The trader replied (on 01/10/2021)
Thank you for leaving us an online review on our Which? Trusted Traders profile. I am very pleased to hear that you would have no hesitation in recommending us and that you are so happy with your new windows and the customer service that you received. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Quality job, prompt & polite service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On this occasion, the Sash Window Workshop replaced two sash windows (one window only, one window plus box). We have used them in the past to repair broken sash cords. Throughout the quotation, order placement, and execution process, communication was swift and polite. On all occasions, service providers attended our property at the agreed time. The fitter who completed the work was friendly and polite, kept us well informed of progress, and cleared up after himself to a greater extent than I expected. The work was completed to a high standard, and we are very pleased with our new windows. The Sash Window Workshop is expensive but I believe it is money well spent. I would certainly use them again in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending them to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/07/2021 , work completed 15/07/2021
The trader replied (on 28/07/2021)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on our Which? profile and for recommending us to other potential customers. I am delighted to hear that you are happy with the service that you received, from the initial quotation to the installers cleaning up after the work was complete, and that you are also pleased with your new windows. Thank you for continuing to trust us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto everyone involved in your order. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Great Products, great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole service is excellent. The initial list to quote happened very quickly and I had a quotation within a day. The Workshop then communicated when they would install the windows, with follow up texts and emails as reminders. The actual installation was super. The installer arrived exactly at the time he said he would, and has done a fantastic job installing and cleaning up behind him. The company also confirmed when they had received all payments, so that it is very clear that nothing has gone wrong anywhere. Great job with all parts of the company giving a great, coordinated service.
Customer in Windsor and Maidenhead Posted on 30/06/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
The trader replied (on 01/07/2021)
Thank you very much for reviewing us on Which?. I am happy to hear that you found the whole service to be excellent. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. I will pass your feedback onto everyone who worked on your job. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
The most professional company I have ever used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got double glazed windows installed from the Sash Window Workshop about five years ago. I was so pleased with the company and the installation that I wanted to replace my front door. It took me another five years to finally get around to replacing the front door and I could only dimly remember their name. I Googled double glazed sash windows and I identified them by their logo. What I love about this company is that they do a very, very professional job and are great at communication. Having worked with a lot of builders in the past, I know you cannot take either of these for granted. They respond to anything I ask immediately and are always very clear and prompt with telling me what is going to happen and when. I love the sash windows and the door looks great. I haven't lived through a winter yet with the door but am confident that it will make a great contribution towards reducing my energy bills - and it looks great! They aren't cheap but I have found that cheap means I have to re-do the job a few years later. It also saves on painting - I never have to paint the windows (wooden windows) and I know I won't have to paint the door. That's another saving in maintenance. I can't recommend them more highly.
Pat in Greater London Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
The trader replied (on 16/06/2021)
Thank you very much for your online review. I am delighted to hear that your sash windows are still serving you well. We do our utmost to deliver the highest quality product and service, so I am very glad to hear that you are so happy with your new front door and with the service that you received. I will pass your feedback onto everyone involved in your order. Thank you for continuing to trust us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
Overhauling sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would hesitate to recomend this company . First class job Efficient team , no fuss and no mess ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
The trader replied (on 11/02/2021)
Thank you for your 5 star review of our draught proofing and overhaul service. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the work we carried out to your sash windows and with the efficiency and tidiness of our installers. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
A Complete High Quality and Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 8 new sash windows, including one replacement window sill. The work was undertaken according to schedule and completed within the agreed time frame. The cost of the project was as agreed on the original contract with no variations. It was evident from the initial visit by the surveyor that this company has high professional standards. The surveyor was very personable and knowledgeable explaining clearly all aspects of the proposed work. He was also respectful of us in relation to Covid-19 protocols. We received a detailed, written proposal and any alterations were dealt with promptly. A contract was drawn up, which was transparent and easy to understand. The staged payments were specified and wholly reasonable. This company has very good administrative support. Circumstance meant a long lead time but the installation date was agreed and honoured despite coinciding with National Lockdown 2. The fitter arrived on time to commence the installation and he was polite, respectful and appreciative of our preparation. He discussed how the installation would proceed and kept us fully informed of progress. The standard of work was excellent throughout. He is highly skilled, hard working and proud of his work. He was meticulous in his work, finishing and clearing up. We are delighted with the work. The window units are high quality and manufactured to replicate the design of the original. An excellent company offering high quality products and a complete, coherent service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/11/2020 , work completed 13/11/2020
The trader replied (on 25/11/2020)
Thank you for your excellent online review of the work we carried out for you. I am very glad to hear that you are pleased with both the work and the service that you received. We do our utmost to deliver the highest standards of both product and service, so having positive feedback makes all the difference to us. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director, The Sash Window Workshop.
New sash windows and door to balcony on Edwardian house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sash Window Workshop were absolutely brilliant. They have done a beautiful job replacing quite intricate windows, and they were efficient, polite and professional. We could not be happier.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/08/2020 , work completed 12/08/2020
The trader replied (on 25/09/2020)
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you are so happy with the work that we carried out for you and with the service you received. Thank you for trusting us with your business. Richard Dollar, Managing Director The Sash Window Workshop
Great Product Installed Well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dealing with The Sash Window Workshop was a great customer experience from start to finish. We wanted the right look for the property and the initial visit helped ensure all the right options were chosen and in discussion it became clear that the right vendor was selected for our work. The installation was carried out by Joe over two days, and was very well done keeping the work area very tidy as he went along and spending a lot of time on the fit & detail using all the latest technology to ensure the windows were installed perfectly and aligned - which wasn't the case for the old windows that were taken out. The product just looks quality from inside and out, and being made from quality material with vendor guarantees gives us piece of mind. Overall highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/04/2019 , work completed 17/04/2019
Very Good Product and Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sash Window Workshop installed 3 sets of garden (french) doors. The quality of the doors is very good. They were competitive on price. ( I got 3 quotes). The service from the staff was very good especially the installers. At one point the project hit an unexpected snag that required additional installers. The company had additional staff on site within an hour and the project continued on schedule. That sort of issue sets most contractors back by a week. All in all they struck me as a very experienced and well managed company
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/03/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
A lovely company to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
How refreshing - this really is a lovely company to deal with. Did what they said they would when the said they would, at the agreed price and in the agreed time scales. Charming workmen, who did the job efficiently; professionally; tidily; with good humour and to a high standard. I liked that the boss dropped in unannounced to check on the work. I also like that he obviously wasn’t surprised all good, as he clearly he knows his guys can be relied on to deliver. Really impressed. I was dreading getting these windows overhauled - it turned out to be a pleasure and a job well done.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/03/2019 , work completed 21/03/2019
excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had new double glazed sash windows to replace old badly fitted single glazed units in 5 windows and a set of timber French doors. The company were professional, clean and tidy, the quality of the work and materials are excellent. I couldn't be happier with the result.
Sharon Swift, . Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
Highly recommend the Sash Window Workshop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely happy with the new wooden sash windows made and installed by the Sash Window Workshop. They were professional, punctual and courteous from start to finish, from the surveyor who measured up the windows to the fitters who installed them. The windows fit perfectly, look beautiful, cut down on noise and are exactly as promised. The fitters cleaned everything after they finished and worked quickly, efficiently and well. I am delighted that I chose this company. They were the more expensive of the three quotes I got beforehand but were worth every penny, with the work guaranteed for several decades.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/04/2017 , work completed 22/04/2017
Excellent sash refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Original sash window refurbishment and weatherproofing plus one all new sash window.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/02/2017 , work completed 20/02/2017
Beautiful Sash Windows & Great Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The level of Customer Service I received from the Sash Window Workshop was outstanding throughout. Henry, their surveyor, created a positive initial impression and was able to provide us with what we wanted rather than what they could provide. This was a mix of double glazed sliding sash replacements, spiral hung sashes and complete new sliding sash windows, all supplied fully painted. I visited the factory and was shown around by Richard, the MD. He has clearly put much thought into creating the perfect sash window. He showed me the whole process and convinced me of the benefits and durability of the Accoya wood they use in the manufacture. They select only the finest glass and my new windows display this. The order and build process was handled smoothly and efficiently and the fitting team of Mark, Paul and Daniel skillfully replaced my 13 windows and a back door in a week. They left the house tidy and secure each night and by the end of the week my house was transformed with gleaming new windows. Slight damage to one sash caused by a protruding nail in an old frame was speedily made good. I would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent family run company to anyone considering renovating or replacing their sash windows.
2010-01-02 18:35:48.73 Posted on 26/04/2016 , work completed 26/04/2016
Excellent work and a beautiful finished product!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sash Window Workshop (and their sister company, London Window Painting Company) refurbished all our windows over a few weeks earlier this year. The office team managed the job very well, keeping us informed of everything, and the on-site team were really hard working and friendly people. This was particularly important as this kind of job (we found) rather takes over the house, so it was great to have such clarity and considerate behaviour. We're very happy with the refurbished windows, and highly recommend the company. (Re. price: we had several quotations, and found SWW were about average price for a recommended company. Bluntly, windows are expensive, but we feel SWW are fully justified.)
Jecca30c Posted on 28/10/2015 , work completed 28/10/2015