We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

The Sussex Bookcase Company

Profile thumb img 4477

4.9

52 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Are you looking for robust handmade storage furniture?

If you are fed up with flat packs that wobble or furniture that doesn’t quite fit your home, The Sussex Bookcase Company is here to help.

We offer a choice of finishes including solid wood, solid wood veneers and painted. You can choose to commission modern designs or reproduction classics. Fitted or freestanding, whatever sort of storage furniture you select, you can be confident that it will last.

Make the investment in storage for your home and you will feel the benefits every time you use it. Our bookcases and cupboards can be designed to fit small and awkward spaces. We can also design feature furniture and create family heirlooms.

To see further examples of our work and more information about The Sussex Bookcase Company please go to our website before getting in touch to discuss the furniture you would like made for your home.

What we do

  • Cabinet makers

  • Carpenters

  • More Services

    • fitted furniture
    • wardrobes
    • freestanding storage
    • etc

Customer reviews

4.9
52 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Another Success
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a radiator cover and couldn't find much that we liked as stock items. Having used Nick for 3 lots of wardrobes in the past, we went to him for the rad cover. It ended up exactly as we wished, matched our other items and although it is not cheap, it is good value for the quality of workmanship.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 09/03/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Always an absolute pleasure, thanks. Nick
Granite top butchers block;
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the 3rd time we used Nick's service, and as before he came up with the goods. Nick made us a bespoke, mobile kitchen butchers block. We had a general idea of what we wanted but he took that idea and designed and built a unit that gave us exactly what we wanted to a very high quality that is defiantly not available off the shelf. This is the second time that Nick had incorporated other materials into his designs, the first time he incorporated a glass display units and this time he incorporated a granite top demonstrating his versatility. He also took the time to ensure that the colour match and finish was a good as it possibly could be.. I would have no hesitation to recommend him again, and have already booked him for wardrobes next year, where again we have our own ideas which Nick has embraced.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 24/12/2018 , work completed 21/12/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Always very stylish ! Thanks so much for pushing my boundaries and am delighted with your review. Nick
A professional craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was attentive to our specifications and suggested design enhancements, from beginning to end there was excellent communication with queries being answered promptly. The work was done to the highest standard. During installation, Nick was tidy, friendly and courteous. An excellent job.
Jenny, East Sussex Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Absolutely reliable. High quality work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A wardrobe was delivered and installed to my spec. It was very well constructed and finished. The installation was difficult (due to very restricted access), but the problems were overcome carefully and efficiently. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Keith, East Sussex Posted on 21/11/2018 , work completed 21/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks Keith, always have a bit of fun when installing your furniture ! Nick
Exactly what I wanted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick made some new doors to fit onto existing built-in wardrobes - they are lovely and exactly what I wanted. He was able to advise on what we needed and was friendly and kept us up to date with his progress all along. Would definitely recommend.
Gemma Reece Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Many thanks Gemma for your review, my pleasure.
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Requested four Bespoke cabinets to fit into existing spaces. Immaculately finished and installed. Kept me updated throughout the design phase. Couldn't be happier with result.
Jacqueline, East Sussex Posted on 10/11/2018 , work completed 10/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks Jackie and between us I loved the design we both came up with. Nick
Extremely professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was extremely professional from first contact to completed project. His work was meticulously executed and I am so pleased with the finished result. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.
Clare, Kent Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
The trader replied (on 20/10/2018)
Many thanks Clare, I have thoroughly enjoyed making and fitting your pieces of furniture. I would also say that anyone wanting superb soft furnishings should have a word with Clare at Langdon Interiors of Cranbrook.
Prompt, efficient, good workmanship, very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick made and installed a hanging bookcase which he brought already painted. He also solved a tricky situation by making our store cupboard (part of an in-built kitchen unit) mouse-proof adding another layer of wooden structure inside and he consented to tighten and secure Ikea chairs where the fitting had got loose as well as carry out other minor jobs which were important to us but really beneath his level of expertise. We were very grateful for his first-class service and will definitely use him again when the need arises.
Cornelie Usborne Posted on 16/08/2018 , work completed 16/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/09/2018)
Thanks so much for the review and not a problem helping out on the other bits and pieces! Nick
Quick response, prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Holt arrived the day after my email to him, completed the work the following day. He was professional and polite and did an excellent job.
Geoffrey, East Sussex Posted on 04/08/2018 , work completed 04/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/09/2018)
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, my pleasure. Nick
Bespoke TV corner cabinet & glazed display unit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a corner TV unit with additional drawer units either side, at the same height - something that was impossible to find in the high street. Nick understood our needs and offered us a large range of different woods, mouldings, wax finishes & knobs to choose from. We received a proper quote with drawings and at a very fair price. His attention to detail and craftmanship has resulted in a carefully made, high quality piece of furniture that looks perfect in the space it was designed for. You can see it has been made by someone who takes pride in their work.
MCarley Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
The trader replied (on 28/06/2018)
Thank you for your kind review, it was a real pleasure making your furniture. Nick