We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

The Sussex Bookcase Company

Profile thumb img 4477

4.9

52 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Are you looking for robust handmade storage furniture?

If you are fed up with flat packs that wobble or furniture that doesn’t quite fit your home, The Sussex Bookcase Company is here to help.

We offer a choice of finishes including solid wood, solid wood veneers and painted. You can choose to commission modern designs or reproduction classics. Fitted or freestanding, whatever sort of storage furniture you select, you can be confident that it will last.

Make the investment in storage for your home and you will feel the benefits every time you use it. Our bookcases and cupboards can be designed to fit small and awkward spaces. We can also design feature furniture and create family heirlooms.

To see further examples of our work and more information about The Sussex Bookcase Company please go to our website before getting in touch to discuss the furniture you would like made for your home.

What we do

  • Cabinet makers

  • Carpenters

  • More Services

    • fitted furniture
    • wardrobes
    • freestanding storage
    • etc

Customer reviews

4.9
52 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
As always, Nick does a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I don't hesitate in returning to Nick for any shelves, cupboards, bookcases etc as his work has never been anything less than excellent. I have used him lots of times for various jobs in our home. You have to wait for your turn as his services are in high demand but this reflects well on his work to my mind! His attention to detail is spot on, he thinks of all the technical things you might not have considered and the finished product is always of a high standard. I am very pleased with the home office worktop he has just made and fitted. No complaints at all!
Customer in Kent Posted on 15/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
A highly knowledgeable craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The third time I have used Nick and he always performs to the highest standards delivering in this case shelving in an utility room. Being a new build, wall fixtures are tricky and at time almost impossible but Nick found just the right method and even delayed completion to have the exact tool and fixture to complete the job. All to budget; neat and tidy. Highly recommended.
Customer in Kent Posted on 13/07/2020 , work completed 10/07/2020
Fantastic cupboards for the playroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was a recommendation and we have been extremely pleased with the cupboards and shelving he put in the playroom. So much so that we are working with him again to put some in the study. He is highly efficient, thorough and the results are of a high standard. I would highly recommend him.
Customer in Kent Posted on 09/01/2020 , work completed 06/12/2019
Understairs storage.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick is an excellent, personable, craftsman; who carefully designed and created two perfectly fitting understairs storage units, which were exactly as specified. The quality of the units has obliterated the anxiety of the prolonged wait for them to be finished. I would definitely use this craftsman again, for his sensitive understanding and skill.
G Johnson. 21:12:’19 Posted on 22/12/2019 , work completed 17/12/2019
Fitted wardobe
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, no cpmlaints whastsovever, greatly imporved the psace in the room.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 18/12/2019
I am very happy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
While I am very happy with the end product - a bookshelf - I do not want any of my details published.
D M, East Sussex Posted on 25/09/2019 , work completed 25/09/2019
Building a nnew cupboard in my small utillity room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second project we have done with Nick Holt and as previously the finished article is to a high standard and fully meets our needs. We knew at the start that there would be a delay in starting as he was carrying out a very large job, but once clear he came and spent time with us to discus and draw up plans to make certain both, ascetically and functionally, our cupboard met our requirements. A further visit with base to double check his measurements and then the cupboard arrived and fitted perfectly. A first class tradesman always striving to go the extra mile. Fully recommend him.
Customer in Kent Posted on 26/08/2019 , work completed 16/08/2019
Building shelves in cupboards and wardrobes to a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick is a most conscientious and sympathetic craftsman who spent time considering our requirements, making sensible quiet alternative suggestions when appropriate, made his measurements and then went back to his workshop and in due course prefabricated most of the shelving. His standard of workmanship and finish are excellent and the only downside was that we had to wait our turn as his skills are in hot demand. I can unreservedly recommend him.
Customer in Kent Posted on 25/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks for taking the time to reply, it was a pleasure to meet and work for you. Nick
A rare find
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to turn our small upstairs bedroom into a library room and tasked Nick with building fitted bookcases on three walls. He came to measure up (the room had sloped ceilings and wasn't exactly level!) and then made the finished bookcases in his workshop at Bodium. He took great care to match to a really deep F&B red, bringing samples across for me to colour match and exploring different combinations of primer and top coat until he and I were both satisfied completely with the finish. When Nick came to fit the bookcases he was very careful with our newly decorated home and has made a superb job of the whole project. We are delighted with the quality and craftmanship of his work and would not hesitate to recommend him. We are now working with him on a new project for fitted wardrobes...which we will have to wait for as he's busy until October!
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks so much for your generous appraisal, it may have been a challenge but very rewarding on my part.I must say it turned out pretty well ! I look forward to the next project. Nick
Thrilled with new bespoke bookcases!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Nick Holt at Sussex Bookcases in the autumn of 2018 to request his help with some bespoke shelving and storage in our dining room. Nick was busy, which is always a good sign, but he visited us in December for an initial consultation and design brief. We had several contacts with him prior to finalising the design. Nick was extremely helpful, both taking on board our ideas and suggesting his own until we arrived at a final design ready for him to go to manufacture. During the manufacturing process, Nick was very thoughtful and thorough and asked to visit on at least two occasions to ensure we were happy with the detail of what he was making for us (even bringing sample pieces for us to see and approve) and also emailing photographs of the build as he went along. Installation of the furniture was in February and was done meticulously and on the expected schedule. Nick took every care of our property and respected our home, using protective coverings and cleaning up as the work progressed. We are thrilled with the finished product, which suits all the requirements of the brief and looks perfect. We would not hesitate to recommend Nick and will most definitely be using his professional services again when the time comes.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 12/03/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
It was a lovely job, thank you Both so much.
Another Success
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a radiator cover and couldn't find much that we liked as stock items. Having used Nick for 3 lots of wardrobes in the past, we went to him for the rad cover. It ended up exactly as we wished, matched our other items and although it is not cheap, it is good value for the quality of workmanship.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 09/03/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Always an absolute pleasure, thanks. Nick
Granite top butchers block;
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the 3rd time we used Nick's service, and as before he came up with the goods. Nick made us a bespoke, mobile kitchen butchers block. We had a general idea of what we wanted but he took that idea and designed and built a unit that gave us exactly what we wanted to a very high quality that is defiantly not available off the shelf. This is the second time that Nick had incorporated other materials into his designs, the first time he incorporated a glass display units and this time he incorporated a granite top demonstrating his versatility. He also took the time to ensure that the colour match and finish was a good as it possibly could be.. I would have no hesitation to recommend him again, and have already booked him for wardrobes next year, where again we have our own ideas which Nick has embraced.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 24/12/2018 , work completed 21/12/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Always very stylish ! Thanks so much for pushing my boundaries and am delighted with your review. Nick
A professional craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was attentive to our specifications and suggested design enhancements, from beginning to end there was excellent communication with queries being answered promptly. The work was done to the highest standard. During installation, Nick was tidy, friendly and courteous. An excellent job.
Jenny, East Sussex Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Absolutely reliable. High quality work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A wardrobe was delivered and installed to my spec. It was very well constructed and finished. The installation was difficult (due to very restricted access), but the problems were overcome carefully and efficiently. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Keith, East Sussex Posted on 21/11/2018 , work completed 21/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks Keith, always have a bit of fun when installing your furniture ! Nick
Exactly what I wanted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick made some new doors to fit onto existing built-in wardrobes - they are lovely and exactly what I wanted. He was able to advise on what we needed and was friendly and kept us up to date with his progress all along. Would definitely recommend.
Gemma Reece Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Many thanks Gemma for your review, my pleasure.
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Requested four Bespoke cabinets to fit into existing spaces. Immaculately finished and installed. Kept me updated throughout the design phase. Couldn't be happier with result.
Jacqueline, East Sussex Posted on 10/11/2018 , work completed 10/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks Jackie and between us I loved the design we both came up with. Nick
Extremely professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was extremely professional from first contact to completed project. His work was meticulously executed and I am so pleased with the finished result. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.
Clare, Kent Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
The trader replied (on 20/10/2018)
Many thanks Clare, I have thoroughly enjoyed making and fitting your pieces of furniture. I would also say that anyone wanting superb soft furnishings should have a word with Clare at Langdon Interiors of Cranbrook.
Prompt, efficient, good workmanship, very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick made and installed a hanging bookcase which he brought already painted. He also solved a tricky situation by making our store cupboard (part of an in-built kitchen unit) mouse-proof adding another layer of wooden structure inside and he consented to tighten and secure Ikea chairs where the fitting had got loose as well as carry out other minor jobs which were important to us but really beneath his level of expertise. We were very grateful for his first-class service and will definitely use him again when the need arises.
Cornelie Usborne Posted on 16/08/2018 , work completed 16/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/09/2018)
Thanks so much for the review and not a problem helping out on the other bits and pieces! Nick
Quick response, prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Holt arrived the day after my email to him, completed the work the following day. He was professional and polite and did an excellent job.
Geoffrey, East Sussex Posted on 04/08/2018 , work completed 04/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/09/2018)
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, my pleasure. Nick
Bespoke TV corner cabinet & glazed display unit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a corner TV unit with additional drawer units either side, at the same height - something that was impossible to find in the high street. Nick understood our needs and offered us a large range of different woods, mouldings, wax finishes & knobs to choose from. We received a proper quote with drawings and at a very fair price. His attention to detail and craftmanship has resulted in a carefully made, high quality piece of furniture that looks perfect in the space it was designed for. You can see it has been made by someone who takes pride in their work.
MCarley Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
The trader replied (on 28/06/2018)
Thank you for your kind review, it was a real pleasure making your furniture. Nick
Professional, friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Sussex Bookcase Company designed and made a cubby hole unit to fit along one wall under a sloping ceiling in our bedroom. We had a wide range of finishes to choose from. As well as the unit Nick made fitted wardrobes, again which fit into an unusual space. The unit was made to match the wardrobes. Both pieces were made and fitted quickly and efficiently and within our budget. Nick was professional and friendly. He kept a tidy work area and made sure everything was clean once he had finished. Nothing was too much trouble. The Sussex Bookcase Company is highly recommended, we are extremely pleased with our new pieces of furniture.
Jacob.B.A Posted on 26/04/2018 , work completed 26/04/2018
The trader replied (on 18/07/2018)
Thanks so much for your generous review, I enjoyed the challenge. Nick
Prompt, professional, tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted bookshelf, completed to schedule and to agreed price. Nick was very helpful, efficient and tidy. Work was completed to an excellent standard, very pleased. We have asked Nick to complete further tasks for us. Very happy and pleased to have found him.
Toby, East Sussex Posted on 26/04/2018 , work completed 26/04/2018
Really brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely satisfied with a perfect job, I will certainly recommend this trader to all my friends and family.
Avril, East Sussex Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
Fantastic Job Very Meticulously Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick is a very helpful & tidy worker - he redesigned existing book shelves with great precision. A pleasure to have work in the house.
Susan, East Sussex Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Great professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, courteous and experienced cabinet maker. Clean tidy and accurate workmanship. High level of attention to detail and customer service.
Robert, East Sussex Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb workmanship.
David, East Sussex Posted on 13/12/2017 , work completed 13/12/2017
The trader replied (on 18/07/2018)
Many thanks for your appraisal. You can see some pictures on the website under "Sitting room furniture" Nick
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, trustworthy & helpful with lots of design ideas, expensive but worth it.
Dave, East Sussex Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bespoke furniture - built well, focus to detail & looks great. Respectful, trustworthy & provides good service
Jo, Kent Posted on 04/08/2017 , work completed 04/08/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was achieved in a most professional manner to a tight time scale. The book cases were made to a very high standard and professionally installed. We cannot praise Nick and his team enough.
Robert, East Sussex Posted on 03/07/2017 , work completed 03/07/2017
Well above average
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick listens to what you want. Adds feed back. Executers first rate job. He may be slow, but the wait was worthwhile.
Ro, Kent Posted on 01/07/2017 , work completed 01/07/2017
Very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very happy with the cupboard Nick has built it for me and wish I had done it sooner. Seeing how well it turned out! Will definitely use this company again.
Sophie, Middlesex Posted on 23/05/2017 , work completed 23/05/2017
Beautiful workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The bookcase was very well made, and the help and ideas from the company very useful. We are delighted with the finished bookcase.
Rachel, East Sussex Posted on 11/05/2017 , work completed 11/05/2017
Arts and crafts bookcase
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were delighted with our finished bookcase which more than met our expectations. Nick listened to our requirements, used our drawing as well as visiting us to look at the site and take measurements. He has produced a first class piece of work, beautifully finished with exact and well proportioned detailing.
Malcolm, East Sussex Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
Great job as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have now used Nick's business for a third time, mainly because we know he will deliver accurate, attractive, well designed and made items.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/12/2016 , work completed 01/12/2016
Superb Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used the company several times. We have always received excellent service and wonderful workmanship. Highly Recommended.
Elisabeth, Kent Posted on 13/10/2016 , work completed 13/10/2016
Beautiful workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Sussex Bookcase Company doesn't just do bookcases, but beautiful bespoke furniture of all sorts. This time Nick created a set of fitted wardrobes with beautiful wood doors. It is extremely well made and fitted with great care.
Antonia, East Sussex Posted on 03/06/2016 , work completed 03/06/2016
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick works to a very high standard, is fastidious and completely reliable and trustworthy. Having recently completed some work for me, I already have him booked in to do some more!
Weston Posted on 23/04/2016 , work completed 23/04/2016
Excellent result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work done to a very high standard, in a polite and efficient manner.
Janet, East Sussex Posted on 15/04/2016 , work completed 15/04/2016
Seamless, flexible service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I love working with Nick at the Sussex Bookcase Company on project at home - from brief to completion he is practical, intuitive and full of great idea. His finished work is of an exceptional standard and I never have any worries that his products will fall short of what we hope for.
Ruth, East Sussex Posted on 21/03/2016 , work completed 21/03/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very well made items and excellent installation.
John, East Sussex Posted on 18/11/2015 , work completed 18/11/2015
Lovely workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service, on tine & carried out to a very high standard. I would use this service again without hesitation.
Ellie, East Sussex Posted on 12/11/2015 , work completed 12/11/2015
Excellent job, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent and courteous customer service. Work carried out to the high end standard. Second time I have used this company and would certainly use again
Penny, Kent Posted on 02/11/2015 , work completed 02/11/2015
Conscientious craftsmen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team took the greatest care finding out our exact requirements, and then measuring and producing accurate drawing for our approval. Fitting bespoke furniture into a 16th century house is never easy, and the Sussex Book Case Company took pains to ensure the fit and the finish were of the highest standards - Bravo!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/10/2015 , work completed 23/10/2015
Surpassed expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick built two bookcases for us. Brilliant job all around
Kate, East Sussex Posted on 20/10/2015 , work completed 20/10/2015
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 3rd time I have used this company and have been impressed each time. Friendly and professional and I would recommend them without hesitation. They made bookcases with and without cupboards and a chest of drawers and were happy to follow my design and measurements.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/09/2015 , work completed 01/09/2015
Excellent work, superb job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good design, helpful advice, well made and professionally fitted. Care and attention to detail. Easy to deal with, fully recommended.
John, East Sussex Posted on 23/08/2015 , work completed 23/08/2015
Excellent craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I required some CD shelving for an extensive music collection and wanted Oak. The resulting shelves were beautifully constructed and are a delight to use - the price was good and it was exactly what I required.
Oliver, Kent Posted on 05/06/2015 , work completed 05/06/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick made some bespoke furniture for us. He listened to what we wanted and modified the design as requested to give us exactly what we wanted. We are so pleased with the finished result - the workmanship is to an excellent standard. Nick is a highly skilled carpenter, and we would happily recommend him to anyone.
Julie, East Sussex Posted on 08/04/2015 , work completed 08/04/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient service and great communication. I would recommend them.
Jenny, West Sussex Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014
Super hall shelf.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt personal call to measure up & discuss possible designs & materials. Regular progress reports via email. Finished product - even better than had expected, being solid oak rather than veneer - which we would have accepted. We are very, very pleased.
Elizabeth, East Sussex Posted on 14/11/2014 , work completed 14/11/2014
Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick did a great job at a reasonable price. He was friendly and efficient. I am very pleased with the quality of the bookcases.
John, East Sussex Posted on 14/11/2014 , work completed 14/11/2014
Beautiful bookshelves
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick did two jobs for me - bookshelves with cupboards below and a bespoke TV cabinet. Both were carried out to an excellent standard and I was very happy with the results on both occasions. Nick listens to what you want and is great at coming up with constructive ideas to make the job even better. I am about to use him again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend his work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/10/2010 , work completed 15/10/2010