We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Tincknell Heating

Profile thumb tincknell heating
4.9

322 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday 08:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

June 20
Nov 2019

About

Tincknells serves customers across Somerset, Wiltshire, Dorset, Avon and south Gloucestershire. It’s already a well-known name in the South West, with a great reputation for integrity and customer service. Company director Rob Ormond and heating services manager Richard Beck both emphasise that Tincknells is a ‘modest’ company, concerned more with providing a good service than making a fuss about it. But its recent win could change all that.

Tincknell Heating Services is one wing of the long-established fuel business, Tincknell Fuels. ‘It’s a win for the industry,’ said Rob Ormond. ‘The fuel industry, which we’re part of, doesn’t always get the best press, but this is a really positive step.’
Winning the Which? Trusted trader of the year award and being elevated above the thousands of other businesses on the Which? Trusted Traders scheme means a lot to the company. But it’s adamant that this won’t change the way it works.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Gas installers

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • oil central heating
    • range cooker servicing
    • gas boiler work

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
322 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent rapid response service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual, first-rate service from Tincknell. I rang to report the boiler breakdown at 8.30am & the engineeer arrived equipped with a suitable spare part about 2pm. Your engineer was outstandingly helpful & efficient, put in a new motor & had the boiler up & running in about half an hour.
Claire in North Somerset Posted on 30/11/2021 , work completed 30/11/2021
Very professional service from initial quote through to installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially I required somebody to come around and discuss options to decommission a very old and hugely inefficient Stanley range and not only install a new boiler but consider the best location for the new installation. From the initial visit from Tincknell's I was very impressed with professionalism from the office staff through to engineers visit. Their covid procedures were excellent too, not only ensuring my safety but also their staff. During the first visit I felt what I was looking for was completely understood and the options were clearly explained to me. Having accepted the quotation the option of dates was clearly explained and those dates remained on track. As for the installation it was clear the installers Jamie & Lee not only knew what they were doing but took pride in their work too. Any questions I had were clearly explained and at the end of the installation the user controls of the system were clearly explained. Even though the installation required changes to water pipes, oil feed and electricity and the drilling through 2' thick walls everything was left spotless. I would not hesitate to recommend Tincknell's for the installation and would not find any fault with any aspect of the installation.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 26/11/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021
New Hot Water Cylinder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work involved the removal of old heat storage cylinder and installation of an unvented cylinder. The old cylinder was approx. 25years old and the installation involved a considerable amount of new piping. The work was done on time and to the agreed cost. The installation team worked as a very effective team and clearly very knowledgable. Clear explanations given at the end of the installation to ensure full understanding of how the system worked.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 20/11/2021 , work completed 20/11/2021
Very thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tincknell Heating are always very helpful. Allowing me my choice of service engineer. Olly Smart is very pleasant and efficient. He wasted no time and masked up even though I said he could take his mask of if he wished. I would stay a distance He checked all my radiators as I can no longer bleed them. (don't have the strength in my fingers!) I find their charges very fair. They are the best service engineers I've ever had. My daughter also finds this and always has them to deal with her Aga and oil fired boiler. The staff on the phone are always pleasant and helpful. Thank you, Tincknells!
Customer in Somerset Posted on 16/11/2021 , work completed 16/11/2021
Repair fault - Stuck valve which prevented water circulation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been with Tinknell since shortly after we moved to Dorset, ie: around 40+ years (we are in our 80's) and have always admired and been grateful for the staff, always polite and efficient and understanding and for the speedy service provided which in this case which was particulally gratifying. A second visit was speedily organised following a first and involved Liam and his associate and the problem - a stuck valve - quickly identified and corrected. The whole system was checked and was, and is currently, working well as it had been previously. The problem could not have been dealt with more effectively and speedily with humour, enthusiasm, and friendliness. Liam and we had met on a previous visit some time ago and it was like old friends meeting up. We remembered each other with pleasure... The whole organisation is a great example of how a service should be and we are so grateful. We feel valued which is a great feeling. Thank you to everyone...receptionists, organisers and engineers/electricians...
Customer in Dorset Posted on 03/11/2021 , work completed 03/11/2021
The trader replied (on 10/11/2021)
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to receive such good feedback and your comments are highly appreciated. I'll make sure to pass this on to Liam and our team, I know everyone will be really pleased to read your review. If there is anything else we can help with please feel free to contact our Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Warmest regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Prompt Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My oil AGA cooker was losing heat rapidly and was due a service. I phoned Tincknell and Pat in the office was very helpful, noting that Rob our normal engineer was working that day at a nearby property. He rang me back and said he could fit me in that afternoon. Always cheerful, he gets on with sorting out the problem and leaves no mess when he leaves. While most appointments are not always quite as quick as this one, they have invariably provided me with a reasonably fast turn around for boiler and AGA service for over 25 years.
Customer in Devon Posted on 03/09/2021 , work completed 31/08/2021
The trader replied (on 10/11/2021)
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am really pleased you are happy with the work carried out, and I have passed a copy of your review to Robert our engineer and Pat in the office, who will appreciate your feedback. I hope we can be of service to you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us on 01749 678828 if you require any of our services. Best regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Difficult job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Liam were exceptionally able and communicative in very trying circumstances. They fitted an entire gas system and boiler into an old cottage which still retained the original lead pipes throughout. They were careful to move all furniture and precious items in two bedrooms, traced the pipes under floorboards, and replaced them, leaving the rooms almost as they found them. Our boiler was over 25 years old and has been replaced by an efficient and easily workable system which we will greatly appreciate in years to come. I have nothing but admiration for their skill and the care which they took, and would not hesitate to use their company again.
David Posted on 13/08/2021 , work completed 13/08/2021
The trader replied (on 10/11/2021)
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments David. It is always a pleasure knowing we have been able to help. I will make sure your review is passed onto Keith and Liam, I know they will appreciate such positive feedback. Please feel free to contact us on 01749 678828 if there is anything else we can help with, we will be only too happy to help. Warmest regards everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time. Finished on time, friendly, courtious service. Stuck to the quote and would recommend to a friend
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/08/2021 , work completed 05/08/2021
The trader replied (on 17/08/2021)
Thank you for your review, your comments are highly appreciated. If there is anything else we can help with please feel free to contact our Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Kind regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
First boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith was friendly, professional and thorough throughout. Explained the work he was completing and the reason for it.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 09/08/2021 , work completed 06/08/2021
The trader replied (on 17/08/2021)
Thank you for your time and lovely review. I am really happy to hear you are pleased with the work undertaken by our engineer Keith. Please feel free to contact our Heating Services Team on 01749 678828. Kind regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Great support with solving a boiler fuel leak inside our kitchen!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A call back from Tincknells Thursday morning after our worried message the night before, led to one of their Engineers arriving before 10am, the same day. Fausto then assessed what the issue was, a pinhole leak on the internal fuel feed pipe. He carefully removed the failed pipe, made-up a like for like new replacement, re-fitted everything, then after carefully testing the final fitment, all was resolved. So, after no more than an hour, the leak was dealt with. What a professional task, carried-out by Fausto, a likeable, genuinely concerned person, who gave us considerable confidence in a job well done. A real credit to Tincknells. Brilliant team attitude. 👏 Still re-tiling and some decorating to resolve, but that will happen. Thanks from the Newton’s. 👍😎
Tony in Somerset Posted on 15/07/2021 , work completed 15/07/2021
The trader replied (on 19/07/2021)
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments of our services. It is always a pleasure knowing we have been able to help. I will make sure your review is passed onto Fausto, I know he will appreciate such positive feedback. If we can be of service to you in the future please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828 and we will be only too happy to help. Warmest regards everyone @ Tincknell Heating.