We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Tincknell Heating

Profile thumb tincknell heating

4.9

288 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday 08:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

June 20
Nov 2019

About

Tincknells serves customers across Somerset, Wiltshire, Dorset, Avon and south Gloucestershire. It’s already a well-known name in the South West, with a great reputation for integrity and customer service. Company director Rob Ormond and heating services manager Richard Beck both emphasise that Tincknells is a ‘modest’ company, concerned more with providing a good service than making a fuss about it. But its recent win could change all that.

Tincknell Heating Services is one wing of the long-established fuel business, Tincknell Fuels. ‘It’s a win for the industry,’ said Rob Ormond. ‘The fuel industry, which we’re part of, doesn’t always get the best press, but this is a really positive step.’
Winning the Which? Trusted trader of the year award and being elevated above the thousands of other businesses on the Which? Trusted Traders scheme means a lot to the company. But it’s adamant that this won’t change the way it works.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Gas installers

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • oil central heating
    • range cooker servicing
    • gas boiler work

Customer reviews

4.9
288 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
BOILER SERVICE
Excellent service from Tincknell Heating and their engineer was first class . It is reassuring to know that I have a reliable maintenance support for the heating system .
Larry - Customer in Somerset Posted on 15/06/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 29/06/2020)
Dear Larry, many thanks for your time in completing a lovely review. It's great to receive such good feedback and I hope we can continue offering our services to you in the future. Please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Kindest regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Professional from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first coming to quote for the work for a new oil fired external boiler to installation Ticknells did a first class job. I particularly liked the fact that Ollie came to quote and he headed up he team of installers. Nothing was a problem, they communicated throughout the job and did a high quality installation. They were problem solvers, always polite and helpful. They came on time and cleaned up at the end of the day. They were careful to test everything and left plenty of time to ensure everything was working properly before they left. I had clear instructions on the system I am delighted with the result. Tinknells have serviced my boiler for a number of years and they are always very quick to come out if you have a failure and do not leave until they have sorted the problem. I would not go anywhere else.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 08/06/2020 , work completed 04/06/2020
The trader replied (on 16/06/2020)
Many thanks for your time and fantastic review. I am so pleased you've had such a good experience with Tincknells over the years. We hope we can continue to be of service to you for many more years to come. I am very glad that everything went well and you are happy with our visit. If there is anything else we can help you with, please feel free to contact our heating services team on 01749 678828. Warm regards everyone @ Tinckell heating.
New Oil-Fired Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our 25 year old oil-fired boiler developed a water leak on 11th May and after contacting Tincknell Heating, an engineer arrived a few hours later. He confirmed what I expected; that the boiler was finally unrepairable. Tincknells then sent one of their installers the following day (12th May) to carry out a survey for a new boiler, emailed a competitive quote the same day, and confirmed that they could install a new oil-fired boiler and balanced flue the following Saturday (16th May). We agreed to the installation and everything was back up and running by 3pm on the Saturday. Considering that this was at the time of a coronavirus pandemic 'lockdown', I consider this level of customer service exceptional. Throughout the 6 day period, Nick Turner, the Installation Manager, kept me fully informed of progress and checked that we were happy with everything after the installation. We have dealt with Tincknells for over 20 years (oil deliveries, boiler servicing, oil tank installation and now a new boiler) and have always found them to be good value for money and provide excellent, prompt and reliable customer service; they have our strongest recommendation.
Len in Keynsham Posted on 23/05/2020 , work completed 16/05/2020
The trader replied (on 05/06/2020)
Thank you so much for your brilliant review Len, we appreciate your kind comments and I will make sure our engineer receives a copy. We highly welcome your recommendation. We look forward to being of service to you again in future and if there is anything we can help with in the mean time please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Best regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tincknell Heating installed a new external oil boiler, removed the old boiler and replaced 16 radiators for us. We chose Tincknell Heating because they had a large team to call on and the quality of their brand and work looked clean and efficient. it prooved to be a good decision as they sent an experienced and friendly team who got the work done in the time they quoted and to a high standard. They were confident with their pricing but were also willing to adjust it when we reduced the scope of the job and tested some unknowns once onsite. We would recomend them to others as a quality supplier.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 22/05/2020 , work completed 21/05/2020
The trader replied (on 05/06/2020)
Thank you for your time and lovely comments in your review. Your feedback is highly appreciated and I will be sure to pass on your review to our team. Should you require our services again in the future please do not hesitate to contact our Heating Services department on 01749 678828. Kindest regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Nothing Was Too Much Trouble
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of the nicest companies I've ever dealt with. They came immediately to fix a leaking tank, very polit, friendly and effcient.
Customer , Somerset Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 01/05/2020
The trader replied (on 21/05/2020)
Many thanks for your time and kind comments in your review. I am glad we were able to help and hope we can be of service to you for many years to come. Warm regards and best wishes from everyone @ Tincknell Heating 01749 678828.
Could not be Happier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted to thank you so much for Ollie Smart's visit yesterday to solve my boiler problem and get it all working again. Such quick and expert service at this difficult time was more than I dared hope for, and a splendid reflection on Tincknells as a local company of real quality. Ollie (whom I had met some ten years ago when he was assistant to a local carpenter) agreed with my local electrician in identifying the problem as pump failure; but in addition to draining the sytem and fitting a new pump and two valves, he renewed the Furnox, and then went right round the house testing every radiator and ensuring the thermostats were working properly. All too many had become stuck over the years, and I did not know what to do about it - now they are all working properly again, which is absolutely splendid (it is clearly a case of his expert knowledge of what to hit, and how hard!). That really was taking extra trouble, on top of the main job cheerfully and expertly carried through, and I am exceedingly grateful.
Neale, Somerset Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 23/03/2020
The trader replied (on 21/05/2020)
We are really pleased with the fantastic review you have posted and I know Ollie will appreciate your kind comments. I hope we can continue to offer our services to you in the future and if there is anything else we can help with please feel free to contact our Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Warmest regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Very Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Tincknell Fuels for years and I wouldn't go anywhere else. When I was told nothing could be done, the manager of Tincknell was on the phone talking me through my options. I decided on Monday to have a new boiler and on the Tuesday it was installed. They offered to bring electric heaters so I wouldn't get cold. They kept their distance the whole time they were here. First Class.
Jean, North Somerset Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 28/04/2020
The trader replied (on 21/05/2020)
Thank you for your time and lovely comments in your review, it's great to receive such good feedback and your comments are highly appreciated. I hope we can continue to offer our services to you in the future and if there is anything else we can help with please feel free to contact our Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Warmest regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Fantastic immediate service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On Good Friday 10/4/20 I was horrified to find water on my kitchen floor coming from a leak within my gas boiler.having placed buckets under the boiler I rang Tincknell as I had taken out a maintenance contract the previous October.Being a Bank holiday I did not expect the response I received.Within 30mins I was told an engineer would be with by lunchtime.He duly arrived & stripped the boiler to identify the problem,which was a faulty that needed replacing He made the boiler safe but we had no hot water.Later that day he rang to say he had got the part & would be with us the following morning at 9.He duly arrived & fitted the part.I was amazed that this problem had been solved so quickly on a Bank holiday weekend & during the Coronavirus lockdown & therefore highly recommend them.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 12/05/2020 , work completed 20/04/2011
The trader replied (on 19/05/2020)
Many thanks for your wonderful and very informative review. We truly value your feedback. We pride ourselves in offering the very best of service we possibly can and it seems we have fully met your expectations. We hope we can be of service to you in the future, please feel free to contact us on 01749 678828. From all of our team at Tincknell Heating, thank you again. Best wishes.
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I woke to find my boiler was not working. I phoned Tincknells at 9.00 and they arranged for an engineer to be with me between 11.00 and 1.00. He came at 12.00. He spent sometime checking everything and then informed me that a component on the computer board was not working. He said he had checked with the company stores and they didn’t have one so they had ordered one. It would be delivered to the company the following day. He apologised for the delay in getting my boiler working. On the following day another engineer arrived, and fitted the part. Whilst fitting it he noted that a different part had caused the computer component to blow and he changed this as well. My boiler was repaired. Throughout the whole process I was kept fully informed by office staff and the engineers about what they were doing, when they were doing it and why. I was impressed by their professionalism, effectiveness and customer service. I have no hesitation in recommending Tincknells.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 11/05/2020 , work completed 07/05/2020
The trader replied (on 13/05/2020)
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, we really appreciate your comments and gladly welcome your recommendation. I hope we can continue to be of service to you for many more years to come. Please feel free to contact our Heating Services Department on 01749 678828. Best regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Leak through tank overflow
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt response notwithstanding COVID-19. Problem diagnosed, leaking valve replaced. Efficient friendly service. Many thanks.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 07/05/2020 , work completed 28/04/2020
The trader replied (on 19/05/2020)
Thank you for your kind review and comments, we are always grateful feedback. We hope we can be of service to you again in the future and if there is anything we can help with in the mean time please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Best regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.