We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Tincknell Heating

Profile thumb tincknell heating
4.9

347 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday 08:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

June 20
Nov 2019

About

Tincknells serves customers across Somerset, Wiltshire, Dorset, Avon and south Gloucestershire. It’s already a well-known name in the South West, with a great reputation for integrity and customer service. Company director Rob Ormond and heating services manager Richard Beck both emphasise that Tincknells is a ‘modest’ company, concerned more with providing a good service than making a fuss about it. But its recent win could change all that.

Tincknell Heating Services is one wing of the long-established fuel business, Tincknell Fuels. ‘It’s a win for the industry,’ said Rob Ormond. ‘The fuel industry, which we’re part of, doesn’t always get the best press, but this is a really positive step.’
Winning the Which? Trusted trader of the year award and being elevated above the thousands of other businesses on the Which? Trusted Traders scheme means a lot to the company. But it’s adamant that this won’t change the way it works.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Gas installers

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • oil central heating
    • range cooker servicing
    • gas boiler work

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
347 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really impressed with Tincknells in installing our new ooo boiler. They were on time, and completed the job in a thoroughly professional way and took time out to set up/demonstrate the new Nest thermostat system. The team were really helpful from start to finish. They even left a bouquet of flowers! We are delighted with our new boiler - it is more efficient and we’ll also save £17 a month on our boiler/service plan; effectively reducing the cost of the boiler by £1400 over the 7 year guarantee. Highly recommended!
Customer in Somerset Posted on 02/03/2022 , work completed 01/03/2022
The trader replied (on 03/03/2022)
Thank you so much for your brilliant review, we appreciate your kind comments and I will make sure our team all receive a copy. I am pleased you are delighted with your new boiler and we welcome your recommendation. We look forward to being of service to you again in future and if there is anything we can help with in the mean time please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Best regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Replacement Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From quotation to completion, this work has been handled very swiftly and efficiently. The engineers who carried out the work explained how they would undertake the removal of the old boiler, the need to re-site the replacement and the effect on our hot water and heating provision. All the work was completed well within the original time estimate and without any mess. We are very pleased with our new boiler.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 18/02/2022 , work completed 18/02/2022
The trader replied (on 21/02/2022)
Many thanks for your time and kind review. We hope we can be of service to you for many more years to come. I am very glad that everything went well and you are pleased with your new boiler. If there is anything else we can help you with, please feel free to contact our heating services team on 01749 678828. Warm regards everyone @ Tincknell heating.
New boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The initial phone contact with the firm (Nick Turner) was very helpful and informative and helped me make a decision on the boiler model. I was given a realistic estimate of the time schedule which was totally adhered to. The engineer who came to assess the work was again, very informative and happy to answer questions. The two you men who turned up to do the actual work were polite, considerate and very efficient. All personnel turned on on time. An unexpected hitch was the access to the outgoing flue, promptly resolved by someone from head office bringing a longer ladder! The lovely bunch of flowers at the end marked the close of a very good experience. I would recommend this (local) firm to anyone
Customer in Somerset Posted on 17/02/2022 , work completed 16/02/2022
The trader replied (on 18/02/2022)
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and lovely comments. I will make sure Nick and our installation team receive a copy of your review, I know they will really appreciate your kind feedback. I am so pleased to hear you had such a good experience with Tincknells and I hope you have many years of trouble free use out of your new boiler. If you have any questions in relation to the boiler operation please feel free to contact our Heating Services Department on 01749 678828.
New Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our new boiler installation was completed today. The engineers were really professional, knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and efficient. They explained everything clearly and simply and nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks Liam and Ollie.
Carol in Somerset Posted on 27/01/2022 , work completed 27/01/2022
The trader replied (on 28/01/2022)
Many thanks for your time in completing a lovely review. It's great to receive such good feedback and I hope we can continue to offer our services to you in the future. Please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Kindest regards from Liam, Ollie and everyone @ Tincknell Heating.
Professional, knowledgeable & reliable heating service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tincknells engineer arrived at the booked time, completed the service, left my kitchen (where my boiler is) clean and tidy, and left me with sensible and practical advice on minor maintenance needed to oil tank and flue. Very happy with the service!
Customer in Dorset Posted on 05/01/2022 , work completed 29/12/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and gladly welcome your recommendation. Should you need our services in the future please feel free to contact our dedicated heating services office on 01749 678828. Warm regards from all the team at Tincknell Heating.
Excellent rapid response service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual, first-rate service from Tincknell. I rang to report the boiler breakdown at 8.30am & the engineeer arrived equipped with a suitable spare part about 2pm. Your engineer was outstandingly helpful & efficient, put in a new motor & had the boiler up & running in about half an hour.
Claire in North Somerset Posted on 30/11/2021 , work completed 30/11/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Many thanks for your kind review Claire. I am pleased we were able to get your boiler up and running again so quickly. We appreciate your comments and welcome your recommendation. If you require our services again please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services Team on 01749 678828. Warmest regards from everyone at Tincknell Heating.
Very professional service from initial quote through to installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially I required somebody to come around and discuss options to decommission a very old and hugely inefficient Stanley range and not only install a new boiler but consider the best location for the new installation. From the initial visit from Tincknell's I was very impressed with professionalism from the office staff through to engineers visit. Their covid procedures were excellent too, not only ensuring my safety but also their staff. During the first visit I felt what I was looking for was completely understood and the options were clearly explained to me. Having accepted the quotation the option of dates was clearly explained and those dates remained on track. As for the installation it was clear the installers Jamie & Lee not only knew what they were doing but took pride in their work too. Any questions I had were clearly explained and at the end of the installation the user controls of the system were clearly explained. Even though the installation required changes to water pipes, oil feed and electricity and the drilling through 2' thick walls everything was left spotless. I would not hesitate to recommend Tincknell's for the installation and would not find any fault with any aspect of the installation.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 26/11/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and lovely comments. I will make sure our Lee, Jamie and the rest of our team receive a copy of your review, I know they will really appreciate your kind feedback. I am so pleased to hear you had such a good experience with Tincknells and I hope you have many years of trouble free use out of your new boiler. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact our Heating Services Department on 01749 678828.
New Hot Water Cylinder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work involved the removal of old heat storage cylinder and installation of an unvented cylinder. The old cylinder was approx. 25years old and the installation involved a considerable amount of new piping. The work was done on time and to the agreed cost. The installation team worked as a very effective team and clearly very knowledgable. Clear explanations given at the end of the installation to ensure full understanding of how the system worked.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 20/11/2021 , work completed 20/11/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Many thanks for your time in completing a lovely review. It's great to receive such good feedback and I hope we can continue to offer our services to you in the future. Please feel free to contact our dedicated Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Kindest regards from everyone at Tincknell Heating.
Very thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tincknell Heating are always very helpful. Allowing me my choice of service engineer. Olly Smart is very pleasant and efficient. He wasted no time and masked up even though I said he could take his mask of if he wished. I would stay a distance He checked all my radiators as I can no longer bleed them. (don't have the strength in my fingers!) I find their charges very fair. They are the best service engineers I've ever had. My daughter also finds this and always has them to deal with her Aga and oil fired boiler. The staff on the phone are always pleasant and helpful. Thank you, Tincknells!
Customer in Somerset Posted on 16/11/2021 , work completed 16/11/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Thank you for your time and lovely comments in your review. Your feedback is highly appreciated and I will be sure to pass on your review to Ollie and our team. Should you require our services again in the future please do not hesitate to contact our Heating Services department on 01749 678828. Kindest regards from everyone at Tincknell Heating.
Repair fault - Stuck valve which prevented water circulation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been with Tinknell since shortly after we moved to Dorset, ie: around 40+ years (we are in our 80's) and have always admired and been grateful for the staff, always polite and efficient and understanding and for the speedy service provided which in this case which was particulally gratifying. A second visit was speedily organised following a first and involved Liam and his associate and the problem - a stuck valve - quickly identified and corrected. The whole system was checked and was, and is currently, working well as it had been previously. The problem could not have been dealt with more effectively and speedily with humour, enthusiasm, and friendliness. Liam and we had met on a previous visit some time ago and it was like old friends meeting up. We remembered each other with pleasure... The whole organisation is a great example of how a service should be and we are so grateful. We feel valued which is a great feeling. Thank you to everyone...receptionists, organisers and engineers/electricians...
Customer in Dorset Posted on 03/11/2021 , work completed 03/11/2021
The trader replied (on 10/11/2021)
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to receive such good feedback and your comments are highly appreciated. I'll make sure to pass this on to Liam and our team, I know everyone will be really pleased to read your review. If there is anything else we can help with please feel free to contact our Heating Services team on 01749 678828. Warmest regards from everyone @ Tincknell Heating.