We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Tony Swainston Building Surveyor

Profile thumb tony swainston reduced size medium photo
5.0

44 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–21:00
  • Monday 07:00–21:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–21:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–21:00
  • Thursday 07:00–21:00
  • Friday 07:00–21:00
  • Saturday 07:00–21:00
  • Sunday 07:00–21:00

About

My name is Tony Swainston. I am a qualified Building Surveyor in Chalfont St Peter, a father to 3 girls, and set up my own practice in 2005. I manage to balance this responsibility with my other job of chief school run taxi driver!

I have more than 35 years’ experience. I have undertaken work as a Technical Assessor to trainee candidates and a site auditor checking upon other surveyors for compliance.

I provide Building Surveys and Specific Defect reports (eg. Damp investigations). My reports are written in an easy to understand format and likely include drone photographs of the property clearly identifying any visual defects.

I cover West London, the Home Counties, and surrounding areas. However, all areas are considered, and I have carried out work from Newcastle to Cornwall.

I also offer my clients the chance to join me for the last half an hour of the survey to discuss any defects or health and safety issues that I have identified, or to discuss any costs of improvement work. 07957 870 440

What we do

  • Builders

  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors
  • More Services

    • defect reports
    • full building and home condition surveys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
A real pleasure to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carried out a Home Condition Survey for us on a property in Basingstoke. Right from the start he was both professional and friendly, explaining clearly the different kinds of survey so that we could make the right choice. He wasn't the cheapest quote we had, but compared with the survey our purchasers had on our flat, Tony really gave value for money. He offered the chance to walk round the property with him for the last half-hour of his survey; as we live a long way off, this wasn't practicable, but he made an excellent video instead, pointing out in clear layman's terms all the things that would go in his report. The report was also excellent, crystal clear and well laid out according to an industry standard template. He has also been happy to discuss any matters arising both before and since sending out the report. Who could ask for anything more?
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 01/03/2021
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used Tony's surveying services in the past 3 months. In both cases I found the report including suggestions to be very comprehensive with an excellent report provided. The photographs in the reports were very helpful and clarified the points made in the report very well. One key element of the report was the inclusion of suggestions where improvements could be made. Very helpful. Tony was easy to deal with, communication was excellent and I found him to be very helpful throughout the process. Tony also surveyed the house I was selling and this is how I got to meet him. This is where I could see his thoroughness first hand and immediately I thought he was the person to involve for a survey on the property I was buying.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 07/02/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
A fine job once again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Tony and, once again, he has done a sterling job. He happily travelled some distance to the site, having already arranged access directly with the vendor. His subsequent report was comprehensive, thorough, accurate and self-explanatory. As before, he was a pleasure to deal with and I have no hesitation in highly recommending his services.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 31/01/2021 , work completed 05/01/2021
Easy to work with, fast, excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has helped me greatly with my property searches. He always responds to emails and phone calls with lots of detailed information and with great advice. I love the report that he has produced. The photos taken with a drone are fantastic and there is an abundance of useful information in the report which will help me with my renovation project. I can rest assured that every aspect of the house has been meticulously detailed by a highly knowledgeable professional. Tony enjoys his work and will go the extra mile for you. He is a pleasure to work with.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/12/2020 , work completed 08/12/2020
Outstanding Surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wife and I were extremely lucky finding a surveyor like Tony. He has carried out three SAVA Home Condition Survey for me for three different properties and I've recommended him to some friends of mine. In all cases, with no exception, Tony worked to the highest standard and his advice was invaluable. For the first survey I instructed Tony, he literally save my wife and me from buying a literally nightmare property, which on the surface seemed a good property. Surprisingly (and shockingly) two bank's surveyors gave the green light to the property with no objections at all, but, thankfully Tony pointed out that the property had multiple serious issues and even didn't meet with building regulations, so, he advice us to think carefully if we really wanted to buy that property. His knowledge about construction, building, regulations, and all relates matters are literally huge, and that is unsurprisingly reflected on the highest quality of his job, his advice and his reports. My wife and I don't buy any property if Tony doesn't survey it. His survey is the only valid green light for my wife and myself.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/10/2020 , work completed 21/09/2020
Experienced, knowledgable and full of sound advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was a joy to work with - from early conversations to the survey itself, as well as being on hand to provide further information in follow up. He was the epitome of professionalism throughout - providing detailed written information, explaining things thoroughly and going as far as sketching things to visually explain what he meant! He is clearly very good at what he does and seems to genuinely enjoy it - an enthusiasm that you can’t help but admire. I would not hesitate to recommend Tony to anyone looking for a surveyor in the London area.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/05/2020 , work completed 22/02/2020
Professional, friendly and competent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carried out surveys on 2 flats for us. He was very easy to deal with and carried out the surveys with the minimum of fuss. On completion he met with us and talked us through the key points, clearly explaining anything we did not understand. His subsequent report was easy to read, accurate and comprehensive. Really, we could not have asked for a better service and I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/12/2019 , work completed 28/10/2019
Reassuring, and generous with his time and knowledge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We could not have hoped for more from Tony's visit. He was professional, knowledgeable, and generous with his time. He went out his way to listen to and address our concerns, and ensured he used language which was jargon free and easy for the layman to understand. We would not hesitate to engage his services again.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 08/11/2019 , work completed 21/10/2019
Very thorough survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony's report detailed a very thorough survey, and was presented in readily-understood terms, with excellent photographs to clearly illustrate the defects found. As a result I shall undertake more research before deciding whether or not to proceed with the proposed purchase, and will hope that he is available to survey any alternative property that I consider buying.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 22/07/2019 , work completed 01/07/2019
Extremely thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you want to put your mind at rest and be reassured that your potential new home will be surveyed with a fine toothcomb then don't hesitate to commission a survey from Tony Swainston. He provides you with a detailed report and offers to meet with him at the property for a debriefing. I was not able to benefit from this opportunity but he was very amenable to discussing any issues on the phone afterwards. The only problem I had was that the report was some days later than anticipated due to what appear to have been exceptional circumstances. Nevertheless, he did provide me with a verbal summary of significant factors so that I could proceed to organise an additional investigation and to reassure me that there was nothing to warrant not proceeding with the sale.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/06/2019 , work completed 24/06/2019