We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Tony Swainston Building Surveyor

Profile thumb tony swainston reduced size medium photo

5.0

44 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–21:00
  • Monday 07:00–21:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–21:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–21:00
  • Thursday 07:00–21:00
  • Friday 07:00–21:00
  • Saturday 07:00–21:00
  • Sunday 07:00–21:00

About

My name is Tony Swainston. I am a qualified Building Surveyor in Chalfont St Peter, a father to 3 girls, and set up my own practice in 2005. I manage to balance this responsibility with my other job of chief school run taxi driver!

I have more than 35 years’ experience. I have undertaken work as a Technical Assessor to trainee candidates and a site auditor checking upon other surveyors for compliance.

I provide Building Surveys and Specific Defect reports (eg. Damp investigations). My reports are written in an easy to understand format and likely include drone photographs of the property clearly identifying any visual defects.

I cover West London, the Home Counties, and surrounding areas. However, all areas are considered, and I have carried out work from Newcastle to Cornwall.

I also offer my clients the chance to join me for the last half an hour of the survey to discuss any defects or health and safety issues that I have identified, or to discuss any costs of improvement work. 07957 870 440

What we do

  • Builders

  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors
  • More Services

    • defect reports
    • full building and home condition surveys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Home survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is a super professional. He is thorough, he is collaborative, he takes genuine interest in your case and will provide the best detailed advice. Tony is really great.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
A professional working to the highest standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The overall impression of Tony from the very first contact to the final report was one of a professional working to the highest standard. The attention to detail was exceptional, albeit a little overwhelming when reading the report at 2am! I particularly liked the option to visit towards the end of the survey to discuss matters in person at the property.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 13/05/2019 , work completed 14/04/2019
Outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was hoping to buy a quaint cottage that was over 150 years old, hence I needed to get a thorough survey done so that I knew just what I was letting myself in for. The nearest Which trusted trader was Tony, & luckily he was willing to travel to Cambridgeshire to do a survey; he carefully explained the various survey types & sent me examples of reports, to help me choose the right one. Tony also asked that I highlight any particular concerns I had about the cottage prior to his visit, so that he could check these out during the survey. On survey day, I met him on site for the last half hour, & he gave me a brief resume of his findings, showing me what he had found. The report was very thorough, with photos to help understand the defects found & also suggested remedial work – very helpful to ensure that one can confidently approach trades people. It also contained a lot of pre-researched information & maps, including historical & flood risk maps. Tony found a major problem with the property that I was totally unaware of, & he advised me how much it might cost to resolve; he was also happy to take my calls, once I had been able to research potential solutions, to help me make an informed decision whether to proceed with the purchase. Unfortunately, the quotes I obtained came in at top end of his estimates, so I had to make the difficult decision to withdraw from the purchase. Therefore, I’m back searching for my next home, and Tony can expect a call from me when I find it!
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/04/2019 , work completed 21/02/2019
Excellent Surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really pleased to find an excellent surveyor like Tony. He is extremely thorough with his work. He is not only professional but really friendly and make you feel very comfortable chatting with him. We were given an option to meet him at the property which was an excellent idea as we wouldn't have so much understanding reading the report itself. He also offered to take calls if we there was any queries from the report. We just felt we had a good personal service. He explained in lay terms to make us understand and we felt we learned many new things which would help us in future. Tony is a good value for money and I will have no hesitation to recommend him to my family and friends.
Customer in Leicestershire Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 05/02/2019
Absolutely fabulous service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot praise Tony enough - he really is brilliant. Tony is extremely thorough and his attention to detail is second to none. He goes above and beyond to investigate every nook and cranny of a house, spending many more hours at a property than other surveyors. What we loved most about Tony was that he offered to meet us at the property at the end of the survey, so that he could explain his findings. He walked us around the property, and even drew diagrams for us. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt we understood everything really well. He was also happy to answer additional queries on the phone later - nothing was too much trouble! Such a refreshing change from other surveyors we’ve used before. We commissioned Tony twice, both times for a full building survey. The first time, he found a series of major issues in a property and we decided not to buy it on the strength of his findings. When he came to survey the second property, he found no major issues but gave us really great detailed advice about possible improvements we could make. We feel so lucky to have found Tony. We would choose him every time over a cheaper surveyor - he can potentially save you tens of thousands in the long run and is worth every penny.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/03/2019 , work completed 09/02/2019
Very helpful and informative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a Specific Defect Report on our house. Tony came round and was very clear in his explanations and shared his comprehensive knowledge of both causes and ways to fix defects. We felt the fee was a bit expensive but worth it.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 21/01/2019 , work completed 14/01/2019
Exceptional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Swainston carried out a survey on the home we plan to sell. Tony’s work is exceptional. His knowledge of property condition, building, and areas related to building surveys, is encyclopaedic. His approach is thorough, measured, thoughtful and guided by careful research. Tony spent hours going over every bit of our house and garden. His use of technology is strong – he videos and talks through commentary which he later uses to refer to and interpret in greater depth. Tony’s attention to detail is second to none and the conclusions he comes to are informative and helpful. I know that the research he did away from our property was also thorough and effective. Tony spent a long time talking us through his findings. He has also since been a great help in answering questions subsequent to our arranging for some work to be done on our house as a result of his survey. The report is clear, well written and of great use. I showed a relevant section to our local council building control surveyor, who told me that Tony was evidently extremely expert in his area. It is without hesitation that I recommend Tony Swainston as a building surveyor. He is professional, committed, thorough and extremely generous with his knowledge.
Customer in Essex Posted on 05/01/2019 , work completed 19/12/2018
Professional, thorough and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wife and I instructed Tony to carry out a survey on a property we were purchasing earlier this year and we did this due to the reviews on Trusted Traders. I can say that we completely agree with the previously posted comments and found Tony to be extremely professional, helpful and thorough throw out the entire process. I personally spoke to him on the phone on several occasions about certain issues found in the survey and also asking for advice which was freely given, informative and balanced. Unfortunately this purchase fell through and we are still searching for our next property but when we find it we will definitely be instructing Tony to carry out the survey. Highly recommended.
Pardoe Posted on 04/11/2018 , work completed 04/11/2018
Thorough, reliable and recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has performed two home condition surveys for me in North and South London. If I ever need future surveys performed, I will be asking Tony to do them, without a moment's hesitation. I have used surveyors prior to Tony but Tony is in a different league to them. He clearly has a passion for his work and where others would spend 2 hours inspecting a property, Tony will take 5-6 hours. No stone (to the extent is is relevant to the survey) will be left unturned. At the end of the survey, Tony offers a 30 minute debrief onsite to talk through any concerns he has identified, which is very helpful before the report itself is produced. Given Tony's detail focused nature, his reports are not produced overnight and take 5-10 working days but the end result is as detailed as can be but understandable by a layperson. Tony's willingness to assist does not end at the point the survey has been produced. In my case, having identified a potential issue, he contacted the relevant parties to investigate the issue further and followed up with the relevant authorities himself, saving me a job that would be difficult for a layperson. Tony's fees are reasonable considering the effort he goes to. I have been charged more for poorer quality reports by other surveyors. It is worth noting that my conveyancing solicitor (in business since the early 1980s) told me that Tony's reports are the best he has ever seen and has started to refer his clients to Tony for their survey needs.
David Merlin-Jones Posted on 09/10/2018 , work completed 09/10/2018
Professional, thorough and extremely helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony came to my 1900's flat to investigate and give advice / recommendations (followed 2 days later by a report / email) to resolve a persistent damp problem in an internal wall. We were at the flat for about 2 hours. He was also happy to answer some subsequent questions I had after our face to face meeting. Various things had been done in the past as well as recently in attempts to resolve the long standing damp problem. The problem, as Tony explained to me appears to be a more complex situation. This is due to refurbishment works done to the rest of the flat over the years which inadvertently had not considered the impact those works would have on the property. Tony was most helpful, easy to talk to and helped me understand the very likely contributing factors to the damp problem and also gave clear recommendations what needs doing to put things right. In order to come to this conclusion, Tony went beyond the immediate brief of the task in order to clarify the wider scenario for me. He was very professional and thorough, clearly enjoys his work and is keen to ensure that he has done his job well. I would highly recommend Tony for any survey.
Privett Posted on 21/09/2018 , work completed 21/09/2018