We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Tony Swainston Building Surveyor

Profile thumb tony swainston reduced size medium photo

5.0

44 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–21:00
  • Monday 07:00–21:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–21:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–21:00
  • Thursday 07:00–21:00
  • Friday 07:00–21:00
  • Saturday 07:00–21:00
  • Sunday 07:00–21:00

About

My name is Tony Swainston. I am a qualified Building Surveyor in Chalfont St Peter, a father to 3 girls, and set up my own practice in 2005. I manage to balance this responsibility with my other job of chief school run taxi driver!

I have more than 35 years’ experience. I have undertaken work as a Technical Assessor to trainee candidates and a site auditor checking upon other surveyors for compliance.

I provide Building Surveys and Specific Defect reports (eg. Damp investigations). My reports are written in an easy to understand format and likely include drone photographs of the property clearly identifying any visual defects.

I cover West London, the Home Counties, and surrounding areas. However, all areas are considered, and I have carried out work from Newcastle to Cornwall.

I also offer my clients the chance to join me for the last half an hour of the survey to discuss any defects or health and safety issues that I have identified, or to discuss any costs of improvement work. 07957 870 440

What we do

  • Builders

  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors
  • More Services

    • defect reports
    • full building and home condition surveys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to find out how my house was constructed and if it had already been insulated. The insulating company were unable to advise me. I asked Tony to survey the house for me. He was very approachable and likeable and gave me a lot of useful advice. The outcome of the survey had probably saved me a lot of money. I would'nt hesitate to use Tony again in the future, money well spent.
Which? Local Review , 385790 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was very professional, with great communication and provided us with a very thorough, knowledgeable and valued survey report of our potential property. He took all the hassle out of getting the survey done and was quick to act. I recommended his services very highly indeed, a pleasure to deal with.
Which? Local Review , 2808024 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Your report was very thorough, and the photos were useful. Your service was very prompt. I had several questions, and at every stage you were happy to offer further clarification and advice. I would happily recommend your services to others.
Which? Local Review , 75112 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"I was asked to find a Building Surveyor by a family member. Thought I'd use Which Local for the 1st time. I come across Tony Swainston who's reviews were good to read. The pressure was now on
Which? Local Review , 146240 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Tony for a comprehensive survey of a property. Responsive, extremely thorough (while remaining practical and pragmatic) and also great to work with. Highly recommended and worth every penny.
Which? Local Review , 1139859 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We went onto the Which web site for a surveyor for my daughter. The reports on Tony were very good and so we went ahead. From the time I contacted him he was absolutely fantastic. He does different surveys and recommended the best one for my daughter. He sent information by e mail straight away. The survey he did was fantastic. We were invited to attend for the last 30 minutes so he could go over over his views and show me what he had found. He has a great manner and goes beyond what he has to do. He recommended where to go to sort out any problems, that may have been an organisation or someone to actually do the job. He also did a survey for my son recently and it was just as good. Do not look anywhere else for a surveyor Tony will do a fantastic job for you.
Which? Local Review , 3714813 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have now used Tony on 2 occassions after reading the reviews on here. I think the fact that we have given him repeat business speaks for itself. Tony is a really friendly, helpful guy. Meeting him at the property towards the end of the survey has always been invaluable and he speaks with authority and knowledge of his subject. He has always been extremely helpful afterwards when I have called to ask for a bit of advice or clarification. His prices are also extremely reasonable and competitive. Thoroughly recommended.
Which? Local Review , 2801321 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Tony's surveying service and I can thoroughly reccomend it. Tony is highly knowledgable but explains thigs in a way that a non expert such as myself can clearly understand. As others have said he has a great, approachable manner. His survey was thorough and detailed and provided plenty of advice that went beyond what was just in the survey. I'd definately use Tony again for another purchase
Which? Local Review , 2687092 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have recently used Tony to carry out a Home Conditions survey on a property we are buying. We chose him after reading the reviews on which local. I can say all the good comments are totally justified. Contact was faultless and the service was impressive. No stone was umturned. Look no further if you need a surveyor.
Which? Local Review , 677519 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015
Which? Consumer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Tony three times in 9 months to conduct a Home Condition Survey on properties we wanted to purchase (that's the property market for you!) and every time he has been efficient, helpful and thorough. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him.
Which? Local Review , 330094 Posted on 20/01/2015 , work completed 20/01/2015