We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Total Home Solutions

Profile thumb total home solutions new logo

4.9

46 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Total Home Solutions (THS) are part of the Smith and Byford group and specialise in delivering Gas, Electrical and Plumbing services to local private Homeowners and Landlords. Our THS team operate from our showroom, located in Cheam Village, which was first opened in 2012.

Our wealth of experience has enabled our organisation to develop systems, procedures and protocols to ensure our services run smoothly and efficiently, whilst providing the highest level of care to all of our customers. The services we provide include:

• Boiler Installation
• Boiler Servicing
• Boiler breakdowns and repairs
• Gas Safety Inspections
• Landlord Safety Certificates
• Electrical Maintenance
• Plumbing
• Reactive Repairs
• Renewable Technologies
• Commercial and Industrial

Our professional approach and commitment to customer care has enabled our organisation to develop an enviable reputation for service, quality and excellent value for money.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

  • Heating contractors

  • Plumbers

  • Electricians

Customer reviews

4.9
46 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Smith & Byford, Total Home Solutions, Cheam
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A power flush with some additional plumbing requirement. Enough to be able to confirm - in spades - what has been written in previous comments. From first contact with Emma (no disembodied voice on the other end of an automated system) , through the survey carried out by Derek, to the actual work done by Andy, I can only express my complete satisfaction every step of the way. Everything fully explained before and during the work. The courtesy and professionalism shown by each member of the team warrant the highest possible recommendation. I have no doubt that I shall be knocking on the door again fairly soon.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 23/03/2020 , work completed 17/03/2020
Kitchen plumbing - great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed sink isolation valve, installed new kitchen tap, replaced leaking isolation valve on washing machine feed pipe. The plumber did the job the day after I called. I have used him (Smith & Byford) on many occasions and I always get a great job done and on budget. Plumber is very knowledgeable and very helpful.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 26/02/2020
Very reliable , great company, would not use anyone else.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this company for over ten years and can not fault them , we have had a couple of complicated jobs done by them , and have been delighted with the results. Having recently moved , we had the old hot water system in the new house overhauled and are again very happy with the work done. Attention to detail and plenty of advice , so that we fully understand what is being done, we find very reassuring. Special mention must go to Del , Andy and Emma who are just brilliant.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 05/03/2020 , work completed 20/02/2020
Great local company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had a total rewire of our flat with new storage heaters and electric shower fitted. Both the engineers and the office staff are lovely to deal with - very professional and helpful at all times. I couldn't recommend them all highly enough - will definitely be using them again when needed. They listened to what we wanted and did an excellent job at a time that suited us. The engineers were very careful with all their work which was done to an excellent standard with minimal damage done during the rewire to the newly painted flat. We are very happy customers.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/11/2019 , work completed 21/11/2019
Happy tenants
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new boiler fitted quickly, and S & B pulled out the stops, and installed boiler and quite complicated flu implications quickly. Installed by Andy, reviewed by Del, arranged by Emma - all good, thank you
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/11/2019 , work completed 18/09/2019
Install new toilet and bath accessories
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual, very pleasing people to deal with from enquiry to invoice. Work excellent, to time an to agreed budget
Paul Posted on 07/10/2019 , work completed 19/09/2019
Good local company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New gas boiler fitted together with ancillary works to fit two new replacement radiators and extra stop cocks. Works undertaken in a timely manner by Andy who was always a delight to have around and very considerate. Good price quoted. Works started and finished on time. No problems whatsoever. I can highly recommend Smith and Byford and their staff.
Martin Rose, Epsom, Surrey Posted on 13/08/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
helpful advice and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new cylinder installed and it has been very successful. I now have constant hot water throughout the house and a wonderful supply of hot shower. The advice was very pertinent to my needs and the service provided with care and efficiency Full satisfaction
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/08/2019 , work completed 07/07/2019
Installation of Worcester Bosch boiler and thermostatic shower
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The above work was carried out very professionally, according to the agreed schedule and initial quotation. I was impressed by the professionalism displayed by all personnel involved in these installations. Communications were excellent throughout and I was provided with clear and efficient answers to all the queries I raised before, during and since the installation. Nothing has gone wrong and I have no reason to fear this unless the machinery itself would need to be reviewed under the guarantee. I have taken up a full Maintenance Contract called Total Home Solution with Smith & Byford, the cost of which is very reasonable and this is giving me peace of mind. This organisation has also installed a thermostatic shower in my bathroom and successfully carried out the conversion of the cold water tank that previously served my bathroom tabs and toilet, thereby providing equal pressure of water supply throughout the property. I look forward to any future dealings with this organisation when looking after my heating, plumbing and electrical needs under the Maintenance Contract. I am delighted with the work that has been carried out and would strongly recommend Smith & Byford, their Office as well as their Engineering personnel to anyone looking for a contractor providing the same type of work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 06/11/2018
New boiler and controls
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New boiler and controls fitted, plus new f&e tank in loft and new gas pipe to hob. Very happy with whole experience from dealing with Emma on the phone and Del doing the survey to Andy's excellent installation. Special praise to Andy for working so hard and calmly in temperatures of 38/40 degrees.
Barry Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 25/07/2019
New Boiler Fitted
The Job was to fit a new Combi boiler in a different location of the kitchen. The whole team were efficient, pleasant and polite from the start and completed within the estimated time scale and budget. I would recommend Smith & Byford to others as well
Customer in Posted on 26/06/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
installation of new boiler/shower pump and immersion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smith & Byford Ltd put in the above works for us and we were very satisfied with their advice and workmanship. They kept to the times and dates and kept us informed as to what was happening. The job came out to budget with just one small extra which we agreed to before the work began.
John Knight, Surrey Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 30/05/2019
An exceptional level of service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smith and Byford were the first company to sort out our central heating after about thirty years. This was in spite of installing two boilers and new radiators. Following a recommendation from a friend we contacted them. They conducted a survey, pointed out a few problems and sorted them out. The estimate was reasonable. A date was agreed and the work was carried on time and within budget. For the first time in years, the house was warm. We then took out a maintenance contract and once a year they visit to service the system. If, in the meantime, there is a problem, such as a failed pump, they arrive promptly and fix it. All the people who come to the house are polite, professional and prompt. They are a credit to their company. If this all sounds a bit over the top, the fact that we paid for years for a level of service which was questionable, it is because we have never had a problem since we first contacted them. I would recommend them without hesitation.
Tom Dore Posted on 20/06/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Old Boiler suddenly stopped working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After speaking to a friend's husband about my boiler of 20 years old (Ideal) he suggested it might be the exhaust fan as it had been really noisy and had become quiet.I purchased one online and contacted Smith&Byson to fit it, which they were happy to do. Unfortunately it wasn't the fan and with a bit of jiggling of the electrics , it looked like a bad connection on the PCB. The engineer came with a new PCB but unfortunately thought it was faulty and a new one was ordered. Then the senior engineer Del came along and noticed that something was amiss with the wiring to the PCB. After much soul searching he found that the mains wire from the boiler to the tank had been chewed by vermin. He was able to cut out the faulty part and reconnect it and now everything working. Another company would have given up and want to fit a new boiler. Thank you Del and Smith & Byford
Customer in Chessington Posted on 19/06/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Efficient & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was to fit a new gas boiler in a different location. The engineer Andy was most pleasant, polite and very efficient. We are completely satisfied with the work and the way it was carried out.
Maurice, Surrey Posted on 28/05/2019 , work completed 28/05/2019
Great Experience from Smith & Byford
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service throughout, from the initial enquiry with Emma, to the survey by Del, the honest advice and competitive pricing and friendly and competent installation by Andy, I couldn't recommend Smith & Byford highly enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/04/2019 , work completed 24/04/2019
Gas & Water Earth Bonding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The gas & water earth bonding work was carried out on time & as per the estimate, the staff were very helpful & communication very good.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/04/2019 , work completed 23/04/2019
Stressful Time Made Good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a stressful time with an older boiler, we decided to have Smith & Byford fit a new one, only to find we still had a problem. Smith & Byford continued to help and advise us until they solved the problem. Well done to the engineers and staff for their attentiveness and concern to get it right. And thank you to the ladies in the office who were always so polite when I phoned.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 04/04/2019
Central Heating Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler refused to work, so, as I have a contract with Smith & Byford, they were called and a few hours later Simon turned up to investigate. I was immediately impressed with the systematic way he carried out his initial inspection. Every pipe was felt and every component was checked. He eventually found that the cause of the problem was a defective pump, which was replaced. Following this he established that there was also a blockage in a pipe. This was removed and and an enormous amount of debris was coaxed out, thus enabling that water could flow freely through it. Overall, I was very impressed with Simon's expertise and if I am lucky, he will be available to carry out the annual service on my boiler in July 2019. Thank you Smith & Byford.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 24/04/2019
Whistles from Gas Fire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When first heard was surprised and called in the experts next day. Bobbie & Emma were excellent and arranged for a fitter next day. Arrived early and accepted a cup of tea. Reviewed and explained situation. Part new coal set was ordered from manufacturers within a few days they arrived. Advised by Emma and another fitter was arranged; he also arrived early and within 20 minutes we had a non whistling gas fire. Congratulations to all for an excellent completion. Always feel happy with the quality of their work and the excellent advice given. Jim Cheam
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/04/2019 , work completed 28/03/2019
Great job and no drama!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rent a few flats out and these guys look after all of the electrical gas and plumbing and sent two appropriate quotes and once approved sorted everything with the tenant and the letting agent and took all the pressure off! Everything was completed as promised both quality and timing.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/04/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had an engineer attend and service my boiler earlier this year after I had a not so good company install it- I was worried about the install and wasn't advised on how to use my new thermostat or timer, my engineer was fantastic and went above and beyond what I expected. He also rectified our flue which was missing some internal filling. He took time to explain the workings of the system as this is our first home and a new build so all very new to us! Highly recommend them as they are very helpful. @ Tadworth
Customer in Surrey Posted on 22/02/2019 , work completed 11/01/2019
Extremely prompt & highly professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smith & Byford come every year to service our central heating and have had 2 call outs as well. 24/09/18 due to a boiler blip and 22/0119 to replace the smoke alarm. The company & all the staff are absolutely wonderful! Courteous, kind & highly professional.
Marian, Surrey Posted on 29/01/2019 , work completed 29/01/2019
Courteous and competent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon visited today to resolve a problem my elderly parents were having with their basin taps. They felt very comfortable with him, said he was a very pleasant man. He has done a very professional job and the girls in the office were very helpful too. Definitely recommend.
Barry, Surrey Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
Very pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very tidy and attentive work. We are very pleasant with the result.
David, Surrey Posted on 04/10/2018 , work completed 04/10/2018
Efficient & professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They carried out my annual gas boiler service and as usual it was done in a courteous, efficient & professional manner.
Roger, Surrey Posted on 01/05/2018 , work completed 01/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & very efficient.
Colin, Surrey Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
Punctual & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived at the early part of our time schedule. Tidy appearance, straight to work explaining what he was checking as this was our new home & we had questions regarding the boiler/heating system. Very tidy.
Geoffrey, Surrey Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
As reliable as ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always good service. Prompt reply to telephone enquiries.
John, Surrey Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Always helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The engineers have been endlessly patient whilst resolving a complex problem! I have nothing but good to say about the service of this company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, efficient, and professional.
Rachel, Surrey Posted on 08/02/2018 , work completed 08/02/2018
Pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have a maintenance contract with them and always find them pleasant either on the phone or in person, My boiler is serviced annually and I have always been pleased.
Mary, Surrey Posted on 26/01/2018 , work completed 26/01/2018
Excellent in Every way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The young man who serviced our boiler was all ways professional, knowledgeable and polite. Altogether an excellent visit. Very typical of all Smith & Byfords employees. His name is Andrew Leonard.
Leon, Surrey Posted on 25/01/2018 , work completed 25/01/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nice and efficient.
Violet, London Posted on 19/01/2018 , work completed 19/01/2018
Brilliant, professional & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service, professional & reliable. I trust Smith & Byfold with my boiler insurance policy & maintenance completely. Lovely friendly team.
Jon, Surrey Posted on 16/01/2018 , work completed 16/01/2018
Efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this company for a few years now. Very polite office staff and engineer, very prompt and reliable.
Nicholas, Surrey Posted on 07/12/2017 , work completed 07/12/2017
Prompt, reliable and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Smith and Byford for many years across my property portfolio. They are very good to deal with, always respond quickly, do an excellent job and I would not hesitate to recommend them to others.
Seb Head Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you for taking the time to review our business and for the positive feedback you have left. We are thrilled you feel the Total Home Solutions Team provide a prompt, reliable and courteous service. It is great to hear that you are pleased with the service we provide and that you would not hesitate to recommend us to others. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Professional, friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole team from office to engineers were very friendly, helpful and efficient, and I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Carole, Surrey Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
Total Home Solutions
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used Total Home Solutions for the last 6 years or so I can't recommend them enough. Apart from my yearly boiler service I've had to call them out on about 8 occasions to sort out plumbing and electrical issues. Not only have they sorted the problem out but the people they send are always courteous and always ready to answer any questions I've raised. And all of this for a reasonable cost which gives me total peace of mind, unlike all those other utilities I pay money to.
PeterT Posted on 14/11/2017 , work completed 14/11/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
The Total Home Solutions Team would like to thank you for taking the time to review our services. We are delighted with the positive feedback you have left us. In particular that we are always able to fix the problem, provide a courteous service and are always ready to answer any questions that you have. We would like to thank you for your loyalty and custom over the past 6 years. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My elderly parents (90 and 91) have a servicing contract with Smith and Byford. The staff are very caring and considerate of my parents and keep me informed as requested. I can't fault the service.
BarryE Posted on 14/11/2017 , work completed 14/11/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you for taking the time to review our business and for the positive feedback you have left us. We are delighted you feel our staff are caring, considerate and keep you informed as requested. We will ensure the compliment is passed on to our staff. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Always good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always on time, always neat and tidy and always professional, it's a pleasure doing business with them from the office staff to the engineers.
L T D A Ltd Posted on 17/10/2017 , work completed 17/10/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
The Total Home Solutions Team would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for the outstanding review you have left our organisation. We are ever so pleased that you consider our service to be neat and tidy, professional and always on time. We will ensure your compliment is passed on to the office staff and engineers. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
On the Ball
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, on time, tidy, does what is required for certs and advises what may need doing in future with no 'cons' attached. All at one of the most competitive prices you'll ever get. Thanks.
Shaun, Surrey Posted on 12/10/2017 , work completed 12/10/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you ever so much for the positive feedback Shaun. The Total Home Solutions Team are delighted to hear that you feel we provide a professional, on time and tidy service at a competitive price. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thoroughly professional, friendly and with minimal disruption.
David, Surrey Posted on 09/10/2017 , work completed 09/10/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you for choosing the Total Home Solutions Team to install your new Boiler. We are delighted that you feel we provide a professional, friendly service and that during the upgrade we were able to keep disruption to a minimum. Thanks for taking the time to review our organisation and for the positive feedback, it is very much appreciated. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Impressive attention to detail.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a new boiler installed. We had a thorough discussion with the heating surveyor before receiving a quote. We were able to have a second visit from the surveyor to clarify the finer points about the installation. We were given ample time to think about the quote then the work was programmed for a date convenient to us. The planned visit for the chemical flush took place 14 days before the installation. The engineer was here on time on installation day. He worked in a tidy focused way all day answering our queries and explaining all we needed to understand. The surveyor also attended the job to see all was going to plan. He took swift action to organise for an electrician to come out the next day to complete the task after the original booking of the electrician fell through for medical reasons. Our home was treated with respect and the external work looks good. Everything works as it should. The follow up paperwork for the job(gas certificate, guarantee etc.) has all been received as promised and our alerting the company to one minor mistake on the final bill was quickly dealt with for us.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/07/2017 , work completed 12/07/2017
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you for taking the time to review our services and for the outstanding feedback you have left for Total Home Solutions. We are delighted that you chose our organisation to install your new Boiler and that you are pleased with the work carried out. We will ensure the positive feedback is passed on to the surveyor and engineer involved. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
5 star service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
last repair was for a boiler fan which had stopped running. Appointment kept and work carried out with no fuss. Brilliant service as always from requesting work to completion.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/10/2016 , work completed 01/10/2016
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you so much for the outstanding review you have left for us. The Total Home Solutions Team are delighted that you have rated our service with 5 stars and feel you always receive a brilliant service. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Reliable family business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Significant plumbing and electrical alterations to my house over approx 5years plus regular service of gas, water and elctric systems.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/07/2016 , work completed 01/07/2016
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you for leaving Total Home Solutions a review and taking the time to do so. We pride ourselves on being a reliable, family ran business and are thrilled to have received this feedback from yourself. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team
Recommended local trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I moved back to Cheam from central London. The terrace house that I moved into required total rewiring to make it compliant with current regulations, and future proofing for solar panel installation (subsequently fitted). The work was done to a high quality, and whilst I was away on holiday. I felt that I could safety leave keys with them, and trusted that the work would be done well in my absence (as it was).
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/04/2014 , work completed 30/04/2014
The trader replied (on 28/11/2017)
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review Total Home Solutions. We are glad you felt the work was carried out to a high standard and that you trusted our organisation to carry out the work in your absence. Your positive feedback is really appreciated. Kindest regards, The Total Home Solutions Team