Endorsed by Which?

Town Gas Services Ltd

5.0

37 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–15:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–15:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–15:00
  • Thursday 09:00–15:00
  • Friday 09:00–15:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We are a local, Small, family run business and as such we pride ourselves on providing a reliable and friendly service. We carry out central heating system installation, Bathrooms, Air Source Heat Pumps, Ground Source Heat Pumps, Solar Thermal, under floor heating systems and other heating and plumbing works. You can rely on Town Gas to deal quickly with your emergencies and any maintenance repairs. We currently cover most of the BH postcodes and the surrounding areas.

The office is open from 9am to 3pm to book your gas boiler, gas appliance service or to deal with any plumbing or gas emergency.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Gas installers

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
    • Air source heat pumps
    • Ground source heat pumps
    • Solar water heating
  • More Services

    • heating and plumbing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
37 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Joe and Sam came when they said they would, did an excellent job, cleaned up as they went along and were friendly, efficient and professional throughout.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 10/06/2024 , work completed 05/06/2024
The trader replied (on 13/06/2024)
Thank you for leaving us your feedback and review of the recent installation. We are happy that you are pleased with the service.
Heat pump Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Town Gas completed the installation of my Vaillant heat pump over two days. Joe carried out an initial survey to ensure the house and existing radiators were suitable for heat pump heating. The result was that I had to change most radiators, but I was confident that the survey was thorough and the results accurate to go forward. The installation team were careful and considerate and worked quickly and efficiently to remove the old boiler and cylinder and fit the new equipment. We were up and running with hot water at the end of day one. I would have no hesitation in recommending Town Gas to my friends and family and I will use them for regular servicing from today.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 10/05/2024 , work completed 09/05/2024
The trader replied (on 13/06/2024)
Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you are happy with the installation and service. We look forward to meeting some of you friends in the future.
Above and beyond all expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my very first enquiry about changing my ancient gas boiler for a heat pump, it was clear that Joe knew his trade. He listened to my needs and worked out what would work best for me - essentially, a new, 'green' heating & HW system, plus new radiators. He steered me through the planning permission application and managed the grant process too. When Sam & Dave arrived for the installation, they were equally professional and friendly. More than that, it was an absolute pleasure having both of them around. They respected my home, worked well with other tradesmen and did their best to make sure I was as warm as possible in the circumstances. They also kept me informed at every stage and tidied up before leaving each day. Honestly, nothing was too much trouble for Sam - these days, it's rare that tradespeople are so helpful and considerate; if I could, I'd give Town Gas more than five stars! I really couldn't have wished for a better result and so glad I gave up waiting for an ASHP through an energy supplier's scheme. I'll certainly arrange all future servicing through Town Gas. Thanks guys, and enjoy a very well-earned Christmas break.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/12/2023 , work completed 01/12/2023
The trader replied (on 19/12/2023)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are really grateful and very pleased that you are happy with our installation and service. Best wishes for a lovely Christmas break to you to.
Great service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Town Gas for several years for annual boiler servicing and other small plumbing jobs. So when my boiler stopped working at the end of October I called and spoke to Leah who quickly arranged for Joe to come out to see what the problem was. It was established that I needed to replace by boiler, on the same day I received a detailed quote and within 5 days the work was completed. Joe and his team at Town Gas provide the very highest standards and nothing is too much trouble, including a demo on how new system worked. I would 100% recommend them - well done guys, you're amazing!
Customer in Dorset Posted on 14/11/2023 , work completed 07/11/2023
The trader replied (on 21/11/2023)
Thank you so much for your kind words - We are very happy that you are now nice and warm again and pleased you are pleased with our service.
The trader replied (on 21/11/2023)
Thank you so much for your kind words - We are very happy that you are now nice and warm again and pleased you are pleased with our service.
Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the friendliest most professional company that I have had the pleasure of dealing with. I highly recommend them. We required a full gas central heating system fitted into a 1930s bungalow, we have lived in the bungalow for 20+ years relying on old night storage heating. We were apprehensive about fitting central heating envisaging mess and ugly pipes everywhere. We couldn’t have been more wrong. Initially we explored the option of an air source heat pump with Joe from Town gas, he was extremely helpful providing us with a quote for this and access to previous customers who had air source, he gave us open advice with no coercion and was very supportive when due to the age of and difficulty with fully insulating our place we decided to go with gas central heating which involved us getting gas connected up to the property. We were given a comprehensive quote for a gas central heating system including a combi boiler and convection radiators with copper piping. It took Joe and Dave from Town gas one week to complete the installation. They kept us updated throughout. They worked cleanly and professionally and we were very impressed. We are now the proud owners of an impressive gas central heating system, modern with a central control panel in the hallway and a lovely warm house. They also fitted a shower unit for us and went the extra mile tidying up afterwards. The final price was extremely reasonable and came in at less than the original quote. Excellent.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 17/10/2023 , work completed 13/10/2023
The trader replied (on 21/11/2023)
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are very pleased you are happy with all the work carried out and that you and your family are nice and warm.
Problem not diagnosed correctly
On a positive note, the booking of the boiler maintenance was efficient , easy and the engineer arrived at the agreed time. Unfortunately the engineer did not diagnose the problem with the boiler despite the error code that suggested a failed sensor. He informed us that it was just a drop in pressure and just reset the pressure which we had done many times before and why we called a so called expert. It was an expensive mistake. We did discuss this with Town Gas but they believe that they had fixed the problem. We have since had the issue fixed by another engineer that actually listened to us and diagnosed the problem correctly.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 01/11/2022 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 14/11/2022)
We are disappointed to hear that your experience with Town Gas was not entirely satisfying and we have spoken to the engineer that attended. Unfortunately he was not made aware that the system pressure loss fault was a re-occurring one which would have needed further investigation. we were not made aware that the fault had returned until 2 weeks after our visit and we certainly cant wait around indefinitely for an intermittent fault to happen again. We are sorry that the communication was not clear and that you felt it necessary to call someone else to attend but multiple visits have to be charged for when faults are not obvious.
Thank you Town Gas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an intermittent problem with a valve in my Hot Water/Central Heating System which I reported to Town Gas on Monday 4 April. The telephone booking system was very efficient and it was arranged that a plumber would call on Friday 8 April. The plumber (Dave) arrived on time, respected the Covid requirements and fitted a replacement valve in an efficient, tidy manner. I have used Town Gas for a number of jobs in the past including replacing my log burning stove with a gas fire and have always found their staff polite and efficient. I have a monthly service contract with Town Gas and would certainly highly recommend them as a reliable company to deal with all your domestic plumbing and heating requirements.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 11/04/2022 , work completed 08/04/2022
The trader replied (on 27/06/2022)
Thank you very much for this review, we are so pleased you are happy with our service :)
Genuine and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We do not usually write reviews but it is not often you see people taking a pride in their work such as Town Gas Services. We had a complete renewal of our heating system and the standard and quality was impressive and together with an outstanding friendly service made the experience easy and comfortable. Right from the start when Joe came to advise us and Sam & Alex completed the work, it was like having family in your home. Thank you for everything. 😊
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 30/03/2022 , work completed 23/03/2022
The trader replied (on 27/06/2022)
Such a lovely review - Thank you so much for these kind words. We are very happy that you are pleased with our service and work. Many thanks again from the Town Gas Team
Boiler replaced and new radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment we contacted Town Gas to the day of completion, the whole team were excellent. The work was exemplary, their advise and suggestions really helpful and price was very competitive. We’re delighted with our new heating system. Would highly recommend Town Gas and will be using them for our future services.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 22/03/2022 , work completed 10/03/2022
The trader replied (on 27/06/2022)
Thank you so much for the lovely words and kind review. We are very pleased you are happy with our work. We are so happy with our team here, they are excellent :) - Many thanks from the Town Gas Team
One of the Best Decisions I have ever made
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I moved to this area 6 years ago I can safely say that one of the best decisions I made was to take out a Town Gas Maintenance Contract. I have the central heating and gas fire serviced on an annual basis and I am only liable for the spare parts required for any repairs the labour being covered by the Town Gas Maintenance Contact. I have always found the Town Gas staff to be polite, efficient and knowledgeable. As an example, the work this invoice refers to, was to replace the hot water expansion vessel and check the pressure in the system. The fault was reported on 26th August 2021, the Town Gas plumber (Alex) arrived promptly the next day and quickly diagnosed the fault. Despite the fact that it was a Bank Holiday the parts were obtained and the work was completed by 31st August. Alex was prompt, polite, and respected our home and the Covid requirements. He was a very tidy worker and obviously did a good job because the fault has been completely rectified. Over the years I have had a number of jobs completed by Town Gas, including, removing a log burning stove and replacing it with a gas fire, replacing two radiators, etc... and I have always been impressed by their professional staff and their standard of workmanship. The work was always completed to the agreed schedule and budget. From my experiences, I really cannot recommend Town Gas more highly.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 08/09/2021 , work completed 31/08/2021
The trader replied (on 27/06/2022)
Wow thank you very much for this review. We are happy that you are pleased with our service. Many thanks from the Town Gas Team