We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Treadlighter Ltd

Profile thumb tllogofinal

4.9

32 Reviews

About

Our mission is to help our customers make sensible and affordable choices that will save energy, save money and reduce their CO2 emissions by minimising dependency on fossil fuels.

We have specialised in renewable energy technologies since 2007. We are mechanical, electrical and gas engineers. We are also energy surveyors and accredited assessors, so we see the big picture.

Every property is unique and objective professional advice promotes informed choices. As an independent business we're not tied to any one manufacturer or any single technology; we specify what is best for your property and show you why. We can demonstrate a significant track record in the design, installation & maintenance of renewable energy systems for both small & large applications.

So, if you want to know what your energy options are and discover how improving your property could be the one of the best investments you ever make, please get in touch.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
  • Lighting contractors

  • More Services

    • ev chargepoints
    • solar battery storage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
32 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good experience from start to finish. The TL team (Guy, Peter + co) are very knowledge in what they do and were happy to educate me along the solar journey. They designed and implemented a system for my house across two flat roofs without any major issues. Communication was solid throughout the process. The handover pack at the end was also appreciated. Confident if there are any issues they will handle them as well. Enjoying turning sun into power!
Ravi in Greater London Posted on 15/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
Fantastic Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tread Lighter have been absolutely fantastic and we are extremely satisfied with their level of service. They have been 'holding our hand' throughout the entire process with regular and clear communication. Their extensive knowledge of the product and the industry has also provided a layer of comfortability to us. I would not hesitate in recommending the tread lighter team to anybody! Thanks Guy, Peter, Amber and the rest of the team!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/02/2021 , work completed 23/02/2021
Installation of 2.6kWp domestic solar system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Guy and team were friendly, professional and courteous from start to finish. Very efficient and easy to work with. They were patient in answering my questions and willing to liaise with another trader in order to set timings so as to use the scaffolding they were putting up and save some costs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/01/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
Fab from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Treadlighter, after much research, based on their up to date knowledge, maximising capacity in their proposal, price and good communication with me. They have been fabulous from start to finish. A joy to work with from proposal, to technical site visit, to the installation team working with the roofing company who were insulating and retiling my whole roof. I can't recommend them highly enough. And I'm also confident they will be there if anything needs following up down the track.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/07/2020 , work completed 29/07/2020
Very professional and helpful installers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treadlighter provided me with a start to finish complete service on a domestic solar PV install. They were really good in terms of communications - including helping me with some particular requirements in terms of the install. They did what they said they would, and I'm totally satisfied with the quality of work and would recommend them to anyone - they are a very professional outfit.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/12/2019 , work completed 04/12/2019
An amazing install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to have my whole roof replaced and so it was a good point to get solar panels installed. Treadlighter worked with me and my roofer to design and build a system into the roof and work out how it could all be done at the same time. The install was professional and well done. After sales support was great. I am very happy with my system and have now hooked it up to an electric car.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 10/05/2019 , work completed 17/11/2018
Thanks for the successful Solar project!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really enjoyed working with Guy and the Team at Treadlighter. The attention to detail was clear from the start. Every step of the way was well planned and thought out. They approached the project with a ‘can-do’ attitude with a courteous and professional on site Team. Great products, well fitted on time and on budget. Fully recommended contractor.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/04/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm really pleased I selected Treadlighter to install my solar PV system. A lot more reasonably priced compared to some other quotes I received. They came across as professional, trustworthy, and provided a great service. They were able to install the panels quicker and easier than I was expecting, and managed to overcome a slight issue I had with my roof. Overall, I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/02/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
Fast and efficient, friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick response, only firm to come to home to measure & give a quote. Small error with measurement. Provided good advice. Honest & up front. Very quick installation.
Michael, Kent Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Very pleased all around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After contacting a number of Solar PV install companies, we chose Guy and his team at Treadlighter based on their excellent knowledge and customer service and their local location. The survey and quote process was excellent and their explanation and work during the entire install process from start to finish could not be faulted. Would certainly recommend.
James W Posted on 26/01/2016 , work completed 26/01/2016
top class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial contact to completion and commissioning a most efficient and professional service. A real pleasure to deal with a company who kept me fully informed from start to finish and made sure that everything ran smoothly and quickly. They instilled trust and confidence in their competence to provide a first class service. Highly reccommended.
solarpv Posted on 18/12/2015 , work completed 18/12/2015
Very reliable company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treadlighter were professional, reliable and prompt. The work was completed in one day, and there was minimal disruption and no mess, either external or internal.
Daniel, Berkshire Posted on 30/11/2015 , work completed 30/11/2015
Five star service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very impressive and professional service. A smooth and efficient installation and commission. Instils confidence and trust from start to finish. A real five star service, highly recommended.
Walter, Hampshire Posted on 27/11/2015 , work completed 27/11/2015
Fast, great quality job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treadlighter were very good at communicating from the first moment I contacted them. Provided plenty of information and accurate quotes with the solution I had in mind. Installation was well organised and on-time. The installers did a very good job both inside & outside. I commented to Peter that roof post install checks should have been better as a few tiles broke and should have been replaced. The price was acceptable. Peter did follow up with an issue related to the web-software. All great!!
Juan, Kent Posted on 13/11/2015 , work completed 13/11/2015
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good. Guy Hewitt is impatient.
Lorna, Surrey Posted on 10/11/2015 , work completed 10/11/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with the service and support so far from Treadlighter. Would highly recommend.
Matt, Surrey Posted on 12/10/2015 , work completed 12/10/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived promptly, workmen were professional and courteous. Worked hard throughout the day. Kept me informed of progress. Carried out the work they promised and the quality of their work was very good. Extremely happy.
Atif, London Posted on 29/09/2015 , work completed 29/09/2015
Professional & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional & easy to deal with. No pressure selling. Competitive price. Turned up on day booked & carried out works in efficient manner. Explained how system worked & assisted filling in tarif claim form
Robert, Surrey Posted on 22/09/2015 , work completed 22/09/2015
Efficient, reliable and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with this service. Competitive quote, kept us informed and completed on time. Would recommend to others.
Michael, Surrey Posted on 28/08/2015 , work completed 28/08/2015
5 Star PLUS !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you are considering installing PV solar panels & think of it as being a major undertaking, involving serious disruption & expensive; think again. From first discussions to conclusion I could not have been better served. They arrived on time & left four hours later having installed 8 (2kW) panels. The after-sales service; i.e removal of an old aerial, panel cleaning & unblocking of drainpipes & guttering (at a nominal charge) was also carried out. Yes; 5 Star PLUS !
Site User Posted on 28/06/2015 , work completed 28/06/2015
Panel re-arrangement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In 2011, we were oversold 10 panels which were installed for too close together. In April 2015, Treadlighter re-arranged 9 of the panels in a much more efficient way, increasing the output considerably. Not surprising, the first firm has gone out of business. Treadlighter has been much more intelligent & efficient. We wish we had had them in the first place
Michael, London Posted on 24/04/2015 , work completed 24/04/2015
Very Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treadlighter have installed a total of six installations on our own and our rented properties, all went smoothly with no real problems. The team were helpful in advising us through the process of applying for our FIT payments.
CMR402930389 Posted on 17/08/2014 , work completed 17/08/2014
A Pleasure to do business with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recently, we hired Treadlighter to install solar panels on our roof. They were friendly, efficient, professional and fast. Initially they patiently explained how solar energy worked, how we'd benefit, the steps we'd need to take to start earning back some £ from the grid and the cost. A few days later, a small group of extremely friendly professionals, headed up by one of the Treadlighter partners arrived, dead on time (8am); and with no fuss at all, they installed 3. They're a joy to work with
CMR401141519 Posted on 02/08/2014 , work completed 02/08/2014
Professional, great job, fantastic after sales service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly and thorough, they have continued to be available keeping me up to date with new technology and monitoring my installation.
Dorian, London Posted on 06/06/2013 , work completed 06/06/2013
Brilliant all round.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have also had advice on other matters not related to the install, which has been most useful.
Terence, Kent Posted on 12/02/2013 , work completed 12/02/2013
Prompt & professional - very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Guy & team are very good at their work. Quick & efficient. Explained the whole process as well. Highly recommended.
Liz, London Posted on 08/01/2013 , work completed 08/01/2013
Satisfied of Southfields
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Treadlighter team were great communicators explaining solar panels carefully & patiently. They were always on time && efficient installers, working quickly & cleanly. It was altogether a good experience.
Deirdre, London Posted on 30/07/2012 , work completed 30/07/2012
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great Installation team - professional, friendly, tidy and very fast. Superb Job!
Maarten, Berkshire Posted on 27/02/2012 , work completed 27/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treadlighter visited us at the end of October just after the abrupt change in the value of the Feed-in-Tariff (f-i-t) had been announced. A careful survey was undertaken which resulted in the offering of two systems, carefully explained and with adequate detail. We chose a 3.2KW 14 PV-panel system which it was promised could be installed on December 7th, allowing registration of the system four days before the f-i-t change. As promised, the system was completely installed on December 7th. Although the installation team had been working flat out for some six weeks and must have been desperately tired, the installation work was done to a very high professional standard, resulting in a system in which the cabling and control systems are far less intrusive than expected. Wiring was well hidden and very tidy, and the various components of the control system optimally located. Support documentation covering all aspects of the system has been provided and the system has so far worked faultlessly. To date the maximum output has been 2.2KW, but this is with the winter sun low in the sky. We have no hesitation in recommending Treadlighter unreservedly. It has been a pleasure having them install our PV system.
Philip, Bermondsey Posted on 23/01/2012 , work completed 23/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two of them visited initially. One explained the feed-in tariff in detail, with reference to our electricity bills, and made an initial estimate of the finances. He also explained how the deposit insurance. The other made a very detailed survey, with measurements of roof dimensions, angle and aspect. My main concerns had been about the position of the inverter and how the cables would run to the meter cupboard, and he discussed a couple of options. A detail that surprised me was that he recommended shortening our soil pipe slightly to stop it casting a shadow on the panels. He explained that if one panel is shaded all the others reduce their output in sympathy. They sent a very detailed quotation for a 10 panel 2.4 kWp system, with financial and output estimates based on both the official national (Sheffield based) estimate and one for our locality. Their first visit was on 26th August, detailed quote 14th September, installation within a day on 28th September. They helped me fill in the FIT application form and supplied the necessary MCS Installer Certificate. We were blessed with an unusual heatwave so immediately started generating. Altogether, we are well satisfied. Photos see www.geograph.org.uk/snippet/5763 .
DHawgood Posted on 01/10/2011 , work completed 01/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Treadlighter installed a 1.71 kWp grid connected photovolatic (PV) system, comprising of 9 solar modules. Their approach from the initial survey to the final installation and commissioning was very professional. They provided detailed quotations of alternative schemes following a thorough survey of our property. The staff were very friendly and polite, they arrived on the promised day, completed the installation and commissioned the installation on the same day. The system has already exceeded both the design output and our expectations! We have no hesitation in recommending this company.
joanandbobvines Posted on 14/03/2011 , work completed 14/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company erected solar panels on our flat roof. They co-ordinated the replacement of the roof at the same time. All the work was done on time and excellently co-ordinated. The contractors were extremely helpful and informative throughout the process.
ChrisLarkman Posted on 25/06/2010 , work completed 25/06/2010