We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Trumans Decorating

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday 08:00–20:00
Profile thumb logocolortextbelow

5.0

18 Reviews

About

Dear Customer

TRUMAN's Decorating specialise in Painting & Decorating. However the application of Coving, Decorative Woodwork, Tiling & Plaster Repairs are easily accommodated plus many other Handyman type jobs. Always working in the best interests of the customer with reliability and quality workmanship an absolute must. TRUMAN's are able work flexible hours to provide a service that would be beneficial to any and all customer needs, be it restricted access or out of hours work that is required.

Always available to give advice with no obligation, on the products and services we are capable of at both domestic and commercial levels any time of day.

So if you are interested in a free quotation please don't hesitate to call or send an email. We can then arrange a site visit.

Thank you for your time.

Peter Truman.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Exterior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

Customer reviews

5.0
18 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
First class work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter decorated our kitchen and dining room, including painting, tiling, and making a wooden mounting for new lighting in our vaulted ceiling. Delighted with the results, superb finish, and very impressed with the service too - punctual, efficient, helpful, finished exactly on time and to budget, and tidy. Really nice guy too, which really helps! We will be using him again without doubt. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Essex31/08/2019
Exterior rendering repair & repaint
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter has just completed the repainting of my house, both on time and as quoted. I am very impressed with the scope and quality of the work. Peter clearly has a wide range of skills and I would definitely recommend him.
Customer in Essex24/06/2019
Brilliant job from start to finish: entire 4 bed house decorated from top to bottom!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and Mark did an outstanding job of decorating our four bedroom new build house over two weeks. They did all the ceilings, walls, and some of the woodwork, where needed. The job was quite complicated with various wallpapers for each room, some of which were tricky to match, but their attention to detail was superb. The price for the work was also very reasonable, particularly considering the hard work they put in to the job. Peter and Mark were both extremely courteous, polite, professional, trustworthy and they were an absolute pleasure to have working at our home for two weeks. We miss having them around! We are overjoyed with our lovely new painted and decorated home, and many thanks to Peter and Mark for their hard work! We would highly recommend Truman's Decorating. Just make sure you have plenty of tea to keep them going (I would suggest 'Yorkshire Gold' which is their favourite).
Alex Hunt04/04/2018
Would recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter redecorated our bedroom in which ceiling floor and walls all needed doing. He was great, from the expert advice to delivering excellent quality on time and for a competitive price - couldn’t have asked for anything more. We’ve got more work in other rooms and will definitely be asking him to come back.
Collette Chaney12/03/2018
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter painted our house from top to bottom. He and Mark did an excellent job and are friendly, courteous and efficient. We would not hesitate to use again or recommend to others.
Qureshi08/02/2018
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to redecorate our house top to bottom after renovation and to make ready for sale. We were on a tight scale and Peter did an excellent job, on time, and to his price promise. He also seems to be able to turn his hand to any job including many handyman skills. I would highly recommend him for for doing such a great job for us. He also has a network of skilled specialists all of whom were polite, and delivered a high quality job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer16/03/2016
Will definitely use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and Mark did a great job on my family room, including restoration of a wood panelled ceiling which was in a bad state of repair. The quality of the finish was excellent. They were reliable, polite, helpful and great value for money
Julia, Essex07/12/2015
outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Looking for a decorator who does what he says on the tin...excuse the pun...well this is your man. Peter arrived on time to carry out an estimate, the estimate arrived in a couple of days. I wanted this work completed to a deadline as i was expecting visitors, so he enlisted his uncles support ( also a decorator ) and got straight on the case the following weekend. The work has been carried out to a high standard. Peter clearly takes great pride in his work and is a fine example of top class customer care. Don't miss this one..........you will live to regret it...thanks peter
Site User17/11/2015
Great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A great piece of high quality decorating carried out with the minimum of fuss or intrusion, and with excellent communication and consultation throughout.
Colin, Essex16/11/2015
Very high standards without very high prices
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Peter based on the reviews on this site. I am rather a perfectionist and not easily pleased by tradesmen in general. I had a problem with one wall that was frustrating the life out of me. Peter arrived and sorted the issue in half a day. He was neat and tidy and very polite. I would not hesitate to use him again in the future. He thoroughly deserves the ratings on here.
2010-12-15 17:29:30.025/08/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Peter to decorate one room based on the reviews on this site, to establish if his work is as good as his reviews. Quite simply, it is. He quoted a decent price, arrived as agreed and completed the work to our complete satisfaction. His preparation work is the key to his high standards. He is professional and trustworthy. We have already booked Peter for additional work. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/06/2015
First class painter/decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter has just finished decorating our kitchen, which included fitting a new worktop, adjusting the height of our sink, fitting a new tap and putting up some cupboards. We are extremely pleased with the finished product and the kitchen is now our favourite room in the house. We would recommend Peter in an instant - his work is first class! We have already booked him to come back in the Spring to carry out some exterior decorating.
Lauras12/11/2014
Fantastic Decorator, and all rounder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Right from the start, Peter Truman provided a high quality service. He was able to offer good advice about materials and was very helpful. He was punctual, came to work when he said he would, and left my home clean and tidy. I would hire him tommorrow for all my decorating work. Peter also demonstrated a good ability to do other tasks such as boxing in my pipes, putting up dado rail, doing tiling etc. etc. His work is of a very high standard and I would strongly recommend you get him to do your decorating while you can, as I am sure he is going to be very busy with repeat business.
2011-07-14 10:19:26.6813/10/2014
Always punctual and thoroughly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are extremely pleased with all works carried out and would recommend Peter without hesitation. Always punctual and thoroughly professional. He undertook a number of jobs – painting, wallpapering, floor laying, filling & sanding and various other bits and was always first class in his preparation and completion. We also had no hesitation leaving the keys with him during the day. I cannot stress how satisfied and happy we are with all his work and will be using him for everything from now on.
Trevor1222/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter has just finished 4 rooms in our house which we are extremely pleased with and will definitely be using him again and would recommend him without hesitation. He was always punctual and thoroughly professional from his first visit and quote through to the final day. He undertook a number of jobs ÔøΩ painting, wallpapering, floor laying, filling & sanding and various other bits and was first class in his preparation and completion and is very much a perfectionist. We had no hesitation leaving the keys with him during the day and found him to be completely trust worthy, self-sufficient and just a really nice person. I cannot stress how satisfied and happy we are with all his work and feel we have discovered a real winner in Peter and will be using him for everything from now on. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him or re-employ him.
nichotre16/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Peter twice. The first visit was to paint & wallpaper our newly plastered walls in our lounge, and the second visit was to paint our hallway, landing & recently installed understairs mdf cupboards. We are really pleased with the finished results.
snow white28/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter decorated the newly plastered walls of my stairway. painted all the woodwork, the architraves of 4 doorways and skirting on the landing, and made my battered old Victorian stairs look absolutely perfect ready for a stair runner to be fitted. He's got loads of experience, let me dither about the colour and then helped me get it exactly right. He takes huge care, but wastes no time, and his work is beautiful. I had completely confidence in giving him my keys and letting him get on with the job while I was at work. He is incredibly tidy, utterly professional, his rates are very reasonable, and he is a very nice person too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him or re-employ him.
Suffolk221/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A lovely guy, a fantastic decorator. Clean, punctual and perfectionist. I cannot about Pete in anyway. He has worked for us twice. Once decorating our kitchen and our new loft room. This time he painted the rest of the house. He has also hung wallpaper for us which we were really pleased with. He spends a lot of his time in the preparation. All the cracks we had he cut out and refilled. Everything was sanded down. We left him in our house for a week whilst we went on holiday. I would not hesitate to recommend him and if you need a site visit this can be arranged. We hope to get him back when we need the outside of the house done.
jedison04/02/2013