We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Universal Plumbing and Heating Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–19:00
  • Monday 08:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–19:00
  • Thursday 08:00–19:00
  • Friday 08:00–19:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb img 2370

4.9

26 Reviews

About

We are a Boiler, Heating and Plumbing installation company.

Working in Essex, London and surrounding areas of Hertfordshire.

Services include Landlord gas safety certificates, power flushing, installations and repairs of boiler, copper cylinders and unvented steel cylinders.
Hob and cooker installations.

We are a reliable, efficient and well priced company.

Give us a call to discuss your requirements.

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Gas installers

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
  • More Services

    • power flushing
    • underfloor heating
    • gas safety certificates

Customer reviews

4.9
26 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Power flush work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good engineer and experienced engineer, nice and friendly to deal with. Did the job in a professional manner and within timeline.
Customer in Greater London08/11/2019
New boiler and cylinder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jan and team installed a new boiler after our old one failed, along with a pressurised hot water cylinder and radiator for the main bedroom. The work was completed on time (1.5 days) and in line with the initial quote. Communication was generally good and questions answered quickly. I would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Essex07/11/2019
Careful and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were in urgent need of a Power Flush, as the system was so clogged central heating wasn’t working. Universal were able to send someone out the next day which was very impressive. Engineer was careful, calm, methodical, and made sure not to leave until the system was working again - even though we’d only called them for the flush. Very reasonable price too! Impressed with this company, and will use them again!
Customer in Greater London01/11/2019
Highly recommended brilliant work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quick to respond when our boiler broke down leaving us without heat of hot water. We called them first thing Monday morning and they were round before midday to take a look. The boiler is very old but they were able to do a few tests and diagnose the problem correctly first time. They then had to track down a replacement part which was not easy. I got a text in the afternoon stating they had located the part and could fit it next day, along with a quote for the parts and labour. After agreeing this I had to request a specific time as I had an early morning appointment, they were very flexible, and arrived at exactly the time agreed to fit the part. Both of the tradesmen we saw were very polite and amiable. I would recommend wholeheartedly and would use them again.
Customer in Greater London23/10/2019
Very reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Jan for all my certificates and gas works since finding him way back, and I always will. Excellent honest service. Thanks Jan.
Customer in Greater London20/10/2019
Quick and very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jan and the team were very professional from initial conversation to completion of the work. He came with two guys and they removed and installed a new boiler in less than 4 hours. They did a great job and i couldn't be more happier. I would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Greater London24/09/2019
Fantastic work and quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Communication is very quick. New boiler was fitted by them and they did everything for me including purchasing the boiler. Very professional and they knew what they were doing. Highly recommend.
Customer in Essex05/09/2019
Water heater repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt response to initial enquiry and then efficiently got the work done. Very helpful and did a good job.
Customer in Greater London05/08/2019
Outstanding Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first contacted Universal Plumbing and Heating Ltd in Hornchurch after reading the comments from Which? readers. I was very impressed with Jan who I spoke to saying that I thought my central heating system needed a chemical power flush as there was a lot of noise in the system. He arranged to visit the following day and said that maybe a power flush was not necessary but he would see when he visited. As it turned out, a power flush was required and I had the system balanced and a boiler service done as well. I was so impressed with Jan's team who carried out the work. Not only did they turn up when they said they would but the work took about three hours as predicted. They were clean and very courteous and the price I agreed with Jan was very reasonable. There was a problem with the boiler after they left (overheat light coming on and cutting out the boiler) which I put down to the age of the boiler (over 25 years old). They had to come back a couple of times and after replacing the overheat sensor (didn't solve the problem) they tried something else which was successful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and each time I spoke to Jan, he was very helpful. I can't praise Jan and his team from Universal Plumbing and Heating highly enough and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them for any plumbing or heating job, no matter how big or small. If I could give them 6 stars then I would. It's refreshing to find people who actually care.
Customer in Greater London06/02/2019
Great plumbing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed with service will certainly use again. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/11/2018
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to communicate, respectful of the place. Listens to feedback and adjusts things accordingly (if applicable).
Paul, Essex20/06/2018
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Universal Plumbing have completed several jobs in my home. All work is completed to a high standard. I have been very satisfied.
Chris, Essex30/05/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick service, friendly, professional, needed to return to adjust water pressure, but came as agreed and fixed pressure. Good service overall.
Maria, Essex26/03/2018
Excellent work, great attitude
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really impressed by Jan and his team. It wasn't an easy job (remove a huge and heavy industrial cooker, install the new one, re fit the gas pipe) but they worked incredibly efficiently, with a smile and generally great attitude. All working perfectly too. Highly recommend.
Debbie Carne19/03/2018
Highly recommended, a really happy customer!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jan and his team are very professional completed the work to a high standard just fitted my new Vaillant which is working great, very friendly service will highly recommend this company for all your boiler or plumbing needs, no need to go elsewhere these guys will sort it. Thanks again!
Has Ali13/02/2018
Always Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’ve used Jan’s services for the last 5 years on both our family home and rental properties. I’ve had absolutely no problems with any of the work completed and Jan has always promptly returned to make any adjustments. I highly recommend using Universal Heating.
Marc00010/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional. Good quality work. Competitive pricing. Reliable. Arrived when they said they would.
Stephen, Essex07/02/2018
Great Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been working with this company for a number of years and found them to be very efficient and very competitive. They always attended our properties on time without no hassle and return if any issues.
Homechoice 26/01/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional
Asha, Essex23/01/2018
Fantastic job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful, Jan and team arrived at the time given. Excellent job, I would recommend them.
Georgina, Essex12/01/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable team and do a great job. Jan and Raj did a variety of jobs this time, including one required ad-hoc and have demonstrated great skill, reliability and flexibility. Very highly recommend - great team!
Sofia, Essex06/12/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Universal carried out a full central heating and boiler installation as new gas point to my cooker. All the contractors were well presented and professional. I felt the job was done to a high standard. Very pleased, would recommend them to anyone thinking of changing their boiler or heating.
S, London03/07/2017
Outstanding work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good, clean and professional service from Universal Plumb, did a great job kick starting my central heating system. Good communication and friendly company. Would definitely recommend and use their service again. Thank you.
Nish, Essex30/06/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Universal plumbing fitted a new boiler for me, after being recommended to me by a friend. His prices are competitive, and he was quick, no messing about. I would 100% recommend, especially as the quote was exactly what he stated with no hidden costs.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/08/2016
Couldn't fault them - exceptional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this business last year to completely remove an old, discontinued boiler system and install a new megaflow system. I was exceptionally happy with the work, from Jan's advice on which boiler to choose to the neatness of the pipe working. Jan came up with an excellent and innovative solution to our issue, which we had previously been told could not be done by other plumbers. I was astounded by their level of professionalism and hard work. Jan even came back four weeks later just to see if everything was running okay and has said he has also scheduled to come back later in the year. Even my neighbours were impressed by the service that the company provided and they have said they will be using them in the future. I would recommend Universal Plumbing and Heating to anyone!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer29/06/2016
100% recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this company to do some work on my boiler and underfloor heating and have used them for other plumbing jobs previously. I am very comfortable in using and recommending the company to other people. They always stay within the quote initially set and are a trustworthy company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer17/03/2016