Endorsed by Which?

Urban Treescapes Limited

5.0

29 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Urban Treescapes Limited is a tree surgery company operating in Rickmansworth, Croxley, Chorleywood and the surrounding areas.

We are a company that prides ourselves on our skilful and friendly work ethic. We always take into consideration the needs and requirements of the client alongside the health of the tree, the season and the surrounding environment.

All of our team are fully trained and NPTC qualified & all work is carried out to British Standard 3998 (Tree Work).
We are fully insured with public liability cover to £5 million & Employers liability to £10 million.

We offer free, no obligation quotes & advice which are competitively priced. We will also carry out TPO & Conservation area checks and will apply for council permissions if required, free of charge for our clients.

Our services include:
Crown reductions & re-shapes
Tree felling
Deadwooding
Lifting
Pollarding
Hedge cutting & maintenance
Stump grinding
Commerical work
Emergency call outs

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree planting
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree removal
    • Tree thinning
  • More Services

    • tree surgery
    • tree selling

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
29 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Professional job for a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny came to check out a couple of trees that I was worried about due to the recent storms and recommended pollarding one and cutting back the other and carried out the work for me. He also cut back a tree that was on my neighbour's property but which was crossing over my fence line and coming over my roof - he and his team cut that back to the fence line for me (did a very precise job on that as well, which was great because my neighbours were concerned about it) and trimmed back a hedge for me that was overgrown. Danny and his crew were great - very friendly and professional, arriving on time and left things tidy when they left. The price was also very reasonable. All in all I was very happy and would have no hesitation in using them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/01/2024 , work completed 22/12/2023
Tree works at Scout Hut
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the outset we found Daniel and his team knowledgable and helpful, prepared to offer advice and quotation effectively. The team carried out the work with due care and diligence. The work was carried out on time, as planned and the site was left in an orderly state. No hesitation to recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/01/2024 , work completed 21/12/2023
Great work trimming back some large tree branches
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny and his team did a great job cutting back some large tree branches that were overshadowing our garden. He arranged the necessary TPO approvals, and then cut back the trees very sensitively to maintain their shape. They showed great professionalism and good humour throughout.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/01/2024 , work completed 20/12/2023
Tree Management
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These experienced guys arrived on time, were very polite took three trees down and cleared up after. They had the correct tools to do the job as well as knowledge for the trees and its environment. Highly recommend this company!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/11/2023 , work completed 09/11/2023
REMOVING TREE BRANCHES
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used Danny. My Monkey Puzzle tree has grown too high and was leaning slightly because other trees were overgrown and blocking the light. Danny has a good knowledge of what is best for the tree, and how things can be resolved. He is prompt in coming round and to send his quote. He turns up on time and has a friendly and helpful manner. Everything was left clean and tidy. I have recommended him to a friend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/09/2023 , work completed 22/09/2023
Biennial Treework
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Urban Treescapes Ltd once again have provided an excellent service keeping our conifers and yew trees in check. We have employed Danny on three occasions over six years and have always been pleased with the results, being particularly impressed with his shaping of the trees and his advice. He knows his trees and how far they can be trimmed without spoiling their appearance. Very helpful and does what has been agreed, and tidies up well. Fully recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 17/09/2023 , work completed 08/09/2023
Highly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny demonstrated excellent knowledge and practical experience dealing with a wide range of tree species when coming out to provide and assessmet of works needed and quote. While taking our cosmetic preferences into account, he was able to advise on tree health in each case and identify a sustainable solution, or advise against certain things where relevant. On the day they were both very efficient, self-sufficient and did a great tidy up. They were happy to trim odd other bits without quibbling while their ladders were up. As well as their professionalism, they are very personable and a pleasure to have working. Highly recommended.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 15/08/2023 , work completed 10/08/2023
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, professional and did a very good job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/07/2023 , work completed 19/07/2023
Great job and super tidy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top job again! It's the second time we've used Danny and his team. They do such a great job. Always punctual, talk through the work well, do exactly what they say they'll do, and leave everything super tidy. This was especially important with the last job, as the hedge (v tall cherry laurel that needed bringing down 1.5m) ran the full length of the border of my neighbour's garden. They took away all the cuttings and left it really tidy on both sides, so happy people all around. Thanks again, guys.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/07/2023 , work completed 06/07/2023
Professional and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny did a great job with our large Privet hedge which was very overgrown & reached up to the 2nd floor windows in places, as well as being about 2m wide. He reduced the height, levelled & shaped it and made it look good. He also cleared up properly and put things back where he had had to move them. I have also used him to carry out tree surgery on a number of large trees for one of my clients and he was excellent and reasonably priced. I will definitely use Danny again & will recommend him.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 14/07/2023 , work completed 12/07/2023
Totally Professional and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Danny and his team to tend to our trees for the last 20 years because we can always rely on them to do a professional job. This time it was pollarding a sycamore and ash. All done without any hassle and afterwards you would not have known they had been in the garden or out the front except for the pollarded trees. Have recommended them to friends without hesitation.
John in Buckinghamshire Posted on 23/03/2023 , work completed 16/03/2023
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny and his team cut a large tree in our garden. They were professional knowledgeable and explained the process clearly. They were quick and efficient and left no mess. It was a very reasonable price for the work done. We are really pleased with the end result. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/03/2023 , work completed 03/03/2023
Tree work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Urban Treescapes did a great job in cutting and re shaping our lovely tree. The staff are friendly and engaging, worked in a tidy way and left the garden looking as found. they have a great knowledge and talked me through what they were going to do. they even put back our nesting boxes and the birds are using them already. Great job nice people and good value thank you
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/03/2023 , work completed 03/03/2023
Tree work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny came and gave comprehensive quote within a few days of contacting him. He advised as to how we could save one of the trees we though we needed to remove completely. Work was done on time and all garden area left clean and tidy. Would definitely use again for work in garden.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/01/2023 , work completed 25/01/2023
Does exactly what it says on the tin
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny was very polite and professional. He provided a reasonable quote and did what he promised. We are very pleased with the result and would happily recommend him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/01/2023 , work completed 16/01/2023
Tree removal - tidy, friendly, and an excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Huge thanks to Danny and the team. From the point of quoting for the work, they’ve been excellent, managing applications with the local council (we’re in a conservation area) and making arrangements to start the work. On day 1 of the work, they turned up promptly, talked through some details with me and got cracking, getting through a lot of work in the day. They were courteous to my neighbours and flexible with regard to what was kept, shredded or taken away. The days on which they worked were very cold but this didn’t seem to deter, slow them down or dampen their spirits at all. All in all, a great job done, with pride and a care for customer service. A pleasure to have the Urban Treescapes team round. Highly, highly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/12/2022 , work completed 09/12/2022
Highly professional, friendly, helpful and fast.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to have three conifers removed from the front of my property. I initially contacted Daniel Smith following recommendations made by neighbours and online. He promptly came round and did the initial survey and give me a competitive quote along with answering any queries I had. He and his team arrive punctually on the date scheduled and had completed the work effectively and efficiently within 30 minutes of arrival. They overcame parking difficulties by hauling the cuttings across the road and placing them in the shredder. The site was left clean and tidy and Danny took time out to give me advice on maintaining taller trees at the rear of my property. Danny emailed me the invoice the following day and the amount was exactly as quoted. I-shall not hesitate in re-hiring him again when necessary.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/11/2022 , work completed 07/10/2022
Tree work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Urban Treescapes to fell a tree that was causing damage to our property and the pavement adjoining. The tree had a tree protection order on it and we had made several unsuccessful applications to the Council to have it felled. We asked Danny to help us and not only did he get the permission but felled the tree at a reasonable price. We were grateful for his helpful advice and his skilled work. The tree was felled safely despite its' close proximity to the road, and the site cleared away very well. We will always use Urban Treescapes for any future tree work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/08/2022 , work completed 21/07/2022
Absolutely brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Danny Smith of Urban Treescapes after seeing sevral other tree surgeouns. He came across as honest and very helpful. He carried out the work professionally without any fuss and within the time he had given us. I offered to pay him on account but he insisted that I should pay him after all the work is finished and after we are satisfied. The work was done to an excellent standard. I have no hesitation in recommedning him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/05/2022 , work completed 24/05/2022
Conifers trimmed & topped
Danny came by appointment to see the work involving sympathetic trimming of three conifers along one side of our garden. They had been topped some 10 years previously, but width was now the main concern. Danny understood the requirements, and submitted the quotation a couple of days later, and answered a query on the height requirement. He attended on time for the work on 5th November. Garden pots moved out of the way, and net over the water feature. All cuttings removed and shredded in the street. The work revealed too much of an adjacent dead cherry, and a revised price to include the cutting back agreed. Job completed to a high standard including clearaway.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/11/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Urban Treescapes did a thoroughly professional job to our complete satisfaction. We have no hesitation in giving our unqualified recommendation - for their agility as well as their work! They listened and advised and were extremely helpful in every way. The entertainment of watching them in the trees was free!
Frank in Greater London Posted on 09/07/2021 , work completed 08/07/2021
Overhanging tree clearance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Danny, took my call, came over to give me a quote and explain what he would do. On the scheduled day, he came on time, and removed the overhanging branches as he had explained. All done very professionally. Thank you.
Rahul in Greater London Posted on 28/05/2021 , work completed 21/05/2021
Urban Treescapes - outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Urban Treescapes felled a large tree in our garden and we we're really impressed with their work. The tree was leaning and Danny at UT established recent movement and that it was in danger of falling onto our neighbours ' drive. He dealt with an urgent permission application to the local authority and did the work within a few days of getting the approval. He quoted the price a day after first inspecting the tree and overall the whole job was done very quickly and efficiently. On the day Danny and his colleague managed the process in a way that the neighbours were not inconvenienced. I would strongly recommend Urban Treescapes for their expertise, efficiency and for providing a complete service.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/05/2021 , work completed 17/05/2021
Lovely team, professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the start Danny and Andy were professional. Danny came to survey our property and took the time to explain what we could achieve in our garden which falls in a conservation area - he explained the shrubbery and trees and how we could manage our garden going forward whilst trimming back and felling some trees. Whilst undertaking work we had to deal with some difficult neighbours and Danny and Andy were able to manage the situation for us and for this we are extremely grateful - would 100% recommend to friends and family.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/05/2021 , work completed 06/05/2021
Very friendly helpful bunch
I live in flats where Urban Treescapes worked on the communal gardens. They were so considerate and friendly - in the middle of a neverending lockdown, it was great to have a visit from some decent folk! Lovely job on the trees too and tidied up well afterwards, will definitely use them if I ever have need locally.
Helen in Greater London Posted on 25/02/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
What more could you ask for?
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We’ve used Danny twice recently. First, he removed a house-threatening eucalyptus. Then he trimmed a cedar whose branches were overshadowing most of the garden after he got the necessary permission from the District Council. Rather him than me, sitting on a slim branch 30 feet up with his chainsaw. He came when he said he would, charged what we’d agreed, saved us the hassle of Local Authority paperwork and left nothing behind except a neat eucalyptus stump and an elegant cedar profile - all done cheerfully. What more could you ask for?
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/11/2020 , work completed 23/10/2020
Periodic Tree Maintenance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thanks to Allan & Danny for a tidy, competent and efficient job on three completely different trees. If your looking for knowledgeable, reliable professionals, look no further.
Roy in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/11/2020 , work completed 03/11/2020
Cat rescue!
Danny was great - he rescued our cat from 50ft up in the neighbour's tree but he had her down securely and safely in about 15 minutes! This is the second time that Danny has helped us out in this way - highly recommended!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/10/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Urban Treescapes through Trusted Trader. Danny sorted out local authority consent and he and his team have done a great job, liaising with us all along to make sure we were happy. And they cleared up afterwards! Some work was done along the boundary and we consulted our neighbour who then engaged Urban Treescapes to do some further work for her.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
Wonderful specialist
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had Danny and his team work on our garden three times now and would not use anyone else, which speaks volumes in itself. He is knowledgeable, honest, helpful and punctual, and the team are always polite and friendly. They work neatly, really care about the end result, clear up well, and offer advice and information along the way.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 05/08/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Danny knowledgeable and, very importantly enthusiastic about his work. He and his men did a very good job. This was the 2nd time he worked on our trees so that is a testimony in itself.
Albert Posted on 24/02/2020 , work completed 24/02/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Urban Treescapes for over a decade for all of our necessary tree works including risk assessments and surveys, Emergency remedial work after storms, shaping and care of our trees. We are always impressed by Danny and his teams passion and knowledge of their profession. I would recommend Urban Treescapes to anybody.
Jack Posted on 11/01/2020 , work completed 11/01/2020